Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very satisfied for the gun it looked like, but not exaggerated (like not a sniper rifle)
okay, for those who read the other review, I would like to state that almost every other nerf gun except the longshot and the chain gun do this (basically, any pump action shot), which is when fired, shots go in different directions after a certain distance, or even right in front of you. personally, I see that as an extra feature that is quite plausible and adds to the...
Published on November 7, 2010 by Kevin D. Gould

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but with a couple of pitfalls
My son just got this blaster for his birthday, and while it's fun to use, it does have a couple of shortcomings.

General Nerf gun info
If you're new to Nerf guns, be aware that the name of the gun gives you clues as to how it loads, the capacity and the type of darts it uses. This was a new realization for me - not all guns can use all the darts that Nerf...
Published on September 1, 2010 by Brian R.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very satisfied for the gun it looked like, but not exaggerated (like not a sniper rifle), November 7, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nerf N-Strike Alpha Trooper CS-18 (Toy)
okay, for those who read the other review, I would like to state that almost every other nerf gun except the longshot and the chain gun do this (basically, any pump action shot), which is when fired, shots go in different directions after a certain distance, or even right in front of you. personally, I see that as an extra feature that is quite plausible and adds to the functionality of the gameplay to emulate real life problems with weapons. After looking carefully at what I would have needed in a tactical situation setup for our 'arena', I decided I needed something a little small, and something I could fire with ease, and not necessarily with complete accuracy, that resembled a shotgun with slam fire. this gun was a perfect fit, and thus I began to love it. I bought this at a Target as opposed to online, and I think it is the bomb. it uses the Streamline shots, and has only a clip system, but works well enough by itself, and can hold off any invaders to a fort (good home defense and supressive fire). While its range is at the most 35 feet, its accuracy at that point is questionable. of course, that is one of its features in a way; many people can dodge the sniper because you always know where its going to land, as the projectory is always the same. Of course, it can go both ways, but this is definitely not for those who believe in long range fire; it is a run and gun weapon. Its ammo can run a little low, which is really starting to get to me, but that is what the 6 round clips I am going to buy extra are for :) btw, there is an application to edumicate people with Nerf Guns, but I haven't found a person who would talk about it. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blaster, February 24, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nerf N-Strike Alpha Trooper CS-18 (Toy)
It works really well stock, has a decent distance and an awesome 18 round drum. I would recommend this blaster for anyone who is using it for HvZ or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but with a couple of pitfalls, September 1, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nerf N-Strike Alpha Trooper CS-18 (Toy)
My son just got this blaster for his birthday, and while it's fun to use, it does have a couple of shortcomings.

General Nerf gun info
If you're new to Nerf guns, be aware that the name of the gun gives you clues as to how it loads, the capacity and the type of darts it uses. This was a new realization for me - not all guns can use all the darts that Nerf makes. In this gun, CS stands for "clip system". This means you load the "clip system" darts into a clip or magazine, then insert that into the gun. The "18" means this gun comes with an 18 dart magazine. Since this uses clip system darts, you cannot use the suction cup, velcro, or whistler darts that many of the other guns use - they won't fit into the clip. Also, you can't use the clip system darts in the other types of guns - they'll fit, but won't shoot very well.

Things I like about it
We really like playing with this gun. You load the darts into the clip, slide it in place, and you're ready. On the front of the gun is the slide. Pulling it back will allow a new dart to enter the chamber. Pushing it forward loads the dart and sets the trigger. If you hold the trigger down, you can keep moving the slide back and forth and darts keep shooting out each time you move the slide forward. This is called "slam" shooting since you can slam your opponent with darts as fast as you can pull the slide back and forth. If a dart won't load, you can turn a dial on the magazine to reset the darts. Also, if a dart get stuck in the chamber, there's a sliding door on top of the gun that you can open to clear it out or see what the problem is.

So, the cool points:
-18 dart clip holds plenty of darts without being overly large like the 30+ systems
-Rapid fire "slam" mode lets you shoot them really quickly
-Not too big for younger kids
-Good range/distance

Disappointments
As for things I don't like, I don't feel that the clip system darts are as accurate as others. Most of them take a wild turn after about 15-20 feet. The gun will jam on occasion, so you have to stop and clear it out. This, combined with the amount of time to load and reload the gun creates a fair amount of down time once you're out of darts.

Loading/Reloading
I also find that reloading takes a lot of time, so even though you don't have to load each dart into the barrel, you have to take a couple minutes to load your magazine. This can be a problem if you're low on ammo, because while you can see if any darts are in the round part of the magazine, once you're down to 6 or 8, you have no visible way of seeing how many you have left because they've move up into the clip. Therefore, you're usually shooting and wondering if the gun jammed or if you're out of darts. With 18, it's harder to keep track of how many you've shot.

Be aware of how to load/reload the gun properly. You have to pull the slide back and leave it in this position. Then there's a second orange slide just forward of the trigger that will release the clip. Keep the large slide in the rear position when putting the clip back into the gun. This is all in the instructions, and also labelled on the gun itself with some crude graphics. It's not hard, just not all that intuitive if you've never used one before. Additionally, in order to open the jam-clearing door, the slide must be all the way back to do so.

There is storage in the handle of the gun for a single dart, but it's not of much use - I was hoping it would shoot a dart from it, so that if you put your gun up to "surrender" you could shoot one last shot, but alas, it doesn't.

So the negatives:
-long time to reload
-no visible way to determine when you're low on darts
-darts aren't very accurate, and you can only use "clip system" darts

Conclusion
All in all, it's a good gun - priced in the middle of the range with some cool features right out of the box. Some kids might get frustrated when it jams, or if they can't figure out how to release/insert the clip properly. The large capacity means you can play longer, and with an extra clip, it could be really fun. The rapid fire action is cool, and since it holds 18 darts, you can use it without running out too quickly.

Rating
I'd give it 3.5 stars if I could. Overall, the features and price are right, I would just like to have some visual indicator when low or the ability to load a single dart. I feel it jams a bit too often, and isn't as accurate as other gun/dart systems. It combines features of some of the larger guns without being too expensive or too big for younger kids in the 6+ range. Even my 2.5 year old can hold and shoot it, though he can't pull the slide back on his own. My 7 and 9 year olds can use it easily.

As for pricing, check out the manufacturer's price before making a final decision here on Amazon. This is true of most products offered, especially from Third Party Sellers vs. Amazon itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great balster, but wrong name, August 1, 2014
This review is from: Nerf N-Strike Alpha Trooper CS-18 (Toy)
Just to let you know this is actually the rapid strike CS-18. But any who, really love this blaster, fun to duel weild
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The nerf (rapid strike) was a pretty good gun, September 13, 2014
This review is from: Nerf N-Strike Alpha Trooper CS-18 (Toy)
The nerf (rapid strike) was a pretty good gun. It's full automatic and the designs and colors are awesome. I had a few problems with the bullets not firing out though. But everything else was great about the gun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Son still liked, August 30, 2014
By 
Karena Byers (Cordova, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nerf N-Strike Alpha Trooper CS-18 (Toy)
Was not what was described. Son still liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gun, June 10, 2013
This review is from: Nerf N-Strike Alpha Trooper CS-18 (Toy)
ive droped it many times and it works fine i love the rapid fire and i allways choose it in nerf wars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay gun., July 14, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nerf N-Strike Alpha Trooper CS-18 (Toy)
This gun is great for me. I like the distance, rapid fire, and the added clip. It has never jammed, broken, or anything. Tons of fun. However, my brother or one. My brother is terrible on toys, but now gun jams and chews up darts. Also his darts are all chewed up and the clip feeds badly. So it is possible to totally screw it up, but be good on it and you'll be fine. Great purchase!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Improved Version of the Raider, August 11, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nerf N-Strike Alpha Trooper CS-18 (Toy)
In many ways this is the a miniaturized version of the raider. It still has a slamfire handle in the front, you can still attach a stock to the back, and it still comes with a drum magazine- just one that is smaller and makes the gun easier to handle. This "new raider" is in many ways better. First of all it's smaller and that not only makes it less cumbersome, but the shorter barrel improves range. You might be wondering why it doesn't get five stars, well that's because they still haven't solved the jamming problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WTF!!!, July 27, 2011
A Kid's Review
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nerf N-Strike Alpha Trooper CS-18 (Toy)
Okay now first off many people on youtube and other sites keep complaining about this blaster. They say it: jamms easily, isnt accurate, has poor range, and is no match when compared to the raider. I am here to tell you that they are all WRONG!!!

So first off we will discuss the jamming issue. Now the only reason the alpha trooper jams is if you dont properly cock or prime the blaster. When cocking this gun you must make sure that the shotgun style cocking lever in pulled all the way back and then all the way forwards. Now with this being said this blaster may not be the best choice for kids under the age of 6 due to the fact that cocking the blaster properly does require some force.

As far as accuracy goes this guns will easily hit a human sized target from up to 30 feet away. At ranges longer than 30 feet it will most likely require a second shot. But really, its a nerf gun!! I mean dont expect to be hitting people at 100 feet because if u think about it nerf guns are made of almost full plastic and shoot foam darts!!

Everyone that says that this blaster has poor range must be mistaken. It shoots just as far or even farther than other dart guns. The only reason that your gun would not shoot up to 40 feet is if you got a defective one. And if you really want amazing range you should consider buying a paintball or airsoft gun. Because the main advantage of nerf is that you can have a great time and not come home at the end of the day covered in bruises from paintball or airsoft.

As for the alpha trooper vs. the raider its really up to you. Do you want to have a smaller profile and be more agile but still hold your own in typical engagements? If so, then you should buy the alpha trooper. But, if you dont care about stealth flanking long range or cosmetics and much rather prefer being an idiot and running straight down the middle of the battlefield then you should buy the nerf raider.

Overall the nerf alpha trooper cs-18 is an amazing blaster that will complete almost any arsenal!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nerf N-Strike Alpha Trooper CS-18
$57.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.