Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Funny & Informative Look at That Famous Three-Letter Word
At first read (and blush) it is difficult to ascertain whether these women (one primly named Emma, the other provocatively named Lorelei), popularly known as Em and Lo, are writing practical advice or pristine humor. After all, chapters like "The Unmentionables" (which includes a chart on degrees of potty problems) and "Protocol for Specific Embraces" are laden with...
Published on March 6, 2004 by Bookreporter

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DEAR ABBY-STYLED, COMMON-SENSE ADVICE SERVED UP WITH THE HAUGHTINESS OF MISS MANNERS...
... an informative book when you consider that common sense isn't all that common... but the writing style by these two high-horse beyotches is pretentiously wordy, so the eloquently-challenged would be well-advised to keep a dictionary nearby.
Published on September 16, 2006 by Wayne Racine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Funny & Informative Look at That Famous Three-Letter Word, March 6, 2004
By 
Bookreporter (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nerve's Guide to Sex Etiquette for Ladies and Gentlemen (Paperback)
At first read (and blush) it is difficult to ascertain whether these women (one primly named Emma, the other provocatively named Lorelei), popularly known as Em and Lo, are writing practical advice or pristine humor. After all, chapters like "The Unmentionables" (which includes a chart on degrees of potty problems) and "Protocol for Specific Embraces" are laden with real-life know-how --- but one wonders at times, Gentle Reader, if many of those engaged in threeways are actually interested in etiquette at all, much less nitpicky specifics such as "A gentleman or lady never has a threeway with a coworker." (One doesn't know your specifics, of course, Gentle Reader, but few Readers these days have much opportunity to meet anyone at all outside of the office, let alone contacts suitable for a "threeway!")
However, Em and Lo would beg to differ: "There is nothing wrong with being a stickler for politesse, especially when one considers its origin: Good manners are part of the social contract we voluntarily enter into, in order to create a more harmonious society. And where can we benefit more from a little harmony than in the boudoir?" They're right, of course --- and despite its screamingly funny moments, this book answers many questions that dare not speak their own names, from safe, sane pickup lines to STD-discovery decorum.
Their answers are also right. You may quibble on points of morality, but Em and Lo are so over that. They know from both personal and professional experience that folks will do what they do, and they might as well have a safe, sane book from which to glean correct behaviors in sticky situations that range from first date to first ... oh, you choose!
Chapter heads and divisions make it easy to flip to just the section you need ("Chapter II: Formal Sex/The Deed"), while boxed tips, hints and lists provide excellent breaks for those who find themselves becoming a bit faint over specifics (although boxes such as the "Intricate Dance of the Wet Spot" may induce fainting for the feint of heart).
Caveat emptor (and they might have covered buying sex, too; perhaps a topic for a sequel?): this is not a sexual "how-to" guide. There are guidebooks aplenty on every topic covered in this one in case you need to learn. Em and Lo are firmly committed to putting down the rules about going down as they stand today: "We are delighted to take a place in the long tradition of etiquette doyennes --- to reaffirm the constants and add some new, saucier suggestions to the canon for these more modern, salacious times. Of course, we expect to blush ferociously when we read whatever sex manners manual will be published fifty years from now. But perhaps then, at least, there will be a sex manners genre to speak of. For it is our immodest goal to make the world a better place, one sex act at a time."
Perhaps, then, being So Genteel, Em and Lo will not mind two teensy-weensy suggestions. One: since they're not writing a sex manual, stop already with the dominatrix-like statements about everyone having to try Act X or Position Y "at least once in a lifetime." Sex --- it's all about choice, you know?
However, grammar ain't (so to speak). So no more prepositions at the end of sentences, ladies, or it's off to the bondage wheel with you ... hmmmm, perhaps they do have a series in mind.
--- Reviewed by Bethanne Kelly Patrick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better Than "The Big Bang", January 30, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Nerve's Guide to Sex Etiquette for Ladies and Gentlemen (Paperback)
I really liked The Big Bang. But I really really like this book -- it's hilarious! (Yes, I'm an Em & Lo fan, but they don't pay me.) This book is not nearly as technical as the BB, but just as helpful (in a weird way). But I don't think readers should think of it as a service book, it's more of a humor book -- even if you have impeccable manners when it comes to lovin', it's just a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tao of Poo, February 3, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Nerve's Guide to Sex Etiquette for Ladies and Gentlemen (Paperback)
Oh my god, this book is worth buying just for the "what to do when you have to poo" chart!! I never knew I'd made so many etiquette blunders until I bought this book. No wonder I was never getting laid...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a Humor Book, not a How-To book, May 20, 2006
By 
CJ (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are looking for a more technical how-to book on, well, whatever dealing with S-E-X-, the big bang is a much better book. Although this volume tries hard to avoid sticky questions of morality, Em/Lo's attitude shines through, which is a tad annoying at times. Nonetheless, in some parts this book is laugh out loud funny, and a good book for those who can relate (i.e. very sexually active folks)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To a "T", April 13, 2013
This review is from: Nerve's Guide to Sex Etiquette for Ladies and Gentlemen (Paperback)
Put High School behavior behind and read this. My friends and I read this years ago and decided that it is very close to true with the timeline of how relationships evolve. This makes it easier to control your dating pace and this book Has great suggestions for some of the more AWKWARD moments of dating...like the toilet use and such at a date's house...great to give to any guy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DEAR ABBY-STYLED, COMMON-SENSE ADVICE SERVED UP WITH THE HAUGHTINESS OF MISS MANNERS..., September 16, 2006
This review is from: Nerve's Guide to Sex Etiquette for Ladies and Gentlemen (Paperback)
... an informative book when you consider that common sense isn't all that common... but the writing style by these two high-horse beyotches is pretentiously wordy, so the eloquently-challenged would be well-advised to keep a dictionary nearby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nerve's Guide to Sex Etiquette for Ladies and Gentlemen
Nerve's Guide to Sex Etiquette for Ladies and Gentlemen by Lorelei Sharkey (Paperback - January 27, 2004)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.