Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect For School Requirements
Note: For Students wanting to buy this for School:
- This book only contains the CertBlaster Access Key.. It does not contain other material which might be required for the class such as "LabConnect 2.0 Access Key". Verify with your instructor if you need LabConnect, and if you do then you need to purchase it separately unless your school sales the book and key code...
Published on September 3, 2012 by A. Serrano

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I hate this book
I..HATE...this book. The book physically is poorly made. I have ripped out at least 10 pages by accident, and one page just frigg'in fell out of the book as i was turning the page. Not only do i HATE this book for physical reasons, i HATE this book for content reasons. I constantly having to go to the web and get explanations of things that this book is suppose to do. So...
Published 17 months ago by Chris A. Williamson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I hate this book, July 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network+ Guide to Networks (with Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
I..HATE...this book. The book physically is poorly made. I have ripped out at least 10 pages by accident, and one page just frigg'in fell out of the book as i was turning the page. Not only do i HATE this book for physical reasons, i HATE this book for content reasons. I constantly having to go to the web and get explanations of things that this book is suppose to do. So far in the book (9 chapters) this entire book is nothing more than a glorified, end of chapter, key terms. For someone who learns that way then this book is probably great, but for someone who learns by explanations and by doing, this book SUCKS. I HATE this book. I went and got another book by an author i like to help me pass this class and pass my certification exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect For School Requirements, September 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network+ Guide to Networks (with Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
Note: For Students wanting to buy this for School:
- This book only contains the CertBlaster Access Key.. It does not contain other material which might be required for the class such as "LabConnect 2.0 Access Key". Verify with your instructor if you need LabConnect, and if you do then you need to purchase it separately unless your school sales the book and key code bundled together.

This book contains several case studies and chapter questions, but there is no answer section to double check your work. Which makes this best used in a class setting, unless you are able to find the answers.

However, the book does contain the CertBlaster access key which allows you to install software on a windows PC to take practice Network+ exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Study for CompTIA A+, May 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network+ Guide to Networks (with Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
This book, together with the testout website login information helps prepare students for the CompTIA A+ exam by going over, in detail the OSI Operating System Interconnection model 7 layers, common POST codes Power On Self Test, frequently used ports and other essential data, IEEE 802 and other basic knowledge. Most of this must simply be memorized.

The first thing my instructor did was require that all students memorize the 7 layers of the OSI model which are layer 1 physical, layer 2 data, layer 3 networks, layer 4 transport, layer 5 session, layer 6 presentation and layer 7 application.

We were then required to memorize many of the most commonly used ports:
20 FTP data (File Transfer Protocol)
21 FTP (File Transfer Protocol)
22 SSH (Secure Shell)
23 Telnet
25 SMTP (Send Mail Transfer Protocol)
43 whois
53 DNS (Domain Name Service)
68 DHCP (Dynamic Host Control Protocol)
79 Finger
80 HTTP (HyperText Transfer Protocol)
110 POP3 (Post Office Protocol, version 3)
115 SFTP (Secure File Transfer Protocol)
119 NNTP (Network New Transfer Protocol)
123 NTP (Network Time Protocol)
137 NetBIOS-ns (name service)
138 NetBIOS-dgm (datagram)
139 NetBIOS (Network Basic Input/Output System)
143 IMAP (Internet Message Access Protocol)
161 SNMP (Simple Network Management Protocol)
194 IRC (Internet Relay Chat)
220 IMAP3 (Internet Message Access Protocol 3)
389 LDAP (Lightweight Directory Access Protocol)
443 SSL (Secure Socket Layer)
445 SMB (NetBIOS over TCP)
666 Doom
993 SIMAP (Secure Internet Message Access Protocol)
995 SPOP (Secure Post Office Protocol)

We were then required to memorize some of the most common POST error codes. POST is Power On Self Test.
•01x - Unknown Error
•02x - Power supply
•1xx - System motherboard error◦161, Dead CMOS battery

•2xx - Memory failure
•3xx - Keyboard failure
•4xx - Monochrome display adapter failure (video card error codes)
•5xx - CGA (Color Graphics Adapter) display adapter failure
•6xx - Floppy drive
•7xx - Math co-processor error
•8xx -
•9xx - Parallel Printer port error
•10xx - Second parallel printer port error
•11xx - Serial Port error
•12xx - Second serial port error
•13xx - Game port adapter
•14xx - Printer control
•15xx - SDLC adapter
•16xx - display emulator cards
•17xx - Hard Drive ◦1701, POST failure of hard drive - ...Hard Drive Troubleshooting
◦1702, Hard Drive Adapter Card error
◦1703, Hard Drive failure
◦1704, Hard Drive OR Adapter failure
◦1780, Hard drive 0 failed
◦1781, Hard drive 1 failed
◦1782, Hard drive controller failed
◦1790, Hard drive 0 error
◦1791, Hard drive 1 error

•18xx - I/O card error
•19xx - 3270 card errors
•20xx - BSC adapter
•21xx - BSC adapter

We then had to memorize common IEEE 802.
IEEE 802.11 Wireless LAN (WLAN) & Mesh (Wi-Fi certification)

IEEE 802.15 Wireless PAN
IEEE 802.15.1 Bluetooth certification
IEEE 802.15.2 IEEE 802.15 and IEEE 802.11 coexistence
IEEE 802.15.3 High-Rate wireless PAN (e.g., UWB, etc.)
IEEE 802.15.4 Low-Rate wireless PAN (e.g., ZigBee, WirelessHART, MiWi, etc.)
IEEE 802.15.5 Mesh networking for WPAN
IEEE 802.15.6 Body area network
IEEE 802.16 Broadband Wireless Access (WiMAX certification)
IEEE 802.16.1 Local Multipoint Distribution Service
IEEE 802.17 Resilient packet ring
IEEE 802.18 Radio Regulatory TAG
IEEE 802.19 Coexistence TAG
IEEE 802.20 Mobile Broadband Wireless Access
IEEE 802.21 Media Independent Handoff
IEEE 802.22 Wireless Regional Area Network
IEEE 802.23 Emergency Services Working Group
IEEE 802.24 Smart Grid TAG

All items included detailed discussion on the function/purpose and interaction with a variety of technologies. The course and the book and the online interactive software to which a code is provided go into detail on a variety of technologies from networks and operating systems, desktops and laptops, printers and cell phones as well as tablets.

The book and courseware are an excellent basic introduction to the overall computing world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Answers to Certification Practice Exam in Appendix B, April 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network+ Guide to Networks (with Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
A good book for our class, but I want to certify. The certification practice exam does not contain answers. It would be a much better book if there were answers and detailed explanations. What good is a practice exam with just 100 multiple choice questions and no answer key? How am I to know if I have the correct answer? Without answers and explanations, Appendix B (the practice exam) is a waste of space. I had to purchase other resources to practice for the Network+ exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst book for learning about networking, August 20, 2014
This review is from: Network+ Guide to Networks (with Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
This is the worst book for anyone trying to learn about networking! A quick summary of each chapter is the author mentioning terms/material you need to learn only once and then moving on the the next. The best part of each chapter to learn from is the key terms section at the end of the chapters. Another major flaw of this book is that the author is too lazy to explain or even mention some of the essential materials needed to pass the Network+ exam! Here is an example of the material you'll "learn" from this book:

"WDM (wavelength division multiplexing) is a technology used with fiber-optic cable, which enables one fiber-optic connection to carry multiple light signals simultaneously. Using WDM, a single fiber can transmit as many as 20 million telephone conversations at one time."

Notice how the author explains the concept of wavelength division multiplexing in two small sentences...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network+ Guide to Networks (with Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
some key words or definitions were confusing and explained not detailed or clear enough. Recommend another book to replace this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOT ME A "B", June 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network+ Guide to Networks (with Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
Very informative book, very well written and explains in detail. I would recommend this book to anyone. Could of gotten an "A" but missed one test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Networking Know How, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network+ Guide to Networks (with Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
Works for the program book a little heavy and the print is a little small. If required for class no choice but to get and rent instead of buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, July 13, 2013
By 
Jeremy Garcia (Antioch, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network+ Guide to Networks (with Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
This book was exactly the one I needed for class. It was in great condition, and is jam-packed with useful knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks in depth explanations, November 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was required for a Computer Networking class I'm taking. The class is a hybrid which mean part of it is reading this book and part of it is watching videos online that the professor has selected for us each week. I don't think the the book goes into enough detail so, I feel I don't have enough understanding of the subject in the chapter each week without the videos and Googling some terms as well. The chapter for this week covers Topology. For example this book covers 3 types: Bus, Ring and Star. From the videos I learned about Mesh topology. Our online discussion topic was to explain the difference between physical and logical topology. I felt like I didn't have a very good understanding of how to answer that question from what I had read in the book. I Googled it and I came across another video that explained it clearly and also gave real world examples. This video mentioned how many people think rings are obsolete but, they are used sometimes for fiber optic cables and there is another topology called dual-ring. It would be great if this book added more real word examples of how some of this stuff is actually used. The author also seems to go into more detail than necessary on things that are obsolete like token rings and hubs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Network+ Guide to Networks (with Printed Access Card)
Network+ Guide to Networks (with Printed Access Card) by Tamara Dean (Paperback - June 14, 2012)
$122.95 $99.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.