Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for CCNA or other Enterprise folks.. for hobbyists, umm...
Upshot: And you may find yourself...in a machine room or data center. You will need this book. Pros: If you just passed your CCNA exam, or have started working with enterprise level Cisco kit, there's a lot here for you. Cons: If you DON'T work with Cisco kit, why are you here?

For anyone not acquainted with data-centers & network operations, this book shows...
Published on June 3, 2011 by Leo of BORG

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much Cisco, good core content
I read this to prepare for setting up my first network; which happened to be an 8 story building with two IDFs per floor and enough fiber for an entire nursing home. I went with D-Link managed switches for a Cisco free network. I'm a programmer but had little practical experience in networking outside of SOHO setups and virtualization.

The majority of this book...
Published 16 months ago by Ian Jeffries


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for CCNA or other Enterprise folks.. for hobbyists, umm..., June 3, 2011
By 
Leo of BORG "Leo M" (Central California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Network Warrior (Paperback)
Upshot: And you may find yourself...in a machine room or data center. You will need this book. Pros: If you just passed your CCNA exam, or have started working with enterprise level Cisco kit, there's a lot here for you. Cons: If you DON'T work with Cisco kit, why are you here?

For anyone not acquainted with data-centers & network operations, this book shows you how the other hardware half lives. When the author says `you should have passed the CCNA' he's very serious. There are NO EXPLANATIONS of basic Cisco terms. If you are not versed in TCP/IP and SOME Cisco kit, you will be spending a LOT of time in Google. And probably asking yourself why you bought this book.

Those cautions aside, there are gems of `best practices' for non Cisco or smaller network techs here: Amid the Cisco jargon you will find practical advice even for your small business or SOHO LAN, like in Ch. 27 `Basic Firewall Theory', or Chapter 29 on different flavors of 802.11x WiFi and how to secure it. The author even introduces IPv6, with one of the most straightforward explanations I've read yet.

But what really makes this book worth it are the backstories & practical advice from a veteran to new engineers on how to handle failure scenarios as well as the politics involved in maintaining large networks.

In fact, everything from Chapter 39 (`Failure'), Chapter 40 (`GAD's Maxims') to Chapter 41 (`Avoiding Frustration') would be welcome in any IT, infosec or dev reference.

In short, I would somewhat recommend this book for non-CCNA folks interested in Network Engineering or Infrastructure. But I would highly recommend Network Warrior for the audience for which it was intended.

Disclosure: I received the eBook download from O'Reilly for review purposes. I'm not a CCNA but have been around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second edition does not disappoint, June 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network Warrior (Paperback)
If you walk into any networking geeks secret lair and scan your eyes along the endless horizon of nerdomenclature, you'll undoubtedly find Gary Donahue's original Networking Warrior somewhere pressed up against a vast collection of Cisco Press, Sybex, O'Reilly and occasional Max Brooks literature. From the beginning Gary Donahue's masterpiece has been widely accepted as thee' post CCNA book for every Cisco guy since 2007. As the unofficial go to manual for everything untaught on the CCNA a Cisco network engineer needs to know, Gary has taken his place among the elite masters Cisco authors such as Jeff Doyle, Wendell Odom, Jeremy Cioara and David Hucaby just to name a few.

Networking Warrior Second Edition has updated it's core example technologies to reflect the ever evolving industry we as network engineers work with on a daily bassis. Giving us operational examples on Cisco new cutting edge equipment including the Cisco ASA Firewalls 8.0+ IOS, 3750 & 6500 switches and even the super-cool new Nexis product line emerging from the dark shadows intending to over the world one packet at a time. Gary takes his time at the end of each applicable chapter to explain the differences of implementing each technology though the IOS, CatIOS and new Nexus NX-OS giving clear examples that are easy to follow doubling this book as an excellent field manual alongside the extremely popular Portable Command Guides published by Cisco Press.

What make book unique from most publishing's is Gary's sparkling humor scatted throughout his writings. One moment he will be explaining the technical aspect of the subject, the next he'll be making a metaphor funny enough to make your Spouse look over your shoulder and ask "whats so funny?", and after the fourth or fifth time may or may not be a good thing. Even though this book flows very well, it is not without it's fresh off the print edition errors. There are areas in the text where examples have not been updated to reflect the new books updated example equipment, other areas have diagram abnormalities, but we're not here to judge Gary's wife's editorial skills. I'm sure it's hared enough just to put up with him (joking of course).

Garry mentions and gives a great amount credit to his wife as being his front line editor though the many months involved in writing this book.

Networking Warrior spans an impressive 41 chapters covering a slue of topics. Just holding this book in your hands and thumbing though the chapter indexes gives you an idea of just how much Gary covers. I'd like to say this book is an excellent cover to cover read, and in some major blocks it is, but there are some section that no matter how supper-geek status you give yourself you'll just find yourself over inundated with information or lack of understanding, especially if you're fresh off the CCNA boat. The clear cut and skinny on this book is: If you're a CCNA looking for the next step, or a networking nut wanting to freshen up your knowledge of Cisco solutions you're in for a treat. Because Gary Donahue has everything but gift wrapped you the next book to fill that empty slot on your bookshelf. If is, if it ever gets off your desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be on the shelf of every IT pro!, August 16, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network Warrior (Paperback)
Network Warrior is one of those books that every IT pro should have. I actually ordered an additional copy of this book to keep at home as when I first received it I was taking it to and from the office.

I recommend it to anyone who is not only getting started in networking, but also for anyone who is an IT "jack of all trades," as it's impossible to remember all the little command nuances or the real world best practices of a technology if you don't use it every day.

When I need to do something networking-related that I haven't done in a while, I usually look in this book first. For example, I know tomorrow I'm going to be setting up an old Catalyst 3550 as a multilayer switch for a project. I haven't set up an SVI in at least a year. I know I need to put a "no switchport" command in somewhere. I know I could search online for it, but then there's always Network Warrior!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The networking book to help you get your job done, March 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network Warrior (Kindle Edition)
Whether you're showing up on the job fresh from a Cisco certification with no job experience or you've been in the field for awhile this book has something to offer that you're not going to find elsewhere. In a nutshell, it is the networking book to help you get your job done. The book focuses on teaching what you need to know on the job and not just information to to pass a certification exam. It helps turn on light bulbs that you may not get when reading cisco Press books. It explains thing with simple examples and uses fun analogies. I have to say this
is the first networking book that I have read that I just didn't want to put down. (think spy thriller or mystery novel) If you are in the networking field, buy this book and read it cover to cover like I did. (or virtual cover to cover via Kindle in my case) Absolutely wonderful book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The OED of Technical Networking, July 5, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network Warrior (Paperback)
Bought this to bone up after a job change, and it is awesome.
- Packed with network-related tech info (centered on the Cisco universe)
- Includes bottom to top level info, so it's easy to get into a topic that is new to you
- Excellent depth & breadth
- Amazingly up to date

Overall the perfect review/learning tool!
>> One caution - this book is for network tech types, not for casual/background info...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, November 26, 2012
By 
This review is from: Network Warrior (Paperback)
One of the best book for sure, a very true focus between CCNA and CCNP. It will be the excellent book after you finished CCNA.

However,there are something to be desired on some topics. For example, the QOS chapter is clearly confused reader on queuing topic, CBWFQ and LLQ. No information about maximum priority rate and after guarantee certain amount, how difference between those 2 queuing on the left sources.

To be honest, this is the shortcoming of this book, it covered almost all the topics in network area, however, some of them are not deep enough or I can say the topic itself is too complicated to explain.

Again, this is definitely one of the best book in this market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Network warriors, February 22, 2012
By 
scott (GREENVILLE, SC, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network Warrior (Paperback)
I used the first edition all of the time at work. Very helpful guide. This edition 2, same information as the first with a lot of new content. The VoIP stuff is good, nice intro to CME, you're not going to be able to troubleshoot Call Manager or anything, but it nice for the voice gateways. The ASA stuff is good, though I wish they would have set it up like the rest of the book where their showing CatOS, IOS and NEXUS. I still deal with customers who have PIX and some have ASAs. Most things are very similar but not everything. The MPLS entry is a waste of only 6 pages. The wireless is a bit of a waste too. It good if you are dealing with autonomous AP's or single Cisco AP's at the house. Otherwise you should know this from the CCNA. The High availability stuff (HSRP) is good.

I have relied on the first edition and I trust the second will be there too. As many topics were expanded upon and troubleshooting methods were added. This is definatly my field manual of choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for security eng that work with Datacenter engineers, August 19, 2011
By 
Edgard Padilla (Towson, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Network Warrior (Paperback)
As Intrusion Detection Analyst or Security Engineer this book has help me understand or gmy knowledge of other network engineering appliances running in a Datacenter, like Load balancers, proxies, FW,routers, from diverse manufactures, and how it integrates with other security appliances like intrusion detections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Network Warrior is readable, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network Warrior (Kindle Edition)
This technology title is not just a good reference, it is readable. Author Gary Donahue has a style of writing that made it seem he was interacting with me, personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Network Warrior (Paperback)
This book is a great read. I found it to be very relevant and useful. I am a big fan of O'Reily books and this one is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Network Warrior
Network Warrior by Gary A. Donahue (Paperback - June 5, 2011)
$49.99 $31.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.