Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Network Warrior
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars56
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$32.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on June 3, 2011
Upshot: And you may find yourself...in a machine room or data center. You will need this book. Pros: If you just passed your CCNA exam, or have started working with enterprise level Cisco kit, there's a lot here for you. Cons: If you DON'T work with Cisco kit, why are you here?

For anyone not acquainted with data-centers & network operations, this book shows you how the other hardware half lives. When the author says `you should have passed the CCNA' he's very serious. There are NO EXPLANATIONS of basic Cisco terms. If you are not versed in TCP/IP and SOME Cisco kit, you will be spending a LOT of time in Google. And probably asking yourself why you bought this book.

Those cautions aside, there are gems of `best practices' for non Cisco or smaller network techs here: Amid the Cisco jargon you will find practical advice even for your small business or SOHO LAN, like in Ch. 27 `Basic Firewall Theory', or Chapter 29 on different flavors of 802.11x WiFi and how to secure it. The author even introduces IPv6, with one of the most straightforward explanations I've read yet.

But what really makes this book worth it are the backstories & practical advice from a veteran to new engineers on how to handle failure scenarios as well as the politics involved in maintaining large networks.

In fact, everything from Chapter 39 (`Failure'), Chapter 40 (`GAD's Maxims') to Chapter 41 (`Avoiding Frustration') would be welcome in any IT, infosec or dev reference.

In short, I would somewhat recommend this book for non-CCNA folks interested in Network Engineering or Infrastructure. But I would highly recommend Network Warrior for the audience for which it was intended.

Disclosure: I received the eBook download from O'Reilly for review purposes. I'm not a CCNA but have been around.
0Comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
Whether you're showing up on the job fresh from a Cisco certification with no job experience or you've been in the field for awhile this book has something to offer that you're not going to find elsewhere. In a nutshell, it is the networking book to help you get your job done. The book focuses on teaching what you need to know on the job and not just information to to pass a certification exam. It helps turn on light bulbs that you may not get when reading cisco Press books. It explains thing with simple examples and uses fun analogies. I have to say this
is the first networking book that I have read that I just didn't want to put down. (think spy thriller or mystery novel) If you are in the networking field, buy this book and read it cover to cover like I did. (or virtual cover to cover via Kindle in my case) Absolutely wonderful book!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2012
Network Warrior is one of those books that every IT pro should have. I actually ordered an additional copy of this book to keep at home as when I first received it I was taking it to and from the office.

I recommend it to anyone who is not only getting started in networking, but also for anyone who is an IT "jack of all trades," as it's impossible to remember all the little command nuances or the real world best practices of a technology if you don't use it every day.

When I need to do something networking-related that I haven't done in a while, I usually look in this book first. For example, I know tomorrow I'm going to be setting up an old Catalyst 3550 as a multilayer switch for a project. I haven't set up an SVI in at least a year. I know I need to put a "no switchport" command in somewhere. I know I could search online for it, but then there's always Network Warrior!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2011
If you walk into any networking geeks secret lair and scan your eyes along the endless horizon of nerdomenclature, you'll undoubtedly find Gary Donahue's original Networking Warrior somewhere pressed up against a vast collection of Cisco Press, Sybex, O'Reilly and occasional Max Brooks literature. From the beginning Gary Donahue's masterpiece has been widely accepted as thee' post CCNA book for every Cisco guy since 2007. As the unofficial go to manual for everything untaught on the CCNA a Cisco network engineer needs to know, Gary has taken his place among the elite masters Cisco authors such as Jeff Doyle, Wendell Odom, Jeremy Cioara and David Hucaby just to name a few.

Networking Warrior Second Edition has updated it's core example technologies to reflect the ever evolving industry we as network engineers work with on a daily bassis. Giving us operational examples on Cisco new cutting edge equipment including the Cisco ASA Firewalls 8.0+ IOS, 3750 & 6500 switches and even the super-cool new Nexis product line emerging from the dark shadows intending to over the world one packet at a time. Gary takes his time at the end of each applicable chapter to explain the differences of implementing each technology though the IOS, CatIOS and new Nexus NX-OS giving clear examples that are easy to follow doubling this book as an excellent field manual alongside the extremely popular Portable Command Guides published by Cisco Press.

What make book unique from most publishing's is Gary's sparkling humor scatted throughout his writings. One moment he will be explaining the technical aspect of the subject, the next he'll be making a metaphor funny enough to make your Spouse look over your shoulder and ask "whats so funny?", and after the fourth or fifth time may or may not be a good thing. Even though this book flows very well, it is not without it's fresh off the print edition errors. There are areas in the text where examples have not been updated to reflect the new books updated example equipment, other areas have diagram abnormalities, but we're not here to judge Gary's wife's editorial skills. I'm sure it's hared enough just to put up with him (joking of course).

Garry mentions and gives a great amount credit to his wife as being his front line editor though the many months involved in writing this book.

Networking Warrior spans an impressive 41 chapters covering a slue of topics. Just holding this book in your hands and thumbing though the chapter indexes gives you an idea of just how much Gary covers. I'd like to say this book is an excellent cover to cover read, and in some major blocks it is, but there are some section that no matter how supper-geek status you give yourself you'll just find yourself over inundated with information or lack of understanding, especially if you're fresh off the CCNA boat. The clear cut and skinny on this book is: If you're a CCNA looking for the next step, or a networking nut wanting to freshen up your knowledge of Cisco solutions you're in for a treat. Because Gary Donahue has everything but gift wrapped you the next book to fill that empty slot on your bookshelf. If is, if it ever gets off your desk.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2011
Bought this to bone up after a job change, and it is awesome.
- Packed with network-related tech info (centered on the Cisco universe)
- Includes bottom to top level info, so it's easy to get into a topic that is new to you
- Excellent depth & breadth
- Amazingly up to date

Overall the perfect review/learning tool!
>> One caution - this book is for network tech types, not for casual/background info...
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2015
Great book, good price! This book reviews and refreshes, with a bit more substance, the overall of beginning courses in the Network field. A worth-while buy. My degree was in CIT Networking and this book was a welcome addition to my IT Library! Can't beat O'Reilly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2014
Looked high and low to stay current networking. Sturdy enough binder and cool rice like paper which seems durable. Highlighter goes through a bit... Still, I didn't mind spending more for something current that included all the nuts and bolts of my top favorite subject matter. I'm in the IT industry, so I recommend it for anyone with at least a decent grasp or at least a beginner willing to learn. Definitely gets into intermediate and even some advanced stuff... Still, nobody has hired me to be their Sr Network Admin after reading this, but it is an outstanding refresher with tons of improved understandings... About CCNA level, even though I never passed mine :-/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
One of the best book for sure, a very true focus between CCNA and CCNP. It will be the excellent book after you finished CCNA.

However,there are something to be desired on some topics. For example, the QOS chapter is clearly confused reader on queuing topic, CBWFQ and LLQ. No information about maximum priority rate and after guarantee certain amount, how difference between those 2 queuing on the left sources.

To be honest, this is the shortcoming of this book, it covered almost all the topics in network area, however, some of them are not deep enough or I can say the topic itself is too complicated to explain.

Again, this is definitely one of the best book in this market.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2013
Excellent mix of technical detail and real world experiences; I really appreciate the section dedicated to the the telephony/telecom side of the network fence -we typically get overlooked in the networking world, especially in the newly converged world of IP. . ..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2011
As Intrusion Detection Analyst or Security Engineer this book has help me understand or gmy knowledge of other network engineering appliances running in a Datacenter, like Load balancers, proxies, FW,routers, from diverse manufactures, and how it integrates with other security appliances like intrusion detections.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse