Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and readable introduction
The study of networks received much interest in recent years. This book provides an easy to read introduction covering many important topics. Hence its primary audience is probably for undergraduate students however it can serve also as reference.

In particular I like that the book focuses on many recent methods, e.g., community structures or complex network...
Published on July 20, 2010 by Zac

versus
14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, unreadable formulas in Kindle
The book is **excellent** but I regret I purchased the kindle version.
The mathematical expressions are too small to be readable in Kindle.
I hope that Amazon or the editorial will solve this issue !
Published 22 months ago by A.G.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and readable introduction, July 20, 2010
This review is from: Networks: An Introduction (Hardcover)
The study of networks received much interest in recent years. This book provides an easy to read introduction covering many important topics. Hence its primary audience is probably for undergraduate students however it can serve also as reference.

In particular I like that the book focuses on many recent methods, e.g., community structures or complex network models, without forgetting past concept that have been developed either in graph theory or come from interdisciplinary research for instance from studying social networks. Also, it discusses network algorithms because only by means of these methods you can study the introduced concepts and methods numerically.

Mathematicians interested in graph theory will probably not like this book because it is not written in a typical math-style. In addition, the topic of the book is on network theory which is not exactly graph theory but comprises wider concepts (theoretically and practically).

Besides mathematician, probably everyone will like it.

I want to remark that this book is not merely a collection of published papers, but it is written as a textbook. This why the individual parts fit well to each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible, relevant and comprehensive introduction, November 19, 2010
By 
C. Carroll (Orleans, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Networks: An Introduction (Hardcover)
I use network analysis in ecological research. I have found most reference books either highly technical or so simplistic as to be of of little use. This new book is the exception. It is quite well-written, and covers much recent applied research that uses network theory, as well as the analytical and computational background behind these applications. As well as being a good textbook, it is a great introduction to the topic for quantitative researchers in other fields that wish to apply network analysis to their work, and because it is up-to-date, I will continue to use it as a reference in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable book, May 11, 2012
By 
Roy Marsten (Atlanta, GA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Networks: An Introduction (Hardcover)
Networks by M. E. J. Newman is just invaluable for anyone working in the field of network related phenomena. I have already read through Chapter 11, and I have found both improvements in algorithms I had already implemented, and new methods that I didn't know about at all. I am only sorry that it took two years for me to discover this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, February 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Networks: An Introduction (Hardcover)
Great reference with clearly developed examples.
The layout made it enjoyable to read.

The math is very digestable for anyone at a slightly post Calc level.
(although clearly Calc is not needed)

Combine this with a bit of "R" code and you can actually build projects in the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book about netwotks, September 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Networks: An Introduction (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book, extremely well-written. Conatins a lot of information about the networks, their analysis, structure, and algorithms for their investigations. Gives a well-balanced theory of the analytic and probabilistic methods to study and analyse the networks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, unreadable formulas in Kindle, March 3, 2013
The book is **excellent** but I regret I purchased the kindle version.
The mathematical expressions are too small to be readable in Kindle.
I hope that Amazon or the editorial will solve this issue !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broad, deep and a joy to read., October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Networks: An Introduction (Hardcover)
The book really is an excellent guide to the vast domain of graphs and diagramming. It covers many topics and applications while remaining very readable despite the fact that it discusses various technical topics. I'd say it's an excellent bridge between the domain from a mathematical point of view and from an applicative angle.

If you need a gateway to this domain and a have an undergraduate understanding of maths then this book is for you.

[Things I wished would have been highlighted; the relation to knots and an introduction to graph layout algorithms.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reference for my desk, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Networks: An Introduction (Hardcover)
Excellent introduction to graph theory from an expert in the field. Although I have access to this book at the library, I wanted a hard copy to keep as a reference on my desk because I <3 it.

The book demonstrates (1) how systems can be modeled as networks and (2) how graph theory can be applied to gain insight on properties and behavior of these systems. The book opened my eyes some very interesting possibilities of how these tools can be applied, which is extremely valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor kindle version, June 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The content of the book is excellent and is worth 5 stars, but the kindle version is quite poor. For some reason, in the kindle version, the formulas are so small that they are barely readable. How disappointing! The publisher should seriously consider adjusting the formulas.

By the way, the index does not work: the phrases in the index sections are not links and they don't come with page number. They are just words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but not the best text I've read., February 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The explanations of network concepts were basic and easy to understand. This was a good introduction to the ideas. Whether it's better than what you could get with a brief literature review, I'm not sure, but they're all assembled together and that's worth quite a bit. But this book bit off a bit more than it could chew. A five chapter section is dedicated to applications, and another section is dedicated to methods, but it's neither a great survey nor methods text.

Network analysis spans a wide range of fields, so this must have been an especially difficult book to write. But I felt that it overgeneralized and mis-characterize a bit too much in the occasional area where I was familiar, which made me hesitant to trust it as an accurate representation of areas for which I was less familiar. If they had just been illustrative examples I wouldn't have let it affect the review, but there were five chapters dedicated to applications on different fields, and the introduction recommended using those chapters for introductory classes. Since I'm not confident they provide accurate representations of network analysis in those fields, I knocked a star.

I knocked a second star because it's not the greatest introduction to the math. The math is relatively simple, but since it is a text book, you expect to be walked through it a bit better, maybe provide exercises or examples. The book is trying to be everything for everyone and ends up not managing to be the best at anything. It isn't a great methods text, it doesn't walk you through the math and how to apply it, and it isn't a compelling overview of the applications. It ends up being half-way for both. So, decent, but not the best. If anyone has any alternative recommendations, please post in the comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Networks: An Introduction
Networks: An Introduction by M. E. J. Newman (Hardcover - May 20, 2010)
$85.00 $65.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.