Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Networks: An Introduction
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$74.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 20, 2010
The study of networks received much interest in recent years. This book provides an easy to read introduction covering many important topics. Hence its primary audience is probably for undergraduate students however it can serve also as reference.

In particular I like that the book focuses on many recent methods, e.g., community structures or complex network models, without forgetting past concept that have been developed either in graph theory or come from interdisciplinary research for instance from studying social networks. Also, it discusses network algorithms because only by means of these methods you can study the introduced concepts and methods numerically.

Mathematicians interested in graph theory will probably not like this book because it is not written in a typical math-style. In addition, the topic of the book is on network theory which is not exactly graph theory but comprises wider concepts (theoretically and practically).

Besides mathematician, probably everyone will like it.

I want to remark that this book is not merely a collection of published papers, but it is written as a textbook. This why the individual parts fit well to each other.
44 comments|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2010
I use network analysis in ecological research. I have found most reference books either highly technical or so simplistic as to be of of little use. This new book is the exception. It is quite well-written, and covers much recent applied research that uses network theory, as well as the analytical and computational background behind these applications. As well as being a good textbook, it is a great introduction to the topic for quantitative researchers in other fields that wish to apply network analysis to their work, and because it is up-to-date, I will continue to use it as a reference in the future.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2012
The content of the book is excellent and is worth 5 stars, but the kindle version is quite poor. For some reason, in the kindle version, the formulas are so small that they are barely readable. How disappointing! The publisher should seriously consider adjusting the formulas.

By the way, the index does not work: the phrases in the index sections are not links and they don't come with page number. They are just words.
33 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2012
Networks by M. E. J. Newman is just invaluable for anyone working in the field of network related phenomena. I have already read through Chapter 11, and I have found both improvements in algorithms I had already implemented, and new methods that I didn't know about at all. I am only sorry that it took two years for me to discover this book!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
The book is **excellent** but I regret I purchased the kindle version.
The mathematical expressions are too small to be readable in Kindle.
I hope that Amazon or the editorial will solve this issue !
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2015
Beautiful book. It has a lot of the basics (it is an introduction after all), but delves a little deeper in some topics. It is very comprehensive. The author's prose is very clear and good to read. I liked the variety of many examples of networks the author deals with in the book. The quality of the hardcover is wonderful. Printing and binding are very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2012
This is an excellent book, extremely well-written. Conatins a lot of information about the networks, their analysis, structure, and algorithms for their investigations. Gives a well-balanced theory of the analytic and probabilistic methods to study and analyse the networks.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2013
I purchased this book for a network graduate class I was taking. While this is one of the seminal books on the subject, it is complicated and often does not explain the math very well. It also covers a wide range of networks, from social networks to biological networks. This makes it good for showing how networks can be used, but does not delve deep enough into any one of them to make you feel really comfortable with any one type.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2015
If you are a layman of network study and want to learn about it in a quantitative way, this is a wonderful book to start from. If you do work on networks, you probably already have this book, for it serves as an excellent reference too. This book gives a comprehensive and rigorous introduction to the core concepts of networks (vertex, edge, degree, centrality, component, path, etc.) and classical algorithms to do computations. Prof. Newman's writing style is extremely clear. There are no logic gaps between sentences. Whenever you find something unclear or confusing during reading, you will find an explanation in the following paragraphs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2012
Great reference with clearly developed examples.
The layout made it enjoyable to read.

The math is very digestable for anyone at a slightly post Calc level.
(although clearly Calc is not needed)

Combine this with a bit of "R" code and you can actually build projects in the area.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.