Customer Reviews


357 Reviews
5 star:
 (209)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Every Kiss Should Be Like
First off I want to say I strongly disagree with Dave McCoy, writer of the Amazon review for Never Been Kissed. Did you see the movie? Drew Barrymore put in a beautiful performance. And yes, I can believe her to be a "dopey, unattractive" newspaper reporter trying to relive her high school experience. If you saw Barrymore in The Wedding Singer you will agree...
Published on January 4, 2000 by Paige

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This rating is for the Blu Ray PQ quality.
I purchased this movie for an upgrade to my dvd. It is not a great film,but it is a cute movie and I have always enjoyed it as a guilty pleasure. But this Blu-ray is a very poor transfer. Detail gets lost,colors sometimes pop,sometimes are washed out. The sound isn't what you would expect either. I had to keep adjusting the volume. If you already own the dvd, I would say...
Published on January 19, 2012 by Jersey Girl


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Every Kiss Should Be Like, January 4, 2000
This review is from: Never Been Kissed (DVD)
First off I want to say I strongly disagree with Dave McCoy, writer of the Amazon review for Never Been Kissed. Did you see the movie? Drew Barrymore put in a beautiful performance. And yes, I can believe her to be a "dopey, unattractive" newspaper reporter trying to relive her high school experience. If you saw Barrymore in The Wedding Singer you will agree that she played a very well poised young woman, not a "geek to the core" girl. When I first watched this movie I felt sorry for Barrymore's character, regardless that in real life she is a movie star and beautiful person. That has nothing to do with the movie. When you walk into a movie theatre you don't think about the star's status in the lime light but of what they're trying to portray and I think Barrymore played a very convincing role. Movies are made to wrap us up in the feelings and emotions of the characters so that we can relate to what the character is going through and I felt what Josie was going through. The next time you watch a movie, Dave McCoy, I suggest you leave your ideas of the star's status at home and focus on what the actor is trying to portray. I believe Barrymore portrayed Josie better than any actress in Hollywood. I mean, can you honestly see Neve Cambell or Gwyneth Paltrow in this part? No. And those of you looking for a romantic movie that makes you grab your heart and scream for joy all at the same time, buy this movie. It has everything from a forbidden love, waiting to be lit by the desires of two people, a man who sees a woman instead of a girl, waiting for some sign that the passions of his heart can be revealed and a woman, still a girl in many ways, waiting for the perfect moment when she will know that the one she yearns for is the one right infront of her, to a man just waiting for his chance to make the big leagues. It's a story of growing up and finding yourself. And the ending is wonderful. What every kiss should be like. A must see for all romance lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, February 16, 2000
This review is from: Never Been Kissed (DVD)
First of all I have to disagree whole-heartedly with the 'official' review of this film. Never Been Kissed is a wonderful, feel-good movie that will leave you with a huge smile on your face long after it's ended.
I'm not a 'teen' and I still enjoyed it thoroughly. Drew Barrymore is great and totally believeable as the nerd who is an ugly duckling on the outside but a swan on the inside, who returns to school for an undercover job as a reporter, where she ultimately finds herself.
When I saw this at the pictures, the whole audience was totally absorbed by the film and vocally sympathised with Josie's humiliating flashbacks and laughed out loud at her charming awkwardness.
David Arquette as her 'cool' and 'popular' brother was inspired casting and Michael Vartan as the teacher she falls for plays his part perfectly.
These three actors alone make the film well worthwhile. Watch it and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warm, engaging comedy that will capture your heart!, June 22, 2000
This review is from: Never Been Kissed [VHS] (VHS Tape)
First and foremost, I would like to say that I heartily disagree with Mr. Dave McCoy's editorial review. Mr. McCoy stressed that there was a "complete inability to buy Barrymore as unattractive, awkward, and unpopular." This could not be further from the truth. In "Never Been Kissed," Drew Barrymore stars as Josie Gellar, a news reporter for the Chicago Sun Times. As the film opens, Josie receives her first undercover assignment: she must enroll in a local high school, where she will collect information about teenagers today. Josie, though excited by the challenge, is worried: her own high school years were spent as an unattractive geek, being endlessly ridiculed and humiliated by her peers. Despite what Dave McCoy said, Barrymore plays a very convincing role and is completely believeable as a geek. David Arquette, who plays Josie's lively brother Rob, also puts in a great performance. And Michael Vartan, who plays Josie's English teacher and the object of her affections, does a great job as well. This movie has an excellent ending, and it teaches you that your status in high school does not affect your career or your plans for the future. "Never Been Kissed" is the first movie I have seen in a long time that is both hilarious and meaningful at the same time, making it a definite "must-see" for everyone. I highly recommend this wonderful film to anyone looking for a great flick, even if that person has, well, never been kissed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Been Kissed, March 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Never Been Kissed (DVD)
I have never been a huge Drew Barrymore fan, but this movie changed my opinion of her somewhat. She plays Josie Gellar a painfully shy editor for the Chicago Sun Times, and through a comedy of errors, ends up being appointed as an undercover reporter at a local high school. This film switches back and forth between the past and present as we see Josie try to fit in with the students. She was shy and tortured by her peers the first time around which left her with some pretty deep scars. As she comes to terms with her life from the past and present, her biggest story ends up being of that struggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This rating is for the Blu Ray PQ quality., January 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this movie for an upgrade to my dvd. It is not a great film,but it is a cute movie and I have always enjoyed it as a guilty pleasure. But this Blu-ray is a very poor transfer. Detail gets lost,colors sometimes pop,sometimes are washed out. The sound isn't what you would expect either. I had to keep adjusting the volume. If you already own the dvd, I would say to keep it and not do the "upgrade" since the Bd looks like an upconverted dvd anyway. I now know to read reviews before thinking every Blu-ray will be an upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who says there's no chemistry or real love in this world?, November 16, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Never Been Kissed (DVD)
Contrary to the main review, Never Been Kissed is full of chemistry. Sure it's a formula movie, but isn't that a refreshing break from some of the all-too-real graphic movies that have been hitting the screen? This is a modern fairy tale, and you've got to approach it as one or you will think you're too good for it.
Having said that, what makes the film run is first: Drew Barrymore's totally believable character. If you've ever been on the high school margins and then bloomed a little later in life, you can appreciate Josie's situation. But even more beautiful than Josie's personal change is the obvious respect that exists between Josie and Sam Coulson (Michael Vartan) -- congratulations to Drew Barrymore for fighting to get Vartan on this cast, because it's been a long time since I saw an actor on the screen who actually appears genuinely interested in, supportive of, and attracted (in a very pure way) to a woman. Someone should give him a huge pay raise for pulling off the part. I second a previous review about "the look of love in their eyes" -- that's the way a woman wants to be looked at, like this man totally respects her for her intelligence, charm and kindness. It's a perfect contrast to the pettiness of Josie's high school crowd and demonstrates how much we can mature once we've danced at our own prom and moved on in life.
Now someone just needs to let us all know when Vartan is going to be in another film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this movie and love it, January 11, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Never Been Kissed (DVD)
I waited for the DVD release of the movie since I had heard bad reviews. Less than half way through watching it I knew I'd have to go buy it the very next day. I think I've now seen "Never Been Kissed" (a safe guess...) 15 times. I absolutely love this movie! To any girl who had a hard time "surviving" high school, who opted to take the high road and dreamed of coming back and showing them all--this is it! Drew Barrymore is out-of-this-world. I relived horrible high school moments and laughed till I cried. This is a fun, clean, feel good movie. If you don't buy this you're going to kick yourself later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another silly teenager movie or chick flick.., April 17, 2000
This review is from: Never Been Kissed (DVD)
I rented this movie fully expecting another run of the mill teenager and chick movie. I was pleasantly surprised by what turned out to be a very sweet, funny and real movie. The main character of Josie is someone I think many people can relate to and the situations she experiences in high school (both times she goes) are very true to life. Add to this a great supporting cast of interesting, developed characters and you get a movie that is easy to watch over and over again.... a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspension of Disblief Set Aside, Good Movie, November 7, 2011
Ah, a feel good movie. A 28 or so year old Josie works as a copy editor but dreams of being a journalist and having her own story. She is plain, with mousey hair, pimpled skin, and simple, plain clothes. For the most part, people tend to overlook her, if they pay her any attention at all. So becoming a journalist in the competitive field is unlikely, unless she does something extraordinary to prove she's able to handle the job.

Because she looks so young, and due to other circumstances, she is finally assigned a journalist job: Go back to high school and infiltrate on the inside to get her story.

Josie realizes she can reinvent herself now, to be anyone and act any way she wants, because she's not a high school student anymore. She starts off a bid nerdy, but soon comes into her own, when one of the more popular 'boys' in school takes an interest in her. Her all-star baseball playing brother gets into the act when he comes to the school under pretense to help her out as well.

In the process of writing and researching her column for the undercover investigation, she wears a wire and is monitored by those with whom she works. When one of the younger, more attractive and popular teachers acts in what can be misconstrued as an inappropriate way with Josie--who is supposed to be a child--the boss tells Josie that they have to expose the teacher.

Josie has now betrayed everyone's trust and the truth, as it has a way of doing, finally comes out to everyone... in the end, Josie apologizes to the teacher, but he still feels betrayed, so she writes to him in the paper and sets up an extraordinary meeting with him in the public eye, revealing she has never had a real, grown up kiss... and that she wants him to be her first. Will he show up? That's the ultimate ending to the show, but you'll have to watch it to find out.

There are a few laugh out loud moments in the show, if you're one who has ever had an insecure moment back in high school. There are some smile moments too, and the ending works for the story. It's a good movie for a fun and cute entertainment experience and I'd say it's mostly okay for kids to watch too. There's a little language, but no sexual content or violence or other scenes that would be uncomfortable for kids and parents to watch together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming and hilarious, April 1, 2002
This review is from: Never Been Kissed [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Heartwarming and hilarious, Never Been Kissed takes you down a path of self-discovery for Josie Gellar (Drew Barrymore), a shy copy editor for the Chicago Sun Times. At a staff meeting one day, she is given the chance of a lifetime. She gets to be an undercover reporter and she'll be going back to high school. She is incredibly excited until she realizes that none of her co-workers think she can really do it and her brother points out that she was a loser in her high school days.
Unable to cast aside her past experiences and doubts, Josie is unable to overcome her insecurities until her brother Rob (David Arquette) convinces her that all she needs is to believe in herself, and have someone else believe in her. With his help, she begins to find her wilder and more free-spirited side, both in and out of school. This attracts the attention of the popular kids and the eyes of her English teacher, Sam Coulson (Michael Vartan), who she begins to fall in love with.
Unfortunately, as her romantic feelings begin to blossom for Sam, her boss decides that her romantic interests in Sam (and his reciprocating feelings) must be the story. This causes Josie to almost ruin any chance she might have with Sam just so she can save her job.
In the end, she writes an incredibly popular story about her self-discovery. She also apologizes to everyone who she hurt along the way, including Sam, who she doesn't specifically name. She informs him of her feelings and asks him to please meet her on the pitcher's mound on the night of the state baseball championship for her first 'real' kiss.
NBK is a happy love story with some very sad flashbacks that help the viewer to understand the pain that Josie once endured and is now overcoming. The performances by the entire cast are incredible.
This is definitely a great movie for teen girls, or anyone else, to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Never Been Kissed
Never Been Kissed by Raja Gosnell (DVD - 2003)
$6.98 $5.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.