Never Easy: Gay Erotic Fiction and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$8.99
Qty:1
  • List Price: $9.99
  • Save: $1.00 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Never Easy Paperback – May 24, 2012


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$8.99
$8.99
Best%20Books%20of%202014

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Holiday Deals in Books
Holiday Deals in Books
Find deals for every reader in the Holiday Deals in Books store, featuring savings of up to 50% on cookbooks, children's books, literature & fiction, and more.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 186 pages
  • Publisher: Queer Young Cowboys (May 24, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0985639504
  • ISBN-13: 978-0985639501
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.3 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,287,521 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Johnny Murdoc (johnnymurdoc.com) is 30 years old and lives in St. Louis, MO with his partner of nine years. His interests include porn, comics, and copyright law. He likes bike rides and sci-fi movies. He is the publisher of Queer Young Cowboys, a micro-pub focused on supporting cerebral and raunchy gay lit. His writing has appeared in several anthologies, including Best Gay Erotica 2011. He is a co-founder of Sex Positive St. Louis (www.sexstl.com), an organization dedicated to providing safe spaces for discussion and education. Natty Soltesz (nattysoltesz.com) has been writing erotica since 2001 when he began submitting stories to the Nifty Erotic Stories Archive (for which he is still a faithful contributor). Since then he’s had stories published in magazines like Freshmen, Mandate and Handjobs and in anthologies like Best Gay Erotica 2011, Best Gay Romance 2010, and Second Person Queer. Soltesz co-wrote the screenplay for the 2009 Joe Gage-directed porn film Dad Takes a Fishing Trip and contributed dialogue to Gage’s 2006 film Lifeguard! In 2011 Queer Mojo published his novel Backwoods, which is a Lambda Literary Award finalist. He lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Rob Wolfsham (wolfshammy.com) writes insincere chronicles, lost men, orphic futures and glacial hearts. He believes in subverting your superego, forest sojourns, and quietly destroying assimilation. His short stories have appeared in numerous anthologies, including Best Gay Erotica 2010 (Cleis Press, 2010), Best Gay Erotica 2011 (Cleis Press, 2011), and the Lambda Literary Award finalist, I Like It Like That: True Stories of Gay Male Desire (Arsenal Pulp Press, 2009). He was born and raised in Houston, Texas, and lives in the Friendship neighborhood of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By MGallaway on July 28, 2012
Format: Paperback
This book contains thoughtfully composed or "literary" stories that also include or reference explicit descriptions of/about men having sex with other men. It's a work that will make excellent reading for people who enjoy M2M sex and good writing, and but also for those readers who have no idea what gay sex is/means because it's largely absent from the mainstream literary canon, at least in the United States. In short, highly recommended for anyone interested in innovative storytelling.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By RaveUn2Mike on June 19, 2012
Format: Paperback
Although not a frequent reader of erotica, I know the genre occasionally is accused of pandering to a specific framework, utilizing rote storylines to lead the reader to the scenes of sex and sin.

Never Easy is definitely not one of those form novels, but rather a breath of literary fresh air. Of course, for readers of Murdoc, Wolfsham, and Soltesz, this should come as no surprise. Although all three are masters of the erotic sequence, they are all even more so storytellers in the truest sense. Each author comes with their own eloquent and unique style, but all share a common understanding of American disillusionment.

For example, Wolfsham's masterful "One-Eyed Dad," about a listless young man attending his best friend's wedding, is as much about the quarter-life search for identity as it is about the inevitable sexual scenario he wanders into. It's gem amongst the collection, but also definitive of what the entire book is all about: That delicate moment when sex and real life, not imagined flights of fantasy, intertwine. From Soltesz's wistful take to Murdoc's erotic realism, each author brings a definitive sense of longing and Americana to their sexual exploits.

Never Easy is a collection full of lush prose, raw talent, and legitimate arousal. Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Topher McCulloch on June 7, 2012
Format: Paperback
The stories in Never Easy will all leave you asking for more, more, more. Rob Wolfsham's story "One-Eyed Dad" fulfills the promise of Chekhov's dad. When you say you're going to take his bullet, it's going to happen no matter how unlikely the trajectory it takes to get there. My favorite story in the collection is Wolfsham's other piece, "Penguin." The flashbacks in "Penguin" suggest a much larger story than the bits and pieces told in Never Easy. I want to see Alec, the pretentious art snob who says things like "Either way, I'm not saying my GIFs are art. At least not structured Art Institute bull--," get what's coming to him.

Both "One-Eyed Dad" and "Penguin" read more like fiction that gets intercourse right than straight up genre pieces. There are no long passages describing anatomy in excruciating detail. Nothing is described as ropey. For inexperienced lads experiencing multiple firework displays their first time, you'll have to look elsewhere. Across the book, the scenes are unexpected and exciting. The stories have great range, from Johnny Murdoc's totally believable and realistic older neighbor next door in "The Other Man" to the more fantastic but also more titillating tale of the boyfriend's brothers in Natty Soltesz's story. This genre works best when it has some grounding in reality, which all these stories do. I'm really excited to see what else Murdoc puts out under this new micro-pub. These stories share the theme of "I can't believe this is happening, but it is." You've heard the local legends, now see them for yourself.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
then this is the book for you.
Challenging, complicated, like those dreams where you're trying to get some but you get interrupted - but in a fun way.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again