Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much everything you need to know about branding
This is an intelligent, well-written book from a guy who has obviously had a great deal of experience marketing high-profile companies (Nike, Starbucks).

Bedbury lays out pretty much everything you need to know about branding in 190 pages. It's obvious he's a good writer and he's got great examples to back up his assertions in the book.

He is hard on...
Published on January 18, 2006 by DougA

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BRANDING, FOR EXECUTIVES. READ IT FOR THE CASE STUDIES.
It is difficult to review a book that one has enjoyed reading and then say that it was not up to the mark (in terms, of course, of only my expectations.)
No doubt that Scott Bedbury's work is a fast paced read, his writing is lucid and quite frequently quotably light-hearted. There is a lot of material here for people in larger corporations or even general marketing...
Published on April 14, 2004 by Shashank Tripathi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BRANDING, FOR EXECUTIVES. READ IT FOR THE CASE STUDIES., April 14, 2004
This review is from: A New Brand World: Eight Principles for Achieving Brand Leadership in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
It is difficult to review a book that one has enjoyed reading and then say that it was not up to the mark (in terms, of course, of only my expectations.)
No doubt that Scott Bedbury's work is a fast paced read, his writing is lucid and quite frequently quotably light-hearted. There is a lot of material here for people in larger corporations or even general marketing folks. And where Bedbury truly shines is in the case studies he presents in the 8 chapters.
But if, like me, you set off on this book looking for some newfangled insights into the world of branding, then this is not the book for you. The title claims to proffer "8 principles". Let's face it, at the end of the day, principles are not that hard to create and this becomes quite painfully clear when you reach the end of this book and wonder if you have learnt anything new.
But I am being unfairly critical. From his style, it seems an approachable business book was precisely what Bedbury's intended?
As a comprehensive introduction to the field of branding, I'd still recommend "Strategic Brand Asset Management" by Keller. For a discussion of some innovative yet reasonable forms of brand creation, especially on a shoestring, I'd usually point to a PR related book, or perhaps the rapier wit "60-minutes Brand Strategist."
But as a gentle introduction for executives in to the nebulous world of branding, or as a non-technical business book for business folk in general who place less emphasis on a structured analytical framework and are more interested in a soft springboard into the field, then "Emotional Branding" and this book from Bedbury are pretty near the top of my list of recommendations.
Very accessible and insightful stuff, if you aren't expecting a summary of last decade's JCR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much everything you need to know about branding, January 18, 2006
By 
This review is from: A New Brand World: Eight Principles for Achieving Brand Leadership in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
This is an intelligent, well-written book from a guy who has obviously had a great deal of experience marketing high-profile companies (Nike, Starbucks).

Bedbury lays out pretty much everything you need to know about branding in 190 pages. It's obvious he's a good writer and he's got great examples to back up his assertions in the book.

He is hard on Microsoft but, in my opinion, not hard enough. The reviewer who panned this book based on his treatment of Microsoft is short-sighted. This book is about much more than that. Microsoft is a very small part of the book and they are used appropriately as an example of what NOT to do in marketing.

My biggest problem with the book is Bedbury's assertion that companies are becoming more vertical. It simply isn't true. Companies are not vertically-integrating; they're outsourcing many of the tasks associated with building their products. Witness the Apple iPod. No Apple employee has ever assembled an iPod or built the circuit board. It's simply too expensive. If Apple was vertically-integrated and built the iPod, they would probably cost around $5,000.

My second biggest problem with the book is the final chapter "Brand Future." Bedbury comes out of "left" field and uses almost the entire final chapter as a kind of platform for some liberal agenda. I won't spoil it for those of you who subscribe to those ideals (I'm an independent); but, suffice it to say, the chapter felt out of place. Bedbury talks intelligently about branding for 190 pages, and then the book turns into a political white paper for the final 20 pages.

Don't let that distract you from buying the book, however. This is what business books are supposed to be: erudite, thought-provoking and entertaining. Having read hundreds of business books (I teach Business and Marketing), I can tell you that those three traits are in short supply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting information, but it gets old, March 7, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A New Brand World: Eight Principles for Achieving Brand Leadership in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
This book was interesting and had some good information in it, but I wouldn't recommend it unless you want to read a book on Starbucks and Nike. I found myself dreading another story about how wonderful Starbucks or Nike are, and how great a manager the author was. It really starts to get old.
The principles are good, but you can read about most of them in any college marketing textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh air & Qualitative thoughts to manage Brand, April 6, 2003
By 
Dump Dare (Greater China) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A New Brand World: Eight Principles for Achieving Brand Leadership in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
If you're looking for a very technical book on marketing plans or vehicles development and brand asset management, it may not be your choice.
This book offers some fresh thoughts for marketers and brand managers on what's a brand and what kind of areas (e.g. short-term financial trade-off decisions) that will impact a brand's health.
Within this book, this includes some clear thoughts and ideas on how to "maintain" a brand, areas should pay attention to and helpful cases sharing for better illustrate the ideas. Unexpectedly, the authors captured less advertising part but put more emphasis on the people, culture, product, retail environment rather than marketing / advertising.
If you're looking for a more balance brand management overview, suggest to go for David Aaker's books, some Kotler's books and finally read this one to have a holistic idea on this topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius Strikes Again, March 23, 2004
This review is from: A New Brand World: Eight Principles for Achieving Brand Leadership in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
Scott Bedbury, the architect of building the Nike and Starbucks brands, invites us into the inner sanctum of building statement brands. For someone who loves both business biographies as well as strategy, I found this book as entertaining as I did informative and useful. It is no wonder to me why Scott was able to navigate two distinct brands to a lasting impression in America. As someone who is building my own brand (TotallySoccer), I found that Scott is right on: you must have the vision and the imagination as well as the ability to execute. A great and entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bedbury's experience at Nike & Starbucks proves valuable, August 1, 2004
By 
Phillip Klien "PK" (Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A New Brand World: Eight Principles for Achieving Brand Leadership in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
The many things we should do for our brands (and the ones we have to avoid at all costs) are clearly presented in Bedbury's eight brand principles. Instead of using financial models and correlations, Bedbury tells stories of how each one of these things makes the difference on the company's bottom line. His experience at Nike and Starbucks thoughout the entire positioning process before and after these companies became power brands gives him the credibility and the parenthood needed to teach decision-makers about branding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but I'm not sure it's for a wide audience, April 3, 2010
This review is from: A New Brand World: Eight Principles for Achieving Brand Leadership in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
After reading this book I have a lot of respect for the author, the man has great experience. It was interesting reading about the early Nike and Starbucks experiences but I'm not sure his advice can help the "average" business owner or manager. If you are part of a marketing dept, this book can really help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shows how brands are of financial importance to businesses., November 10, 2003
By 
"olisiwa" (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A New Brand World: Eight Principles for Achieving Brand Leadership in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
There is no shortage of books on this subject and I've probably read three-quarters of them. This one comes closest to cracking the code. In fact, the author uses that exact word in describing how marketers must go about cracking a brand's genetic code.

While some may find the heavy reliance on Bedbury's experiences at Nike and Starbucks limiting, I think they're quite instructive. Mainly because while one of these brands, Nike, was created largely using traditional mass media, the other achieved its preeminence doing exactly the opposite.
In either case, Bedbury does a great job of defining what a brand is, why it is of such financial importance to a business, how to go about discovering its genetic code, and how to maximize a brand's value and ubiquity. And he does it in a very readable fashion. Definitely something anyone who places any stock in branding will want to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great lessons for marketers - newbies to seasoned professionals, December 3, 2013
By 
Doug Honig (Shaker Heights, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A New Brand World: Eight Principles for Achieving Brand Leadership in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
As a 20+ year career marketing professional, I felt like Bedbury was talking to me. My copy is now filled with dog eared pages and notes in the margins. I'm sure I'll reread it from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Story with Strong Lessons, October 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A New Brand World: Eight Principles for Achieving Brand Leadership in the Twenty-First Century (Paperback)
Reads like a good story but filled with intense lessons about business, branding, and preserving the integrity of a company and it's reputation in the marketplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A New Brand World: Eight Principles for Achieving Brand Leadership in the Twenty-First Century
$16.00 $12.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.