Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Divide
If there is a fitting single to start off the Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen soundtrack, it is this one. As mentioned on their website, this song actually came from a batch of songs they came up with for the whole cast of characters from the movie. For example, they would have a song with a working title named Optimus Prime and another named Megatron, which...
Published on December 31, 2009 by Cai Yixin Jeremy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, it's music
Am a Linkin Park fan and it was free, I don't normally purchase much music online due to licenses expiring, potential loss because of PC loss/failure, etc. YES I still buy those plastic things called CDs.
Published 21 months ago by Don Quick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Divide, December 31, 2009
This review is from: New Divide (Audio CD)
If there is a fitting single to start off the Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen soundtrack, it is this one. As mentioned on their website, this song actually came from a batch of songs they came up with for the whole cast of characters from the movie. For example, they would have a song with a working title named Optimus Prime and another named Megatron, which eventually became New Divide.

So they knocked around a few of the songs and found this one to be the most fitting of all. Rightly so, New Divide talks about a conflict, about a separation within Megatron's psyche in both metaphorical and figurative ways. The song symbolizes a union between the Fallen and Megatron, best exemplified by the line "Like a startling sign that fate has finally found me. Your voice was all I heard that I get what I deserved." This shows the level of storytelling the song has and is an example of Linkin Park's sublime songwriting.

Their execution of the song was also just as impressive. From the beginning rift to the haunting first few lines to the change in tempo and intensity for the chorus and then to the energized techno interlude. The whole song is well arranged and the flow of it fits the emotional tension and mood to a T. Underneath it all, Ray Bourdon's drums are what provide the tribal feel and also the tempo for the track. And as usual, the rest of the band (Delson's guitar, Hahn's beats, Shinoda's keys) was just as fitting.

But the star of the song is Chester's vocals. Not only do you believe the actual words he sings, which sells the story, but it also provides the main strength and power of the song itself. People who have heard him on his Dead by Sunrise record would know about the intensity Chester provides with his singing and how it drives every one of his songs forward. Here, in New Divide, you get exactly the same energy. Just compare the acapella version of this song to the instrumental track (both included here) and you can tell that the vocals are actually more powerful than the instrumentals, which is amazing.

On a whole, New Divide delivers what it promises; a good morsel of music greatness. Listen to it in the car or on your Ipod, this single will slowly grow on you. Hail, Megatron!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long time LP fan, August 2, 2009
This review is from: New Divide (MP3 Music)
I have been a long time Linkin Park fan, since the days of Hybrid Theory and even before. So its an understatement to say I was excited when I heard this new single. The electronic sound wrapped around LPs lyrics and instruments works perfectly for the style. Even beyond the song it fits well as the track for Transformers, you can tell Linkin Park perfected this one. I can't wait for the next album from Linkin Park if this is any indicator of what is to come! If you really liked this track you should search out the instrumental and "a cappella" versions they really showcase the details in the song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Song, June 22, 2009
This review is from: New Divide (MP3 Music)
I've always been a fan of Linkin Park's but New Divide is really a fantastic song. Here's to hoping they'll produce more like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, June 12, 2009
This review is from: New Divide (MP3 Music)
i'm a linkin park fanatic anyways....but besides that...its perfect for the movie...and a hit!!!...love it...way worth my dollar...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the song, June 9, 2014
By 
Joe (Wauconda,IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Divide (MP3 Music)
A very good song and I encountered no issues downloading this song and the sound quality was as expected. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, May 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Divide (MP3 Music)
I know this track was orginally only a single, and probably stii is, but it was worth my dollar to download. This song is more like the stuff Linkin Park used to do. Fans of their original work shouldn't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mesmerizing, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Divide (MP3 Music)
New Divide from Lincoln Park is so good you want to put it on repeat anden to it 20 times before leaving the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing from the Transformers movies, July 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Divide (MP3 Music)
New Divide by Linkin Park, to me, is the pinnacle of the band's second style effort. It continues and improves upon the formula started in Minutes to Midnight. If you like that album, the chances are you'll also like this song. And yes, it is the best thing to come out of the Transformers movies. There, I said it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great., September 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Divide (Audio CD)
Love everything from LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Linkin Park!, July 13, 2009
By 
Topcount "Top" (Washington State) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Divide (MP3 Music)
Some people don't like when their band's come out with new music. I do. This is promising music to me, and I believe that this is only the beginning of more great music from LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

New Divide
New Divide by Linkin Park (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.