Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy-access intro to Islam
I bought the new second edition of this text for an introductory course on Islam and ended up reading the entire book before the class even started. It's well written and organized, a vital necessity with 1400 years of ground to cover. Of course there are the narratives and basic info that any introductory work would include, but Brown also uses good examples to bring...
Published on September 12, 2009 by Asia Khuf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a good introduction. I bought the kindle version and for ...
It's a good introduction. I bought the kindle version and for study purpose this is not handy:

It's very annoying that the index in the back of the kindle version doesn't link to passages in the book.
Published 1 month ago by M. L. Van Stam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy-access intro to Islam, September 12, 2009
By 
Asia Khuf (White Salmon, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A New Introduction to Islam (Paperback)
I bought the new second edition of this text for an introductory course on Islam and ended up reading the entire book before the class even started. It's well written and organized, a vital necessity with 1400 years of ground to cover. Of course there are the narratives and basic info that any introductory work would include, but Brown also uses good examples to bring things into perspective: for instance the "Coffee Debate" illustrates how Islamic law actually operates. The book is up-to-date not only in its discussion of issues like "Islam and Modernity" but also in bringing up recent scholarly debates about the Koran and Islamic traditions. I found myself constantly saying, "So that's why," in regard to controversial issues like gender or the sharia.

Brown is sympathetic to his topic, but avoids an apologetic stance and tends to let facts speak for themselves. It's very much to his credit that someone like myself, a devout believer in a "heretical" religion, comes away from the book with far greater respect for Islam as a whole, and a thirst to know more. For that purpose the numerous references and bibliography are solid and useful. There's also a concise 10-page glossary for us non-Arabists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Esposito, January 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A New Introduction to Islam (Paperback)
My review is really in response to John Esposito's book which was previously used for the Intro to Islam class at my university. This book is breath of fresh air. I have only read a couple chapters so far, but Brown tells you more explicitly WHERE Muslims get their information about things such as Muhammad's life. This was missing in the equivalent Esposito book for the most part. Also I see Brown as very fair in his analysis, just the right amount of critical. This is a very basic textbook but a good one for an Intro class. Esposito has the tendency to make Islam appear perfect, and is not critical of any areas of it. Brown does a much fairer job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical introduction to Islam, May 2, 2010
By 
DukeBedford (Bedford, MA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A New Introduction to Islam (Paperback)
This is an undergraduate college textbook, and it reads like one. I found it interesting, though the style is rather dry. I appreciated the history of Islam being provided in the context of the religious ferment that was going at the time -- particularly the unorthodox Christian sects that had been driven out of the Byzantine empire into the desert regions. Mohammed apparently had contact with several of these groups during his travels, and his views and perspectives on Christianity were influenced by their theology. It was also interesting to read how in the early years, Muslims and Jews found common cause in their opposition to Christianity. All in all, an excellent overview of the history of Islam, the major (and minor) Islamic sects, Islamic theology, interpretations of Islamic law, etc. If you want an objective, non-polemic introduction to this important religion, this is a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun fun fun, November 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A New Introduction to Islam (Paperback)
best textbook on Islam to date, also best textbook ever. Brown is a very accessible writer and even funny at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent textbook on Islam, November 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A clear description of the basics of Islam. I haven't finished it yet, and it is intended to be a textbook for college courses. It has been helpful to me as I have more contact with Muslims in other countries so that I can understand some of their orientation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, October 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A New Introduction to Islam (Paperback)
Good book very informative about the religion and explains reasons for contemporary conflict and a great overview of the history and how Islam has evolved and why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A New Introduction to Islam (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book for anyone interested in learning about Islam. It presents things in an orderly manner and does a very good job describing new concepts to people with no prior exposure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Purchased as a textbook for college-level intro to Islam, January 21, 2013
By 
Mari (Pinehurst, NC, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This primer on Islam is very well-written and an excellent tool, if paired with primary source readings. Brown's ability to present complex material in a very readable manner is appreciated. As a very good introduction ought to do, it connects with undergraduates to inspire further in-depth research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Class, May 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Easy to read easy explanations and helpful for an intro to Islam class. I passes the class, and I know I could not have done it without this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's a good introduction. I bought the kindle version and for ..., September 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a good introduction. I bought the kindle version and for study purpose this is not handy:

It's very annoying that the index in the back of the kindle version doesn't link to passages in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A New Introduction to Islam
A New Introduction to Islam by Daniel W. Brown (Paperback - April 13, 2009)
$48.95 $42.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.