Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far, so good...
I'm an avid reader and have ordered dozens of books through Amazon, but this is the first one I've taken the time to write a review for, because I believe this book can help others in the same situation I was.

I ordered this book when I was applying for Life Insurance, based on the investment strategy in Douglas Andrew's book, "Missed Fortune 101". I wanted to...
Published on October 19, 2005 by M. Keen

versus
39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good info, but too biased towards VUL
The book is very informative, entertaining, and instructive. It gives the benefits and drawbacks of each type of life insurance. It's a good reference book. It's easy to read and understand.

However, it is very biased towards variable universal life (VUL). In fact, the author states that this type of policy is the reason why the book exists. He even goes so far...
Published on March 16, 2007 by fusiafinch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far, so good..., October 19, 2005
By 
This review is from: New Life Insurance Investment Advisor: Achieving Financial Security for You and your Family Through Today's Insurance Products (Hardcover)
I'm an avid reader and have ordered dozens of books through Amazon, but this is the first one I've taken the time to write a review for, because I believe this book can help others in the same situation I was.

I ordered this book when I was applying for Life Insurance, based on the investment strategy in Douglas Andrew's book, "Missed Fortune 101". I wanted to review another reference on life insurance to learn more about it, and to corroborate Andrews' strategy. This is the only other book I could find that discussed LI from a financial investment perspective. This is a very comprehensive book about LI. It's a large book, and so far I've only read portions, skipping around to the areas I needed to understand the type of policy I was applying for, and to justify in my mind that indeed it was the right one for me (I'm working with a financial planner who recommended a particular plan, and has largely focused his practice on Doug Andrews' strategy). This book gave me a lot of the information I needed to ask my agent questions about my policy. In fact, he was impressed with my questions and wanted the name of this book.

This is a very easy to read book, with plenty of *understandable* tables as examples. I have also found it to be very objective, discussing the tradeoffs of the different types of policies, and discussing in what personal situations a particular policy might be best. The intent of this book is clearly educational - there's no hidden agenda or bias that I can detect. The author has CFP, CLU, and CHFC credentials.

Finally, and very importantly, this author stresses the need to manage your life insurance policy over time, as you would any other investment - especially the flexible aspects of policies, and including, where necessary, 1035 transfers to a more appropriate policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Life Insurance Investment Advisor, April 4, 2000
By A Customer
This book is a must read, for anyone attempting to accumulate significant amounts of wealth and ample case reserves for a secure retirement. Once you grasp the full understanding of how best to pay for Life Insurance, the hardest part may be finding a qualified Financial Advisor to assist you over the long run. This is a long term arrangement, one that requires a long term Advisor, to assist you in doing what most people are not capable of doing....accumulating wealth. The book will also be a guide to refer back to, from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for industry professionals as well as investors, February 19, 2002
By 
"diverphil" (California, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Life Insurance Investment Advisor: Achieving Financial Security for You and your Family Through Today's Insurance Products (Hardcover)
This book is a must own for any financial services professional as well as any investor. Ben Baldwin takes the new investor through the basics of financial planning, teaches about mutual funds, life insurance, annuities in an easy to understand way pointing out the pros and cons of each product. Originally one of the fiercest detractors of variable products, Ben Baldwin was open minded enough to take a serious look and study variable products. His volte-face is as impressive as his credentials. To those who keep claiming that variable products are expensive, fee ridden products, maybe you should really open your mind and study these products. You might even change your mind and realize maybe is knows something you don't, that VUL might actually be the swiss army knife of financial planning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great way to learn about insurance, July 26, 2006
This review is from: New Life Insurance Investment Advisor: Achieving Financial Security for You and your Family Through Today's Insurance Products (Hardcover)
The author did a geat job in explaining life insurance products. Those that have panned the book have a built in bias against insurance companies and their salesmen/woman. Fine, but I am waiting for one to write a cogent critique of why the author is wrong in his analysis. Frankly, I haven't found one financial services professional that can, even those that don't sale insurance products. Bottom line, the strategy makes sense for a many if not most folks who are trying to accumulate retirement $$. And yes the insurance industry makes good fees selling their products just like the securities companies make great fees with their products whether they are indexed mutual funds or stocks and bonds. I simply consider this the cost of doing business and move on. So what if someone makes some money helping you have a more comfortable retirement. Read it, take the ideas seriously, and incorporate the ideas into your plan. I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debunking the myths with great tax advice, March 18, 2000
By A Customer
VUL is a wonderful product, which if used correctly, can be a great tool for lowering taxes in retirement. I'm not sure what the person below was referring to when he says to buy level term and invest the difference in a better performing mutual fund. The insurance in the VUL is term, which can even be a decreasing term if the insured so pleases. (Why not buy the term insurance with tax-free income in the VUL policy!)I've never heard of a level term that lasts more than thirty years and the investment subaccounts have the same managers and investments as mutual funds! The biases against this tool come from people who have not accumulated much money, since they are unaware of the tax potholes people face from their qualified plans. Other biases come from people who write for WSJ or other media who probably failed as financial professionals. I understand the desire to hate insurance, but people need to ask themselves: between taxes and insurance, (since you have to pay for one or the other)why not pay for the one that is clearly cheaper over the long haul---insurance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good info, but too biased towards VUL, March 16, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Life Insurance Investment Advisor: Achieving Financial Security for You and your Family Through Today's Insurance Products (Hardcover)
The book is very informative, entertaining, and instructive. It gives the benefits and drawbacks of each type of life insurance. It's a good reference book. It's easy to read and understand.

However, it is very biased towards variable universal life (VUL). In fact, the author states that this type of policy is the reason why the book exists. He even goes so far as to say that VUL is one of the best investment vehicles of the century! He's a good cheerleader for VUL and even though he is honest and does point out the pitfalls of VUL, he sort of skims over the probability of problems with these policies in later years.

This book inspired me to check VUL policies and get some illustrations. I was shocked at the high probability of lapse in these policies if the expected return in the investments was average, say expected 8% return. You really need to get over 10% annualized return in the policies to be assured that the policy will not lapse. Anything less than that and you are running a grave risk of having to fund the policy dramatically or see it lapse just at a time when you need it most, after age 70. The trick is to adequately fund the policy from the start, and the funding can be quite expensive. And even after all of that, the insurance company makes YOU assume the risk of generating enough return to keep the policy in force. Even if you don't take any loans, the policy can lapse if the returns are just a little bit less than expected. That's very high risk to me. There are no affordable guarantees of minimum death benefit or cash values in a VUL, regardless of loans or premiums paid on time. I was shocked to learn this in reality.

So don't fall for the hype in this book about VUL. The author greatly under-estimates the risk inherent in VUL policies.

Ultimately, I'd say there are better books on insurance if you just want to learn about the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent User's Guide in Clear Language, November 10, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Life Insurance Investment Advisor: Achieving Financial Security for You and your Family Through Today's Insurance Products (Hardcover)
Ben Baldwin has always been one of the clearest writers about life insurance from a financial planning perspective. The explanations of what the insurance industry would call "Advanced Underwriting" uses of life insurance in this book are clear, concise and free of jargon. Although this is a consumer book, I would recommend it to financial planning professionals to enhance their own understanding and to see how to explain complex financial topics to clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about Variable Universal Life., June 1, 1999
If you are buying investments and don't know about the processes that Ben Baldwin explains in this book you are probably spending foolishly. Every family in America should, at least investigate this optimum method of addressing insurance and investment growth with very tax favorable qualities. Let me know if your VUL experience is as good as ours has been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the Key is know HOW to FUND it right, April 2, 2005
This review is from: New Life Insurance Investment Advisor: Achieving Financial Security for You and your Family Through Today's Insurance Products (Hardcover)
Life ins. is a most preferred product for retirement if you know how to fund it right. Buy just enough ins. so it not MEC, and put as much as you can for cash value, and it needs time 20+ yr. to accumulate, not a short term.
It offer liquidity, safety, Rate of Return, Tax favored, protection for peace of mine.
Read Missed Fortune by Doughlas Andrew. so you will understand and think different about permanent life ins.
Only about 20% of insurance agents know how to plan it right. The key is HOW TO FUND it right and it NEED TIME TO ACCUMULATE.
so start as young as you can in the 20's not in the 50's with the right Agents, TIME IS YOUR GREATEST ASSETS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really learn about life insurance, April 1, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: New Life Insurance Investment Advisor: Achieving Financial Security for You and your Family Through Today's Insurance Products (Hardcover)
The reviewers who think this books is peddling one form of life insurance (VULs especially) really are missing the important part of this book. This book is organized to teach you all about the forms of insurance on the market, from the simplest (term), through the most complex (VUL), because each one builds upon the prior! Why do you think so many forms of insurance exist? Because they started simple, and over time the industry added features they thought consumers would like. It helps to understand where it all came from. In fact, if you try to just dive into the VUL section you may get lost.
This can be a difficult, time consuming read, but it does an excellent job of explaining how life insurance works. The book does not pander to one type of insurance over another. It does give you crucial information about plan types that can help you make the right decision for you. Once you understand the book, you can easily look at an insurance contract and understand the most important fine points. I could stump the agent with the most basic of questions! Cut through their sales tactics. Now that is power!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.