Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cassandra Wilson's best album
Without a doubt New moon Daughter is my favorite Cassandra Wilson album. Not to say that the others weren't also excellent. They definetely were. I still listen to Blue night til dawn and traveling miles regularly. But New moon daughter is something else entirely. It's not that New moon is totally different than any other Cassandra wilson album. It contains no less than...
Published on September 26, 2000 by Todd Hampton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars exciting percussion
many percussion backings that can detract from the vocals interesting sounds but excellent quality production for a quality hi fi
Published 16 months ago by Darryl R.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cassandra Wilson's best album, September 26, 2000
This review is from: New Moon Daughter (Audio CD)
Without a doubt New moon Daughter is my favorite Cassandra Wilson album. Not to say that the others weren't also excellent. They definetely were. I still listen to Blue night til dawn and traveling miles regularly. But New moon daughter is something else entirely. It's not that New moon is totally different than any other Cassandra wilson album. It contains no less than five cover songs which are all excellent. Especially the quietly powerful strange fruit. She really adds another demension to that song. Her version of love is blindness is just as spellbinding as u2 original. I'm so lonesome I could cry is as heartbreaking as any other version that i've heard. And her rendition os The last train to clarksville makes you forget that a group called the monkees ever made such as song. And her version of harvest moon blew me away. But the true strength in New moon daughter are the original songs. Of those my favorites are solomons song and until, both songs are sung with an almost lovers intimacy. It feels as if she singing to you. :) Overall an excellent album that will please most if not all fans of Cassandra's Wilson's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing melding of styles into something truly unique!!, November 15, 2002
By 
ND.NY "NDBx" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Moon Daughter (Audio CD)
Cassandra Wilson has for years been one of the true jazz divas with a fertile imagination and a fine sense of swing. Her smokey seductive voice lends itself well to reinterpretting even the most hackneyed piece and thus giving it new life. When she sings of love both lost and found she does so with a worldliness and maturity so absent from the many pop singers making a living today. Here, in this recording, Cassandra tackles a wide variety of pieces from diverse sources. Everything from the Monkees to U2 to Billie Holliday with great success. Who would've thought that "Last Train To Clarksville" would or could be hip? Everything is given a unique treatment. The instrumentation and arrangements are unusual and often times brillliant. Everything has a live and intimate feel, as if she is in your living room singing just for you. This recording would appeal to anyone open to diversity of style and with an appreciation of real soulfulness without all the needless affectation. Cassandra is a master of re-interpretation, in that sense alone she is ahead of the pack of the recent group of new singers being hyped as notable heirs to the Billie Holliday/Ella Fitzgerald/Sarah Vaughan. Of these vocal giants Cassandra is closest to Billie Holliday in sincerity and with an outstanding unique voice like Sarah Vaughan with some Carmen McCrae thrown in. This is a courageous album being that the mix of styles might offend the jazz purists as well as being one of those recordings that could sit in both the soul, jazz, folk, blues or even pop CD bins. She is a singer who has delivered consistently over the years and refuses to be confined to the well trod upon path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet, yet fiery inspiration from one of today's greats, May 13, 2004
By 
This review is from: New Moon Daughter (Audio CD)
This recording would probably be worth it for nothing more than Wilson's reimagining of "Last Train to Clarksville," the 1966 hit written for the Monkees by Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart. The sassy Monkees version was a huge success, but Wilson, with the help of a superb arrangement and musicians, mines the song's anxiety and doubt in a completely different way, but just as mesmerizing.
Other high points on this enormously well-conceived disc are a gorgeous version of Hank Williams' "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry," a summery, engaging "Skylark" (yes, Hoagy Charmichael) and U2's "Love is Blindness," an aching ballad that Wilson imbues with overwhelming regret. And just the right choice to end is Neil Young's glowing "Harvest Moon," gently fading out in a haze of shimmering guitar work. Wilson's outstanding musicians -- creative, enthusiastic, yet never overpowering -- must share some of the credit for the success here.
If you go for Wilson's ethereal yet husky voice, not to mention her marvelous taste in choosing and reworking material, this recording shows her at her most luminous. Arguably her best to date, and one of the great jazz vocal recordings of the 1990's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex, demanding & rewarding, May 15, 2000
This review is from: New Moon Daughter (Audio CD)
This is no easy listen... sparse, complex, often brooding arrangements coupled with Cassandra Wilson's deep, earthy voice and complicated phrasing demand your attention. Waver and you're lost. But... give this album the listening time & space it deserves and reap the rewards. Unusual, highly atmospheric tracks that combine superb singing and marvellously "distant" musical backings to weave real magic.
Cassandra Wilson's own excellent, jazz tinged compositions sit alongside a stunning set of ingenious covers from a highly diverse spectrum of composers. "Last Train To Clarksville" is transformed from a catchy pop song into a stripped-down and genuinely effective jazz vocal work-out. "Harvest Moon" slows down Neil Young's already wistful ballad to an almost painful level and, in so doing, takes it to an even higher level of gentle reflection. Hank Williams' "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry" & U2's "Love Is Blindness" are transformed into 3 in the morning jazz club classics. The vocals and backing to Robert Johnson's "32-20" are simplified to the point where only the essence of the blues is allowed to shine and, Lewis Allan's "Strange Fruit" becomes as desolate and challenging as it's horrific lyrics.
Clever, very effective and worth the required effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beauty is in the detail., February 26, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: New Moon Daughter (Audio CD)
Cassandra Wilson's work was recommended to me by a friend who is studying musicology. My husband gave it to me as a birthday gift in October.
I listened, and enjoyed what I heard. The problem -- I was listening on an old, beat-up CD player I've had since I was in junior high. I enjoyed her voice, and the restraint and thought she put into her music, but my husband was not impressed. ("What is this, easy listening?")
In December of '98 we put together our own hi-fi system, and we ran through both of our CD collections. As a result, this CD eventually landed in the player.
If you have heard this on good-quality stereo equipment, you _know_ what this album truly sounds like and you are probably begging your friends to buy it. If not....you are missing something spectacular. Wilson wielded almost dictatorial control over the instrumental and non-instrumental sounds placed on this album, and the attention to detail shines through every song.
Listen carefully to the sound of the bass on "Find Him," where you'll hear the buzz of a particular string, over and over. Or the taut restraint of "Harvest Moon," where the sound of crickets fades into the song, followed by deliberate, precise guitar work. Or the sound of the slide moving up and down the guitar on "Love is Blindness."
Her voice - I can't quite figure out who she reminds me of. Wilson's earlier work just isn't quite as good -- although it _is_ good. Her sense of style and nuance has always been there, but her voice is still developing. In her prior album, you can hear hints of what came to fruition in this album.
My husband now considers this one of his favorite CDs, although I should qualify that statement. If you want background music while you do other things with life, this album is not for you. But if listening to music is a true activity, sit down and prepare to think and be challenged, because every time you listen you will hear more nuance, more shading. There's no easy listening here, but it's joyful work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cassandra Wilson's Most Consistent And Her Best, May 10, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Moon Daughter (Audio CD)
"New Moon Daughter" was released on Blue Note Records in 1996. It is in my opinion her best effort. She never sounded so dark and silky smooth. Most of the songs are very subtle and haunting. She has really done it on this album.

For those who don't know who Cassandra Wilson, she is a jazz vocalist who has performed in a number groups over the years, her most experimental being M-Base Collective led by saxophonist Steve Coleman. I think this is where she got much of her experience dealing with different kinds of music besides jazz.

"New Moon Daughter" finds her in very good company. Her band is remarkable and they are:

Graham Haynes, Lawrence "Butch" Morris (coronet); Tony Cedras (accordion); Dougie Bowne (vibraphone, drums, percussion); Charlie Burnham (violin); Gary Breit (Hammond B-3 organ); Brandon Ross (acoustic, electric & octave guitars); Kevin Breit (acoustic, resophonic & electric guitars, tenor banjo, Irish bozouki); Chris Whitley (resophonic guitar); Gib Wharton (pedal steel); Lonnie Plaxico, Marc Anthony Peterson (bass); Jeff Haynes (percussion); Cyro Baptista (percussion, jews harp); The Peepers (background vocals)

Wilson, like Diana Krall, surrounds herself with real jazz musicians that know the music. I can't talk about the music too much other than it's beautiful and will really take you a minute to soak in what just happened. There are many layers to discover each time you listen.

If you like Shirley Horn and Diana Krall, then I wouldn't see any reason why you wouldn't like Cassandra Wilson. She is a lot different than Horn and Krall musically, but her voice is just as silky smooth. I think with Wilson you really have to be just sit back and wrap your ears around all the beautiful sounds. Listen to this recording with headphones on so you can hear everything and it's more intimate.

Highly recommended to fans of jazz vocals. I don't really listen to jazz vocals that much, because I'm a bebopper, but I was able to really dig this. "New Moon Daughter" is by far one of her finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of the 1990's, January 16, 2002
By 
Karl Miller "kemspeaks" (Phoenixville, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Moon Daughter (Audio CD)
When asked the question "what is jazz", this is the CD I put in the player.
Cassandra has the voice of an angel, set to the rhythm of an all nighter on Bourban Street. Her ability to cross-pollinate musical genres into a cohesive overview of the art of singing reflects not only talent, but genius.
Her discs are about the only place that you would find a Hank Williams tune with a Monkees song, now that K-tel has gone out of business. And for the uninitiated, who think such a melange couldn't possibly work, there is a major surprise waiting.
Cassandra shines most brightly on a number of songs on this disc - "Strange Fruit", where she picks up the mantle of Ms. Holiday (and uses her inflection abilities to shape a different tune entirely, more like a dirge than an elegy), Love Is Blindness, a fine choice for her vocal chops, and Harvest Moon, which brings to mind a slow dance barefoot in a field of gold, as opposed to Neil Young's Converse clad original.
Like Ms. Holiday, but more importantly, like Abbey Lincoln, Cassandra's talents go far beyond interpretation. Her originals on this album show tremendous warmth and tunefulness. "Solomon Sang", with it's bare bone accompaniement, should be required listening for poseur jazz modernistas. Likewise, "Until" is a beautiful song, and a great exhibition of Cassandra's singer/songwriter skills.
I've played this CD hundreds of times since I purchased it, and I never grow tired of it. It's a study in quiet understatement and fine instrumentation. And it features the voice of the most important jazz singer of our times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz for everybody, July 1, 2001
By 
slomamma (San Luis Obispo, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Moon Daughter (Audio CD)
Except for Billie Holiday, I've never been a big jazz fan. In fact, I got interested in this album after hearing Cassandra Wilson's amazing reading of Holiday's "Strange Fruit" (There's no way to describe it. But hearing her sing it makes you extremely uncomfortable, as a song about a lynching ought to make you feel.) But what made me fall in love with this record is it's diversity. I've never heard a singer cover so many genres so well. She'll start with a old blues song like "Death Letter," and turn it into something totally unique - not really jazz, not really blues, just some wonderful new genre that only Cassandra Wilson could do. And the beauty she finds in a little throwaway pop song like "Last Train to Clarksville" blows me away. I plan to buy a lot more of her CDs. And if you're more into rock and blues, but would like to explore jazz, this is a great album to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, sexy and wonderful!, January 22, 2001
By 
F. Lowell "Midnightdj" (Highland Mills, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Moon Daughter (Audio CD)
This album by jazz vocalist Cassandra Wilson is a marvel! The repertoire is incredibly eclectic from the haunting, rather frightening Billie Holiday song "Strange Fruit" (make sure you pay attention to the lyrics), to Hank Williams' classic "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry" to the Monkees' "Last Train to Clarksville" to the Hogey Carmichael standard "Skylark". The most amazing thing about this album is how Ms. Wilson takes all this diverse material and delivers an album that flows and captivates...Her voice is deep and throaty and oh so sensual!
Do yourself a favor and buy this CD...I am certain you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars is not enough, October 22, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New Moon Daughter (Audio CD)
This is an achingly beautiful recording. Cassandra's version of Hank Williams's "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry" is probably the best cover I have ever heard by anyone of any song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

New Moon Daughter
New Moon Daughter by Cassandra Wilson (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.