Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth the price for disc 2 alone
I'm endlessly fascinated with New Order. No matter how much you know about them and how many of their live shows you've seen there is always something lurking around the corner of New Order's vast cellar of history. The first concert I ever saw was New Order on their Technique tour back in May of 1989, and, quite frankly, it wasn't very good. They just looked annoyed...
Published on June 28, 2008 by M. Fulkerson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another defective dvd
I ordered this concert on DVD. The DVD with the actual concert material on it was defective! It would not play at all on my conventional DVD player. When I played it on my blu ray player, it played up to "Sirens Call", then went bizerk. I was about to contact Amazon and place an order for an exchange, but then read the reviews and noticed that other people also...
Published 20 months ago by ajsim58


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth the price for disc 2 alone, June 28, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Order: Live in Glasgow (DVD)
I'm endlessly fascinated with New Order. No matter how much you know about them and how many of their live shows you've seen there is always something lurking around the corner of New Order's vast cellar of history. The first concert I ever saw was New Order on their Technique tour back in May of 1989, and, quite frankly, it wasn't very good. They just looked annoyed with each other, and even more annoyed with the crowd. They probably were. Having said that, the second disc of this set is worth the price alone as it spans their most creative and inspiring decade (the 80's). The video of most of the early live stuff is rough and unexciting, but they sound so good it doesn't matter. To see them play tracks like Leave Me Alone, Everything's Gone Green, and Ultraviolence back when they were fresh out of the studio is yet another great and new experience as a New Order fan. They look awkward and apprehensive, but you can sense a palpable focus on the music, and a creative drive burning from their eyes. They look hungry, and it makes one yearn to see them in a intimate setting.
The first disc is ok, the light show is cool, they sound tight, and their bellies have never been more bloated. It sounds good on a loud 5.1 sound system, but honestly it's nothing we haven't seen before. I would love it if the original 80's shows were released in their entirety, regardless of the video quality. New Order have become one of the best bands of the past 25 years, and they deserve to have every one of their moments witnessed and cherished!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, truly rare footage (on Disc 2), June 27, 2008
This review is from: New Order: Live in Glasgow (DVD)
Like some (most?) fans I bought it mainly for the second disc with rare and unseen footage from the 80s.

Yes, we are rewarded here with the eclectic repertoire from the first TV appearance in April 1981 (Celebration) to one of the final concerts in 2006. I had wanted the Celebration footage for years (you have a snippet of it in NewOrderStory) and it's great to have it finally. Then come Glastonbury shots, which are worth every cent you spend for this DVD. Apparently under heavy influence of Pernod, Bernard Sumner is completely off the hook there, being irritated by the longhair audience, who are not ready for drum machines; in the meantime the cameraman, dazed too, is trying to tune his own sight: camera wanders unfocused on the floor, eerie wires and blurry knobs. Even more bizarre is candid footage showing Rob Gretton and the band getting out of their old Ford and camping around Glastonbury... No wonder Bernard Sumner was enraged when he found out what was included on this DVD (the entire project was carried mostly by bassist Peter Hook and drummer Steven Morris). After Glastonbury the footage quality becomes less professional: almost monochrome, shot from one stand.

The audio quality surprisingly is not bad (although the first 10 or so tracks lack bass (low register, not the guitar). "Hurt", "We All Stand", "1963", "Everything's Gone Green" are pure greatness. But the last 2 tracks ("She's Lost Control" & "Run Wild") on Disc 2 are out of place: why include 2006 footage in the otherwise 80s sequence is beyond me (not to mention that Disc 1 represents the band at their latest already.

As for the concert in Glasgow (Disc 1), I honestly would be reluctant to buy it, had it not for Disc 2. More or less it's the same type of concert that we could get on "316" (2001) and "511" (2004), with addition of a few "Waiting For The Sirens' Call" songs. The band, apparently realizing this well-used path, decided to challenge it by embedding their comments in between the tracks, which is a neat but underdeveloped idea here.

The sound on "Live in Glasgow" is better than on "511", the real rarities are "Shadowplay", "These Days" and "The Perfect Kiss", while turning "Love Will Tear Us Apart" into a whoping, crowd-chanted anthem doesn't work so good when you watch it from the couch.

I remember when I watched NewOrderStory (1993), the band didn't give a hint of what was going on between them (they were on the brink of going separate ways); this time, yet another alienation is well documented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing, June 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Order: Live in Glasgow (DVD)
Tracklist

Disc 1

01 Crystal
02 Turn
03 True Faith
04 Regret
05 Ceremony
06 Who's Joe
07 These Days
08 Krafty
09 Waiting for the Sirens' Call
10 Your Silent Face
11 Guilt Is a Useless Emotion
12 Bizarre Love Triangle
13 Temptation
14 Perfect Kiss
15 Blue Monday
16 Transmission
17 Shadowplay
18 Love Will Tear Us Apart

Disc 2

01 Ceremony [Celebration, 1981]
02 I.C.B. [Celebration, 1981]
03 Chosen Time [Celebration, 1981]
04 Senses [Glastonbury, 1981]
05 Procession [Glastonbury, 1981]
06 The Him [Glastonbury, 1981]
07 Ultraviolence [Rome, 1982]
08 Hurt [Rome, 1982]
09 Leave Me Alone [Cork, 1983]
10 Everything's Gone Green [Cork, 1983]
11 Sunrise [Rotterdam, 1985]
12 As It Is When It Was [Rotterdam, 1985]
13 The Village [Rotterdam, 1985]
14 This Time of Night [Rotterdam, 1985]
15 We All Stand [Toronto, 1985]
16 Age of Consent [Toronto, 1985]
17 Temptation [Toronto, 1985]
18 Dream Attack [Shoreline, Bay Area, 1989]
19 1963 [Shoreline, Bay Area, 1989]
20 Run Wild [Hyde Park, London, 2006]
21 She's Lost Control [Hyde Park, London, 2006]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, May 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Order: Live in Glasgow (DVD)
Saw them live last October in Chicago and it was just as good. Too bad Hooky wasn't with them in Chicago though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, January 17, 2013
By 
Stephen Cramer (Irving Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Order: Live in Glasgow (DVD)
I didn't get a chance to see New Order and plus I missed their North American 2012 tour as well. This helped me make up for it and glad I made this purchase. You will not be disappointed either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helluva DVD!, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Order: Live in Glasgow (DVD)
This DVD set is excellent. Your get insight into how the individual minds of the band work (minus Gillian, as she was talking care of her and Stephen's children from 2001 to 2011). This concert showcases their recognizable hits (True Faith, Temptation, Byue Monday, etc...) as well as songs from their then-recent album Waiting for the Siren's Call. This is not concert footage you haven't seen before (Bernard flubbs lyrics, dances around etc...) however I think it's worth it for the second disc alone, as it contains rare and never before seen footage of shows from their hayday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VINTAGE NEW ORDER, June 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Order: Live in Glasgow (DVD)
GOOD SOUND & VISUAL QUALITY ON MAIN CONCERT. ADDED BONUS FROM EARLY PERFORMANCES WOTRH WATCHING, TOO BAD QUALITY IS NOT AS GOOD AS MAIN CONCERT BUT STILL WELL WORTH IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thanks, December 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Order: Live in Glasgow (DVD)
I received the DVD in about 2 weeks, I'm very pleased I got it before Christmas as it is a gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New Order Live in Glasgow, October 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Order: Live in Glasgow (DVD)
Perfect DVD!
Perfect new order's performance too

Great deal!

Antonio Chagas ( Rio de Janeiro / BRA)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another defective dvd, January 22, 2013
By 
ajsim58 (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Order: Live in Glasgow (DVD)
I ordered this concert on DVD. The DVD with the actual concert material on it was defective! It would not play at all on my conventional DVD player. When I played it on my blu ray player, it played up to "Sirens Call", then went bizerk. I was about to contact Amazon and place an order for an exchange, but then read the reviews and noticed that other people also received defective DVDs. So exchanging a defective DVD for another defective DVD is not worth my time and effort. Its a shame, because i really liked the concert, what little I saw.

Unfortunately, of all the music DVDs I've ordered from other groups and concerts in the past, I can't say that this even came close to the being best as far as sound quality goes. It sounds like someone went down into the audience, and recorded the concert from there. The sound was not all that good! The music from all the instruments was loud and clear, but it was very difficult at times to hear what the group was singing. Their voices were muffled and drowned out by the instruments. The video quality on the other hand was good. But, the concert was filmed inside a hall, dimly lit, and gave the appearance of being filmed inside a box. Overall, this could have been done a lot better.

But as stated in the first paragraph, I was not able to advance past the 11th song. If the DVD wont play, quality doesnt matter any more. Again, I am not the only one to suffer with this problem, so be ware! Sometimes when the recording process is deffective, that problem will multiply itself over multiple copies. I'm very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

New Order: Live in Glasgow
New Order: Live in Glasgow by New Order (DVD - 2008)
$16.96 $12.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.