Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book
This is not a typical textbook, at least not to me. It is written maintaining the concept that the best way to learn is to just do. All of the chapters are just tutorials that take you step by step through many processes. A very well written book.
Published on September 15, 2012 by Harry Madanyan

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but a few type-O's
Type-O's in a HTML book are NOT a good thing. This will make you pound your head on the desk trying to figure out what the problem is, and for the price of the book I would expect better.
Published on December 24, 2012 by Tom


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but a few type-O's, December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on HTML and CSS: Comprehensive (Paperback)
Type-O's in a HTML book are NOT a good thing. This will make you pound your head on the desk trying to figure out what the problem is, and for the price of the book I would expect better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Use this book and forget about going to class, July 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on HTML and CSS: Comprehensive (Paperback)
I got this book for a class I took. The teacher used the slide shows for each chapter from the teacher's edition. I really didn't even need to attend class except I'm always afraid I'll miss something. I admit that I knew a little HTML beforehand, but had never created a web page in over 20 years of programming UNIX. I learned quickly how to use HTML and CSS from the book and not the teacher. I was able to help many of the kids in the class as well because I read the chapter before class and worked on the tutorial. I was hoping to find other topics presented in the same manner. The XML book isn't nearly as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor editing; inadequate explanations; over-priced, February 18, 2014
This review is from: New Perspectives on HTML and CSS: Comprehensive (Paperback)
Explanations are often poorly written and gloss over important points. The index is nowhere near adequate. Most aggravating of all is the typos. The same typos that are in the 5th edition are replicated in the 6th edition. For example, the section on "Local Namespaces in Compound Documents" in Chapter 9 has a typo which is repeated in the instructions for Case Problem 3 later in that chapter, and the typo renders the web page incorrect. Exactly the same typos are in both the 5th and 6th editions. Obviously, no one double-checked the instructions. For a book priced as high as this one is, that is inexcusable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, September 15, 2012
By 
Harry Madanyan (Palos Heights, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on HTML and CSS: Comprehensive (Paperback)
This is not a typical textbook, at least not to me. It is written maintaining the concept that the best way to learn is to just do. All of the chapters are just tutorials that take you step by step through many processes. A very well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a good start, but need top down approach, April 11, 2013
This review is from: New Perspectives on HTML and CSS: Comprehensive (Paperback)
The book seems to wander a bit and there is some inconsistency with presenting the information. A section on "using selector patterns" starts with a meandering case study without really defining the term itself. Although I'm not aversed to inductive reasoning, technical topics I believe should be more linear and have a hierarchical approach to presenting the information. Tidbits that show syntax and examples are not necessarily delivered consistently as some little gems are embedded within the narrative. I found the reference boxes to be most helpful though. An appendix with a table showing elements and their syntax and examples would be nice. Also, teachers who use this for on line courses should be sure that students have a close experience to the "lab files" situation as reading about the "try this" without having files to try is quite awkward and hinders learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for hands-on experience with HTML, September 13, 2012
This review is from: New Perspectives on HTML and CSS: Comprehensive (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to anyone who starts learning HTML and is looking for hands-on experience with actual sites. I cannot tell how many times I ran into the textbooks which use the "Lorem Ipsum" text to illustrate the concepts, and I really appreciate the amount of time the author spent putting together the real and meaningful cases. The book is as detailed as can be, and I believe it's the instructor's job to adapt it to the audience. One thing I would never do is linking .css and .js files to the site before explaining their contents to the students; it can be confusing. That's why I like the previous edition a little more. Otherwise, excellent job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Use this text to learn HTML5 by tutorials, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on HTML and CSS: Comprehensive (Paperback)
I like this text. It was carefully designed with lots of beautifully colored diagrams and figures that explain the main points of each chapter. The text avoids making the reader memorize a lot of esoteric terms, but each chapter involves leading the reader through the material via a tutorial that includes most of the points covered in the chapter. Thus, this text book provides a hands-on approach to learning the often complicated subject matter. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book!, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on HTML and CSS: Comprehensive (Paperback)
wonderful book. great for any HTML5 beginners, or even those with some minor coding experience.
highly recommended to anyone involved with the internet or web coding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful book., February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on HTML and CSS: Comprehensive (Paperback)
I had to buy this book for my class for XHTML in community college. It is very helpful book if you are new to CSS And HTML. I just wish it costed less than $100.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, March 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Perspectives on HTML and CSS: Comprehensive (Paperback)
The book was definitely used but there were no markings or highlights in it. It was a great alternative to buying a new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

New Perspectives on HTML and CSS: Comprehensive
New Perspectives on HTML and CSS: Comprehensive by Patrick M. Carey (Paperback - November 16, 2011)
$136.95 $105.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.