Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 STARS) Welcome Back to Hong Kong, Jackie! He Can Still Deliver the Exciting Stunts and He Is 50 Years Old!
After the disappointing `Around the World in 80 Days,' Jackie Chan went back to his roots in Hong Kong film industry. What is amazing is that Jackie (who is over 50 years old) can still do the death-defying stunts, as is seen in this film. The fact that his best films are made in 1980s cannot be denied, but `New Police Story' delivers its goods with Jackie and some of the...
Published on June 16, 2006 by Tsuyoshi

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much Funner Than the Originals
I've long been a fan of Jackie's films. He breathed new life into the genre like no other with his humorous style of combat; and it's inspiring to still see him move like he does at his age. The action in The New Police Story were just as fun as most of his lighter films; and the stunts were typically incredible, just as you expect from a Hong Kong production that isn't...
Published on December 27, 2009 by Chad Varnadore


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 STARS) Welcome Back to Hong Kong, Jackie! He Can Still Deliver the Exciting Stunts and He Is 50 Years Old!, June 16, 2006
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Police Story (DVD)
After the disappointing `Around the World in 80 Days,' Jackie Chan went back to his roots in Hong Kong film industry. What is amazing is that Jackie (who is over 50 years old) can still do the death-defying stunts, as is seen in this film. The fact that his best films are made in 1980s cannot be denied, but `New Police Story' delivers its goods with Jackie and some of the new faces from Hong Kong.

The story is given a new touch in `New Police Story.' This time Jackie plays a veteran Hong Kong police officer Wing, whose overconfidence leads to a botched raid. Feeling guilt deeply, Inspector Wing, now disgraced, is given to drink until a young `police detective' named Fung appears before him. With a help from Fung, Wing again begins to hunt the culprits responsible for the deaths of his men.

[NEW BREED OF VILLAINS] As in his `The Myth,' Jackie's answer to the recent boom of wuxia (Chinese period martial arts films), in `New Police Story' Jackie Chan clearly intends to do something different. The baddies of the new film are a bunch of masked young gangsters, who can rob and kill as if it is a video game. As a fan of Jackie's actions, I can swear that this is very unusual choice. For in many cases the villains of his films may have been assassins or gangsters, but they never acted like spoiled kids. It is certain that deaths are sometimes depicted, but not in this violent way. Violent, in this case I mean, for Jackie's film. The decision of director Benny Chan (`Who Am I?') would divide the viewers' opinions, but it is certain that he and Jackie are trying to seek a new direction.

[ACTIONS] But you want to know the actions. Good news is that Jackie is still alert and agile, and can move like when he was in his first `Rush Hour.' Considering the fact that he is now over fifty, this is just incredible. There are two outstanding scenes here; one is Jackie climbing down the vertical wall of a tall building in a very unique (and dangerous) way, followed by Jackie hanging on the roof of a runaway bus in the street of Hong Kong. The other is in a Lego showroom, where he shows a bone-crunching fighting against one of the baddie.

[ACTING] This may not interest you, but Jackie does another new thing, and that is acting. Well, of course he must have been doing that for long, I know, but what I mean is he takes more time to reveal the complex nature of the character he plays, to show his ability as actor. There is even a love interest for his character.

[SUPPORTS] Some of Jackie film fans seem not to remember the names of the supports, or you just don't care. For `New Police Story' Jackie assembled great cast. Nicholas Tse as mysterious Fung is a standout among them, and so is Daniel Wu as the leader of the gangs. Among the fighting scenes, Andy On shines who was wasted in deplorable `Black Mask 2.' As to the female players, after the 8 years' retirement Charlie Yeung comes back as love of Jackie's inspector, giving the rather generic story a human touch, and very busy (and very cute) Charlene Choine from the popular duo Twins also appears.

`New Police Story' may not be the right place if you are going to see Jackie Chan films for the first time. It is overlong, sometime unnecessarily serious and violent, and Jackie's stunts, thrilling as they are, are not his best. Having said that, I must say it is a welcome addition to the works of one and only Jackie Chan, far better than any recent English-speaking films of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is one of jackie chan's best movie!!!!, May 31, 2006
This review is from: New Police Story (DVD)
This movie is great action movie ever. This movie shows great of jackie chan's actions. I do have this dvd. I agree with the people to buy this movie, also this movie is the best action movie. I want you know this movie is awesome. They do hardcore actions. Even Jackie chan sliding on big builing in HONG KONG. I am big fan of jackie chan. I have all of his dvds but this movie is best action movie since rumble in the bronx or supercop. You have to watch that movie!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much Funner Than the Originals, December 27, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've long been a fan of Jackie's films. He breathed new life into the genre like no other with his humorous style of combat; and it's inspiring to still see him move like he does at his age. The action in The New Police Story were just as fun as most of his lighter films; and the stunts were typically incredible, just as you expect from a Hong Kong production that isn't stiffled by Hollywood politics and/or insurance. And despite the more dramatic seriousness of Police Story, with a little Drunken Master mixed in, I found myself laughing much more than I expected. Aside from a few sequences that demand a little further explanation, The New Police Story was about as much fun as my favorite Chan films. The only real disappointment of the Blu-ray was that Lionsgate didn't include a lossless track for the original language. A lossless audio option is provided for the dub track; but only lossy audio is included in the original Chinese. That said, since I had a guest that doesn't like reading her movies, I opted for the dubbed track when we watched it and was surprised at the fidelity. The translation was word-for-word the same as the subtitles in the approx 5 minute portion of the film I compared the two. And the harmonics sounded very natural and dynamic. That Jackie did (most) of the voice dub for his character himself, further helped to make sitting through the dubbed track, not only bearable, but enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie Great DVD Release, May 17, 2006
This review is from: New Police Story (DVD)
Finaly An American Release Does Justice To A Great Film. First Off The Movie Is Great And Jackie Has Barely Slowed Down If He Has At All! THe Fight Scenes Are Great And It's Interesting To See Him In A More Serious Movie. That Aside The Dvd Release Is Great! Great Picture Great Sound And Also It Has Either Overdubbed English OR CANTONEESE YES! Belive It Or Not You Get Both On Here And It Has 2.1 Or 5.0 Dolby Digital So It Sounds Great Too. So Overall It's One Of Jackie's Better Movies The Best He Has made In A Long Time And It Gets An Extra Star For The Great DVD Options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time Jackie got serious again., January 9, 2010
By 
Curtis G (Surf City USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Chan Kwok-wing, the protagonist of "New Police Story," is not (Kevin) Chan Ka-kui, hero of Jackie Chan's Police Story--or so they say. This Chan is older, wiser...and drunker. In short, he's a mess. He's even worse off than Martin Riggs in Lethal Weapon: Our second glimpse of him prominently features several adult beverages. A couple of scenes later, he's facedown in an alley. How the mighty have fallen.

Flash back one year: Chan is the hot dog cop stud, foiling grenade-wielding hostage takers and punching out shady businessmen in a scene that's a sort of Police Story Condensed. Shortly thereafter, Joe (Daniel Wu) and his gang of rich-kid criminals rob a bank and then...call the cops. Just when we start to wonder why the bad guys (and girl) want to stage a blatant open-air shootout in the street a la Heat, instead of escaping when they have the chance, we learn that they're some sort of thrillseekers club, competing among themselves to win the biggest share of the bank loot via a point system. Kill higher-value targets (like, say, cops), get more points and more money.

Chan, cocky with previous success, declares on the TV news that he will apprehend the gang within three hours. Joe, however, has other plans, and when Chan's team "infiltrates" the gang's lair, the gang starts picking them off one by one. When Chan is unable to save them (indeed, Joe has cruelly engineered this foregone outcome), he spirals into depression and self-loathing, distancing himself from both the police force and his fiancée, Ho Yee (Charlie Yeung), whose brother was one of the officers Chan lost. Just as Chan hits rock bottom, a young rookie cop (Nicholas Tse) appears to bring him back into the fold.

In stark contrast to the raw quickie HK action movies of the mid-90s like Man Wanted, for example, NPS is very slick. Beautifully lit and shot, NPS features some mostly excellent visual effects and dynamic cinematography. It's not all gritty back alleys and shuttered storefronts; it's shining chrome and glass and neon. HK has never looked better. Despite all the glitter, however, New Police Story is darker and more twisted than any other Police Story film...or any other Jackie Chan movie, for that matter. OK, so even if this isn't the same series, NPS still features numerous references to the original PS series, including a double-decker bus that crashes through a lot of glass.

A solidly entertaining movie, NPS is, nevertheless, not without its annoying little foibles. For one, logic and physics go out the window--or should I say over the ledge?--immediately. The big action set piece in the beginning relies on that most implausible of movie gimmicks: the real-life video game scenario. Meaning that there are lots of intricate traps and setups that depend too much on people being exactly where they need to be. It's great in the movies, but it would never work in real life, because one misstep breaks the whole chain. Also, there's a little too much unnecessary wirework for my taste.

Not surprisingly, with all the neon, chrome and hot English-speaking hipsters, NPS is more than a little reminiscent of Benny Chan's earlier Gen-X Cops (Benny just loves the HK Convention Centre). As much as I enjoyed the fluffy goodness of GXC, however, in the case of NPS I think there's too much Benny and not enough Jackie.

On the plus side, most of the gunfights are nicely restrained, and the police tactics are more realistic than usual. Perhaps my favorite part of the movie, besides Charlie Yeung's overbite, is a fantastic battle in Legoland between Jackie and Andy On, reminiscent of one of my all-time favorite JC fight scenes: the pachinko parlor fight in the mostly otherwise-forgettable Thunderbolt. And there are some very funny bits that don't go over the top with the comedy. The "ending" was a little on the sappy side, but it still got to me, and the epilogue/flashback was even more resonant and touching.

At last, Jackie shows some real range (and a new hairdo, sort of, thank god). He goes from confident and cocky to subdued, tired and weary--and, holy cow, he gets emotional (and I don't mean just angry). Not once, but multiple times. It's different, but different is good.

The supporting players are well cast. Nicholas Tse is quite appealing here--not the lightweight he was in Gen-X Cops. At first I would have preferred Stephen Fung, but Tse won me over. (There is actually a cameo by Fung in the deleted scenes.) He even gets to play his role for some laughs, which was enjoyable.

The irresistible Charlie Yeung's Ho Yee takes the place of Maggie Cheung's longsuffering May and brings some heart and humor to a role that could have been spectacularly unrewarding. On the other side of the female equation is Charlene Choi, who has obviously discovered the secret of eternal youth. How else to explain why she still appears to be 12 years old? For some gravitas, there's Yu Rong-guang doing his badass straight-arrow cop schtick. A Mandarin speaker, Yu has here been dubbed into Cantonese--but with a distractingly deep voice (I kept thinking of Sonny Chiba in The Storm Riders).

The standout performer here, hands down, is Daniel Wu. He was merely serviceable in GXC, and I didn't dig him in Purple Storm, but after seeing him in NPS, I have a new respect for him as (and I don't use this term lightly) an actor. As the quietly sinister tortured son-slash-criminal mastermind, Wu digs deep and puts it out there. Excellent job, sir.

I wouldn't bet that this will be the last of the Police Story movies, New or otherwise, but if it is, it serves as a fitting bookend. In any case, it's certainly not the last major HK outing we'll see from Jackie Chan. That I'd bet on. Hey, if Robert Redford is still making action-type movies at his advanced age, Jackie can certainly be making them well into his hundreds. And I almost hope he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Spectacular performance by Jackie!, December 29, 2006
This review is from: New Police Story (DVD)
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Jackie CAN act!, December 29, 2006

This has to be the darkest Jackie Chan movie I've seen. But, that is not a bad thing. Here, we get to see Jackie expand his acting to the point of him being driven to tears as a malicious group of kids execute his team members one by one in front of him during a botched raid.

A New Police Story has Chan playing the disgraced inspector who must come back from alcoholism to bring justice for his fallen comrades. Enter a young man who mysteriously wants to help the fallen officer out. Of course, you don't know why until the end, but suffice it to say, he is the comedic relief at times and until the end, you have to wonder why he's there. What are his motives? Is he good or bad?

The unfortunate thing with this movie is some of it has been digitally enhanced to remove wires, but I can understand why. Unlike the first Police Story (which this has no connection with the previous characters), safety regulations are probably tougher now than they were when the first Police Story was shot. Plus, the budget is bigger and they can rehearse stunts. Of course, with Jackie Chan pushing 50, it's going to be tougher for him to recover from serious injuries. But, this doesn't detract from the action that occurs and believe me, there is some great stunt work in this movie.

The fight scenes are fast and furious, but don't expect there to be a lot. This is a story that hinges more on Jackie's character redeeming himself, both with the police force as well as his fiancée that never stopped loving or believing in him, even when the inspector himself felt he was a disgrace. Many might not like it, but for me, it was refreshing to see the focus more on Jackie's acting and his character rather than the actual fighting.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, possibly even more than the first Police Story. It's more polished and Jackie's acting is superb. There is still the funny humor in it and the use of props during the fights, especially the Lego fight and how can you not forget the skyscraper escape down the side of the building? Wow!

This is a must see. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whoa...., December 22, 2006
This review is from: New Police Story (DVD)
I purchased New Police Story recently, and after watching it with some friends, we all looked at each other and stated the above: WHOA. I grew up with Jackie in some hilarious movies, and I knew he had starred in movies with a serious flair, but this took it to a higher level. To see him perform as a once highly accomplished Police office who has fallen from grace, and the reasons behind it is truly refreshing.

Jackie Chan is in my eyes one of the greatest martial arts movie stars, and his resume adds substance to it. But this was almost like a passsing of the torch to Nicholas Tse, a rising star in HK, and hopefully for the whole world. They worked well together, and the chemistry with the other co-stars such as Daniel Wu, Tak-Bun Wong, Alva Chung, and others is simply incredible. But that is to be expected with the man Jackie Chan.

As with the many movies he's in, there is comedy that I believe is placed in the right places. Nicholas Tse plays a good part as a happy-go-lucky person that irritates an emotionally scarred Chan at first, but proves to be his guardian angel in the end.

The extras on the DVD is good, but are not subtitled. A small problem, but it doesn't wipe out the entertainment value. The bloopers are one of my favorites during the end credits, and regardless of what language it may be in, it will bring a smile to your face.

I actually found myself watching the music video that Mr. Chan produced (ok it's not 50 Cent or All American Rejects, but c'mon...). It was fun to watch, and the song itself was pretty solid. I give it 3 out of 5 stars.

Overall, New Police Story is worth watching, if anything, for the action scenes and dark humor. I recommend this movie for all Jackie Chan fans, for this highlights his skill, both in action and in drama, in a well-rounded form. I can't speak for anyone but myself, but I believe it's worth the high rating, so I say watch it for yourself and then make your decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jackie in a darker movie that certainly stands out from his other works, November 12, 2006
This review is from: New Police Story (DVD)
Wow did this one catch me by surprise. I thought for sure I was getting another goofy Jackie movie. NOT EVEN CLOSE!

The movie starts out with Jackie as a drunken cop. After showing him in some disgusting drunken moments, we get to see why he became like this. There is a group of kids going around terrorizing the police. They will do a standard bank job or something like that and then wait for the cops. Having serious firepower, skills that will relate to the x games later in the movie, and already being rich, the cops certainly have theri hands full. So the cops have serious problems and they finally get Jackie in a deadly game of 'can you do this to keep your fellow officers alive'? Needless to say he doesn't and becomes a drunk.

When the band of x-games teens are causing trouble again a young cop tries to get Jackie to help out. I know you have probably heard this type fo a cop story before but this movie is seriously one of the best looking movies I have seen in a while. All of the locations and buidings they are in are great to look at. If you have seen Jackie Chan's Who am I?, Rumble in the Bronx, or even the well done First Strike, then get ready for a change. New Police Story has very high production values and it is not cheesy. Might not be what you are used to in a Jackie movie, but it was a very nice change to see this.

The movie gets between a 3.5 and a 4 but could have gotten a 5. Rongguang Yu(the Iron Monkey) is in this movie and him and Jackie do not fight. That dissapointed me just a bit, but they still had some really good scenes together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to basics, February 20, 2007
By 
C. Raybould (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Police Story (DVD)
I've only seen this movie once over a year ago, so it's not as fresh in my mind as it could be, but I can at least offer some things.

Unlike his other 4 installments of the police story series, this one doesent have really any comedic elements. It's a straight up drama/action movie. It came off a little depressing from what I remember, but it still had a pretty uplifting ending. There is a fight towards the end that may not be to that long, but still makes you realize why you starting liking Jackie Chan.

I won't waste time describing the plot because it's listed, so if you read it you can kind of see how this is more of a serious movie.

I still enjoyed it and again it has this the unique-ness that is Hong Hong cinema.

I'm waiting on my copy of this movie that should be coming in the mail any day now and I'll probably get a better picture of it once i see it again.

Like the other two movies in what I call the "Return to Hong Kong Trilogy" (New Police Story, The Myth, Rob B Hood) I recommend seeing this one as well. Whether you'll like it really depends on your tastes, I can't really say for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES......Da Jackie Chan We ALL Know & Love!!!!!, June 29, 2006
By 
This review is from: New Police Story (DVD)
Dis is probably one of da best movies dat jackie has done in a very long time. It's unbeleivable dat he is a lil bit over 50 years old and can still deliever an unbeleivable performance. New Police Story is about a veteran cop name chan wing who is at da break of his cop career after he leads a 9-team ops into a game of death.......struckin with guilt chan jus drinks and sleeps to drown his sorrows about letting his team down. The thing dat really seperates this film wit Jackie's other recent films is det it is made in his home town "Hong Kong" and da reason why it is godd is because da US forbids Jackie to do his own stunts unless its not dat dangerous. Another thing is Jackies acting in dis film.....he has done over 50 films and I have never once seen Jackie do so well as far as acting goes.....u can really see all of his emotions in dis film. I recomend dis film to anybody who enjoys action or enojoys Jackie Chan films. GET DIS OR RENT IT U WON't GET DISSAPOINTED!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

New Police Story
New Police Story by Benny Chan (DVD - 2006)
$14.98 $5.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.