Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (171)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book, great stories, great content, explained so you can actually implement
I loved the stories, the irreverent tone, and the honesty of this book. But what I appreciated most was that it delivered on its title - this book really does simplify what you have to do successfully acquire new customers. Here are my highlights from this book:

The Stories - Frank, the overpaid account manager, who almost screwed up a huge sale because he...
Published on August 17, 2012 by Eric Herrenkohl

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's a good book....noticing more...nothing less.
Just because I gave it three stars doesn't make it a weak read. This shines light on how to structure your attack so that you can develop business. So if you've been randomly calling leads as they come (or not calling on new leads at all), the advice here will help you to actually make a plan of attack.
My favorite pieces of advice were how to create your sales...
Published 13 months ago by Prime addict


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book, great stories, great content, explained so you can actually implement, August 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Sales. Simplified.: The Essential Handbook for Prospecting and New Business Development (Paperback)
I loved the stories, the irreverent tone, and the honesty of this book. But what I appreciated most was that it delivered on its title - this book really does simplify what you have to do successfully acquire new customers. Here are my highlights from this book:

The Stories - Frank, the overpaid account manager, who almost screwed up a huge sale because he did not understand that a sales presentation is a dialogue not a monologue. The founder of SlimFast flying into a sales presentation on his Gulfstream and providing some billionaire-level sales wisdom to his eager sales rep. The receptionist who considered the sales manager to be her personal assistant. These and many other stories in the book made me laugh, made the author's points well, and made this an enjoyable read.

Chapter 3 - Before Weinberg gets into his system for creating better sales hunters, he points out that the CEO is supposed to set strategy for a company, not the sales force. I share his amazement at how often executives don't do this. Weinberg explains why it is so important in this chapter.

Chapter 4, page 49: Weinberg's description of the New Sales Driver is straightforward and helpful. These are three simple points for establishing a new sales initiative. I think this information is also helpful as a simple diagnostic for figuring out where your current new business sales efforts can be improved.

Chapter 5 - Selecting Targets. Many sales people aren't using target lists well (or at all), and this chapter lays out exactly how to put one together and work it. Everyone knows they should have this list, but a much smaller group of people actually put it in place and work it. Weinberg lays out a well-constructed set of steps here to develop your own workable targets. He's also got some good insights about why failing to create a well-targeted list contributes to a lack of perseverance among sales hunters.

Chapters 7 and 8 - These chapters are a fantastic, step-by-step explanation of how to construct a sales story that becomes the backbone of every communication with prospects and referral sources. These chapters alone make this book worth the price of admission. I love the quote on page 89 decrying the over-emphasized `elevator pitch': "The last time I checked, there was not a whole lot of business being transacted in elevators." The author's Sales Story system takes the elevator pitch to a whole new level. I am already thinking this through for my own business.

Chapter 9 "Your Friend the Phone" is all about the lost art of picking up the phone, connecting with prospects, and opening up new business relationships. It provides practical specifics around approach, wording, and the proper way to construct a sales script. I specifically noted Weinberg's advice on page 113 about not over qualifying.

Chapter 11 on structuring winning sales calls. This chapter also stands out because of its simple, step-by-step process, this time for how to conduct a great face-to-face sales call. Weinberg shows how the Sales Story we have just constructed pays off when you are in-person with a prospect. He's got another great story here on what not to do on face-to-face sales calls. And, on pages 139 and following the author walks us through a well-conducted sales call from beginning to end. Very useful.

Chapter 13 on Sales Presentations. This is a great discussion of what to do and definitely not to do when conducting the ubiquitous and often deadly PowerPoint presentation in a sales context. Check out the very well done sample script on page 175 and the opening objectives on page 178.

In addition, this book has brief but important discussions of time blocking (pages 183-185) and individual business planning (pages 188-191). Anyone who has ever been on commission understands that these are the steps that turn an intellectual understanding of sales into actual results. Again, these are the simple but complete steps that make great business books like this one so useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like having a one-on-one conversation with a world class sales coach, October 20, 2012
By 
Paul Andrew Smith (Cincinnati, OH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Sales. Simplified.: The Essential Handbook for Prospecting and New Business Development (Paperback)
It turns out, to be a top salesperson, you don't have to be a pushy, drama voice-coached egomaniac with a power handshake and a Ph.D. in Powerpoint. (Thank God! Some of us actually have a chance.)

"Acquiring new clients is simple, but not easy." Author and professional sales coach Mike Weinberg explains his simple methods for hunting and closing new sales opportunities, and a not-so-sweet-sixteen list of the top reasons why people fail at it. (How many describe you?)

This book is so well written, it's like having lunch and a one-on-one conversation with a world-class sales coach! Excruciatingly practical, down-to-Earth advice from a guy who knows. No academics. No "pump you up" cheerleader sales hype. No Jedi mind tricks. Just unconventional wisdom with a dose of common sense.

His template for developing a no-miss sales story is worth your time and money all by itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Focused, direct, truthful!, May 7, 2013
This review is from: New Sales. Simplified.: The Essential Handbook for Prospecting and New Business Development (Paperback)
As a 20+ year veteran of radio advertising sales, I am always looking for ways to increase my "billing"! The information that Mr. Weinberg shares in this book isn't new, it isn't a "big secret" revealed, a lot of the ideas he shares we have all heard before. But his delivery, his brutally direct and truthful discussions are spot on. We all need to be reminded of what it takes to grow our business. Whether you are a brand new rookie, or you've been in the trenches a long time, this book will help you get focused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Sales Process Book Ever Written, March 7, 2014
By 
This review is from: New Sales. Simplified.: The Essential Handbook for Prospecting and New Business Development (Paperback)
This was the first sales book I have read cover to cover.

It was like drinking from a fire hose and I am going to do whatever I can to urge my grown children to read it.

I have never recommended a book to that extent.

There is nothing soft about this book, but it is clear that Weinberg understands the psychology of the sales process completely.

Buy it. Do a reading club around it with your sales teams, think of hiring Weinberg... and urge your grown children to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great perspective, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As Weinberg points out, salespeople are, by nature, not particularly focused. The same is true of sales books. This one is the wonderful exception. Its concentration on new business development is pertinent to all sales reps, but particularly those who are new to sales and/or those who find themselves in a rapidly changing market space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's a good book....noticing more...nothing less., December 17, 2013
Just because I gave it three stars doesn't make it a weak read. This shines light on how to structure your attack so that you can develop business. So if you've been randomly calling leads as they come (or not calling on new leads at all), the advice here will help you to actually make a plan of attack.
My favorite pieces of advice were how to create your sales story and how to allocate your resources to business development, hot leads, and current customers.

Definitely a worthy read. But not a MUST read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of very few sales books to actually give you step-by-step instructions on how to increase your prospecting activities., June 26, 2014
This review is from: New Sales. Simplified.: The Essential Handbook for Prospecting and New Business Development (Paperback)
Mike's message really is simplified. The difference between this book and the thousands of other sales books is that Mike gives us ideas and actionable items. He walks you through how to create your story. He outlines how to use the phone to prospect. Most sales books I have read have good ideas (albeit most word the same ideas different ways) but leave most of what they tell you to your imagination if you want to implement anything. If you want to jumpstart your prospecting activities for the first time (if you're new to sales) or reinvigorate them (if you're seasoned), then this book is the perfect companion for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have sales guide, July 14, 2013
By 
angiemba (Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Sales. Simplified.: The Essential Handbook for Prospecting and New Business Development (Paperback)
This books is an essential in my business library and I reference it as much as needed when implementing a sales campaign.
I highly recommend this book to any business owner looking to stimulate or increase sales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Valuable Read for Anyone in Sales!, August 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Sales. Simplified.: The Essential Handbook for Prospecting and New Business Development (Paperback)
Any book that starts off with the author saying "I love sales" is certainly going to be an in-depth book on sales.

The author Mike Weinberg doesn't disappoint, but what makes this book different is its lack of complexity. Early on in the book Mike shares his story of how he went from selling for an established company to Walmart to a new company where he was truly selling without a net.

His frankness in sharing not just this story but many more throughout the book allows the reader to connect with the author.

Yes, I was fortunate enough to be given an early copy of the book and in so doing wound up being quoted in the book for saying how this is a book you read with a highlighter in hand and a pad of paper because of the notes you'll be taking.

The methodologies Mike presents when it comes to prospecting is excellent. Early in the book he presents a list he calls "Not so Sweet 16." It's his list of 16 reasons why salespeople fail at prospecting. Reading this list alone makes the book worth the price. Better yet are the ways he shares to help you succeed at prospecting.

There is no way anyone in sales could read this book and not wind up not being a better salesperson afterward.

Thanks to Mike for demystifying the prospecting process and giving all of us the insights of his experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great framework. Great stories. Great insights., August 30, 2012
By 
Mark Peterman (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Sales. Simplified.: The Essential Handbook for Prospecting and New Business Development (Paperback)
Mike's delivered a refreshingly honest, insightful, and straightforward book about acquiring new customers. There's great advice and stories about what it really takes to develop new business. Mike will show you how to select your targets, sharpen your sales weapons, then plan and execute your attack. This book is not just for salespeople. Business leaders need to read this too.

If you are new to sales, you've just found the secret handbook. If you're a seasoned sales vet, this will help you get better. Business owners, corporate leaders, and marketers will understand the company's role in sales success and what the sales team needs to be successful. I promise you'll stop telling sales people to show up and make a "presentation" after you've read Chapter 13 (one of my favorite chapters of the book).

You'll learn how to overcome the unfortunate truth that "most companies, executives, and salespeople don't have an effective story" in Chapters 7 and 8. You will have a solid story in simple English when you apply his approach.

The bottom line is simple. Read this book with a pen and a highlighter handy. It will make you think. It will lead to action. It will make you and your business better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

New Sales. Simplified.: The Essential Handbook for Prospecting and New Business Development
$17.95 $12.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.