Facility Spring Cleaning Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars274
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 17, 2012
I loved the stories, the irreverent tone, and the honesty of this book. But what I appreciated most was that it delivered on its title - this book really does simplify what you have to do successfully acquire new customers. Here are my highlights from this book:

The Stories - Frank, the overpaid account manager, who almost screwed up a huge sale because he did not understand that a sales presentation is a dialogue not a monologue. The founder of SlimFast flying into a sales presentation on his Gulfstream and providing some billionaire-level sales wisdom to his eager sales rep. The receptionist who considered the sales manager to be her personal assistant. These and many other stories in the book made me laugh, made the author's points well, and made this an enjoyable read.

Chapter 3 - Before Weinberg gets into his system for creating better sales hunters, he points out that the CEO is supposed to set strategy for a company, not the sales force. I share his amazement at how often executives don't do this. Weinberg explains why it is so important in this chapter.

Chapter 4, page 49: Weinberg's description of the New Sales Driver is straightforward and helpful. These are three simple points for establishing a new sales initiative. I think this information is also helpful as a simple diagnostic for figuring out where your current new business sales efforts can be improved.

Chapter 5 - Selecting Targets. Many sales people aren't using target lists well (or at all), and this chapter lays out exactly how to put one together and work it. Everyone knows they should have this list, but a much smaller group of people actually put it in place and work it. Weinberg lays out a well-constructed set of steps here to develop your own workable targets. He's also got some good insights about why failing to create a well-targeted list contributes to a lack of perseverance among sales hunters.

Chapters 7 and 8 - These chapters are a fantastic, step-by-step explanation of how to construct a sales story that becomes the backbone of every communication with prospects and referral sources. These chapters alone make this book worth the price of admission. I love the quote on page 89 decrying the over-emphasized `elevator pitch': "The last time I checked, there was not a whole lot of business being transacted in elevators." The author's Sales Story system takes the elevator pitch to a whole new level. I am already thinking this through for my own business.

Chapter 9 "Your Friend the Phone" is all about the lost art of picking up the phone, connecting with prospects, and opening up new business relationships. It provides practical specifics around approach, wording, and the proper way to construct a sales script. I specifically noted Weinberg's advice on page 113 about not over qualifying.

Chapter 11 on structuring winning sales calls. This chapter also stands out because of its simple, step-by-step process, this time for how to conduct a great face-to-face sales call. Weinberg shows how the Sales Story we have just constructed pays off when you are in-person with a prospect. He's got another great story here on what not to do on face-to-face sales calls. And, on pages 139 and following the author walks us through a well-conducted sales call from beginning to end. Very useful.

Chapter 13 on Sales Presentations. This is a great discussion of what to do and definitely not to do when conducting the ubiquitous and often deadly PowerPoint presentation in a sales context. Check out the very well done sample script on page 175 and the opening objectives on page 178.

In addition, this book has brief but important discussions of time blocking (pages 183-185) and individual business planning (pages 188-191). Anyone who has ever been on commission understands that these are the steps that turn an intellectual understanding of sales into actual results. Again, these are the simple but complete steps that make great business books like this one so useful.
11 comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2014
Mike's message really is simplified. The difference between this book and the thousands of other sales books is that Mike gives us ideas and actionable items. He walks you through how to create your story. He outlines how to use the phone to prospect. Most sales books I have read have good ideas (albeit most word the same ideas different ways) but leave most of what they tell you to your imagination if you want to implement anything. If you want to jumpstart your prospecting activities for the first time (if you're new to sales) or reinvigorate them (if you're seasoned), then this book is the perfect companion for you!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2012
It turns out, to be a top salesperson, you don't have to be a pushy, drama voice-coached egomaniac with a power handshake and a Ph.D. in Powerpoint. (Thank God! Some of us actually have a chance.)

"Acquiring new clients is simple, but not easy." Author and professional sales coach Mike Weinberg explains his simple methods for hunting and closing new sales opportunities, and a not-so-sweet-sixteen list of the top reasons why people fail at it. (How many describe you?)

This book is so well written, it's like having lunch and a one-on-one conversation with a world-class sales coach! Excruciatingly practical, down-to-Earth advice from a guy who knows. No academics. No "pump you up" cheerleader sales hype. No Jedi mind tricks. Just unconventional wisdom with a dose of common sense.

His template for developing a no-miss sales story is worth your time and money all by itself.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2012
Any book that starts off with the author saying "I love sales" is certainly going to be an in-depth book on sales.

The author Mike Weinberg doesn't disappoint, but what makes this book different is its lack of complexity. Early on in the book Mike shares his story of how he went from selling for an established company to Walmart to a new company where he was truly selling without a net.

His frankness in sharing not just this story but many more throughout the book allows the reader to connect with the author.

Yes, I was fortunate enough to be given an early copy of the book and in so doing wound up being quoted in the book for saying how this is a book you read with a highlighter in hand and a pad of paper because of the notes you'll be taking.

The methodologies Mike presents when it comes to prospecting is excellent. Early in the book he presents a list he calls "Not so Sweet 16." It's his list of 16 reasons why salespeople fail at prospecting. Reading this list alone makes the book worth the price. Better yet are the ways he shares to help you succeed at prospecting.

There is no way anyone in sales could read this book and not wind up not being a better salesperson afterward.

Thanks to Mike for demystifying the prospecting process and giving all of us the insights of his experience.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a 20+ year veteran of radio advertising sales, I am always looking for ways to increase my "billing"! The information that Mr. Weinberg shares in this book isn't new, it isn't a "big secret" revealed, a lot of the ideas he shares we have all heard before. But his delivery, his brutally direct and truthful discussions are spot on. We all need to be reminded of what it takes to grow our business. Whether you are a brand new rookie, or you've been in the trenches a long time, this book will help you get focused.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2016
 Hi I’m Douglas Burdett, host of The Marketing Book Podcast and I’d like to tell you about the book "New Sales. Simplified: The Essential Handbook for Prospecting and New Business Development" by Mike Weinberg

There is an unfortunate and costly myth alive and well in the marketing and sales world these days. It’s the notion that inbound marketing, content marketing, permission marketing, social media... are making the sales person irrelevant. Just provide great marketing content for your prospective customers, they’ll find you online and you’ll have more than enough leads to fill your pipeline, increase revenues and grow your business. But that’s a fantasy.

Sure, you want to leverage your existing relationships and attract prospective customers with content marketing. But you also need to have a proactive outbound prospecting program focused on your best targets. Don’t believe me? The HubSpot marketing automation software firm is the granddaddy of inbound marketing. Their founders wrote the book on it. Really - it’s called “Inbound Marketing.” So then why do you suppose they have an active outbound sales effort in addition to all the great inbound marketing they do? It’s because it works. And Mike Weinberg’s book “New Sales. Simplified” is so good that HubSpot uses this book to train their salespeople and even recommends the book to their agency partners like me.

In the book, Mike Weinberg explains explains the 16 reasons why salespeople fail at new business development. But he explains that there are just three essential components for establishing a successful new business development sales initiative.

It’s so... simple!

If you are expected to bring in new business, you need a proven formula for prospecting, developing, and closing deals. "New Sales. Simplified." is the answer.

And, to listen to an interview with Mike Weinberg about "New Sales. Simplified," visit MarketingBookPodcast.com.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
Here are my key takeaways from the book:

1. Be perceived as someone who brings value and helps solve business problems
2. Maintain discipline and focus to gain traction on a defined target set of leads
3. Go into sales calls with a solid plan and share it with the prospect
4. Dedicate blocks of time on your calendar for prospecting, honor the times, and stay on task
5. Know your company’s strategic direction and the competitive landscape
6. Align pay with business goals, typically by raising commissions on new business and lower commissions on retained business
7. Attend, but don’t necessarily exhibit at, trade shows
8. Pick 4 or 5 dream clients and work at them over the long term
9. “Stop talking about yourself and your company and begin leading with the issues, pains, problems, opportunities, and results that are important to your prospect.”
10. Tell a compelling sales story with the following three parts (a) client issues addressed (b) offerings (c) differentiators
11. Use a casual, comfortable tone rather than an overly formal “sales voice”
12. Use the following phone call script:
a. Hi (prospect first). It’s (rep first & last) with (rep company). Let me steal a minute.
b. I head up client relationships for (specific area).
c. Right now a lot of (prospect’s job role) use (rep company) because (prospect problem). We help by (rep solution). (Strive to reference any pre-call research here as well).
d. Let’s get together to see if we might be a fit for you. (ask for a meeting at least 3x)
13. Sit literally and figuratively on the same side of the table as the prospect
14. Use the following in-person discovery meeting outline:
a. brief rapport building
b. confirm available amount of time
c. spend no more than 5 minutes, optionally with slides, covering (i) company overview (ii) issues we solve for clients (iii) how we solve those issues in a differentiated way (iv) current understanding of prospect’s situation
d. spend the bulk of the time asking questions to better understand their situation; take notes
e. share relevant case studies and solutions based on specific prospect situation
f. Schedule next step with action items for both prospect and salesperson
15. Split prospecting time into thirds covering (a) hot opportunities, (b) active deals, (c) targeted prospects who are not yet active

Overall, the book is simple, practical, and relevant. I especially appreciated the detail phone call, voicemail, and face-to-face meeting outlines.

If the book has a flaw it is in its editing - like many books in the genre there is too much repetition and it jumps around between generic motivational advice ("op performers in sales don’t wait for anything or anyone"), the banal ("Don’t cheap out on shoes and your carrying bag), and the meaty stuff I cite above.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2012
New Sales Simplified

A great training book

Do you have a hard time prospecting? Not that you want to right? Are you having a hard time getting new customers? Has it been so long since you worked on getting new customers that you don't even remember how to do it?

From this book: Here are sixteen reasons sales people fail at new business development:
1. You haven't had to prospect, don't know how, or haven't seen it modeled well for you.
2. You spend too much time waiting...waiting on the company or waiting for new materials, clearer instructions, or leads.
3. You allow yourself to become a prisoner of hope to a precious few deals and stop working the process to create new opportunities.
4. You can't effectively tell a sales story.
5. You have done an awful job selecting and focusing on target accounts.
6. You are late to the party and end up playing an already in progress game.
7. You have become negative and pessimistic.
8. You are either faking your phone effort or could be much better on the phone.
9. You are not coming across as likeable or are not adapting to your buyer's style.
10. You are not conducting effective sales calls.
11. You babysit and over-serve your existing accounts.
12. You are too busy playing good corporate citizen and helping everyone else.
13. You don't own your own sales process and default to the buyer's.
14. You don't use your calendar well or protect your time.
15. You have stopped learning and growing.
16. You just aren't built for prospecting and hunting new business.

Do you see yourself here? If you're a manager do you see your salespeople here?
I do. I have a person or type rather that matches every single one of these reasons and that is why as a sales consultant I am urging everyone I work with, hell everyone I know to buy this book.

In Sales Simplified, Weinberg deals with every one of these issues. He shows you how to focus on what you need to do to be successful, to break out of your funk it need be.
In a clear and interesting way he gives you examples of what you need to do to shrug off your failures, overcome your challenges, even those that are self-induced and get on with your success.

He addresses all of the basics so that you can use this book as a guide to work on your specific issues. Here for example is what he says about overcoming the challenges of voice mail. He urges us to use it as an example to leave special message, one that will get us a return call. And here are six tips that he gives us for a leaving a productive and winning voice mail:
1. Adopt a positive perspective
2. Expect and prepare for it
3. Use a snippet of your story
4. Take the long view; see it as part of a campaign
5. Ask for a call back, state that you will call again
6. Be human. Use humor or guilt, not anger
All good stuff this. And all stuff that you can use over and over again.

This is my kind of book because it is so straightforward and does deal with the basics, the very basics that are the building blocks of a successful sales career.
I highly recommend this book to anyone involved in selling anything to anyone at any time.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2014
This is one of the most valuable sales resources I have come across in 30 years of successful selling. He debunks so many of the new myths about the ineffectiveness of cold calling, which if done wrong can definitely be ineffective! One of the most valuable parts of this book and what has become for our sales organization, a centerpiece of our strategy is the Power Statement. It's a well organized and succinct summary of the overall sales story for what we are selling. I find it to be incredibly valuable piece that is helping us refine and improve our phone calls, voice mails, emails and sales calls. In our world of industrial sales, this book is truly indispensable. Attached is a photo of all my dog eared pages!
review image
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2015
Rarely does one find a book, particularly as related to this topic, that is both comprehensive and straight to the point. Mike tells it like it is and in so doing sets you up to be successful in developing new business. The only other possible outcome is that you might realize that you are not suited for this field - and that's alright too.

This is not a text on academic theory or tome outlining hypothetical scenarios. Mike has crafted a must read that is 100% about practical actions that must be taken for sales professionals to increase their productivity by landing new accounts and driving incremental revenue.

Beyond the pure common sense effectiveness of his recommendations, I was most impressed by Mike's willingness to call everyone to the mat - up to and including the C-Suite. Not only does it prove that Mike has "been there and done that" for years and across various organizational levels, but holding the CEO and his / her leadership team responsible for setting the strategic direction is spot on correct (Sales Follows Strategy: Mr. CEO, Please Do Your Job so I Can Do Mine! - Chapter 3).

I read 'New Sales. Simplified.' over a weekend and was so impressed that I had a half dozen copies in the hands of my business development staff by the following Thursday. Stop contemplating this purchase and just do it - you'll be very happy that you did.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse