Customer Reviews


220 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Companion to New Super Mario U
First, it must be said that you shouldn't get this game unless you've played and enjoyed the main game, "New Super Mario Bros. U". Super Luigi appears as downloadable content for that game, even though it's a standalone title as well. The only advantage to getting it as a disc is if you need to save space or if you'd prefer to be able to resell it individually at a later...
Published 16 months ago by Bryan

versus
65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing but still has potential for fun
I pre-ordered this without a thought because I loved New Super Mario Bros. U. Perhaps that was my first mistake. I love platforming games and have since playing the original Mario Bros. since the 1980's. The reason why I was disappointed with this game was simply because it wasn't what I expected from Nintendo's Mario franchise. What I wanted was 8 new worlds with all...
Published 18 months ago by Tom Swift


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Companion to New Super Mario U, October 25, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Luigi U (Video Game)
First, it must be said that you shouldn't get this game unless you've played and enjoyed the main game, "New Super Mario Bros. U". Super Luigi appears as downloadable content for that game, even though it's a standalone title as well. The only advantage to getting it as a disc is if you need to save space or if you'd prefer to be able to resell it individually at a later time.

The game is classic side-scrolling Mario style fun in the same vein as the original NES games, much like all New Super Mario games. To be more precise, they should be calling these "Retro Super Mario Bros." because that's exactly what they are.

The Luigi game brings back nearly all of the levels of the Mario counterpart but remixes them into all-new designs that are made about half as long, but with slightly harder sections. It was actually cool to play both games back to back to see all the same familiar levels redone in completely new challenging ways. People who've played the first will be used to this enough to be able to do well, but the game may feel incredibly hard to those new to the series. As an expert gamer, in some ways I found this version easier simply because the levels were over so soon. Don't let the short length scare you from buying this, though. There are still about 80 levels, 3 star coins to find per level, multiple paths within the levels, and plenty of replay in going back to find everything you missed. At the budget price it's a pretty good value.

The main drawback to the game is just the quick pace of play if you're in the mood for something more laid back. This game is absolutely out to kill you at every turn. You need to be on your toes and ready for the most unexpected and occasionally frustrating deaths.

Some people are complaining about the time limit of 90 seconds per level. I do understand this complaint, but in completing the game I only actually died to going over the time limit two times, and both those times were my first attempt at a level. The levels are very short and all can be completed well within 30 seconds. In all honesty, for the length of the levels the original game's time limit was just as tight as this one's in some cases. Those levels could be 2 or 3 times as long but certainly did not give you that much more time. I nearly died of a time over more than once in the original game. The real problem with the time limit, if any, is just that it's indicative of the problem I mentioned above that the game has a crazy fast and unforgiving pace of play all-around. Some will love this, but if this sounds bad to you, consider a different game.

I do think this game and its predecessor are great for kids, despite the challenge. It's games like this which will really hone a child's reaction time and ability to think on their feet. You really need to earn it if you're going to complete this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, if atypical, addition to Mario platformers, August 31, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Luigi U (Video Game)
"New Super Luigi U" is downloadable content for "New Super Mario Bros. U", staring Luigi rather than Mario. Two months after its first appearance in the Nintendo eShop, priced at $19.99, Nintendo has released the game as a retail boxed version at $29.99, ten dollars more. The DLC version requires you to have the "New Super Mario Bros. U" disk in the Wii U to play this extra content. Obviously, the boxed version can be played as a stand-alone title.

Please note: Mario does not appear at all as a playable character. After beating the game, you can play as Luigi using the standard physics of his brother.

To put it kindly, the Wii U has had a rough first year. The sales have simply not been there, and Nintendo is fighting tooth and nail to get the install base up for their new machine. One of the key factors has been lack of software titles. Nintendo skipped the full blown dog and pony show of E3, instead issuing a Nintendo Direct (an online presentation of the new software titles that the company was launching). In April 2013, we first learned about "New Super Luigi U", a full blown game starring Luigi. To say we were surprised due to "New Super Mario Bros. U" had jut launched November 2012 is putting it lightly.

However, this isn't the whole story. "New Super Luigi U" straddles the fence between a "brand new game" and an extensive "downloadable content" addition to an already existing game. I personally believe we have gotten a retail version of "NSLU" for a two fold purpose: this DLC is long enough to merit a stand-alone release, and, much more importantly, acts as a stop-gap release in preparation for the all important Christmas season for the admittedly very slim library of Wii U games that have been available in its first year.

While Nintendo has first issued DLC for the 3DS "New Super Mario Bros. 2" title, this content was largely confined to brief level packs. With "New Super Luigi U", which has been available as a digital download since July, is completely unprecedented in Nintendo's (admittedly very brief) history of DLC: far from being brief level editions, this game is a whole new compaign staring Luigi, perfectly in key for Nintendo's Year of Luigi which is what they have dubbed 2013.

For new purchasers, let's define what this game is specifically.

WHAT IT IS: A four player game, starring Luigi, two Toads, and Nabbit. Nabbit is invincible and impervious too any damage and cannot take power ups. The game features the exact same world map as "New Super Mario Bros U"; however, all the levels have been reworked and almost all of them start with only 99 seconds. Luigi's physics have been reworked, making him floaty in terms of his jumping and very loose, slippy traction. Due to the time limit, you have to move quickly through the levels. While four players, the levels here are claustraphobic in nature with more than two players, because of how quickly you must beat them (especially for levels where ground is at a premium). While four player mode has been chaotic in the Wii and Wii U "New Super Mario Bros." games, it is even more frustratingly difficult in "NSLU" due to short level times and the deeply increased challenge of the levels in comparison to the other two Mario games.

WHAT IT IS NOT: a full-fledged, brand new game staring Luigi.. People are comparing this too "Super Mario Bros 2: The Lost Levels" and the original "Super Mario Bros.". This analogy simply does not hold water. While "The Lost Levels" was little more than a mission pack sequel to the original; this title does not feel or play like a true sequel to "New Super Mario Bros. U", largely due to the brief running times of the levels (99 seconds) and the fact that, although the game has been released as a stand-alone title, this is first and foremost DLC (granted, very expansive DLC, the likes of which we have never seen from Nintendo). Also, given the identical world map, the game plays simply like a reimagined campaign mode for the first game. What also should be noted is this game, unlike "NSMBU", contains no extra modes and features only the 82 levels of the world map as playable content.

Likewise, the price point of this first party Wii U game (29.99 instead of the usual 50-60 dollar range) tells us "New Super Luigi U" is not on the same playing field as Nintendo's other first-party titles. Mario games are famous for keeping their MRSP (or close too it) for years after their initial release, especially Mario titles. "Super Mario Galaxy" and "The Legend of Zelda: The Twilight Princess" did not become noticeably cheaper until the red-cased "Nintendo Choice" games of 2011-2013, four to five years after the release of these games.

Another thing to be noted is challenge. The game's difficulty ramps up from the very beginning, and it is clear even in the opening levels that the developers are designing this content for more experienced players. Such unrelenting difficulty (spread throughout the entire duration of the game's playing time) has not been seen since "Super Mario Bros. 2: The Lost Levels". Mario, obviously, is Nintendo's bread and butter, and while the Mario games can be challenging, over all they are widely accessible to players of all skill levels. Such skill level required, consistently maintained at such a high mark throughout the entire duration of the game's worlds, would simply never be considered by Nintendo on a mainstream Mario game, as that would drive away many potential customers and would somewhat hamper the impeccable Mairo brand.

Like Greenland as the largest island in the world (but not a continent), "New Super Luigi U." blurs that perhaps hard to define level between new game and simple DLC. For reasons already outlined, Nintendo has released this has a stand-alone title, but buyers should be aware that this game will not have the same amount of hours as its parent title, due to the intentionally brief, speed running design of the levels.

For those expecting a full-fledged sequel to "New Super Mario Bros U." will find this disappointing to some degree. For those who go into the game expecting a brief, fun excursion as an extra campaign mode to an already existing title, they will find a lot to enjoy about the game. Just be aware the game is extremely challenging, and due to that increased challenge, the first "New Super Mario Bros U" game will be better if you are looking for four person multiplayer, or, better yet, wait for "Super Mario 3D World", which will feature four person multiplayer in a 3D Mario game for the first time ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing but still has potential for fun, August 28, 2013
By 
Tom Swift (NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Super Luigi U (Video Game)
I pre-ordered this without a thought because I loved New Super Mario Bros. U. Perhaps that was my first mistake. I love platforming games and have since playing the original Mario Bros. since the 1980's. The reason why I was disappointed with this game was simply because it wasn't what I expected from Nintendo's Mario franchise. What I wanted was 8 new worlds with all new levels. After all, the game description did say over 80 new levels. Instead, this is what you get:

* All the worlds are the same from New Super Mario Bros. U (Acorn Plains, Layer Cake Desert, etc.). I was expecting new worlds with completely new levels just for Luigi. I was most disappointed with this.

* Most of the cut scenes are the same (minor tweaks based on the lack of Mario as a playable character)

* Each level in each world is a re-hash of the original (although some do feel completely different)

* Almost every level you only get 100 seconds to complete it. There are no checkpoint flags and the levels are short. I don't understand this design decision as I like to take my time and not feel rushed through a game. I like to figure out the best path and the best way to grab Star Coins instead of just plowing through a level. You can argue this adds to the challenge (and it does) but I don't care as I personally don't like speed runs.

* Luigi's handles differently than Mario. He can jump higher and "float" down after a jump. He soars through the air compared to Mario. This makes completing the levels more fun and I do like this change of controls. The amount of ground Luigi can cover in a short amount of time is amazing. Perhaps this is why there is a 100 second time limit (which I still dislike).

* This game is more challenging than it's Mario predecessor. This can be good or bad. I like the challenge and after I swallowed the bad taste of the level rehash, short time limit, and same worlds, I found myself immersed in the game trying to get all the Star Coins. However, younger kids (perhaps 7 or below) may find this game simply too hard. However, they can help out with the GamePad (touch enemies to stun them and create platforms to help out) or they can be the Nabbit character, who is invincible to enemies. However, this may only hold the younger kids' attention for so long.

So, I'm going to let you decided if this game is something you'll like based on the above. I'm not going to recommend it one way or the other. This game is a challenge and I believe if you know what you're getting into then you'll have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Super Mario Bros. U, October 7, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Luigi U (Video Game)
Before buying a Wii U, I had tried Super Mario Bros. U in the store, and was slightly disappointed with it. When I finally bought a Wii U, I wanted a Mario game to play so I decided to pick up a copy of Super Luigi U, as I was very interested in playing it.

This game is very fun! i love how Luigi jumps the way he used to in Super Mario 2 for the NES, which changes the game a bit, definitely more fun to play as than his reserved older brother. Apparently (probably due to Amazon's description of the game), a lot of people thought the levels would be brand new which led to some negative reviews, but this is not the case. As a diehard Nintendo fan, I was aware of this before I bought it, so I was not disappointed.

The worlds are the same but the levels are remixed and shorter along with a much shorter time limit and plenty of hidden things in each level, which gives a bit of a challenge and provides replay value.

New Super Luigi U is not a new game, it just tweaks the formula for the better. The only thing missing is the challenge and coin rush modes from the main game, but since this technically DLC, I can see why it was omitted. This game is more for series veterans than newcomers and younger players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Nintendo Hard, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Super Luigi U (Video Game)
Do you remember those old school Nintendo games that were HARD? This is a throw back to those days and I truly enjoy it. If you don't have it I would definately recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great 2D Platforming Game, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Super Luigi U (Video Game)
NSLU(New Super Luigi U) is a great platforming game that is different from NSMBU(New Super Mario Bros. U) and you can't play as mario in NSLU.
NSLU stages are harder, shorter, and different.
Luigi's physics makes the game even harder.
NSLU still uses NSMBU's world map, power ups, graphics, and bosses.
I would recommend this game if you are looking for a challenging 2D platforming game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and Fun., November 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Super Luigi U (Video Game)
Just to let everyone know this is an amazing piece of software. Completely redesigned levels that are shorter (you're given 100 seconds to complete them) but are faster to get through. Luigi does control completely different than Mario so it took a bit to get used to. Everything is amazing on this game and I definitely recommend this to anyone with a Wii U.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deja vu - Thy name is Luigi, May 9, 2014
This review is from: New Super Luigi U (Video Game)
So New Super Mario Bros. U rekindled my faith in the New Super Mario branch of the franchise with its strong level design and fresh-enough content for a sequel that the 3DS entry wishes it had. This particular installment in the lineup was made for this purpose - To highlight the 20th Anniversary of Luigi. And with that in mind, you'd think Nintendo would make this one even fresher, providing some all-new worlds and environments ideal for Luigi and his abilities helping it give off a unique and interesting experience

Oooor it could just be a merely smaller clone/rehash of New Super Mario Bros. U............

Unfortunately, we're given the latter. Everything you've seen in NSMBU is present and accounted for, including the worlds, bosses, etc. You even get the same cutscenes and sequences on the maps! NOTHING was changed....except for the level design...and Luigi's usual characteristics (higher jumping, slightly floatier) have been implemented.

For whatever reason, the levels are all made much shorter ON PURPOSE. The maximum time limit is always 100 seconds, so you're always pressured to breeze through the pint-sized levels, not being able to take the time to establish any actual fondness or appreciation of the levels themselves. Even then, the levels are not quite as up to snuff as in other NSMB games, with the exception of maybe NSMB2. At least they provide a challenge....

...Unless you decide to play as that Nabbit character, as I like to call him, "Easy Mode: The Character". When playing as Nabbit, you can collect power-ups as extra lives, and not take damage from ANY enemy, including bosses. This wipes out any challenge presented in the game, and although playing as him is optional, the fact that he's playable ruins the entire point of this game's confused structure.

Yes, I completely get it: This is simply DLC for the real NSMBU. However, having it sell for $20, and then releasing the game alone as a RETAIL TITLE FOR $10 MORE makes the game hard to swallow, especially considering the time gap between this and NSMBU - The latter was released on November 2012, correct? Nintendo had around SEVEN MONTHS (NINE if you count the retail release!) to conceptualize the project, and after that amount of time, it just comes off as a giant missed opportunity to make a great new 2D platformer based solely around Luigi.

Despite all that's said, though, there's still at least some fun to be had. The classic 2D Mario formula is still alive and kicking, and New Super Mario Bros. U is a great title, so of course New Super Luigi U is bound to retain some things that made NSMBU a good play. It's just a shame the effort feels overall lazy, and there's so, so, so much more that could have been done.

If you got this game with New Super Mario Bros. U as a Wii U bundle, then feel free to add a star to the rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome addition to your Wii U collection!, November 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Super Luigi U (Video Game)
Awesome WII U game. As all of the other games that come out, this one is no exception. Our boys are ages 6 and 8 and they have had hours of play with this game. They think it ranks right up there with the Mario games. Must have, especially for $30!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now This Is What I'm Talking About, January 4, 2014
By 
This review is from: New Super Luigi U (Video Game)
This is a short and concise version of NSMBU, and I actually like it more. Played this after the young one went to bed, because this game is way more hectic than its older brother.

Nabbit: If I have one thing to say, Nabbit rocks. I was stealing mushrooms left and right, and left my fellow players in the dust. There's nothing like running through Piranha plants. Plus, those "stolen" powerups are converted to 1-ups at the end of each level, so I don't have to worry about jumping to the elusive top of the flag.

Gameplay: The added "hops" of each character is handy, but that lost traction can burn you in tight spots. But, that's part of the fun. The levels are shorter, and I like that aspect. It's easier to jump in for "one more level before bed", than NSMBU, and definitely faster than Super Mario 3D World.

Levels: These are redone levels of NSMBU, but they still felt different. In fact, they weren't completely recognizable as the counterparts of their longer cousins, so props to Nintendo. Some of them are "kill levels", but I think those are the best types. Overall, after a few hard ones, the game is not too difficult. We got to World Three in one night. Oh, don't even try Boost Mode on this game for really fun party nights.

NSLU was a shining moment for Nintendo this year. I love everything about it, and can't wait to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

New Super Luigi U
New Super Luigi U by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii U)
$65.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.