Customer Reviews


528 Reviews
5 star:
 (391)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (51)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good, the greedy, and the familiarity. (Stuck between 3.5 - 4 star)
NSMB2's unveiling was met with a lot of praise and criticism by fans of the 3DS. After superb sales on the Wii (New Super Mario Bros. Wii), NSMB2 follows in its predecessor's footsteps but maybe a bit closer than some will want to admit. Of all the discussing I see some bickering fans partaking in, the word "rehash" seems as synonymous with this game in discussion as it...
Published on August 26, 2012 by Exceed88

versus
85 of 98 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time for a format change
I'm usually pretty generous with my ratings, especially on Nintendo products because I've been a fan since the original NES came out. However, after finishing Mario 2 last week, I must express some frustration with the game. First and foremost, if you played Mario Bros for Wii or DS, this game is nearly identical in format. It's fun, but if you've played the others,...
Published 18 months ago by Chris H.


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 98 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time for a format change, March 11, 2013
By 
Chris H. (FAIRFIELD, OH, US) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. 2 (Video Game)
I'm usually pretty generous with my ratings, especially on Nintendo products because I've been a fan since the original NES came out. However, after finishing Mario 2 last week, I must express some frustration with the game. First and foremost, if you played Mario Bros for Wii or DS, this game is nearly identical in format. It's fun, but if you've played the others, this won't really excite you. I miss the days when all Mario games were completely different.

Secondly, and I hope this doesn't become a trend, once you unlock certain coin rush levels, you have to purchase them for $2.50 each. This is unacceptable. Everything I need to play the game should be included in the purchase price (which was costly enough to begin with.)

I am sad to say I will think twice before purchasing Super Mario Bros 3 if it ever comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good, the greedy, and the familiarity. (Stuck between 3.5 - 4 star), August 26, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. 2 (Video Game)
NSMB2's unveiling was met with a lot of praise and criticism by fans of the 3DS. After superb sales on the Wii (New Super Mario Bros. Wii), NSMB2 follows in its predecessor's footsteps but maybe a bit closer than some will want to admit. Of all the discussing I see some bickering fans partaking in, the word "rehash" seems as synonymous with this game in discussion as it is with a franchise the likes of Call of Duty or Madden. So the ultimate question probably should be "Is this really bad or not"?

Gameplay, more money more problems?:
NSMB2 brings back just about all the gameplay elements of its Wii (and of course DS) predecessor in terms of gameplay style, mechanics and so on. As you can tell by the marketing campaign and the game case itself, NSMB2 takes pride in encouraging greedy players this time around. In addition to your usual princess rescuing routine a sub-goal of the game is to collect 1,000,000 gold coins throughout the course of your overall time playing the game. With a task as arduous as this you'll probably wonder if it's possible without sinking your life into the game. The answer is in a sense yes. There are a plethora of means to gain coins which range from the overpowered gold fire flower (which can destroy many enemies, blocks, and even rocks while giving you coins for everything destroyed by the spicy golden meatballs of death you fling), or turning enemies (such as koopas) into gold and kicking them away in which case they leave trails of coins for you. There are several more ways to earn quick coins but half the fun is in finding all the different ways the game will toss coins your way. Thar be gold in those hills!

Sadly the 1,000,000 coin goal falls relatively flat when you actually achieve your goal. You would think with such a hefty feat you'd be getting some amusing reward in return but the actuality of the situation will more than likely disappoint you. While I won't spoil the surprise I imagine there will be MANY facepalms when it comes time for the 1,000,000 coin revelation (there have already been for those who've spoiled themselves). Suffice it is to say that if you could deal with the disappointment that was Super Mario 64's completion reward then I suppose you could handle this well (hint, it's worse than that reward). I think the game may have been a bit better off without this "hook" but ultimately if you have fun playing for coins then the goal has arguably served its means.

Co-op, bros before toads:
I'm going to be honest, I'd always rather play a Mario game solo, NSMBW was no exception. Unless you liked trolling your friends or bumbling around the stages, more (than 2) players tended to feel like a chore in performance from my experience. That said NSMB2 jumps down from 4 players to just 2: Mario and Luigi. This works out well enough since on a smaller screen 4 player co-op would likely be very uncomfortable. When you play a co-op game (which mind you you can't do this over the internet) the host takes the role of Mario and the guest becomes Luigi. Mario (the player) will select one of their own files and both players continue from the Mario player's file. Luigi's player will not get any progress in their file but they will be able to bolster their coin count while in a co-op game.

The whole game is up for grabs in co-op so you can play beginning to end. The same mechanics in place for NSMBW are at play here, players can bubble themselves out of some situations in which case their partner can tag them back into safety. This can be used to cooperatively aid lesser skilled players through more tricky segments of the game, provided that the remaining player is never harmed. Should there ever be only one of the two players actively onscreen (non-bubbled) and they lose a life then both players lose and will need to restart the stage or at that stage's checkpoint. Another cooperative tactic one can use is sharing stored power ups. Each player can hold one reserve power up item should a situation go bad for them. Said items are called in and dropped above the owner's head but either partner can pick the item up provided they touch it first. On a co-op level, NSMB2 can still be a bit chaotic but it feels proper (and fun) at the 2 player count.

Graphics & 3D, itsa me! Familiarity!:
NSMB2 essentially matches NSMBW's graphics, but on a handheld. The game even retains NSMBW's solid frame rate consistently, even with 3D on. Character models are fluid and well done for the most part and the game looks as good as its predecessor. One can also argue that most of the game's assets literally feel directly lifted from NSMBW though. The character models obviously would be but the map designs/themes, stage designs, and so on literally make the game sometimes feel like it should be called NSMBW portable or an expansion to NSMBW. Much of what you'll see in the game will look familiar if you come from the previous NSMB title.

Meanwhile the 3D effect for NSMB2 is relatively minor. The 3D will amount to giving the game a bit more of a pop effect on the foreground layer and occasionally adds a touch to near foreground walls but otherwise 3D is not a big deal for this title (and it probably shouldn't be). However any time you are using the 3D settings in a stage the background will become blurred, detracting from details on background objects.

Sound, Bah! Bah bah...:
The same way the game graphically feels lifted from NSMBW the same can be said of NSMB2's music, though in this case it is immediately obvious. The game's soundtrack is literally NSMBW's but with more bah. If you had a problem with bahs previously, you'd best get over them for NSMB2 because this is a game that is all about the bah, and it's even heard in castle themes now. Despite the obvious lifting, cheery music is what makes any Mario game Mario and of course, musical enjoyment is subjective (I've actually had quite a laugh over the hostility some fans have for the added bahs though).

Overall, the million coin question:
Is New Super Mario Bros. 2 a rehash? As much as some defenders will relent to admit, it kind of is. The game's new gimmick never really changes much about how the game is played, the stages (and bosses) will look eerily familiar, and the music is immediately familiar. NSMB2 does have some of the criteria to be called a rehash. It may not do it on the caliber of other big named series but the point is, it does seemingly commit the crime regardless. The question is how do you feel about having more of something pretty similar (or the same)? I played NSMBW through for my nieces and while the best memories of my Mario days have been far behind me the game was still pretty enjoyable. I'm willing to pass the same judgment down to NSMB2 in that while it doesn't feel particularly mind blowing in any way, it is fun enough to be worth a spin. If you've for whatever reason never played a side scrolling Mario game though, this is a fun title to play. While the NSMB series never fully matches up to its roots, it's a fun homage to those titles that's even further accessible to newer/younger gamers.

Pros:
- Co-op is fun and functional.
- If you really liked NSMBW or even side scrolling Mario games in general, you may like this.
- NSMB2 matches NSMBW's graphics, sound, and controls.
- The golden flower may be mighty but it's not the difficulty killer the helicopter mushroom from NSMBW was.
- NSMB2 is an accessible title to just about anyone given its difficulty.

Cons:
- Not only does it match NSMBW's graphics, it literally feels like it reuses a lot of its assets.
- The music is barely changed, in fact it feels like they only added more "bah"s.
- The 1,000,000 coin gimmick does little to enhance the play, and its reward is truly underwhelming.
- This isn't exactly a game for challenge seekers like the original Marios, the game is way more forgiving than its source of inspiration (SMB3, SMW).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Portable Mario Game For People On The Go, January 1, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. 2 (Video Game)
The first thing you have to be amazed at is how great the game actually looks, while it doesn't come as a surprise it still felt like you were playing a console version game instead of the portable one. Also the wireless co-op is great fun when playing with a friend without the hassle of wire hookups and whatnot. While the game is just a portable version of Super Mario Bros it's still a blast to have if you're traveling by bus/train/plane/car and are looking for away to pass the time.So for any Mario fan who has a 3DS this is one game you must add to your library when you get a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Mario with dozens upon dozens of coins, but not much else!, August 6, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. 2 (Video Game)
When I first heard about the game on Mario Wiki, I was like "oh OK cool, there's gonna be a New Super Mario Bros. game on the 3DS". I downloaded the game from the Nintendo Eshop when it came out, so I could get the 100 coin bonus that was offered at the time. After finishing the game, I can conclude that it's a nice, classic 2D Mario adventure, but besides filling up the levels with many, MANY coins, there's not that much innovation involved. It's far from a bad game, though!

Gameplay is just like the other games in the New Super Mario Bros. games (and all the other 2D Mario games except SMB2 USA) - you get coins, power-ups like the fire flower and super leaf, and 1up mushrooms along the way, and make it to the end of the level, either by getting to the flagpole or by beating a boss. The bosses are Reznor (returning from Super Mario World), the koopalings, and of course, Bowser himself. One thing that's new is how they changed the warp cannons - they still take you to another world (in this case, one of the secret worlds), but now they send you running nonstop! Think of this like the mine cart stages from the Donkey Kong Country series. Quite a nice touch if you ask me! There isn't any new power-ups for this game, sadly. Sure, there's the gold flower, and it's definitely fun to use, but it's basically a souped-up fire flower - you throw gold fireballs at enemies to gain coins, and at brick blocks to turn them into coins. There's also the gold brick block which you get by hitting a multiple coin block enough times, and you can either wear it (just like the wearable question block from Super Mario 3D Land) and run full speed to get coins automatically, or make it a fountain of coins. It seems like this game WANTS you to get a million coins! :P Oh, and the coin rush mode is the best part of the game - you pick either the mushroom, flower, and star packs, and go through 3 randomly selected levels, trying to get as many coins as you can within a strict time limit. You don't get lives in this mode, though, so that makes it a bit challenging. You can also purchase extra coin rush packs, but they cost $2.50 each. That's a little pricey considering it's just 3 levels per pack, I would've priced them at like $1 or something. But I am definitely glad they don't cost more than $2.50!

Apart from a few levels here and there, as well as the cannon levels, the game is really easy - probably the easiest Mario game in my opinion! Assuming you're an expert at Mario games, you're not gonna get a game over screen at all, because of how the game is filled with coins, as 100 each still scores you a 1up. Even when you fight Bowser, he's a pushover! (Then again, Bowser has ALWAYS been a pushover in the main Mario series, it's like he WANTS Mario to pwn him over and over again! XD) And if that's not enough, when you die enough times, the game gives you an invincibility leaf block that gives you invincibility throughout the entire level, even the final one! If you're expecting a really difficult game, then NSMB2 is clearly not for you. The biggest gripe I have with the game, though, is how they recycled the music from New Super Mario Bros. Wii, with the exception of the secret worlds. Seriously Nintendo? You reused the same music we've heard from its Wii predecessor? Come on! That's my biggest gripe with the game! The game could at least remix the main New Super Mario Bros. theme significantly, and compose new music for the desert, beach, jungle, etc.. It's not bad music, but I still wish there was more original music for this game. Oh, and for getting a million coins, all you get is a gold Mario statue on the title screen. ...........yeah. :P

Despite my gripes, it's still a good game. It's no masterpiece, but if you love Mario games like I do, by all means, go get it. However, if you weren't particularly a fan of its DS and Wii predecessors, then this game is not worth buying, especially those who are expecting a challenge. There's definitely better games for the 3DS, like Mario Kart 7 and Luigi's Mansion Dark Moon, to name a few (and on a side note, I would love to get Animal Crossing New Leaf, I heard it's great and I never actually played Animal Crossing before!). If you do decide to get it, though, I say get it for a cheaper price and know exactly what to expect!

Final score - 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the others then you will love this one!, August 20, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. 2 (Video Game)
Again if you loved NSMB on the DS or the Wii version then you will love this one. More platform action and I really like the coins theme. Keeps me wanting to achieve that crazy 1 million mark.

3D isn't really there but with a game like this it doesn't really matter.

Again if you like the other ones then don't expect something radically different. Just more old school platforming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a good formula, November 27, 2013
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. 2 (Video Game)
After nearly 30 years these are still lots of fun. The new power ups and neat environments & enemies make for some great gaming by myself or with the kids. Thanks Nintendo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Super Mario in 3D Land blows this title away in every aspect ~, December 18, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. 2 (Video Game)
Thank goodness my library had a copy because I am so glad I didn't buy this. Basically this game takes 6-10 hours to beat and unlock the extras. The comparisons to Super Mario Brothers 3 must be some sick peoples' ideas of jokes. At the very surface this has some similarities to SMB3, but they are superficial at best.

There is little challenge in this game. You will lose lives, yes. But when you have 200+ extra lives, it doesn't really matter. So you can be bold without worrying too much about having to restart. Extra lives are WAY too easy to come by.

The goal more than anything seems to be collecting coins. Even beating the game (both realms) seems trivial. There are 6 worlds with 6 stages (or so) each. Then there are 3 special worlds. Then there are the Rainbow Worlds to secretly unlock.

But all of this can be accomplished in an afternoon if one is dedicated.

Buy the much better 3DS Mario title: Super Mario 3D Land. It is by far the superior game. If you have access to this game either through a game rental store or site, or local library, or even a friend, then borrow it for a few days. You'll probably get bored quickly.

Update: There is new DLC for this title, but it involves more coin challenge games and such. I still think that this is not as good as the previous entry, New Super Mario Brothers for the DS or Super Mario in 3D Land. It's not a bad game, but on playing some more I just realize that it's far too easy to get extra lives, hence the risks of dying are not great. I would honestly rather play the original Super Mario Bros. 1 or 2 (the real SMB2 that we call 'The Lost Levels' in the US).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, May 6, 2014
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. 2 (Video Game)
The game is really fun and it is enjoyable. The only thing I don't like about the game is that the boss battles are way to easy. The only thing hard about the game is the last boss battle which took me forever to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic is back, February 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. 2 (Video Game)
Nintendo always knows when to bring their A-game. This traditional Mario entry is no exception. Perfect buy for new 3DS or 2DS ownders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. 2 (Video Game)
For those who like to play for real, this game can not miss in your collection, The quality is great and the fun is guaranteed; recommend everyone;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

New Super Mario Bros. 2
New Super Mario Bros. 2 by Nintendo (Nintendo 3DS)
$29.99 $24.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.