Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Nothing But Thieves All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on SnS

New Surrender

September 30, 2008 | Format: MP3

Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: September 30, 2008
  • Release Date: September 30, 2008
  • Label: Universal
  • Copyright: (C) 2008 Universal Republic Records, a division of UMG Recordings, Inc.
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 45:00
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B001GO790S
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 70 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #6,942 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
I want to make this as simple as possible for Anberlin fans. This album is not 'Cities', but then again you'd have to compile a damn near perfect album to surpass their last effort. For a first release on a major record label, I'd expect a more pop rock sold out sounding Anberlin, especially since they softened up "Feel Good Drag" from 'NTFP.' Setting aside the God awful Maroon 5 sounding "Retrace" and the somewhat catchy but sugarcoated "Breathe", you're getting almost exactly what you've bargained for with this band: beautiful melodies, soaring vocals and hard rocking anthems.

Tracks Worth Noting:
1. "The Resistance"
2. "Breaking"
5. "Feel Good Drag"
6. "Disappear"
11. "Soft Skeletons"
12. "Miserabile Visu (Ex Malo Bonum)"

The final track mirrors their previous closing efforts ("Dance, Dance, Christa Paffgen" and "(*Fin)"). It's a beautifully structured song, once again running well over 6 minutes and closing the album in style. You don't need a fine tooth comb to break this one down. Anberlin is a band that thrives in every sense of the word Rock, whether it be hard hitting riffs, amplified ballads or unplugged melodies. Their ability to speed up and slow down the album track to track is unparalleled and done with such ease and flow.

'New Surrender' may get scrutinized as it draws comparisons to 'Cities', but any way you look at it you're paying $10 or less for 12 well written, unique and diverse songs. This band never leads you to a dead end. I'm glad I found them.

Grade: A-
Comment 15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
A Kid's Review on September 30, 2008
Format: Audio CD
A year and a half after the release of the monumental Cities, Anberlin is back, backed by a new record label, and are eager to introduce you to New Surrender. The release of their compilation project, Lost Songs, in November 2007 marked the end of their contract with Tooth and Nail Records- the band's label home since the early days of Blueprints For The Black Market. Now, they are partnered with Universal Republic, and their evolution is evident.

New Surrender initially doesn't seem to reflect the "Anberlin" sound fans have come to know throughout their past three albums. However, that doesn't mean the quality of this music is anything less than what they would consider their best. Every song on this album has a beautiful story to tell. The opener, "The Resistance," is one of the more solid rock songs found on the album and serves as a really great introduction to the album. "Breaking," formally known as "Bittersweet Memory," follows. Our first glance of this song was through the acoustic videos and the digital download package that was available at Warped Tour. It was promising as an acoustic alone, and in this electric format, it doesn't fail to deliver. "Blame Me Blame Me" is a very up-beat tune reminiscent of "A Day Late." The chorus sings, "Blame me, blame me, blame me for mistakes you make but you can't own. Hate me, hate me, hate me for every honest word that you postpone. Leave me out of this; lights on sinking ships are gleaming, gleaming, gleaming for mistakes you've made but you can't own." This is definitely a highlight of the album and is sure to stand out among fans. After "Blame Me Blame Me," the album takes a more mellow turn for "Retrace" - a sweet love song which displays Stephen's clearly matured vocals and, lyrically, his ability to create amazing imagery.
Read more ›
8 Comments 14 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
Keep in mind I consider Anberlin one of my favorite bands, and while my first impression was not too great, it is growing on me. So forgive the harsh criticism to follow.

This is overall not the effort I would expect from the band that brought us Never Take Friendship Personal and Cities. The music itself isn't all that different, even with the addition of Acceptance's guitarist Christian McAlhaney. In general, I'd say this album is a testimony to the importance of good vocal melodies; Stephen Christian's singing is still amazing as always, but the melodies themselves are sadly unimpressive.

While the re-recorded version of "The Feel Good Drag" is still enjoyable, it is not by any means superior to the version recorded on Never Take Friendship Personal. It appears to be a transparent attempt by the band to ground the album with at least one extremely well-written song. In my opinion, it simply is an blatant indication of how Anberlin's song-writing abilities from the past two albums overshadow the effort of New Surrender.

The biggest problem with the album is how the choruses don't sound nearly as uplifting or catchy as they were on previous albums. The first track is a weak opening for the album, in spite of it's heavier sound, because of this.

Another disappointment is the band's failure to recapture the same magic heard in songs like "Inevitable" (from Cities) and "(the symphony of) blase" (from NTFP). The two ballads on New Surrender, "Retrace" and "Breathe," fall short of expectations.

The last song, "Miserabile Visu (Ex Malo Bonum)" is the epic song a lot of Anberlin fans are looking for. Sadly, I don't feel there is anything epic about it other than the length.

Where the album shines: Breaking, The Feel Good Drag, Younglife, Haight Street (my favorite song on the album), and Breathe.

That said, the album itself is worth a buy for long-time Anberlin fans, but give it time to grow on you.
3 Comments 9 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category