Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldies but goodies provide a good romp
My husband and I really enjoyed season one and preordered season two on Amazon. We were not disappointed and as a matter of fact, found this series even better than the first. A female police officer has been disgraced and sent to run a cold case unit. She is able to bring on board some retired police detectives to help her as consultants. The batch she is finally able...
Published on February 3, 2010 by To Read is to Live

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality case
Enjoy the DVDs, have seasons 1-5 but the packaging is of very poor quality; the insert that holds the discs has broken where it attaches to the case on three of the five cases. They were already broken when the cases were first opened, before they were ever handled.
Published 23 months ago by Steven (Buzz) J. Weir


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldies but goodies provide a good romp, February 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Tricks: Season 2 (DVD)
My husband and I really enjoyed season one and preordered season two on Amazon. We were not disappointed and as a matter of fact, found this series even better than the first. A female police officer has been disgraced and sent to run a cold case unit. She is able to bring on board some retired police detectives to help her as consultants. The batch she is finally able to persuade to join her are some very quirky former and now retired coppers. The chemistry between the actors is very good and the mysteries are well plotted. This is a 'light' set of mysteries. The second season allows for further character development which only increases the viewer's pleasure. This series is highly recommended.
****We are hoping that BBC will soon release the other seasons on dvd.****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Your Run-of-the-Mill Cop Show, December 14, 2009
This review is from: New Tricks: Season 2 (DVD)
Unlike many police procedurals, this series has managed to incorporate both the investigative and human factors without deteriorating into a soap opera. Great cast, good plots, enjoyable shows all the way around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining British series, February 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Tricks: Season 2 (DVD)
This is one of the best comeday/drama series to come out of Britain. I have seen several episodes on PBS but there is nothing like having the DVDs to watch at your leisure. Great actors, great writing and excellent stories make for an entertaining hour of TV. The show has a serious side but the focus is on the very subtle comedy this four people convey on screen. There is a very good chemistry among the characters and they are all unique. The ladies man, the neurotic, the wise old "leader" and the excellent Detective Superintendetn Pullman. If you are a fan of British comedies or light police procedurals then you will love this series. I just wish the DVDs were released more quickly to the USA. Great show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than 5 stars - hilarious and absorbing, June 21, 2010
This review is from: New Tricks: Season 2 (DVD)
Cold cases are treated seriously by 3 talented, albeit unique, detectives. Each episode has a different type of crime, always solved in a new, unexpected way. This, along with hilarious acting and writing, avoid boredom and bring American audiences a more sophisticated and entertaining crime dramedy. I'm American and love Law & Order and The Closer, but I really treasure New Tricks. The actors are such quality actors - you never feel an episode is drawn out or boring - they end all too quickly. I can't stop chuckling at seeing all four of them (supervisor included) on their hands and knees, searching for the curse jar to retrieve their booty, with a door opening behind Jerry and shoving him fully onto the floor with a muttered expletive. Hysterical - you never feel you're watching actors. In this series we also gain more insight into the officers' personal lives, adding another serious and sometimes funny dimension to the series.

I'm eagerly awaiting Seasons 3-6 on DVD here in the US like they are in the UK. Highly recommend this series for the quality acting, superb writing, and hilarious antics that endear the characters into the hearts of their viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where are next seasons in USA DVD format?, April 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Tricks: Season 2 (DVD)
Great series. Witty, quick, great characters, intricate mysteries.

Haven't a clue why future seasons are taking so long to produce in USA format. Encourages knockoffs.

Get on with it, BBC contractor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Entertainment Well Paced and Well Acted, November 26, 2011
By 
This review is from: New Tricks: Season 2 (DVD)
In Season Two we begin to see the characters, Sandra, played by Amanda Redman, Gerry, played by Dennis Waterman, Brian, played by Alun Armstrong, and Jack, played by James Bolam, beginning to develop into the characters they'll become later on. Some of the exploration of just who the characters will be is past and the characterizations are stabilizing. It was very obvious in Season 1 that the cast would be going through a period of character refinement.

I was introduced to this series watching some of the much later shows and it has been interesting watching these seasoned actors refine their parts; they are really and truly good at what they do! We were interested to note that the theme song, "it's Alright," is actually sung by Dennis Waterman who plays the part of Gerry Standing. While on the subject of versatility I must mention Alun Armstrong's peerless performance as the Innkeeper in the 10th Anniversary Production of Les Miserables, what a talent!

The depth of experience these British actors bring to their roles always amazes me; this excellent series is the direct result of their rich talent and extensive experience in British theater.

I recommend this series enthusiastically!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great television: writing superb, acting excellent, a joy to watch, March 6, 2011
This review is from: New Tricks: Season 2 (DVD)
We have have seen every season of New Tricks and love them. Great acting, all the actors not only can act, they have timing so that the humor is truly humorous - you don't need a laugh track to tip you off that something was said that is supposed to be funny. The writing is exceptional - I hate that so many U.S. shows (and now more and more U.K. programs corrupted by us) have simply godawful writing - hoping that talented actors can pull something out of a hat - you need both good writing and acting and if you want both, see each and every episode of New Tricks. Unreserved positive reviews for all seasons. Both my husband and I love them and never miss an episode on PBS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars These Dogs Can Hunt, March 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Tricks: Season 2 (DVD)
New Tricks, the UCOS mystery/dramady makes each disc a delight. if you haven't met Jack, Brian and Jerry or the beautiful and talented Sandra, you've been living under a rock. The story begins as a tale of three pensioners called back into service to work unsolved cases and from there, fasten your seat belts its going to be a bumpy flight, or words to that effect. "Smilin'" Jack halford is the leader of the over-the hill gang, with Brian as the "book" and Jerry as the street smart grifter. Ho-hum, you say, I've seen all this before, no you haven't, not the way these vetrean actors do it. They keep the tale light, but oh my do the bodies fall. And in a pinch, DCI Sandra can throw a punch or slink about all tarted up and seduce the villian to his doom. She's nearly perfect...if you disreguard the shot dog thing... Come join the fun as Jack, Brian and Jerry run the streets of London and slove as many crimes as they commit while Sandra tries to decied whether to kill them or get them the George Cross. Great fun, you should buy season one and two at the same time, but if you must get season two and disconnect the phone, you won't answer it until the disk ends anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon.co.uk, November 29, 2010
This review is from: New Tricks: Season 2 (DVD)
I've found this series so consistently entertaining through six series I decided to get Series One as a gift for a friend. I was amazed to find it's no longer offered on Amazon.com except as a "market place" item for the better part of $200. Went to the British Amazon (www.amazon.co.uk) and got it for $16.06 though, of course, it's a Region 2 DVD and won't play on most American (Region 1) players. It will, however, play on many computers.

Just to be sure my friend would have no problems with it, I also got her an inexpensive Region Free player for Christmas. These range in price from $50 to $80. Now, if she wants further episodes, she can get the Region 2's at the British Amazon where they're cheaper than their American counterparts. In addition she'll have access to a whole new variety of costume dramas, comedies, mysteries, sci-fi, etc. that's generally better written, better acted and more engaging than what's on American TV.

For any who may be interested but are anxious about currency conversion -- when you go through the "checkout", you can easily select to have your purchase displayed in US Dollars.

Update December 16, 2011:

Series 1-8 are now available at Amazon Uk. These are, of course Region 2's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Tricks, March 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Tricks: Season 2 (DVD)
More More More!!!!!! I can't wait for the next series to come out. I plan to own all of them. My favorite British series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

New Tricks: Season 2
New Tricks: Season 2 by Amanda Redman (DVD - 2010)
$39.98 $28.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.