Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New X-Men Omnibus (2012, NEW EDITION)
This is a short and concise review just to compare the new edition of the New X-Men Omnibus with the original one. I will not delve into the quality of the story and art, as you can find plenty of great and useful reviews about it in this same webpage and all around the Internet.

- Both editions include exactly the same issues: New X-Men #114 to 154 and the New...
Published on August 12, 2012 by Bruno Marisi

versus
4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor
There are some good individual comics, but overall I did not enjoy this book and don't understand why the reviews are so generally positive. The art varies from great to truly awful and averages at just alright, and the writing was chaotic to the point that it was uncompelling. I spent almost $100 on this book, struggled to get through it, and now that I'm done instead of...
Published 8 months ago by B. Simons


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Mind Blowing X-men Ever!, December 18, 2006
This review is from: New X-Men Omnibus (Hardcover)
I remember when I first read this Grant Morrison's New X-men.. I was about to give up X-men cos I was really bored with the whole minority issue and prejudice issues.. as well as long standing plots that never got resolved.. but when I heard that Morrison is coming on board with Frank Quitely.. I couldn't resist.. New X-men simply blew me away.. Morrison really shakes up the status quo.. suddenly there were millions of mutants, genosha destroyed along with magneto(who's death was only a footnote: how cool is that!) You father's X-men never read like this! Morrison portrayal of the team was very fresh with a no holds barred attitude and climatic scenes that sets your pulse racing..furthermore there were controversal issues you never think marvel will allow to be published (like telepathic love making!).. It could have been really the best run ever on X-men but sadly Frank Quitely couldn't handle the pressure and the mood of the story suffers with changing artists.. Also I wasn't really thrilled with the final arc Here Comes Tomorrow set in the future..It felt slightly disjointed but the art by Marc Silvestri more than made up for it.. Although there are rave review on Josh Whedon's run on Astonshing X-men with John Cassady mainly because many people felt that their run is exciting and encompasses the essentials of the X-men Mythos.. I really don't understand the hype cos Morrison's run was much more thrilling and daring.. so daring that no other writer dared to do this kind of stuff when this was originally published.. trust me.. try this book.. it won't dissapoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful., March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New X-Men Omnibus (Hardcover)
Heavy Tome, great binding and overall super sexy storyline. This is the gritty, true to life x-men, the team you could see forming in THIS type of world. Morrison creates a masterful story arc that drops bomb after bomb on the reader leaving the foundations of the x-men in question and re-shaping the readers, and the characters views of the X-men we knew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Run By Mr. Morrison, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New X-Men Omnibus (Hardcover)
Its sad that in two years time Marvel deconstructed the world Grant Morrison took four years to create. I'm glad that I purchased this omnibus so I could check out the most phenomenal XMen run sincE Claremont/ Lee. Not only does it collect the run in its entirety it also features the 2001 annual.

This collection also opens the Morrison Manifesto, his blueprint for the four years he would be writer. As well as the script for the first story.

Grant Morrison brought to the XMen the same mania he bought to such DC titles as : Doom Patrol, Book 1: Crawling From the Wreckage, The Animal Man Omnibus and his creator owned The Invisibles Omnibus.

He crafted some very good heroes ( Beak, The Stepford Cuckoos), Villains(Cassandra Nova, John Sublime) and got the team out of Spandex for 4 years and it's cool that that concept spilled over into other Xbooks.

This collecttion features a sewn binding which means it should stand up to multiple readings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fantastic, July 28, 2013
By 
Scott McFarland (Manassas, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New X-Men Omnibus (Hardcover)
I'm not a big comics fanboy. There aren't many comics that I would use the word "fantastic" to describe. But these, I would. For most of the issues contained here, after I read them I muttered to myself "that was a heck of a comic book".

These comics recall the best attributes and the characters of the classic X-Men from my youth (late 70's); they use and reference that history. But they stand on their own and draw a reader in on their own merit. They're science-fiction, but character-driven. The art is consistently good and frequently great. This is as good as comics get; perfectly plotted, consistently interesting, consistently engaging, and building gradually to tell large stories. The only other series that I've found to be so perfectly done would be "Ultimate Spider-Man".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased with this purchase, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New X-Men Omnibus (Hardcover)
The receiver of this gift is really enjoying this book. He likes not only the books content, but the way it was put together, by its' publisher. Shipping was timely and flawless. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELSIOR!, October 4, 2012
This review is from: New X-Men Omnibus (Hardcover)
One of the best works of Grant Morrison that contains some of the most interesting and amazing stories about the mutants of the Marvel universe. This X-Book is simply excelsior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great run, September 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New X-Men Omnibus (Hardcover)
My first omnibus,drawing are really awesome all along but one part centered on the Beast (here we are back in the 80's, it's not that bad but it does not fit with the rest). Scenario is realy great with several nice cliffhangers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars visionary..., January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New X-Men Omnibus (Hardcover)
Grant Morrison is one of the, if not THE, best writers, ever to exist. Ive loved the X-Men since the 90s. But it is only Morrison that has managed to raise the bar and take it to new heights. AMAZING READ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect X-Men Introduction, August 20, 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Military family in Japan) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New X-Men Omnibus (Hardcover)
I've been reading comics books since I was 10 but have never really gotten in to X-Men. I've never been a fan of "team" books and tend to read solo titles. But, having heard all the hype about Grant Morrison's revamping of the X-Men and looking to try something new, I decided to pick up the New X-Men Omnibus and give it a whirl. It was exactly what I was looking for. The story was engaging, with Morrison and Quietly weaving an intriguing and suspenseful yarn that really explores who the X-Men are. Aside from the main storylines, I found the de-evolution of Beast to be interesting and would like to hear more of what happens with that. Also, the further evolution of Iceman was a plot device that was introduced but not really expanded upon.

The physical book itself is stunning. Presented in an oversized, coffee-table format allows the comics to be reprinted larger than their originals. The enlargement really allows the reader to concentrate on Frank Quietly's distinctive illustrations and lends itself as a superb guide for aspiring artists.

Overall, Marvel has done an excellent job with their Omnibus books, and this one is no exception. If you can find it for under $100 and are in the market for an excellent read, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE PUNK ROCKER OF COMICS IS IN FULL FORM!, February 26, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New X-Men Omnibus (Hardcover)
The manifesto by the author in the extra features explains it all: Grant Morrison set out to jumpstart the X-Universe in a way that has rarely been seen before. He succeeds in leaps and bounds. Here, he has all the epic grandeur spawning from the teams 40+ year history. But instead of getting bogged down by all that past, he uses it as "window dressing" for great stories about enormous characters.

HAVING THE WHOLE RUN IN ONE COLLECTION IS A DREAM COME TRUE! The oversized, glossy pages are gorgeous, and this is definitely worth the price tag.

And finally, the thing I like best about Morrison, is he made it suck to be a mutant again. For too long, Mutants were mostly beautiful people filling out sexy spandex that were "cursed" by their gifts. Wah. Characters like beak (a scrawny chicken-boy) and Three-Faced John make it easy to see why mutants are outcast, and that's what makes them so interesting.

p.s. I took off a star cause i'm not the biggest Frank Quietly fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

New X-Men Omnibus
New X-Men Omnibus by Grant Morrison (Hardcover - August 15, 2012)
Used & New from: $100.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.