Prime Music

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


New York New York

Leonard Bernstein , Charles / Blake, James Lawlor , Nacio Herb Brown , George M. Cohan , Mat ("Matty") / Signorelli, Frank Malneck , Harry Warren , Irving Berlin , Duke Ellington , Earle H. Hagen , Sigmund Romberg , Richard Rodgers , Louis Alter , Terry Shand , Vernon Duke , Donald Phillips , Gordon [1] Jenkins , Robert Russell Bennett , Lennie Hayton , Jay Blackton , Ben Selvin & His Orchestra , Paul Whiteman Orchestra , Red Norvo & His Orchestra , Duke Ellington Orchestra , MGM Studio Symphony Orchestra , Tommy Dorsey & His Orchestra , Axel Stordahl Orchestra , Mantovani Orchestra , Gordon Jenkins & His Orchestra , Robert Merrill , Ed Smalle , Dana Suesse , Duke Ellington , Mildred Bailey , Mickey Rooney , Jo Stafford , Frank Sinatra , Dick Powell , Beverly Mahr Audio CD
2.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.

Amazon's Donald Brown Store

Visit Amazon's Donald Brown Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Performer: Robert Merrill, Ed Smalle, Dana Suesse, Duke Ellington, Mildred Bailey, et al.
  • Orchestra: Ben Selvin & His Orchestra, Paul Whiteman Orchestra, Red Norvo & His Orchestra, Duke Ellington Orchestra, MGM Studio Symphony Orchestra, et al.
  • Conductor: Robert Russell Bennett, Lennie Hayton, Jay Blackton
  • Composer: Leonard Bernstein, Charles / Blake, James Lawlor, Nacio Herb Brown, George M. Cohan, Mat ("Matty") / Signorelli, Frank Malneck, et al.
  • Audio CD (August 13, 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Asv Living Era
  • ASIN: B000069HGR
  • Average Customer Review: 2.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #413,970 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Opening: I Feel Like I'm Not Out Of Bed Yet... New York, New York
2. The Sidewalks of New York (East Side, West Side)
3. Broadway Melody
4. Give My Regards to Broadway (from Little Johnny Jones)
5. Stairway to the Stars, song (from "Park Avenue Fantasy")
6. Forty Second Street
7. Slumming on Park Avenue, song (from "On the Avenue")
8. Harlem Air-Shaft
9. Harlem Nocturne
10. The Big Back Yard
11. Manhattan, song (used in film "Two Tickets to Broadway")
12. Slaughter on 10th Avenue, jazz ballet for orchestra (from "On Your Toes
13. Manhattan Serenade
14. Give Me The Moon Over Brooklyn
15. Autumn in New York (from the revue, "Thumbs Up")
16. Skyscraper Fantasy
17. Lullaby of Broadway
18. Part 1: Magical Tower [Manhattan Tower]
19. Part 2: The Party [Manhattan Tower]
20. Part 3: New York's My Home [Manhattan Tower]
See all 22 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars
2.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A piece of history June 3, 2006
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Many of the songs on this recording are not available in sheet music, and although the sound quality isn't "leading edge" it makes me feel as though I am listening to actual performers back in the 30's & 40's, with young and gifted singers like Frank Sinatra, Jo Stafford, and Mel Torme, as well as others who are nameless or unknown to me on this album, and a delight to listen to. Manhattan Tower is why I bought this CD, and I got so much more from it than I bargained for. The illusion I have when I play it is that I am a young jazz artist in New York, feeling the pulse of the city and filling up with everything about being a part of New York.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All About the Big Apple September 11, 2007
Format:Audio CD
The delightful narration of Gordon Jenkins' "Manhattan Tower" lasts but 16 minutes, but is worth the price of the disc; the balance of the disc is made up of fillers, each of which has something to do with New York. These include well-known pieces such as Lullaby of Broadway, Give My Regards to Broadway, and Forty Second Street. Artists include Bernstein, Cohan, Paul Whiteman, Jo Stafford, Guy Lombardo, and Frank Sinatra. The disc runs 75 minutes, and is Mono.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A BIG disappointment! August 18, 2004
By Joan
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
I bought this CD for the Slaughter on Tenth Avenue soundtrack ballet by Richard Rodgers and Lennie Hayton. But none of the tracks on this CD can be appreciated. It is a mono recording, and that immediately leaves you with a very incomplete sound. No amount of treble and bass adjustment can eliminate the awful tinny sound throughout the disc.
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category