or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

New York Review Of Books

3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20 customer reviews)

Cover Price: $139.00
Price: $74.95 ($3.75/issue) & shipping is always free.
You Save: $64.05 (46%)
Issues: 20 issues / 12 months
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
$5 Magazine Deals
Find best-selling magazines for just $5 including: Vogue, Car and Driver, Better Homes and Gardens, and more. Learn more
Ordering a subscription for a school, library, corporation, or other institution? Please read this important message before placing your order.

Frequently Bought Together

New York Review Of Books + Harper's Magazine + The Atlantic
Price for all three: $139.44

Buy the selected items together


Product Description

Product Description

The New York Review of Books has served as a forum for writers and thinkers to discuss not only current books but also the provocative and complex issues of American culture, society, economics, politics, and the arts.

Amazon.com Review

If all book reviews aspire to the condition of magazines, the New York Review would represent the best realization of this aspiration to date. It retains the character of a book review, published 20 times a year. But since its inception over 30 years ago, the reviews have been long, dense (recent years have brought the practice of footnotes), and learned. Significant fiction is pondered, along with bits of poetry, slices of science, and gobs of political science, history, economics, biography, art, and music. The reader of the New York Review easily feels relieved of the cultural burden of having to read a book once having completed the sufficient burden of having read a thorough review of it. Although the impeccably left-leaning editors would be loathe to agree, only major figures or discourses in the European intellectual tradition need apply to their pages for consideration. Hence, for example, although occasional "pieces" on certain worthy movies now appear, popular culture is not a serious concern. Lately, the Review has given over more of its pages (from 60 to 80 each issue) to journalistic reports--the latest political currents in China or Russia, the state of affairs in Kurdistan or at Camp X-Ray in Guantanamo Bay. Its core identity remains, however, that of a magazine unequaled for addressing intellectual "issues"--Darwin under attack again, pedophilia continuing in the Church, whither globalization--through reviewing them as these issues appear in book form. --Terry Caesar

Important Information

Privacy & Security
In order to complete your transaction, we will share the name, billing and shipping address and other order information associated with your purchase with the publisher or magazine vendor. Your name and address will also be shared with a circulation-auditing organization. We may share your e-mail with the publisher, but you can control how it will be used in Subscription Manager. We will not share your credit card information. Offers on this page are introductory. See Details.

Product Details

  • Format: Magazine
  • Shipping: Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S.
  • Publisher: New York Review of Books
  • ASIN: B00007G2SO
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #206 in Magazines (See Top 100 in Magazines)
  • This magazine subscription is provided by Magazine Express, Inc.

     Would you like to give feedback on images?



Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Only Read One Periodical This is It September 26, 2003
Subscription Term Name:1 year
A playground for the mind. Covers a wide range of subjects. Each review is a full essay on the subject of the book. Many reviews compare and contrast several recently published books on the same subject. Learned and sophisticated yet fully accessible. An on-going liberal arts education and the easiest way I know to keep the eclectic learning that a liberal arts education aspires to.
Was this review helpful to you?
40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's get NYROB on Kindle April 11, 2009
By BD
Subscription Term Name:1 year
New York Review of Books is the best publication in the United States for serious readers. But as any of us who have them stacked up for years know they we need to get it on Kindle. What's the delay?
Was this review helpful to you?
37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of my favorites October 25, 2003
Subscription Term Name:1 year
Sometimes I read all the reviews in the NYRB, even reviews of things I'd probably never buy, or art exhibitions I wouldn't go to. They are so well written that I learn a lot. I have some favorite writers who show up there a lot, such as Garry Wills.
In magazines like Time the reviews are so consumer-oriented that you really wouldn't bother with them unless you were actually considering buying the book or recording that they're talking about. But in the NYRB, they really talk about interesting stuff. There are also a lot of essays that aren't reviews, exactly, but just reflect on the state of the world. The New Yorker used to have long essays like that, but since Tina Brown started running it, they don't do that any more. (Basically, with the New Yorker you used to get free "books", because some of those essays were as long as short books. Now you don't. There are still longish essays like that in the NYRB, sometimes published in parts.)
There is also something aesthetically pleasing about the size and layout of the magazine. It's tabloid-sized on newsprint (but not newsprint that yellows with time) and is very readable. No glossy trash.
I checked my last issue and the new-subscriber price listed there is $64/year. So Amazon's price is OK. If you get an issue on the newsstand for $4.50 and then subscribe, you'll pay $68.50.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the very best... May 15, 2005
Subscription Term Name:1 year
NYRB is among my favorite subscriptions (I used to love the Atlantic Monthly; but, it has been rather disappointing over the last several years since they dumbed it down); In terms of sheer intellectual depth and range, it is very tough to beat the NYRB. While I do not read the NYRB cover to cover (and you do get articles that are sub-par), I end up spending at least 5 hrs on each issue.

I receive the print edition as well as access the content online. While I love the convenience of online access, I look forward to the print edition every month simply to browse though all the books that are advertised by various publishers. Over the last several years, I have found many great books through this avenue (and the some through Amazon's recommendations)! I hope NYRB introduces personalized recommendations (only from the traditional inventory of books it advertises in the print edition) in recommending additional books online - both old and new.

The main strength of this magazine is the fact that a typical review article is written by an expert with deep knowledge of the subject (some times opinionated; but always intelligent and engaging). While the article draws on more than a single book, I like the fact that the article is typically written as a commentary around a theme and is more than a summary of the books under review.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Readable January 24, 2005
Subscription Term Name:1 year
THE NEW YORK REVIEW OF BOOKS is published 20 times a year, biweekly except in January, July, August and September. It is a respected publication which is devoted mostly to reviews of current books and an occasional movie. It also contains articles of social or political interest. The Letters section is usually brief with little waste.

Contributors to a recent edition included Mark Danner, Sister Helen Prejean and Daniel Mendelsohn. Reviews covered such diverse items as a collection of short stories by Graham Greene and two books about the actress Anna May Wong in addition to ALEXANDER, a film directed by Oliver Stone.

THE NEW YORK REVIEW OF BOOKS consistently offers provocative writing in a highly readable style. It definitely deserves its reputation for excellence.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read NYRB and be the best-informed it is possible to be September 29, 2004
Subscription Term Name:1 year|Verified Purchase
NYRB features long, in-depth articles about recent books and events. The "reviews" frequently take the book under discussion as a starting point for a wide-ranging essay which then becomes a work in its own right. Indeed, I've seen articles in NYRB referred to in academic papers. Don't fear that NYRB will bore you, however. I've often found a NYRB article to be a great introduction to an area of thought or literature previously unknown to me.

The only negative is a rather tedious Michael-Mooreish political stance. I have no objection to seeing Bush bashed, but wish that NYRB could do so in a more creative and less repetitive manner. Maybe once in a while we could hear from someone who actually likes the man?

Nevertheless I find NYRB an indispensable periodical. I find it a great complement to The Economist, which features a more pro-business and pro-free trade economic stance and wider, but less deep, coverage of the world.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
38 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reviews but some seriously foolish pontification February 20, 2008
Subscription Term Name:1 year
The New York Review of Books is somewhat of a mixed bag. If you have objections to pretentious pundits passing judgment on anything that comes their way, or are irritated by insipid intellectualia, there will be something in every issue to drive you crazy. But if you can get past that, you'll find some high quality writing about some of the most important new ideas out there.

As far as I can tell, the NYRB does two things. Sometimes it gets a great new book and sends it out to someone who is deservedly prominent in the field and then you get a wonderful combination of a recapitulation of someone's argument, a critical examination of this argument, and references to other related pieces. The other thing the NYRB does it get one of their usual suspects--freelance intellectuals, i.e., retired something-or-others, i.e., has beens--to write about whatever they want, whether they know much about it or not. So you will get preachy articles in foreign affairs written by someone who hasn't been out of Sardi's restaurant in Washington in 30 years, telling you what "the real scoop" is on country X. Except for those written by Gary Willis, these articles are usually sub-par, and those who read them aren't well informed--they're just regurgitating whatever is the received wisdom among the involuted circle of greying New York intellectuals that runs this paper. (The worst is reviews of biographies--watch out for the little footnote that goes something like this: "In the interests of complete honest disclosure, I must say that famous person, subject of this biography, always was chummy with your humble reviewer, and we once split a six pack of malt liquor while riding the rails across Wyoming." Oh please!)

But the reviews--and sometimes the debates--are usually stellar.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars great
This is a great book. I spent much time deciding if I anted to read it. After reading this book I realize I should have spent more time reading it then thinking about reading it. Read more
Published 7 months ago by Richard Wilder
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was looking for.
Not what I was looking for and want to cancel it. Was looking for actual critical reviews of books to read.
Published 11 months ago by Bruce Arenburg
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it love it love it
Can't live without it. If there ever comes a day when I can't read the NYRB, or the New Yorker, or the Washington Post, it will be time to say good by to the World.
Published 18 months ago by Dutchgirl
3.0 out of 5 stars beware of problems with subscription
I would be very careful about ordering a subscription to The New York Review of Books. I subscribed to the magazine last year, got only a few copies and have had a hard time... Read more
Published 21 months ago by Daniel
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond The Lazarus Gate
Beyond the Lazarus Gate is a fast paced futuristic adventure that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Read more
Published on April 4, 2012 by Mary
3.0 out of 5 stars Leave your right wing politics at the door and have a good read.
I subscribe and will continue to subscribe. I have tried a couple of other book review publications and this one remains overall superior. Read more
Published on January 21, 2012 by Carajillo
3.0 out of 5 stars some pretty good reviews in here
Just have to say that if you are looken for good reviews you will find some here but not all of them. Read more
Published on May 24, 2011 by two and a half man
1.0 out of 5 stars Sad Decline
I must be the only one who is pining the decline of the NYRofBs. To my personal choice, it was the only periodical worth reading (my subscription to the New Yorker died long ago;... Read more
Published on March 20, 2011 by greenhornet
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Best Magazine In The World"
I have heard this magazine/periodical described as "the best magazine in the world" and I have to agree with this statement. Read more
Published on November 25, 2008 by Jeremy C. Smith
1.0 out of 5 stars ROTTEN SERVICE, DECENT REVIEWS
I have little complaint with the content of the NYRB but beware subscribing to them. They are known for their incompetence in delivery, in failing to acknowledge receipt of... Read more
Published on March 5, 2008 by Conan
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

Topic From this Discussion
online access Be the first to reply
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions


Look for Similar Items by Category


Want to discover more products? You may find many from book to read online shopping list.