Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An "After Hours" Revamp as a Smart, Affecting Teen Comedy with an Indie Rock Beat
I was all prepared to trivialize this movie for what I expected to be another hipster teen comedy taking advantage of the success of Juno and Superbad, especially given that Michael Cera is the co-star of all three films. However, this 2008 movie is really a quirky, sharply played variation on Martin Scorsese's 1985 After Hours, this time focusing on two misfit teens,...
Published on September 13, 2009 by Ed Uyeshima

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good
This movie is awesome minus the few times it skipped but the place shipped the movie in a few days which was great thanks guys !
Published 17 months ago by stephanie


‹ Previous | 18 9 1014 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderfully Enjoyable Playlist, February 12, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist (+ BD Live) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
(The Film ****1/2)
Trouble ensues when a group of music loving hipster teens have a night out on the town (NYC) desperately seeking their favorite band, Where's Fluffy?. Like many people my age, I had little to no interest in seeing this PG-13 rated, dubbed teen comedy in theaters. So I didn't. I thought, better leave this one to the kids. Boy was I wrong, and I am sorry, okay?

First off, I want to express how much I enjoyed and appreciated the filmmakers (and I suppose the writers of the novel, too) for incorporating true non-stereotypical homosexual youths corresponding with heterosexual teens without the homophobia of it's lead characters.

"Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist" is one of the most fun and enjoyable films I've seen recently. This is a film I can watch over and over again and not be bored or bothered. The entire cast is excellent. I especially liked Ari Graynor who played the hilarious lush, Caroline. She was definitely a highlight of the film-as was her chewing gum. What I think made "Nick and Norah" so accessible to me was its idea of love and music. Being an avid music lover, mostly indie, I could easily identify with these characters. They love music just as much as they love wanting someone to share it with. It's a great idea that frankly I haven't seen in a teen comedy or any other romantic comedy-well, maybe once if you count "Once" as a romantic comedy. So I say, put your grievances aside over the PG-13 rating and give Nick and Norah a chance. You might be surprised as to how edgier the once mild rating has gotten. Finally.

Blu-ray features (*** 1/2)
Grain haters beware because there's plenty of it here. About 97% of the film takes place at night so grain is everywhere. However, the picture doesn't suffer because of it. In fact, the picture looks quite authentic and real. It's still a wonderful transfer to the blu-ray format-just don't expect something mind blowing. The audio on the other hand is great. The special features are nice but could have been better. The star-studded commentary is enjoyable. There's an outtake reel, a video diary behind the scenes filmed by, I think, Ari Graynor, deleted scenes, a music video by Bishop Allen (yawn), and a puppet show by Michael Cera and Kat Denninngs? Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's Fluffy?, February 9, 2009
Oh, did I ever enjoy this movie. It was just about perfect. It felt a little like Almost Famous, High Fidelity (without the angst), and any good road trip movie. Patrick Fugit (Almost Famous) acts, looks and moves very much like Michael Cera (Nick). They are young, a little geeky, skinny, and in love with incredibly gorgeous women that don't necessarily know it right away (Kate Hudson in Almost Famous and Kat Dennings in Nick and Nora). There's the same kind of intelligent innocence in both films. Both characters come of age, but in such a believable normal way. Both films deeply love music. Almost Famous soundtrack is so much more incredible, but Nick and Nora's soundtrack is no slouch.

The two lead characters are so likeable, you want them to be together, you want this whole movie to work out happy. Michael Cera turns in another understated, wonderful performance in the same way he brought home Superbad. Kat Dennings is an incredibly beautiful charming actress. She looks a little like Liv Tyler, but takes it up about two or three notches. She hasn't been in any really big movies, Charlie Bartlett is probably the biggest hit she's been in. Expect to see some wonderful things from her in the future. The supporting cast was wonderful. You get a little homage to Harold and Kumar (Nick and Nora is equally a road trip movie) with Harold introducing Fluffy.

And the Yugo. There was this wonderful other character, the Yugo. How appropriate, it has a mind of its own, starts whenever it feels like it. How the film company found a running Yugo (well actually that's not true, they do still run since they Have Fiat engines).

The soundtrack, music is Nick's life. He loves it. He makes mix discs. Norah loves music. It's her life. But they don't really know eachother. By happenstance they meet at one of Nick's band's performances. They then try to find Fluffy, a band. And it's clear, they fall in love at that first meeting. The rest of the movie is spent trying to get the two together.

I totally bought this film. I loved the music, it fit the mood, and added to the pacing. It was never stupid like so many movies. It enhanced the film. The filming was done very well. Night in New York, not an easy view to capture. Lighting was consistently right. Focus was perfect through virtually the whole film. In fact there was a moment in the Yugo when focus began to slip away slowly, until you saw that it racked to the lipstick kiss on the windshield. Nick turns on the winshield washers and wipers, erases the kiss, and then focus racks back to his face. Subtle, but perfect use of focus. There was just the right amount of surround in the sound, it wasn't obtrusive or call attention to itself, you were just enveloped with the sound.

Editing was well done. This is a movie about music, and those films tend to spend way too much time on cameo bad band appearances. Nick and Norah balanced the band time and character time perfectly. So pacing was just about spot on.

The film is definately PG-13. I would almost put this one just a touch higher to around 15 years old. There's a few scenes that are a bit mature for most 13/14 year olds, some intimate scenes, language, and drinking. There is absolutely no nudity. There are PG-13 films that slightly younger children could watch, this is definately not one of those movies.

I think this film caters to a lot of different audiences. It's not really a guy or a chick flick; it's just a darn good romantic movie that I think a lot of guys would like also. I'm not sure I really see an upper older age limit on this film. It seemed universal to me, much in the same way Almost Famous spoke to different ages. I actually got a bit of chills when they enter the recording studio with a bit of Hendrix playing in the background, and Nick picks up a very well worn Fender Stratocaster (you are made to believe this might be Hendrix's guitar, instead I'm thinking it's really a Fender Road Worn brand new guitar). Sadly, he doesn't play the guitar.

The DVD is chock full 'o bonus features. There's the usual deleted, making of, commentary tracks, and music videos. If you are the impatient kind, Kat Dennings does a really cute paper puppet reinactment of the whole film in 5 minutes (it's funny). Eddie Kaye Thomas (Paul Finch in American Pie) does a cameo as Jesus, and does a faux interview with Kat and Michael (sort of funny).

Overall, this is a DVD well worth purchasing. I loved the cast, music, and really bought into the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I give it a 5, because compared to other BD's, this Blu-ray is jammed with special features, January 30, 2009
This review is from: Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist (+ BD Live) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I actually dig this film a lot! And the Blu-ray just made me love "Nick & Norah's INFINITY PLAYLIST" even more!

VIDEO & AUDIO:

The film is presented in 1080p high definition (1:85:1). The picture quality was great! A lot of the film is shot outdoors during the night but everything looked very good, no low light noise or fragmenting. In fact, I didn't really pickup on much noise at all, considering a lot of the footage was shot outdoors. There are really cool uses of color throughout the film and the colors were definitely vibrant. You get a lot of nice blues and ambers, in certain scenes.

As for audio, audio is presented in Dolby TrueHD 5.1 and the film is dialogue-driven and music-driven. Dialogue was very clear and understandable but the music plays a significant part of this film and the music definitely comes alive on film. Because music plays a prevalent role in the film, your front speaker channels definitely comes alive with the Dolby True HD soundtrack.

Both video and audio on Blu-ray for "Nick & Norah's INFINITE PLAYLIST" was fantastic!

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"Nick & Norah's INFINITE PLAYLIST" is fully loaded when it comes to features. I was very impressed of how much was crammed into one disc and definitely stoked! It's one thing to really enjoy the film but to enjoy it even more because of the special features. Included are:

# CineChat - If one has BD Live (the able to connect your Blu-ray player to the Internet), you can send onscreen instant messages to your friends around the world while watching the film at the same time.
# Interactive Playlist - Also, you can create and share a playlist of your favorite songs from the film via the Interactive Playlist. Also, with the Interactive Playlist, you can see the song being played ala a music player one one side and then tidbits on the film on the other. The sharing of songs requires BD Live but the player and info. segment of the film will load on normal profile 1.1 Blu-ray players.
# Telestrator Commentary with Director and Cast - The commentary with director Peter Sollett, Michael Cera, Kat Dennings and Ari Graynor was probably one of the wildest commentary I have ever listened to. Also, you can watch the director and cast draw and point to items. The group really wanted to keep the commentary fun and enjoyable and really discussed interesting tidbits about the film and things that happened afterwards, reshooting, etc. Especially knowing that a lot of those outdoor scenes, despite looking as if it was during the fall, in reality, it was freezing and the talent were freezing as well. The sense of humor of everyone was just surprisingly fun! And this is one commentary you won't be disappointed in.
# Director and Writers Commentary - This commentary featured Peter Sollett with novel writers Rachel Cohn, David Levithan and producer Kerry Kohansky. This was an interesting commentary because both Peter Sollett and Kerry Kohansky would ask the writers about things they were curious about the book and vice versa in terms of its translation from the book on the screen. Another fun commentary track.
# Deleted & Alternate Scenes - There were a good number of scenes that were cut in the film for pacing. But all of them are presented on film. One example that is discussed heavily on the commentary track is the janitor who discovers Caroline near the toilet (in the infamous scene). This would have been a cool scene to have in the film but nevertheless, glad they included it in this portion of the special features.
# Outtakes - Quite a bit of bloopers during the filming. Always entertaining to watch!
# A Nick & Norah Puppet Show by Kat Dennings - This featured drawn, colored paper puppets of each character and Kat Dennings just having fun with them and improvising her own storyline with the characters using parts of the story from the film but then adding a killer bear into the mix. Imaginative mind but yet a fun featurette.
# Ari Graynor's Video Diary: A Look Behind-the-Scenes - This was pretty fun to watch. Pretty much Ari Graynor with her video camera filming everyone on the set and everyone having fun. A good showcase of the chemistry among the cast. They all gel'd.
# Storyboard Animations with optional commentary - This is a segment which filmmakers will enjoy. The film was shot back in Fall/Winter 2007 but because there were so many questions during screening, the crew reshot certain scenes to answer those questions and thus the storyboard animations proved to be quite helpful to Peter Sollett. A very informative segment with optional commentary.
# Faux Interview with Michael Cera and Kat Dennings by Eddie Kaye Thomas - This segment was quite interesting. Actor Eddie Kaye Thomas pretends to be interviewing Michael Cera and Kat Dennings. His character only has a few minutes to ask questions so he tries to get them to talk but cuts them off when he doesn't like the actor and seems to put most of his attention towards Cera.
# Peter Sollett's Photo Album - Cool photography by Peter Sollett of the cast and during the filming.
# Music Video: "Middle Management" by Bishop Allen

And you get a digital copy of the film on the second disc.

There is a certain cool and adventurous atmosphere about "Nick & Norah's INFINITE PLAYLIST" that I really enjoyed. The film is more or less about finding something. Finding Caroline who is missing. Finding where Fluffy will be having its live performance. Finding oneself and finding the person that may be right for you.

The characters are not overly Hollywood, they are not perfect, they are young adults with flaws and even when listening to the commentary, you start to realize that some of the characters are very much akin to the talents behind those roles. Michael Cera has become one of those rising stars that defines a new generation of youth where in the 80's and even the 90's, many characters in romantic comedy focusing on youths were defined by characters such as the cool preppy, the nerd, the jock, the stoner, etc. But this film, Cera as Nick is just a normal guy. He's just a guy who plays bass guitar in a band (does not fit the image of a rock star), his delivery of Nick's lines are just delivered perfectly and believable, that I don't really see many young actors who would have been so convincing portraying the role of Nick. A wonderful job and you can see why he's becoming such a popular actor of late.

Kat Dennings as Norah is the same. She was fantastic in this role and really suited her perfectly. And watching both Cera and Dennings together, they obviously do have good chemistry onscreen. Typical young adults with their own personal flaws and insecurities that anyone can relate to. The supporting characters in the film also lend to the believability of the film. Everything just works.

And you also have to give credit to director Peter Sollett and his crew. The film was his maor directorial debut since his success with the Indie film "Raising Victor Vargas".

From originally completing the film in the Fall/Winter 2007, then a test screening it, receiving the feedback, reshooting the newer scenes in the Spring of 2008, Sollet and his crew had to make sure that they sync everything from the newer footage and the older footage of the movie and coming up with the final cut. That whole opening scene before the band starts performing is all the newer footage that would help establish both the characters of Nick & Norah which definitely made a difference. Without that whole opening segment, the film could have really sucked. So, what could have been disastrous was averted. So, they crew did a great job!

"Nick & Norah's INFINITE PLAYLIST" is a pretty fun and enjoyable film. For a romantic comedy featuring youth love, from the various cool locations of New York featured in the film, the adventurous but yet enjoyable romantic storyline, the musical playlist of the whole film, having the main character driving a Yugo, everyone having late night or early morning munchies for hot dogs, a piece of gum that is shared from who knows where it came from, various musical gigs and of course, the mix CD's... You never realize how much is incorporated into the film. Again, everything works.

I really enjoyed this film and enjoyed it even more on Blu-ray because the disc was fully loaded with special features and also showcasing really good picture and audio quality. For the release of "Nick & Norah's INFINITE PLAYLIST", they really went all out to give the fans of the film a lot. And really happy with the final Blu-ray release.

It's a no brainer, if you enjoyed this film, then you're going to have a great time with this Blu-ray edition and probably, like myself, have an even greater appreciation when you learn how much was put into making it. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Believable Characters, September 3, 2010
Just as Nick's yellow Yugo must roll backwards before it can move forwards, so to must our hero make a few mistakes before he gets himself going the right direction. Although it's not the most original concept for a film (night on the town), this movie's strength rests in the realistic relationships between its teenaged characters (who love, manipulate, and take advantage of one another) and the ambiance of a night in NYC. There are enough summaries here to rely on, I will simply recommend this film to anyone who enjoys a good flick about teenaged antics, young love, or indie music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, November 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really love this movie! The actors are hilarious and were cast perfectly. The story of their one eventful night is perfect - full of music, drama, laughs, and love. I highly recommend Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "It was a great night, my hetero heroine", October 17, 2009
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist (+ BD Live) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
No, this isn't a modern-day spin on the "Thin Man" characters...

Peter Sollett ("Raising Victor Vargas") directs this unexpected, super-sweet teen comedy based on the novel by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. It disappointingly flew under the radar when released last year, but a deserved cult following is steadily growing for NICK AND NORAH'S INFINITE PLAYLIST.

Nick (Michael Cera from "Superbad" and "Juno") has just broken up with his cheating girlfriend, Tris (Alexis Dziena). Norah (Kat Dennings), one of Tris's schoolmates, has never met Nick, but already considers him a "musical soul-mate" based on Nick's outstanding mix CDs that she manages to salvage after Tris tosses them. When legendary indie band Where's Fluffy? announces it will be playing a mystery location somewhere in New York, Nick and Norah set out with their respective groups for a wild night...

There isn't much more to the slight storyline, but this merely adds to the charm. Playing like a Gen. Y cross between "The Breakfast Club" and "After Hours", NICK AND NORAH'S INFINITE PLAYLIST is the most refreshing teen comedy I've seen in a long, long, looooong time! Michael Cera and Kat Dennings are adorable in the lead roles, Ari Graynor is hilarious as Norah's drunken best friend Caroline; and Aaron Yoo and Rafi Gavron are solid in their support as Nick's colourful bandmates.

The Blu-ray comes stacked with bonus features, including Cinechat (an online BD-Live facility which allows you to "chat" with friends and compile your own favourite songs from the soundtrack as the movie plays), a "Nick & Norah Puppet Show" performed by Kat Dennings, deleted scenes/outtakes and on-set video diaries.

This movie comes with my highest recommendation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Movie!!!, June 28, 2009
I loved this movie how fun to be young and free in NYC! The plot is very cute and the music very cool Love Michael Cera... 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb film in blu ray glory, June 13, 2009
By 
barry (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist (+ BD Live) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
NICK AND NORAH'S INFINITE PLAYLIST is a treat for film lovers of all ages. It has gotten mixed reviews from the critics and I really don't understand it. I loved this film. It is a warm, tender, very funny and endearing story of one night in the life of a group of teenagers. Led by Michael Cera and Kat Dennings this superb cast does the awesome task of making these teen characters believable, pertinent to the current times and relatable to people of all ages. I am a 46 year old man and related as if I was one of them.

The basic beginning plot has Michael Cera still pining over his old girlfriend who dumped him. He keeps making her burned cds which she tosses and come into the hands of Norah aka Kat Dennings. Thus Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist. Nick is in a band with his best friends and all the guys are again believable and quite funny. Norah's best friend is the greatest comedy lift. The film is a teen film in the age of SUPERBAD and other such films. It even has Michael Cera who is in SUPERBAD as well as JUNO. Here his witty style of acting is intact but his character is also very different from his other films. He seems to reach a deeper level of vulnerability. Bottom line, this one night journey is one you will be very happy you took. This film is a love story, a friendship story and a general feel good film for the ages. You will care about these people and want to revisit them again. This film is a definite one to own.

And the blu ray version takes full advantage of all blu ray has to offer. I had just seen it in HD on cable and then purchased it in bluy ray. I watched it soon after and the oomph both the video and audio got from the transfer was exsquisite. The 1080p video transfer is crisp, colors are vibrant and the night scenes are striking. The true hd 5.1 audio provides the best accompanying soundtrack. Dialogue is strong and music is well utilized. The full presentation of this film in blu ray is of the highest standard.

Highly recommend. Put this film in, sit back and be prepared to be truly entertained as you experience a touching slice of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I never Wash my pants...I like to keep the night on them", June 7, 2009
Directed by Peter Sollet, here stars Michael Cera (Superbad, Juno, Arrested Development) and Kat Dennings (40 Year Old Virgin,The House Bunny) in this cute romantic comedy.

Based on my favorite book by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan...Nick (Cera) is the bassist an all gay band and is depressed over his ex lover Tris(Alexis Dziena) leaving him, so he occasionally makes her mix CD's. Meanwhile, Norah (Dennings) coincidentally gets ahold of Nick's mix tapes when Tris throws them out and falls in love with the music. This draws in these two mysterious teens to each other and they coincidentally meet at the Nick's gig where Norah ask Nick to be her boyfriend for five minutes to save herself from Tris's bitchy mouth. Norah and Nick then agree to spend he night with each other looking for their favorite band called Where's Fluffy and they end up finding each other...

Ok, I'm 15 years old, so you can say I fit the film's demography, but even if I was an old man I still would have enjoyed it...

First of all, I loved the performances. Michael Cera rocks tight skinny jeans, which makes him look pretty metrosexual and cool, and a tight green hoody. Both the pants and hoodie are from American Apparel, so I guess he really wanted to fit the whole hipster-rock fashion style in this movie. Also, just like in the book, he wears the jacket (it's basically a charcoal Dickies Unlined Eisenhower jacket) with the words "Salvatore" stenciled on it. Sure Cera does the same role in this one, but it suits his character. Anyway, Cera's character here is more funny and confident such as not being nervous during an erotic scene unlike Evan and wearing tight clothing. However, his character can be a bit too stone-like and boring sometimes such as when his friends tried to get him to do the "sandwich" (basically dancing and rubbing their body on each other at the same time) with Norah, but he tries to move away. With a girl that sexy, I would do a double cheeseburger on her. Moving on... Dennings is a great actress herself. She is so pretty that you may not believe or follow the whole "I think I'm unattractive" gag. However, she makes you feel and understand her character. Norah does have her times of being annoying and unlike-able such as when she punched Nick hard in the neck when he called her "jealous" because even though I'm a boy, if a girl did that to me...I'd maybe have to do that back to her to let her know it feels. In Contrast, Dennings' chemistry with Cera is amazing. They have many great scenes together such as in "Electric Lady Studios" when Norah makes a reference to the "Tikkun Olam" causing Nick to say "maybe we're the pieces" which was so sweet.

Dziena does good in her part as playing a pretty but cold hearted snake, but I felt they could have made her character more understanding, like in the book, where it shows her having a caring side. Norah's friend Caroline (Ari Graynor) has many funny scenes as a drunk teen out of her mind, but some scenes with her are annoying and makes you want the scenes to go back to Nick and Norah. Disturbia's Aaron Yoo and rising stars Rafi Gavron and Jonathan B wright star as Nick's gay, funny, and helpful friends. Usual geeky Jay Baruchel (Knocked Up) plays Tal, Norah's ex or not boyfriend, who is the best rival for Cera. I love the cameos of Devendra Banhart, Andy Samberg, Eddie Kaye Thomas, and many others.

Other than the performances, the soundtrack is awesome and I am going to add it on my Ipod. The scenarios are beautiful and fits the movie. The movie has many funny moments like Nick's facial reaction to Tris putting her feet on his face while he's driving and funny gags like the whole gum being passes around thing.

In Conclusion, the movie does have some awkward moments though, but its one of the best hipster rom coms ever. It breaks out of the usual teen comedy traditions and does its own thing just like in "Juno". This movie may not be better than "Juno", but it sure comes close and is more fun. Believe me, you will enjoy yourself watching this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1014 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist (+ BD Live) [Blu-ray]
$14.99 $8.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.