Customer Reviews


267 Reviews
5 star:
 (174)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


229 of 233 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent workout title for young kids
With all the Wii exercise games out there, it seems that there's been a paucity of active fitness titles suitable for younger members of the family. The two attempts to reach this market have been D3's Family Party Fitness Fun and Knowledge Adventure's Jumpstart Get Moving. But both of these games have been dreadfully disappointing.

And so I'll admit I was a...
Published on November 17, 2010 by Nutwiisystem.Com

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very flawed interface, decent otherwise
I have a real complaint about how bad the interface and menus are in this game. It forces you to choose your control setup before EVERY single minigame you play, then it forces you to watch a tutorial video before EVERY minigame you play (which can be skipped, but you HAVE to manually skip it). This may not be a problem for older kids, but I can't just let my 2 1/2 year...
Published on October 13, 2011 by MCRC


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

229 of 233 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent workout title for young kids, November 17, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nickelodeon Fit (Video Game)
With all the Wii exercise games out there, it seems that there's been a paucity of active fitness titles suitable for younger members of the family. The two attempts to reach this market have been D3's Family Party Fitness Fun and Knowledge Adventure's Jumpstart Get Moving. But both of these games have been dreadfully disappointing.

And so I'll admit I was a little wary when I first tried Nickelodeon Fit. But after spending a few hours with it, I'm happy to report that finally, we have a kid-friendly fitness game that is a lot of fun and does provide some decent exercise value. And it's a bonus that our familiar friends Dora, Diego, Kai-lan, and the Backyardigans are part of it.

Each of the four friends has seven activities you can choose from (as with most Wii games, they have to be unlocked as you go). There are also two activities that involve all of the characters for a total of 30 overall.

Some of the activities are simple (thrusting the Wii remote up to jump rope, moving it in a circle to hula hoop, etc.). Others are impressively interactive and fun. In one game, you help the Backyardigans roll a big ball up a cliff, and then once it starts rolling you steer it towards a giant set of bowling pins. There's a similar game involving Dora and a bicycle. There's another fun game that involves Rintoo throwing a football into a set of tires on a tree. A lot of the games are just good fun, and even more so when competing against someone else.

One thing I love are the little details in the game. There's a game involving Dora on a bicycle where you'll feel a rumble in the Wii remote as she rolls over rocks. You can have her ring her bell by pressing one of the buttons. And of course, the whole time she'll be shouting out exclamations like "fantástico!" and "excellente!"

The animation is impressive and true to the actual cartoons. The Backyardigans are rendered in 3D, just like on TV, while Dora, Diego, and Kai-lan are all their familiar selves. The background animation is beautiful, very much like on TV.

Happily, the controls are never too difficult for youngsters to learn. They mostly involve moving the Wii remote up, down, left, right, and in circles to control the on-screen character. Before each activity, Tyrone the Moose will explain exactly how to use the controls. And during the game there's a stick figure in a box at all times that shows exactly what movement to make.

One thing I also like is that each game gives an "MVPA Rating". It took me a while to figure out what this was, but it turns out it stands for "Moderate to Vigorous Physical Activity". While few of the activities would be considered very vigorous for adults, chances are kids will get a pretty good workout from them, especially if they're motivated by competing against their siblings (or parents!). Like the cartoon, I'd say the game is most suited for kids from 4-7. For older kids, I'd recommend the excellent Active Life: Explorer With Mat.

There's a whole section for parents where they can view statistics (including BMI and MVPA) in any date range for up to 5 different profiles, and even create different custom exercise routines for their kids by stringing together different activities.

If there's a pet peeve I have about this game, it's that navigating the menus is not very intuitive. You have to hold the Wii remote horizontally, and then use the 1 button (instead of B) to go back or the 2 button (instead of A) to select.

Overall, I was impressed with what Nickelodeon did. It's not perfect, but it's certainly a solid title that's better than the others out there. As I always tell parents, the best kind of exercise with kids is always outside with a ball or a bicycle. But on those days when the weather is bad, Nickelodeon Fit is a great way to ensure that the kids stay in shape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comparison between Nickelodeon Fit and Active Life Explorer, February 11, 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nickelodeon Fit (Video Game)
We purchased a Wii for our kids as a way to help them get physical activity when outdoor play is unfeasible. Therefore, I did a lot of research and purchased two games, Nickelodeon Fit and Active Life Explorer, as each seemed to require significant physical movement, while also being age-appropriate for my 3 and 5 year olds. After observing(and on many occasions, joining in on the fun)for about 2 weeks, I began considering which was the ultimate success based on a variety of factors.

Activity Level:

Nickelodeon Fit: All games require some physical activity, though not super strenuous. This makes it ideal for very young children who are still developing their coordination and might get more frustrated with fast-paced games. However, an older child (6+) will probably not find it as exciting and may quickly become bored with the simplicity of the activities.

Active Life Explorer:
The majority of the games are very fast paced and most require quick footwork, to include running, jumping, ducking, etc. My 3 year old and 5 year old both love participating in the high energy games and get an unparalleled amount of exercise in the process. Furthermore, because the mat is required for all games, it is not possible to fake the movements by simply holding a Wii remote and flicking your wrist.

Simplicity of Instructions:

Nickelodeon Fit: Moose provides verbal instructions before each game, and visual prompts are available throughout. Aside from the requirement to hold the remote sideways and use the 2 button instead of A, the instructions are fairly intuitive. My kids learned and remembered the instuctions very quickly.

Active Life Explorer: Written instructions are provided before each game, in addition to visual prompts during gameplay. The instructions are straightforward and my kids were able to remember and begin predicting the necessary actions following a couple of attempts.

Fun Factor:

Nickelodeon Fit: Although some of the games put a unique spin on traditional games (i.e. in bowling, the Backyardigans must push a giant ball up a hill and then steer it down toward the pins while avoiding obstacles), a lot of them feel more like exercise games--much like it's big brother, Wii Fit. However, the fun and well-recognized characters keep it from feeling too much like a workout game.

Active Life Explorer: Every game on this title has an exciting adventure theme that keeps kids completely oblivious to the fact that they are exercising. Furthermore, kids can use their miis to become further immersed in the games. Instead of the traditional jumping rope exercise, kids are avoiding hungry sharks, stomping on crocodiles' heads, riding on horseback to catch a bandit, jumping broken tracks in a collapsing mine, swinging from vine to vine, and repelling down steep cliffs. Rather than running down the street in a marathon, "explorers" are running at top speed to bust through doors and swim through the water into a sunken ship.

Play Modes:

Nickelodeon Fit: While the game allows for more than one player, it is striclty on a one player at a time basis. Therefore, activity level is halted while waiting for the other player to complete tasks. However, this is a good way to help preschoolers develop patience and foster turn-taking behaviors. Although there are no alternate modes of play, players are able to unlock increasingly difficult activities upon mastering introductory levels.

Active Life Explorer: Most games allow for 2 players at a time, and a few even allow 4 players simultaneously. Increasing difficulty levels are unlocked upon completion of tasks in the easy mode. In addition, there are 3 play modes. Free play allows the player to select any game and difficulty level at will. The Treasure Adventure option requires players to solve clues and use a treasure map to navigate through various worlds. As games are successfully completed, players earn keys to unlock more areas of the map. Finally, there is a party mode. This randomly selects games that are good for multiple players. Games that only allow one at a time play are alternated with games that allow multiple players to compete simultaneously.

In conclusion, both games are an excellent way to introduce physical activity to the indoors. While Nickelodeon Fit may appeal to the younger crowd (3+) due to familiar characters and less intense gameplay, Active Life Explorer provides a greater level of activity and can be enjoyed by a wider range of age groups. For both games, movements are simple and intutive, and instructions are prominantly displayed. Although I feel that Active Life Explorer has an edge on Wii Fit in nearly all categories, I highly recommend both for families with young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute game, easy to follow and a nice little workout for the kids, November 24, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nickelodeon Fit (Video Game)
I bought this game as a Christmas present..then decided to dig it out early to help the kids get some of that energy out of their systems during this school break!

It began with a quick and easy set up - very simple to create a profile for your kids: name, age, a picture they want to represent them such as a ball or bike (might have been nicer to have their Wii Characters, but the pictures made set up easy and no need for endless screens to chose hair color, outfits etc). It also asks their height and weight.

Then its a quick start, kids can chose single or multiplayer and games are quick and easy! One thing I REALLY liked about this compared to many Wii games on the market, this responds well and accurately to the Wii remote - as an adult it gets rather frustrating when the game and remote do not work well together, but for kids this can be even more challenging but no such worries here - as they move, it quickly picks up their actions and responds

There are some great games - a little exercise routine which really does get the kids moving in a fun way so they are not even noticing how much they are exercising. Then some great interactive games such as bowling and skipping with their favorite Nick characters! There is also an option to customize games / workouts which might be a great option for slightly older kids!

I would say this is a great game for a younger audience as many of the characters resonate with the Pre school crowd, I would day a great choice for 3-8 year olds, with the older end of that spectrum enjoying the game for playability as opposed to being interested in the characters!

It really does provide some good exercise for kids, in a simple, fun and interactive way! I loved this game..and my kids found it a great deal of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars adults can play it too!!, November 21, 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nickelodeon Fit (Video Game)
I bought this game for my 4.5 y.o. daughter and it is just a bit 'over her head' at this point - she gets frustrated with it after playing a couple games and then loses interest. I'm guessing it is best for kids at least 6. y.o.

however as an adult i play it and i like it better than wii fit, in terms of both exercise effectiveness and fun. Some of the games really get you moving and they arent as involved or picky as the adult wii fitness games.

I went shopping for a kid fitness wii game about 1 month ago and it seems they were described as boring and mediocre so i held out for this one and am glad i did - i definately wouldn't describe it as either.

For each game you can choose whether you want to use the wii balance board and the controller or just the controller. I haven't tried it w/ the bb yet but the controller by itself seems to work just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, but could be made better...., December 2, 2010
By 
M. Roberts (Central Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nickelodeon Fit (Video Game)
I bought this game for my 6 year old daughter. She is not a "gamer" and has limited frustration tolerance so I have been searching for a game that would be good for her. She always wants to play the wii because she sees her older sisters play it, but when she can't play the games correctly she gets upset. This is the first game that she has really liked and has been able to play well. The games are simple and they provide instructions for each one before they start. They also give you hints of what you need to do in the corner of the screen if you aren't doing well. You get a silver or gold medal after each game and if you do it perfectly, you get a gold ribbon (although only the first time, much to my daughters dismay!). The games are really fun and my daughter likes each one. I would give the game 5 stars if it weren't for one thing - navigating is very difficult. The games are about 2 minutes long and of course, the kids want to play them again right after. But there is no easy way to "play again" - you have to go through several menus to select the game again (including re-calibrating the wii fit board if you are using it). This means that I have to sit there with my daughter because even at 6, its hard to navigate through several menus to find the game you want. I wish it was a little easier so kids could play more independently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very flawed interface, decent otherwise, October 13, 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nickelodeon Fit (Video Game)
I have a real complaint about how bad the interface and menus are in this game. It forces you to choose your control setup before EVERY single minigame you play, then it forces you to watch a tutorial video before EVERY minigame you play (which can be skipped, but you HAVE to manually skip it). This may not be a problem for older kids, but I can't just let my 2 1/2 year old go and play- I have to be there to set things up for him every single time, which gets old fast. It makes no sense why you can't make these selections ONE TIME in a Main Menu like practically every other game.
Otherwise, the games themselves are ok, if very basic- the quality is certainly nowhere near Wii Fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not really all that good., December 10, 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nickelodeon Fit (Video Game)
My 2 boys (3 and 5) desperately want to do the Wii Fit, but the games are for the most part too challenging, so we thought we'd try out the Nickelodeon Fit version.

The games are okay, but after a few plays my 5 year old was done with it. The games are just not engaging enough for him.

The porting over of this game needed a LOT more work! The menu navigation is clunky and non-intuitive. It is a poor use of the Wiimote, and you can tell it was programmed more for the older Nintendo gaming systems.

The boys were excited about the characters at first, but they quickly lost appeal due to the overall poor playability and entertainment value of the software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 8 year old gives it a thumbs up., November 19, 2010
By 
Amy Brandemuehl (Lancaster, WI USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nickelodeon Fit (Video Game)
My 8 year old loves this over wii fit. He will play if for hours if I let him. So far we haven't found anything other than the menu to complain about. Once you figure it out it isn't bad. Pricey, but what wii game isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healthy Entertainment for Hours, November 28, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nickelodeon Fit (Video Game)
Saw this game advertised in a magazine and then read reviews of it. Had to have it immediately so I got it at Target. I have never seen my daughter so interested in playing Wii before. She has been playing non-stop for 2 days now and is getting completely exhausted! The instructions are easy to follow for kids and there are helpful hints on the screen to help the kids know what motion make. One of my best Wii game purchased ever. Well worth the $40 I paid for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game for Kids AND Adults, December 27, 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nickelodeon Fit (Video Game)
This game was originally bought for my 5 year old for Christmas, however her 8 and 11 yr old brother seem to enjoy playing it just as much. My 5 year old does not have any difficulty navigating the screens or using the remote. The games are easy to understand, are alot of fun, and provide great exercise to burn up some extra energy. Even the adults in the house have been playing it. I actually enjoy it more than the wii fit.

The only draw back to it (an the reason for 4 stars) is it would be much better if it had more options for multiple players. The only options it gives for multi players is a running relay race and a set of mini exercises. It would be great if the mini games could be multi player as well. For the time being though we just play with one remote and have the kids take turns playing the mini games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nickelodeon Fit
Nickelodeon Fit by 2K (Nintendo Wii)
$39.96
In stock on December 30, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.