Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spring is here!
. . . and the garden is blooming! Nicky's collection of knitted & felted flowers is amazing! Creativity is brimming on every page! I wondered how many flowers could one knit - well, hundreds! The photographs are inspiring and beautiful. Quick to knit; the patterns are fun and easy to follow. Whether you are an accomplished knitter, or barely past your first scarf, you'll...
Published on April 17, 2006 by Stacey M Smith

versus
139 of 142 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A surprising disappointment.
Although I have been a fan of Nicky Epstein's other books, this one was a real disappointment. It is stunningly photographed--worthy of a coffeetable book, really--but the photographs are often blurry, set in dim lighting, and focus on the flowers at such strange angles it's hard to see what the finished object will look like--not useful in a knitting instruction book...
Published on May 4, 2006 by C. McCann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

139 of 142 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A surprising disappointment., May 4, 2006
This review is from: Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers (Hardcover)
Although I have been a fan of Nicky Epstein's other books, this one was a real disappointment. It is stunningly photographed--worthy of a coffeetable book, really--but the photographs are often blurry, set in dim lighting, and focus on the flowers at such strange angles it's hard to see what the finished object will look like--not useful in a knitting instruction book. The typeset is tiny; again, attractive to look at from afar, but hard to read when you're trying to follow a pattern and manage needles at the same time. Also, several of these patterns are already featured in her other books; much of it feels like a rehash. The directions seem too complicated for new knitters, although more experience knitters can worth through them with a bit of effort. It's a shame; just adding a couple of additional sentences to each one would have made a difference. There are a couple of things I might make, but this book is really not worth the money. I would definitely not buy it if I had to do it again. Save your pennies and buy new yarn instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers, February 5, 2007
This review is from: Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers (Hardcover)
I went ahead and purchased this book despite the somewhat boring patterns. There are a handful of flowers that are really pretty, but the majority of the patterns are rather dull. It's nice to have, but not a book to run out and purchase. I believe that Nicky Eptstein's "Knitted Embellishments" is a much better book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spring is here!, April 17, 2006
By 
Stacey M Smith (Fredericksburg, TEXAS) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers (Hardcover)
. . . and the garden is blooming! Nicky's collection of knitted & felted flowers is amazing! Creativity is brimming on every page! I wondered how many flowers could one knit - well, hundreds! The photographs are inspiring and beautiful. Quick to knit; the patterns are fun and easy to follow. Whether you are an accomplished knitter, or barely past your first scarf, you'll be amazed at the flora you can create. (Note: new knitters, you may need a little extra help on some projects, but you'll grow new skills) I have been searching for a book full of feminine floral embellishments, and this is it! I am going to have flowers on everything this year. Most of the flowers could be added to gifts and packages for an extra special touch. It would have been helpful to see more of the flowers in use, but I guess Epstein leaves the door open for us to find our own creative ideas. Many yarns seem easy to find or substitute, plus there is a listing in the back of where to buy from the less common companies. This is MUST-HAVE for your knitting library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers, November 9, 2006
By 
Snowbird (Arizona, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers (Hardcover)
There were several typo's or errors in the instructions which would have caused many problems for inexperienced knitters. My classroom teacher had to alter the given pattern instructions in order for our flowers to turn out correctly. I would not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I want more bang for my buck., January 9, 2007
By 
S. Buford "lunabud74" (NICHOLASVILLE, KY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers (Hardcover)
For the price this book does not have enough flower patterns. I was rather disappointed and clearly expected more from this book. The author's other books are chock full of patterns, but I found this one lacking. The patterns could have either been written a touch more simple or were in need of much more detail to execute. The pictures are very pretty, but that doesn't make up for the fact that I feel I over paid for this book. It is one thing to buy something pretty, but quite another to buy an instruction book lacking in instructions. I would have prefered many many more pictures of how the flowers were executed as opposed to the finished product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicky has had better, August 15, 2006
By 
Jody (Southwest Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers (Hardcover)
Not what I had expected. The yarns used in the book are yarns that are hard to find or that I have never heard of before. The patterns are not very exciting. Too many felted projects. I am actually thinking of returning it. I have seen better flower patterns in the free patterns and the knitting magazines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful patterns, March 30, 2007
By 
This review is from: Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers (Hardcover)
Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

A knitted flower

Can be any hue.

Nicky Epstein is one of the luminaries of the knitting world. Known for her innovative use of embellishments, Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers presents a bouquet of blossoms suitable for every occasion and outfit. This reference volume presents more than thirty-five different floral designs, as well as several patterns using the flowers.

Epstein divides the book into five sections based on the method of construction: stitch pattern flowers; petal constructed flowers; cord flowers; felted stitch pattern flowers; and felted cut flowers; with the majority of the designs using the first method. Knitted Flowers provide knitters a starting point to explore their flights of fancy. As Epstein suggests: "The flowers can be layered, and stems and leaves may be added. Bobbles, bangles, buttons and beads sewn to the centers bring the flowers an extra touch of beauty."

Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers isn't an essential addition to a knitter's library; however knitters looking for unique accessories, and those who love flowers, are sure to find inspiration here for years to come. Clear instructions and large, color photos are provided for each design.

Armchair Interviews says: This is sure to be a welcome addition to most knitters' collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT IDEAS, May 7, 2006
This review is from: Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers (Hardcover)
This is the perfect book if your are looking for inspiration! I'm so bored with plain jane sweater patterns. This book gave me tons of ideas to spice up boring sweater patterns by adding great flowers to them. There's a very nice hat and rose purse pattern in this book also. Some of the projects are very simple and makes you wonder why you didn't think do it. Others will need to be read a few times but the outcome will be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome addition to ANY knitting library!, October 4, 2006
By 
Vahnee (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers (Hardcover)
A beautiful book for knitting fanatics, or a great coffee table book for the eclectic. The designs are both simple and elegant, and with a little personal creativity, can be used for much more than your grandmother's bedspread. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I consider myself an intermediate knitter and found most of the patterns to be a breeze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful book, April 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very dull pictures. variety of flowers is really bad.
It doesn't worth that money. If you really interested in flowers knitting or crocheting I would strongly recommend
100 Flowers to Knit & Crochet: A Collection of Beautiful Blooms for Embellishing Garments, Accessories, and More
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9c4af5a0)

This product

Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers
Nicky Epstein's Knitted Flowers by Nicky Epstein (Hardcover - April 28, 2006)
$24.95 $19.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.