Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars El precio de la Libertad
Es un magnífico detalle en la vida de un miembro de los Peter Pan: niños que viajaban solos desde Cuba, enviados por sus padres para librarlos de la sociedad comunista que se implantaba en Cuba.Es un vívido ejemplo de todos los logros que se pueden obtener con sacrificios en un país libre que generosamente te acoge. Después de leer...
Published on May 29, 2009 by Heriberto R. Cuellar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good
Excellent story, informative, sensible. Lacks a little in a way of a great literary book. But, I recommend for instructive reasons.
Published 11 months ago by Sunbird


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars El precio de la Libertad, May 29, 2009
By 
This review is from: Nieve en La Habana: Confesiones de un cubanito (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
Es un magnífico detalle en la vida de un miembro de los Peter Pan: niños que viajaban solos desde Cuba, enviados por sus padres para librarlos de la sociedad comunista que se implantaba en Cuba.Es un vívido ejemplo de todos los logros que se pueden obtener con sacrificios en un país libre que generosamente te acoge. Después de leer esta obra se aprecian más las libertades y oportunidades en medio de las cuales vivimos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nieve en la habana: confesiones de un cubanito, September 2, 2012
This review is from: Nieve en La Habana: Confesiones de un cubanito (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
hola soy la madre de una nina que esta leyendo un libro sobre el exodo' de pedro pan, en el camino me encontre con este libro y aun no lo he leido pero se lo voy a recomendar, porque se que todo lo que tenga que ver con cuba y sus historias. tienen un sinificado muy especial, y nosotros como padres tenemos el deber y obligacion de ensenarle a nuestros hijos nuestras raisez,somos cubanos pero mas jovenes. gracias por ilustrarnos a todos con sus historias, que son tan reales como cuando viene un nino al mundo.
somos de la cuba de hoy exiliados en este gran pais,pero nunca con historias como las de Pedro Pan, mi hija solo tiene 11 anos y nosotros le hemos inculcado nuestras costumbres.Ella donde quiera que va y le preguntan tu nacistes aqui en U.S.A ella contesta, si naci aqui pero soy 100%cubana habla un espanol mejor que nosotros,y le encanta la comida nuestra otra vez gracias por escribir libros tan maravillosos, aunque aun no los he leido se que ella los va a disfrutar,se lo voy a decir para que ella los baje. y luego los leemos todos, ella es una fiel lectora, le facina la lectura. gracias.

marlene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite writing style, funny, and dramatic. Outstanding!, January 30, 2010
By 
J. Sanchez (southern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nieve en La Habana: Confesiones de un cubanito (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
This is a very personal story which runs the gamut of human emotions. It is written in a unique and incredibly enjoyable style. It certainly has a point of view, but peddles it in a thoroughly entertaining, humorous, and intellectual way. My book club chose this book to read. Every single person in the club loved the writing style and thought that it gave them a lot to think about. It made for a very funny, thought-provoking, and lively discussion about everything from childhood to politics. One of the best books I have read in yeats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nieve en La Habana: Confesiones de un cubanito (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
Excellent story, informative, sensible. Lacks a little in a way of a great literary book. But, I recommend for instructive reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are curious or love Cuban...read this book, July 30, 2012
By 
Ginita Profitt (Seminole, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nieve en La Habana: Confesiones de un cubanito (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
One of my favorite books, the story is told from the perspective of a young boy leaving his homeland to come to the USA due to Castro taking over Cuba. The author engages you into his life and makes it personal - this is a must read for every Cuban that remembers living in Cuba and having to leave. I can't wait to read his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, August 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nieve en La Habana: Confesiones de un cubanito (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
Boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nieve en la Habana, February 11, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nieve en La Habana: Confesiones de un cubanito (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
I picked up the book because it was about the Peter Pan children. Eire's account was bizarre. I was born in Cuba and came over in 1969 so I lived through some of the things he describes. But his parents sound like they belong in a mental institution. I can assure you of all the weird people I knew (and I knew quite a few) none were as over the top as his parents. But it seems he overcame whatever and has a job as a proffesor. I would not want to be his student.
The good part is he is a very good writer, it's just the story that is hard to beleive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pleased, September 12, 2009
By 
This review is from: Nieve en La Habana: Confesiones de un cubanito (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
Great service. The book was new and transaction was smooth. Will do business with you again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nieve en La Habana: Confesiones de un cubanito (Spanish Edition)
Nieve en La Habana: Confesiones de un cubanito (Spanish Edition) by Carlos M. N. Eire (Paperback - September 4, 2007)
$16.00 $12.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.