Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a Nigella, April 5, 2012
This review is from: Nigella 2.0 oz - Zamouri Spices (Misc.)
Nigella in Arabic are the Seed of Blessing. The flavor is deep and savory, like a peppered oregano and something you just cannot put your finger on. Musky and warm, it is pungent and cozy. They are used from Spain to Pakistan. If you have had them, it is most likely in string cheese, often from Armenia. If you are from New York, they were frequently used in stead of caraway in rye bread.

If you are a baker, try studding your crust with them, especially if you are using an egg wash. Nigella love all starch, pasta, potato, rice and bread. As before, they also fancy cheese. If you cannot find Armenian string cheese, there are several domestic ones made without the seeds. But they tend to be on the krafty side. Trader Joe's may be the best of that lot. Or go to your mexican market and get Oaxaca cheese, the kind you stuff chilies with, which is a good place to use them since they go with tomato sauce. Middle Eastern halloumi or akawi work well.

Or, go with farmers' type curded cheeses, whole milk cottage will do. Just warm a spoon of seed in virgin olive oil until it hits your nose, but do not use high heat or you will burn the fat in the oil. Cool and stir into the cheese. Crumbled feta or blue are good. Let it sit overnight or so if you want, just take it out of the refrigerator for an hour or so to bring it back to room temperature.

Switch out the pepper for Nigella in your next ratatouille. My favorite: use a table spoon of seed in two of oil and two of butter, warm as before and fold in 200 grams or so of gorgonzola (dolce is decadent) and toss with a hot pot of your just drained fettuccine or pappardelle or even black squid ink pasta. Just do not be too zealous in draining. Some pasta water is nice. Add a spoon or two if that is easier. Garnish with fresh oregano, marjoram or basil.

Prefer rice? Use feta and kalamata olives or feta and small shrimp with blanched spinach.

Get to know this seed. You might see them labeled as charnushka. Zamouri is a first rate source of highest quality and freshness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addicting, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nigella 2.0 oz - Zamouri Spices (Misc.)
.....has a taste like very earthy oregano, it's used in southern indian and persian dishes. A sprinkling on some salted and squeezed out cucumber slices with a splash of sesame oil and rice wine vinegar is a staple side dish I seem to keep on making.

Zamouri spices are not cheap, but the quality is high and being able to have such esoteric tastes delivered to my very remote door is a blessing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality source of these hard-to-find seeds, June 7, 2013
This review is from: Nigella 2.0 oz - Zamouri Spices (Misc.)
I have a few sources for obtaining these, but this is the most convenient because I can purchase this brand locally. I have come to depend on Zamouri for freshness and these are no exception. They are fresh and aromatic, and impart the flavor I look for with these seeds.

While the main uses of this are in baking and even flavoring some cheeses, my main use is in novel ways of blending za'atar or in making manaqish,, which is a flatbread with a drizzled olive oil mixed with za'atar. I normally use both oregano and thyme, sumac and toasted sesame seeds. These seeds, however, are a perfect substitute for oregano and add an ineffable flavor to my za'atar. I have also used this as a topping for home-baked focaccia, pushing it into the indents on the top of the dough and drizzling olive oil before baking. In fact, a mix of nigella and rosemary are a perfect combination.

If you are purchasing these for a specific baking recipe know that they have many interesting uses beyond baking. If you have never cooked with them try substituting this for oregano, and definitely give my za'atar recipe a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigella 2.0 oz - Zamouri Spices, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nigella 2.0 oz - Zamouri Spices (Misc.)
i like this store--Zamouri.....haven't been disappointed yet!

seems like it took for_ever_ to figure out an ingredient (nigella) in a seasoning mix i used to buy, but is no longer sold in this area

when i finally discovered the "secret spice," i immediately went to Amazon, saw Zamouri....since i had never bought from them before, i was anxious about the quality of product, but i was worried for nothing, they're a quality store and i intend to be a repeat customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seeds, December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nigella 2.0 oz - Zamouri Spices (Misc.)
These seeds are very distinct in flavor and smell. We love them on challah bread. Toasting them really brings out the flavor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigella, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nigella 2.0 oz - Zamouri Spices (Misc.)
I enjoy ordering from Zamouri Spices. The products delivered are always as described and fresh. Even though I use nigella often, two ounces will last a very long time. Thanks again Zamouri!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this item, October 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nigella 2.0 oz - Zamouri Spices (Misc.)
I loved this item. I was making flat bread for a middle eastern dinner. And these were perfect sprinkled on top of them to give an authentic flavor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty Seeds, May 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nigella 2.0 oz - Zamouri Spices (Misc.)
I use these seeds in bread dough and to adorn the top of little armenian rolls. They add a great flavor. Would also be good on bagels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nigella 2.0 oz - Zamouri Spices (Misc.)
Excellent flavor, fresh and pungent. Zamouri Spices was a good source of this interesting spice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.