Customer Reviews


248 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Nostalgia, Great B-Movie Fun: An Eighties Cult Hit That Shouldn't Be Oversold To New Viewers
Now, I'll be upfront. I love "Night of the Comet." It's a movie that intrigued me almost 30 years ago (yikes), and I still get much pleasure from watching it today. I suspect that it is also a movie that will generate many 5 star reviews from those eager to embrace its nostalgic charms. But let's be honest, too. 30 years ago, this was a solid B-movie lark with no...
Published 15 months ago by K. Harris

versus
23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and very cheesy 80's cult-classic
Night of the Comet took advantage of the return of Halley's Comet hype which ran through nation and pretty much most of the world throughout most of 1984 and into 1985. Hollywood being the opportunist industry that it was and still is were quick to produce and release a movie about the return of Halley's Comet over the planet as soon as possible. The 1980's was a good...
Published on March 22, 2007 by A. Sandoc


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Nostalgia, Great B-Movie Fun: An Eighties Cult Hit That Shouldn't Be Oversold To New Viewers, August 16, 2013
This review is from: Night Of The Comet (Collector's Edition) [BluRay/DVD Combo] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Now, I'll be upfront. I love "Night of the Comet." It's a movie that intrigued me almost 30 years ago (yikes), and I still get much pleasure from watching it today. I suspect that it is also a movie that will generate many 5 star reviews from those eager to embrace its nostalgic charms. But let's be honest, too. 30 years ago, this was a solid B-movie lark with no pretensions, that's why it was discovered and beloved (largely with the advance of cable TV). As an enjoyable romp, it hit all the right marks as a popcorn movie, but it was never great art. Those who loved it then will likely still find much to appreciate. I am, however, going to be cautious in my appraisal for modern audiences checking this out for the first time. I still think many will get a kick out of it, but it might be a film best approached with modest expectations.

Set in the near future, "Night of the Comet" follows a couple of sisters in a post-apocalyptic Los Angeles. In the aftermath of a comet's orbit, earth's citizens have largely been reduced to red dust. There are few survivors (those shielded by steel in some way). Others, who were partially exposed, roam the city having taken on the countenance of flesh eating zombies. Tough minded Reg, played by Catherine Mary Stewart, and her cheerleader sister, Kelli Maroney, aren't pushovers, though. Using a natural survival instinct, an aptitude for weapons, Valley Girl sensibilities, and a love of shopping--these two are a force to be reckoned with. Robert Beltran joins them as a trucker and potential love interest. It seems that an underground facility of scientists has also survived (led by the sublime Mary Woronov of "Eating Raoul" fame). Arguing about whether or not to round up others who made it, their motives may be suspect. What follows is a campy adventure with loads of 80s music, plenty of gunplay, wisecracking teens, and a solid plot, too.

As I said initially, "Night" totally succeeds due to its lack of pretension and its better-than-average setup. It appeals to a teen demographic, features resilient and strong female characters, plays solidly as comedy as well as sci-fi. It's just fun. There are also faults, to be sure. To make the city look desolate, there are almost no cars parked or on the streets anywhere. Not like the Los Angeles I know! But somehow, even that appealed to my sense of camp.

I am giving "Night" only 4 stars. Again, this is so newcomers will approach the movie not thinking this is the "best movie ever." I don't want to oversell it, it must be discovered and appreciated on its own merit. I love it, though, and hopefully you will too. Remember, though, it's a product of its time and not the glossy production you might expect today. KGHarris, 8/13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valley Girls Save Civilization!, May 6, 2004
By 
Cambel "cambel" (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Night of the Comet (VHS Tape)
It's the end of the world, and whats a girl to do? Well if you're Regina and Julie, two cute Valley girls, when you aren't fighting the disintegrating zombies that are the remains of humanity, you are hitting the closest Mall and picking out some sassy outfits. (Best line in the movie, when the younger sister asks the older which outfit she should take and the sister responds, "That one, it'll stay in style longer")
The movie starts off with a space scene and captions that explain a huge coment is going to be making a close approach to earth. It will put on an amazing light show....one that hadn't been seen in over 60 million years, about the time the dinosaurs disappeard. Then it goes on to say, some people noticed this coincidence "Then shows a bunch of people in white lab coats sealing themselved in behinde a massive underground door" then states "But most didn't" and flashes to wild crowds dressed up in their finest 80's party clothes screaming and waving signs that say "We Love the Comet"
Needless to say this movie does NOT take itself seriously and is all the better for it. Staring some of the same actors from the classic dark comedies "Eating Raul" and "Scenes from the Class Struggle in Beverly Hills" this movie is a lightweight, goofy, comic gem well worth seeing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deserves a DVD and more than just 'cult classic' status, May 31, 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
First saw this film on one of the movie cable channels in the late '80s and immediately fell in love with it. The movie is completely without pretense, and the cast members all turn in memorable performances. The movie is just fun, fun, fun, with a minimal amount of `Hollywood' gore but plenty of thrills. If you like your sci-fi a little more down to earth, you'll like "Night Of The Comet." Three thoughts in closing: 1) That's not Cyndi Lauper singing "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun," but it sounds pretty close, 2) My favorite quote: `I'm not crazy, I just don't give a f---!' 3) I'd like the movie even if my initials weren't DMK--fans of the film will know what I'm talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Eighties Cult Hit Makes It To DVD--Great Nostalgia, Great B-Movie Fun, January 12, 2007
This review is from: Night of the Comet (DVD)
Now, I'll be upfront. I love "Night of the Comet." It's a movie that intrigued me 20 years ago, and I still get much pleasure from watching it today. I suspect that it is also a movie that will generate many 5 star reviews from those eager to embrace its nostalgic charms. But let's be honest, too. 20 years ago, this was a solid B-movie lark with no pretensions--that's why it was discovered and beloved (largely with the advance of cable TV). As an enjoyable romp, it hit all the right marks as a popcorn movie--but it was never great art. Those who loved it then will likely still find much to appreciate. I am, however, going to be cautious in my appraisal for modern audiences checking this out for the first time. I still think many will get a kick out of it, but it might be a film best approached with modest expectations.

Set in the near future, "Night of the Comet" follows a couple of sisters in a post-apocalyptic Los Angeles. In the aftermath of a comet's orbit, earth's citizens have largely been reduced to red dust. There are few survivors (those shielded by steel, in some way). Others, who were partially exposed, roam the city having taken on the countenance of flesh eating zombies. Tough minded Reg, played by Catherine Mary Stewart, and her cheerleader sister, Kelli Maroney, aren't pushovers, though. Using a natural survival instinct, an aptitude for weapons, Valley Girl sensibilities, and a love of shopping--these two are a force to be reckoned with. Robert Beltran joins them as a trucker and potential love interest. It seems that an underground facility of scientists has also survived (led by the sublime Mary Woronov of "Eating Raoul" fame). Arguing about whether or not to round up others who made it, their motives may be suspect. What follows is a campy adventure with loads of 80s music, plenty of gunplay, wisecracking teens, and a solid plot, too.

As I said initially, "Night" totally succeeds due to its lack of pretension and its better-than-average setup. It appeals to a teen demographic, features resilient and strong female characters, plays solidly as comedy as well as sci-fi. It's just fun. There are faults, to be sure--to make the city look desolate, there are almost no cars parked, or on the streets, anywhere. Not like the Los Angeles I know--but somehow, even that appealed to my sense of camp.

I am giving "Night" only 4 stars. Again, this is so newcomers will approach the movie not thinking this is the "best movie ever." I don't want to oversell it, it must be discovered and appreciated on its own merit. I love it, though, and hopefully you will too. Remember, though, it's a product of its time--not the glossy production you might expect today. KGHarris, 01/07.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Mary Stewart!!! What More Could You Ask For ?, April 30, 2005
This would have to be one of my alltime favourite movies and has deservedly become a Cult SciFi Classic over the years. It concerns the passing of a comet over the Los Angeles area turning most of it's residents into red dust. The absolutely beautiful Catherine Mary Stewart plays Regina , one of the survivors . Together with her sister they try to adjust to this lonely new world. This movie has zombies, mad scientists and teenagers who still want to go out and have a good time. I would ask Catherine to marry me but alas she is already wed.This movie is a gem!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night of the Comet DVD would fill a gaping bottomless abyss, March 12, 2004
By 
Dr. BT (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Night of the Comet (VHS Tape)
I just want to know why hasn't this cult 80's classic been released on DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, August 7, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night of the Comet (VHS Tape)
This is a fantastic movie for its time. It tends to keep you on your toes for the most part with some comedy that blends in with it. It's such a great movie to watch. It's about time they produce the DVD format!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Comet Movie Ever Made, March 9, 2007
This review is from: Night of the Comet (DVD)
A classic from 1984 finally on DVD. All the elements of a great sci-fi/zombie/end of the world as we know it movie. Catherine Mary Stewart and Kelli Maroney are perfect. Robert Beltran is great. Heavy on the interpersonal stuff and just light enough on the zombie stuff to make this a movie you can safely watch with your family. Some scenes of Kelli dancing in the mall in lingerie but it's really PG-13 stuff. One of the most satisfying endings of all movies in this genre. If you haven't seen it buy it today, even if you've seen it buy it - it's worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very clever and smart; new twist to the teen genre, September 14, 2007
By 
R. Gawlitta "Coolmoan" (Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night of the Comet (DVD)
I saw this film when it first was released in 1984. I would've dismissed it as nonsense, except Siskel & Ebert's TV show gave it 2-thumbs-up; good advice. This is certainly a new take on the teen survivor film, and far more witty and clever than most. Some great performers here, starting with Kelli Maroney as the younger sister. She's been in a few other films. The other main stars, Robert Beltran and Catherine Mary Stewart were fine, but I've never heard of them since. Thom Eberhardt crafted a great film, and I'm thrilled that it's finally released on DVD. Unfortunately, there are no extras. It's creepy, unsettling and no end of entertaining.Cast and crew info would've been really nice. Too bad this film was written off by the producers as unimportant. It also gives Mary Woronov a chance to shine, as an empathetic scientist. She's always great. Can't blab away the plot, but good sci-fi fantasy, with loads of humor, action, and scary stuff. Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and very cheesy 80's cult-classic, March 22, 2007
By 
A. Sandoc "sussarakhen" (San Pablo, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night of the Comet (DVD)
Night of the Comet took advantage of the return of Halley's Comet hype which ran through nation and pretty much most of the world throughout most of 1984 and into 1985. Hollywood being the opportunist industry that it was and still is were quick to produce and release a movie about the return of Halley's Comet over the planet as soon as possible. The 1980's was a good decade for the low to mid-budgeted horror and sci-fi movies which had a quick death at the box-office but which gained success and cult status in the many displays racks of the tens of thousands of video rental places. 1984's Night of the Comet was one of these films and it typifies the cheesiness that was 1980's scifi horror.

The film opens up with everyone partying the arrival of Halley's Comet which could be seen in the night sky every 75-76 years. People are out on the streets as night falls celebrating the Comet's arrival and we meet two of the main characters in the film in the form of Regina and Samantha. Two sisters who truly epitomizes the mall and valley culture of 1980's Southern California, Regina and Samantha are not enjoying the night of the comet as Regina ends up working the night shift at the local theater she works at and Samantha is stuck at home with her stepmother and all the partygoers attending her stepmom's party. In the span of a few sequences both Regina and Samantha end up locking themselves up somewhere quiet and safe to get away from the party going on around them.

While they stew in their own little hideaways the comet makes its pass over the planet with everyone who can see looking up to take a peek of the returning comet. What happens next sets up the rest of the movie. The comet seem to have turned anyone not protected behind heavy steel structures into red dust and those only half-protected end up turning into zombie-like creatures. Luckily for the two sisters they were inside such heavy steel structures when the comet did its pass over and well-protected. The rest of the movie deals with Regina and Samantha dealing with the possibility that they may be the last people on the planet (though this soon get shotdown with the arrival of Captain Chakotay of Star Trek Voyager...I mean Robert Beltran) and trying to keep themselves from being eaten by the zombie survivors and being tested upon by shady, secret government scientists.

Night of the Comet won't win any awards even from horror and science-fiction groups, but it will entertain to a point. For those who grew up during the 80's the movie will bring back fond, if painful memories of just how cheesy that decade was in terms of pop culture. Catherine Mary Stewart as Regina would be seen in more cheesy horror flicks of the era. In fact, she pretty much became the PG-13 version of 80's Scream Queen Linnea Quigley. Where Ms. Quigley wasn't against gratuitious nudity and sex in the movies she was in, Ms. Stewart was very chaste and very girl next door in her roles.

Would I recommend this movie to people? Yes, I would but buying the dvd may be more for the hardcore horror and scifi completist since one can easily see Night of the Comet on regular and cable TV. In the end, the movie is a fun romp back through time to a weird and different era. The movie is not great, but it's not bad either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Night Of The Comet (Collector's Edition) [BluRay/DVD Combo] [Blu-ray]
$29.93 $18.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.