Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way of knowing what people used to think of the night.
Excellent book, with beautiful pictures representing the stories. This book describes everyones hidden fears of what goes bump in the night all the way back to the beginning of recorded history.
Published on November 8, 2002 by loktar

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Series written for children.
This series was very entertaining to me as a child. I repurchased some of these books looking to re-experience the thrill. Unfortunately, this series is written poorly - and I can see it entertaining to youngsters - but as an adult the writing lacks depth and is annoying. It almost reads like a dungeons and dragons overview of worlds - than actual short stories or...
Published on June 10, 2011 by M. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way of knowing what people used to think of the night., November 8, 2002
By 
"loktar" (ionia, Mi United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Night Creatures (Enchanted World) (Hardcover)
Excellent book, with beautiful pictures representing the stories. This book describes everyones hidden fears of what goes bump in the night all the way back to the beginning of recorded history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illustrations are wonderful, August 28, 2007
This review is from: Night Creatures (Enchanted World) (Hardcover)
This is a very good book full of information, and stories, I most captivated by the illustrations. A wonderful book to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night Creatures- terrifying but beautiful, December 17, 2010
This review is from: Night Creatures (Enchanted World) (Hardcover)
My family collected the entire Enchanted Worlds series when I was tiny, and I used to spend hours looking at them as a preschooler, and then as an older child. Night Creatures however absolutely terrified me - I first read it as a 4 year old, and still occasionally get flashes of the creature that lived under stairs and grabbed children by the ankle. Very scary! Beautifully illustrated though, and I definitely appreciate the series now that I'm older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - Better than I remembered, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Creatures (Enchanted World) (Hardcover)
The one great thing about the entire line of Time-Life series written around this time is beyond the amazing detail and handling of prose - it may lie in the fact that most of the content is drawn from sources so obscure and novel that the reader would be hard-pressed to find references to such material otherwise. In this case, whereas the story of Grendel and Beowulf is pretty well known, and Dracula besides, the tales of evil trolls, Hecate, cannibalistic wives and demons included here are not so familiar. (These are the stories and perspectives that are now lost on this new generation of supernatural-romance novel fans. There was a time when being a vampire or werewolf was anything but sexy.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have...., January 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Creatures (Enchanted World) (Hardcover)
If you love fantasy, mythology, and folk tales and myths, then these books are for you. The Night Creatures book is amazing. The illustrations are beautiful yet frightening, and the book itself is wonderful! A must have for everyone in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great service...great book, October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Creatures (Enchanted World) (Hardcover)
I've been on the hunt for these books for years and now I almost have the complete set. The book is in great condition and the service was prompt. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old times, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Creatures (Enchanted World) (Hardcover)
Had been looking for this for some time. Family member saw it sitting on book shelf, became freaked out, destroyed book. Will be ordering another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book, October 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Creatures (Enchanted World) (Hardcover)
Very good book very interesting and alot of fun to read a must read book for all occult fans out their
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Read, May 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Creatures (Enchanted World) (Hardcover)
I fell in love with this series while I was in Jr. High. It's a magical set geared toward those who are fascinated with myth, folklore, and story-telling. The book is filled with fascinating stories and delightfull imagery. Some of the volumes I cherish dearly, such as Fairies and Elves, Night Creatures, Ghosts, and Water Spirits. Others are merely okay. Unfortunately the set has begun to disappear from libraries. If you are a lover of myth, folklore, and story-telling then grab this set before it's gone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Night Creatures, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Creatures (Enchanted World) (Hardcover)
Wonderful series for those who love myth and fairytales. Each book in the series is informative and unique and indepth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Night Creatures (Enchanted World)
Night Creatures (Enchanted World) by Time-Life Books (Hardcover - June 1985)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.