Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasing Second Take
Night of the Demons 2 disappointed many people, mostly due to the fact that they seemed to expect something more akin to its predecessor. I don't count myself amongst those individuals, however, because I've come to expect sequels, especially the 1980s horror-based ones, to become more humorous as they progress. Personally, I thought this movie was actually very...
Published on June 17, 2002 by TorridlyBoredShopper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, but still worth the time!
A lot of people think Part 2 is more in vein with Part 1 and also better than Part 3. That couldn't be further from the truth. Although I do enjoy Part 2, it's more like a Freddy Krueger movie with comdey and campy moments meant for audiences who don't really take the B-movie genre seriously. However, there are some great creepy moments, some good characters (and that...
Published on September 16, 2001 by Jerry Beaudin


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasing Second Take, June 17, 2002
By 
TorridlyBoredShopper "T(to the)B(to the)S" ("Daddy Dagon's Daycare" - Proud Sponsor of the Little Tendril Baseball Team, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Night of the Demons 2 disappointed many people, mostly due to the fact that they seemed to expect something more akin to its predecessor. I don't count myself amongst those individuals, however, because I've come to expect sequels, especially the 1980s horror-based ones, to become more humorous as they progress. Personally, I thought this movie was actually very enjoyable, in part because of the return of Hull House and our favorite possession candidate and in part because of the humor involved. Sequels that take themselves too seriously oftentimes fail as frightening follow-ups.
The movie borders around Halloween once more, the only time the demons can truly be a happy-go-luck bringer of evil. Enter a group of kids from St. Rita's Academy that thought it would be fun to have a party at the infamous Hull House, and you have yourself the beginning of a bloodbath. Added into the story are a few new concepts as well, like the question of what would happen if something were carried across the underground stream keeping the world from Hull House, plus the mainstay of victims-a-plenty living the atypical horror movie life.
If you like movies that can provide a good laugh, some gore, nuns throwing down with the forces of evil, and the always acclaimed Angela, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Equally entertaining sequel., February 18, 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Knoxville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Highly enjoyable sequel features another group of teens going back to the same mansion. As before, all hell breaks loose eventually. Played more for laughs, this one's just as fun as its predecessor(though the pacing isn't quite as good as the original)and it has even more gore, nudity, and lesbian kisses (Cristi Harris, yum!)! Steve Johnson's make-up effects are excellent and probably his best work to date.
*** 1/2 out of *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It will scare the hell out of you -again!, September 2, 2002
A Kid's Review
This movie was a little corny than the first.It was about teenagers from st. rita's acadamy that want to throw a party at hull house.Among the teenageers is Angela's sister Milissa(mouse) and wierd things start happening so the teens leave thinking they were safe.Boy were they wrong.One teen brought back lipstick from the house and relised Angela!At a church dance Angela unleashes evil.So a nun a priest and the surviving teens must face Angela and her demon buddies at hull house!This movie had a lot more nudity than the first and It will scare the hell out of you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun if you are a horror fan!, August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Night of the demons 2

"Night of the Demons 2", well first off i should admit that this movie is in no way a masterpiece. If you are new to the genre there are many others you probably should check out before you order this disc. However if you are like me and have been a fan for a long time, dwelling in the cult and b-movie swamp for years, you probably will have a great time with this wacky and wild little movie.

The second "Night of the Demons" is just as fun as the original entry in the trilogy and way better than the disapointing third part. So if you have not seen any of them and you are a fan of the genre you should definitely give the first two a go. They are both highly watchable and you may even end upp loving these movies. They are fun, gory and fast moving films with good production values and even some minor tension pops up from time to time.

This blu-ray release of "Night of the Demons 2" is surprisingly impressive for a movie of this caliber and time. The image quality might not be as beautifull, clear and crisp as when watching a newer movie but with everything concidered this movie looks great and should not only please but impress the viewer who decide to buy this disc.

As for sound, I must admit being more of a picture guy and I do not take much notice of audio quality unless if the audio were to be real useless. so I found it pleasing.

When talking extramaterial there are none that i can remember. But i have heard that there is a rather great commentry track with the director and that is always something.

All and all i highly recommend this movie and release for those who are interested in a cheesy, fun and mildly scary good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i loved it!, January 17, 2000
By A Customer
as far as i can remember this was the last movie of it's kind to make it to the theatres here in new zealand. nowadays, most movies like this go directly to video. that's a shame cuz it's way better & way more fun than "scream", "i know what you did last summer" etc. plus, cristi harris is such a cutie :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars second verse, same as the first. (twang), September 10, 2002
By 
"richmondroller" (Richmond, VA United States) - See all my reviews
I am a fan of the first and I have to say this one stacks up. Okay a lot of people think the second is not as scary or spooky and things of that nature. I agree it's not, but was the first one all that spooky anyway. The Furnace Demon was cheesey. Angela was good. Here we have Angela and yes she's not scary, but I really don't think the movie is meant to be scary, but fun. That it is. While I'll admit it doesn't have the same circle arc as the first one, it still has joyful tounge-in-cheek chuckles. The motif of lipstick, for example, is carried on to this one. My main complaint is NO DVD. I like DVD and I fear this one will be forgotten in the shuffle. Don't let other people sell this movie short. It's good, just know what to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, but still worth the time!, September 16, 2001
By 
Jerry Beaudin (Tecumseh, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
A lot of people think Part 2 is more in vein with Part 1 and also better than Part 3. That couldn't be further from the truth. Although I do enjoy Part 2, it's more like a Freddy Krueger movie with comdey and campy moments meant for audiences who don't really take the B-movie genre seriously. However, there are some great creepy moments, some good characters (and that sais a lot!) and awsome special effects. Better than average sequel, but not as good as Part 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of our favorites, October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night of the Demons 2 (DVD)
My husband and I rented this movie back in college, and loved it. We watch it just about every holiday season. It's corny drive-in style horror, and we loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now this is my kind of film!!!, October 19, 2011
This review is from: Night of the Demons 2 (DVD)
"Night of the Demons 2" brilliantly blends gory, supernatural terror with slapstick comedy for an uproarious knee-slapper of a great film. If you enjoyed the first movie, I'm pretty sure you're gonna love this one too. Also featuring Angela from the first one, this features more great chills and laughs at Hull House. Despite the pacing being a bit slow in some parts, there's so much great stuff to love about this film, it's impossible for me not to give it five stars. We have a bunch of babes bound up in this private Catholic boarding school, a rebellious young schemer that looks like Jason Newsted in his glory days with Metallica, a bunch of gore, some fascinating religious themes tied in. What else? Oh yeah, we have a hot demon girl cage-dancing to Morbid Angel (a fantastic death metal band) at said Catholic boarding school's Halloween party! For those of you that like slapstick comedy, witty one-liners, bloodsoaked horror and supernatural terror, this is the movie for you! Thanks for the time, anad peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I might be too old to enjoy this kind of garbage, November 11, 2014
By 
Merle (Everett, WA USA) - See all my reviews
If you are totally bored and like movies about 30 year old teens fighting some demon from somewhere you might like this one. No humor, no suspense no nothing but if you like that obnoxious official monster demon voice you might like it. The only good point is that I did not detect any creaky voice but that isn't saying much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Night of the Demons 2
Night of the Demons 2 by Brian Trenchard-Smith (DVD - 2007)
$14.98 $9.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.