Customer Reviews

9
3.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2012
Format: Mass Market PaperbackVerified Purchase
My head is literally pounding as I finish this book. As the other reviews indicate, this book has little basis in reality. However, a vast majority of Harlequins are not based in reality, they are pure escapism, so I was not as bothered by the lack of reality in the book. It is fictional. What bothered me most of all were the many holes within the storyline and the one-dimensionality of the characters in the book, especially our hero & heroine, Alessandro and Lilley.

"A Night of Living Dangerously" starts out well enough. Lilley has a boyfriend, and she is hoping their relationship will deepen into a deeper commitment. She also has weight, self-esteem and body image issues (the trifecta of female neuroses), mostly caused by her unsupportive, wealthy, dictatorial father, so she decides to do something about her weight issues and starts an exercise routine, and takes up jogging. Lilley realizes in her very first venture into jogging that she stinks at it, and that jogging is not for her. She decides to go home early, and, unfortunately, catches her erstwhile boyfriend in "the act", in bed with her best friend/roommate. Devastated, she rushes out of the apartment and decides to lick her wounds at work. She goes into the office (where she works as a file clerk) to finish the work she left behind at the end of the day earlier that day. Lilley has dyslexia, which makes her job as a file clerk extremely challenging, and causes her to do her work much slower than the other file clerks at the company. She begins crying while she is filing, which makes a difficult job even more difficult. She hears a man enter the office and she decides to hide in a closet until he leaves. She just wants to get over her pain in peace and quiet, completing the work she has left. She also can't face going back to her apartment again after seeing what she saw.

Our hero, Prince Alessandro Caetani, head of a multi-national conglomerate, is the man who entered into the office. He suspects he is not alone in the office and starts to investigate who is there with him. He finally finds Lilley hiding in the closet and immediately accuses her of espionage. He also realizes that he recognizes her. She's the new employee he has seen in the hallways. She had piqued his interest because she dressed in baggy clothes and no make-up, and every time she saw him she always rushed away in the other direction away from him. He notices she's been crying and finds a soft spot in his heart for her. He loves the bodacious curves of Lilley's body, and immediately falls in lust with her. He asks her why she is there in his office hiding, and she eventually spills her story to him about her boyfriend cheating on her. Said boyfriend and her roommate also work at Caetani Interntional. Alessandro is miffed at his own girlfriend that particular night. He has just shown his girlfriend - the perfect, world-reknowned beauty, Olivia Bianchi - the door when Olivia gives him an ultimatum of propose to her that night, or else. He chooses "or else" and walks away from her. Problem is, he and Olivia were scheduled to attend a very important charity ball that Alessandro's company is supporting and now he doesn't have a date to the ball. He offers to turn our mousey heroine, Lilley, into Cinderella, and offers to take her to the ball. He will provide the dress and makeover, he tells her. All she has to do is say yes. He convinces her that showing up at the ball with Alessandro will kill two birds with one stone: he will sock it to his lover, Olivia, letting her know never to give him an ultimatum ever again, something that he hates with a passion; and it will give Lilley the opportunity to send her boyfriend & her roommate into fits of jealousy at Lilley having hit the jackpot dating a Prince/multi-billionaire and being publically acknowledged as Alessandro's latest conquest to the paparazzi and the world. Lilley reluctantly accepts his offer. Alessandro also comes with baggage, however. He has deep, deep, deep, deep, deep trust issues which has hardened him and made him have a disdainful, cynical, distrustful attitude toward all women and toward love in all forms. Alessandro is honest, though, and warns Lilley not to fall in love with him. This is a one-night proposition only, he tells her. The next day they will go back to being only boss and file clerk again. He will not even acknowledge he knows her. She still agrees to go to the ball with him. So far, the book has been enjoyable, if a little far-fetched.

However, the charity ball is where this story starts to seriously jump the shark. Alessandro's lust for Lilley grows to enormous bounds after he sees her fresh from her makeover. He thinks she is the most beautiful woman he has ever seen and is obsessed with bedding her. Lilley is a hit at the ball. She realises she's in lust with Alessandro as well. She starts revealing more of herself to him. She tells him about her dream of starting her own jewelry design business, that she lacks money, faith, and enough courage in herself and her abilities to make her dreams happen. She acknowledges she wasn't really in love with her boyfriend, she just needed his financial support to get her jewelry business going. Alessandro appreciates her honesty. He tries to bolster her by telling her he believes she can be a success in her business, which was a nice touch, I thought, in the book. Lilley still has deep, deep, deep self-esteem issues though, and remains unconvinced.

Their mutual lust becomes too much for both Alessandro and Lilley, and they go off to his vineyard to have a two day affair. The sex is heated and rampant between them. These two mate like bunnies at the drop of a hat all over the house, in every position. In two days, they make love a total of at least 14 times. Lilley is a virgin, but obviously learns very quickly at the tutelage of the Prince. They have protected sex every time, except one time. Of course, Lilley comes up pregnant, but she has already been ruthlessly dumped by Alessandro for at least a month by the time she finds out she's going to have his baby.

Alessandro started out in the book trying to empower Lilley in a kind of back-handed way, but as the sex begins and continues between them, Alessandro grows more and more distateful to reader as he starts to view Lilley as only a sex object. He begins to boss her around, begins telling her what to do, what to think, belittles her choices. He believes the only way to be kind to her is to be cruel to her, and dump her before she can profess her love for him. He goes back to his perfect, world-reknowned beauty of a lover, Olivia (who is an ugly viper in reality), and plans to marry her. He's still obsessed with all of the sex he had with Lilley, though, and can't get her out of his mind. Lilley shows up one day as he is about to propose to Olivia, and tells him she is pregnant. Lilley allows herself to be treated like a doormat in this scene, then further allows herself to be seduced against a garden wall in a driving rainstorm by said hero. As their relationship continues, Alessandro tells Lilley he is ashamed to show her to his friends (whom he readily acknowledges are fake, phony, false "friends" of his, and not worthy of his time or friendship); that he does not consider Lilley to be the brightest bulb in the world; he tells her she is to sit at home and wait for him to come home at night, then become his love slave each night on command; she is not allowed to do any kind of work, not even work on her jewelry business; the man even chooses each and every one of Lilley's outfits each day! Lilley is not allowed to choose her own clothes because she would embarrass him if she made the choices on what to wear. Lilley has become a wimpy doormat in every aspect of her life, and you wonder to yourself why does she even love this man? Yeah, I know, he is quite astronomically well-endowed, and the endless sex is beyond incredible, but come on!! No sex is so incredible that you give up your entire self-worth just to make sure you continue to get it. Lilley calls what she has with Alessandro "love". I call it heave-worthy. I also don't understand why a man as accomplished as Alessandro supposedly is, would want a woman he obviously has no admiration or regard for other than the fact that she is a virgin (therefore he believes her honesty is above reproach and that he can trust her); and that Lilley has, by Alessandro's own admission, given him the best sex of his entire life.

Lilley & Alessandro also have sex at least three times a day, every single day. They stay in bed all day, every day, except when they go to dinner parties, balls or change locations and make love in the pool. - LOL. All the while, Alessandro is throwing up walls against Lilley, and bossing her around endlessly. Lilley allows Alessandro to dictate the entire terms of their relationship every step of the way. Lilley's cow-towability made my head hurt, literally. I went in search of aspirin around page 160. I had had enough. - LOL.

The ending of the story was really abrupt and VERY cobbled together, introducing us to four new characters at the end of the book, and the re-introduction of the dreaded ex-mistress, Olivia. Its loose ends were tied up in the end, but it still felt like a total mess to the reader, and vaguely unsatisfying, although we do have a "happily-ever-after" ending, as you should in a Harlequin Presents book.

This book had the potential to be a much better book. It wound up being a huge disappointment instead. I prefer my heroines to have self-esteem, smarts and backbone. Lilley had a lot of good qualities about her, her open heart being chief among them, but her lack of self-worth was simply appalling. Alessandro had the potential to be a great hero, but he was almost irredeemable by the time the author decided to redeem him at the end of the book.

This is the second book I have purchased by Jennie Lucas. I'm going to hesitate before buying another one by her because I have had problems rooting for the characters in her books, especially the women in her books. Ms. Lucas, please start making your female characters without HUGE self-esteem issues. Give us more heroines and heroes we can empathize with & cheer for. To those who wish to purchase "A Night of Living Dangerously", proceed with caution. You may like the book, you may not. You be the judge. For me, I could have done without the disappointment or the headache this book created in reading it and wish someone had warned me about both issues in the book before I purchased it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on February 28, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
This is the story of Lilley Smith estranged from her family, she is a filing clerk for Caetani industries, a worldwide clongomerate owned and run by Prince Alessandro Caetani, business man, and playboy. Lilley is having a bad day after catching her boyfriend in bed with her best friend. Lilley is a mousey little thing she pushes her metal filing trolley scurrying around the office corridors trying to be invisible wearing her baggy clothes. Hiding her voluptuous body, that she believes is plump. Lilley is working late she is a lot slower than the other filing clerks due to her dyslexia and likes to catch up on her work. When Lilley hears someone coming and not wanting to be caught working late and crying at the same time she hides in an office. But she has hidden in Prince Alessandros office and he finds her, demanding to know what she is doing there. Lilley finds herself telling him about her boyfriend and and her best friend. Alessandros who is on his way to a charity ball, insists that Lilley will attend as his partner, whisking her to a boutique and beauty salon. Just like Cinderella, once out of her baggy clothes and dressed in a sexy clingy dress Alessandro can hardly control his lust, he has had many women so many he cannot put a number of how many. But none have ever driven him mad with desire like this little mousey virgin. He wants to have one night with her, but there are conditions Lilley must be aware that it will only be one night then he will never see her again. Lilley who is so enamoured with Alessandros beauty, he is tall dark muscular with thighs like tree trunks (that's the authors description) finds she cannot resist and agrees. When she sees him naked her first ever sight of a naked man, we got the usual response "oh he's so big will he fit" oh please!
what a hoot this book is I am so glad I read this, it's like a modern fairy tale, Lilley the heroine had always dreamed that a white knight in shining armour would sweep her off her feet. She is so so sweet and good without a bad bone in her body,a few times I felt like slapping her. while Alessandro is a ruthless playboy, who tells Lilley women always say yes to everything with him. He is a real arrogant jerk.
Of course things don't go quite as planned, and Alessando is forced to deal with Lilley on a more permanent basis. The ending of this made me laugh it was brilliant and totally unbelievable. This is so unreal I loved it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Lilley doesn't exactly work hard at seeing her dreams come true. She seems to be slightly....well...mousey. She hides and doesn't draw attention to herself, just existing and never really putting for the effort in realizing her dreams. Prince Alessandro Caetanie, is Lilley's boss and he does notice her. He has just been issued an ultimatum by his latest squeeze who believes that he will play for keeps w/ her. He won't, but he finds that he can show her by moving on w/ Lilley his employee at the ball. He laid it all out for Lilley not really hiding anything: one night, no strings, and then back to everyday life - her being a little mouse and he being the big cat on the premises! He offers her a way to pay back her cheating BF and roommate as well. Lilley grasps it but she shows her true colors to Alessandro at the ball - however like usual the H doesn't understand it until much later.

Lilley has some secrets that she has kept for good cause and when they come home to roost they destroy the relationship that Lilley and Alessandro had been building creating some great old fashion drama and angst in this story! Yes, Alessandro can be a horse's bum in many instances in this story, but she wasn't exactly upfront either. If she had been.....well they might not have met! You can see the ammunition for the set-up right when it happens, you see his feelings for Lilley developing and his act of revenge on her behalf at one point (which makes me wonder if he got his revenge on the real villain of this piece later). He knows that Lilley is forgiving but he is not so why wouldn't he seek revenge later?

Because of his past Alessandro can't trust people but he gave his trust to Lilley until the ex-mistress plays up her secrets and all is revealed at their party. He humiliates Lilley in front of all these people - his friends who didn't seem to approve of her anyway and then Lilley is ceremoniously kicked to the curb. Before getting the heck out of dodge though, she stands up one last time to him. Of course, Alessandro finds out the truth and then he makes a marvelous effort to attain Lilley once again.

It would appear that Alessandro had reverted to what he knew, and that is why he believed the worst of Lilley despite the other evidence that she had shown him over the course of their relationship.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on February 3, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
This was a very silly book. I don't mean any disrespect to the author; this is the first book I've ever read by her and I don't know anything about her. But while the mechanics of the writing in this book were fine, the plot read like it was written by a teenage girl, for teenage girls. It's all so cliched, contrived and unbelievable that it reads like fan fiction for wallflowers.

First, we've got Lilley, a painfully shy girl who considers herself fat and ugly. She wears baggy clothes to hide her "fat" body and doesn't know anything about fashion or makeup. She's also a timid little mouse with no backbone and a virgin with no sexual wiles to speak of. Basically, there's nothing about her that would ever make a man look twice. And yet the handsome prince (yes, a literal prince) finds her inexplicably attractive and irresistible to the point where he decides to break all his own rules regarding dating employees and virgins and whisks her off for a steamy, sex-filled weekend at his fabulous estate. And despite her lack of experience, she's the best sex he's ever had and he just can't get enough of her. Throw in the Evil Other Woman, an unexpected pregnancy, and a Big Misunderstanding caused by the tried and true "I have something really important to tell you," "Don't bother, I already know what it is." "Oh you do? In that case, I won't ever say what it is to double-check that we're talking about the same thing so that later on when it turns out we're not, it can cause a huge problem for our relationship" method, and I think that covers about half of the giant book of cliches!

Like I said, it was a rather silly book that fell heavily into the realm of "fairy tale" rather than modern romance because nothing about it rang true for the real world. If that's the kind of story you like then you'll love this book. Me, I prefer my heroines to have a little backbone, so I struggled to relate to our wide-eyed virgin turned princess. Her behavior was so naive, self-defeating and contradictory that I just couldn't be on her side.

I won't run through the plot of the book since other reviews have already done that. I'll just hit the highlights of things that bugged me.

<Spoiler Alert>

To begin with, Lilley's dream is supposedly to start a jewelry design business. She even has a business partner lined up at the beginning of the story who believes in her ability and is ready and willing to guide her through the process of getting started.....and she repeatedly blows him off because she's too scared to actually pursue her dream. She delays long enough that the guy (her boyfriend) eventually gets fed up and leaves, taking her "dream" plans with him. By her own admission she's a coward who lives in fear of doing anything in life. So really, her dream was going nowhere fast. And yet, when she agrees to marry Alessandro and he says that she won't need to worry about working now that she's his multi-billionaire princess, she gets all bent out of shape like he's pulled a fast one on her. Oh grow up. It would have been one thing if she already had a business she'd worked hard to build and he tried to make her give it up, but she doesn't. All she's got is months of missed opportunities and a vague idea that "someday" she'll totally start that business...really...it's gonna happen!

Next on my list is the sexy weekend Lilley and Alessandro spent together. She was a virgin at the start of it and yet had sex multiple times back to back in the first few hours with no soreness at all. Yeah right. Then they proceed to sleep together over a dozen times in a 48-hour period and we're expected to believe that they used a condom every single time except the one time in the shower. Yeah, not buying it. Not when, for example, it was described that they chased each other naked through the house before tumbling to the floor and having sex on the hallway carpet. So, are we supposed to assume that Alessandro keeps condoms tucked under the hall rug? Get out of here with that nonsense.

Then we move on to Lilley's complete refusal to acknowledge the reality of the world we live in. A month after their sexy weekend, Alessandro still can't stop thinking about Lilley, but knows they have no future together. He's stayed out of the country so far, but now he has to return to work and he knows that if he sees her at the office day in and day out, it won't be long before he succumbs to his insatiable desire for her. Since that can only lead to heartache for Lilley, he decides to send her away. He has her fired but arranges for her to get a great job making twice as much apprenticing under a jewelry designer in New York. In short, he does more to further her dream in one day than she's done in her whole life. In the mean time, he's decided he needs to settle down and marry the skinny, soulless heiress he'd been dating before Lilley because on paper she'll make him the ideal wife. Coincidentally, on the same day Lilley gets fired, she also figures out that she's pregnant and runs over to tell him about it. He does the honorable thing and proposes to her.

Before Lilley will agree to marry him, she makes a huge deal about how Alessandro can never ask her for a paternity test because she refuses to live in a marriage without trust. I found this to be childish and unrealistic and guaranteed to caused suspicion. I mean, any even semi-educated woman in the 21st century would realize that rich and famous men are often plagued by women claiming they are the baby-daddy to some kid in the hopes of a payoff or a ring. Not to mention that it was AWFULLY coincidental that Lilley just HAPPENED to figure out she was pregnant on the day Alessandro was taking steps to banish her from his life and marry another woman. That's a pretty darn suspicious set of circumstances if you're Alessandro. And honestly, he and Lilley knew nothing about each other. They had one weekend that was mostly filled with sex, not talking or getting to know each other. He really doesn't have any reason to trust her, and she doesn't have any right to expect him to take her word as gospel. But that's what she expects because she's just so gosh darn wholesome and good that he should never doubt her!

Oh, except for the fact that she's been lying and misrepresenting herself from the start. She's the daughter and cousin of Alessandro's two biggest business rivals. It goes beyond a boardroom rivalry to an out-and-out hatred between the families. She's estranged from her family but she knows that Alessandro would be pissed if he found out. Heck, she even lied about her identity on her resume when she applied to his company because she knew they'd never hire her if they realized who she was. In Lilley's defense, she did make a very slight attempt to tell Alessandro who she was before the wedding, but it was the cliched Big Misunderstanding scenario I described above. She says she has to tell him something, he says he already knows. And, despite all of Alessandro's previous comments indicating that he thinks her father is a small-town farmer, she chooses to believe that he has since figured out who she is and that he's totally fine with it. That's ridiculous. It's so hard to swallow that she could actually be stupid enough to believe this, that it starts to border on deliberate self-delusion. Anybody with half a brain who was supposedly as good and wholesome as she likes to think she is, would have made DAMN sure they were clear on this point before getting hitched.

And then, months later when she realizes that Alessandro doesn't know about her family, she makes a deliberate and conscious decision not to tell him the truth because he's finally started opening up to her. She feels that it will destroy his trust to find out that she's been unknowingly lying to him all this time....so she decides that the best course of action is to DELIBERATELY lie to him for many more weeks. She swears to herself that she'll tell him the truth eventually. Some magical day in the future, after their relationship has reached firmer ground. Even if this wasn't a romance novel where that decision was guaranteed to come back to bite her, just common sense tells you it's a bad idea. She's a princess now. In the public eye. And her family is not only famous, but they're famous for their rivalry with her husband. It's a miracle that she hasn't been found out already, courtesy of some go-getting Paparazzo. This information was BOUND to come out at some point, so she really, really should have just come clean the minute she realized Alessandro didn't know. She had her excuse for why she hadn't told him up to that point all ready. It would have been a tough conversation, but she would have had justification. Keeping quiet for five more weeks about it? No, that's not justified.

Of course it all comes out and Lilley is completely shocked that Alessandro doesn't trust her anymore. Um, news flash, you just broke his trust by knowingly keeping this from him. You don't get to climb up on your high-horse like you're the aggrieved party. Given all the convenient coincidences and circumstances surrounding their relationship, and Lilley's insistence that he never run a paternity test on their child, Alessandro would have to be an idiot not to wonder if she hadn't been playing him from the start. She'd lied and falsified her resume in order to get a job in his company. Then he'd found her poking around his office after hours. He tries to let her go without sleeping with her, but she insists they get together. Then they're apart for a month and on the very day he tries to send her away, she turns up pregnant with a child she claims is his, but insists that he never actually double-check that fact because she's so trustworthy...except it turns out that she isn't. She's been keeping a major secret from him all along. Based on all that, I don't think Lilley has a right to get all bent out of shape when Alessandro doesn't just take her word for it that the baby is his and she's innocent of the corporate espionage he accuses her of.

Of course, because this is a fairy tale romance novel, we as the reader are supposed to 100% sympathize with poor, innocent Lilley. She made one "little white lie" and that bastard Alessandro had the nerve to turn on her! The only thing that could possibly salvage things is for him to make a complete and utter fool of himself trying to win her back. I won't say what he does but my eyes were rolling so hard that it started to give me a headache. Grand gestures of foolish things are not what a solid marriage is built on. These two idiots needed to sit down and actually get to know each other before they got any further into things. Talk out their issues and set some ground rules for the rest of the relationship. The ending leads us to believe that Alessandro basically gave Lilley everything she wanted from that point on and that that was the correct thing. Their HEA is him acquiescing to anything she wants as long as she'll agree to take him back. That's not any healthier than the first few months of their marriage where Lilley was miserable and Alessandro clueless.

Speaking of Alessandro, he was just okay as the hero. I didn't find him to be nearly as overbearing and heartless as some of the other reviewers seem to. Yes, he picked out Lilley's clothes when they were first married and he insisted she take deportment and Italian lessons before introducing her to his set. I can see why a lot of people took this as him trying to control her and mold her into something she's not and normally I'd be all over a guy who tried to do this to a heroine.....except that it's all for Lilley's protection. She's given ample evidence that she is in no way ready to handle life as a princess. How could she be? It's a completely different world from what she's known. She doesn't know how to dress herself or interact with people at that level. And she's painfully shy and can't speak the language. Plus she's an overnight celebrity, the new princess of the famous playboy Alessandro. Every time she steps out of her house she'll be getting photographed and the tabloids will rip her to shreds for the slightest little thing. Basically, Lilley was a lamb being led to slaughter. If I was her, I'd have wanted all the darn help I could get learning how to dress and behave appropriately before I had to go in front of that vicious pack of wolves. Alessandro wasn't being overbearing or condescending by getting her those lessons; he was protecting her from the very real danger she'd be facing as his new wife.

I do agree that he should have done a better job helping her with his nasty friends. He seemed completely oblivious to how poorly they were treating his country bumpkin wife and there's really no excuse for that. Especially since he knew going in that they would be very judgmental of her. He should have been by her side both physically and metaphorically right from the start to show them that he wouldn't tolerate any negativity towards her. The fact that he basically ignored her at dinner while laughing it up in another language with his "friends" made her even more of a target than she already was. Plus it made me think less of him as a person that he happily consorted with those kinds of shallow, catty snobs. Usually in romance novels the rich heroes are shown to despise that kind of artificiality, but Alessandro was quite comfortable with it.

Also, it was inexcusable that he confronted Lilley about her family right in front of a room full of party guests, servants and members of the press. Considering that Alessandro had a pathological dislike of looking foolish, it's hard to believe that he chose to make such a scene in front of everyone. It also makes me wonder what the rest of their lives were like. After Alessandro very publicly questioned whether the baby was his and Lilley came right out and said that she'd slept with someone else (meaning Alessandro was a different person now compared to the suave prince she'd slept with on that sexy weekend), it's hard to imagine they'd EVER live down the scandal. His foolish grand gestures at the end might have won Lilley over, but the press wouldn't care about (or know about) any of that. So you have to assume that no matter how loving a couple they appeared to be from that point on, the tabloids would continue to bring up the question of the baby's paternity and question Lilley's fidelity for decades to come. But, of course, we're not supposed to think about that because this is a fairy tale and they have to live happily ever after.

Like I said it was an unbelievable story and if it hadn't been for all the sex, I'd have thought it was meant to be YA fiction. The moral of the story just seems more geared for young girls with an unrealistic view of the world. The shy, introverted, inexperienced girl who is too afraid of life to actually do anything somehow attracts a literal prince through no effort on her part whatsoever. He's inexplicably infatuated with her and she turns out to be amazing in bed, despite her lack of experience. All the skinny girls in the story are catty, evil bitches who get their comeuppance for being mean to her. And at the end she gets to live happily ever after as a princess with the perfect family, her dream job (which basically fell into her lap), and billions of dollars. And she gets it all by just being a good person (except for the lying) and sitting around waiting for everyone to realize it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on January 11, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
This is a series romance book that is just....well....HOT! The characters are Lilley Smith, former heir to a company that competes with the one she currently works for...and yes - her boss Prince Alessandro Caetani who is quite the hothead.

The book starts out with him finding her hiding in his office closet trying not to let anyone see her crying. He pulls all the information out of her for why she is upset and asks her to be his date - that night!

The very pages sizzle as you can tell the Prince cannot resist Lilley, even though he sure is trying at first. He has big plans and she does not fit into them. There are a lot of misunderstandings... this book reminded me of the good ole traditional Harlequin Romances from back in the day. Very solid story - very alpha male.

Lilley is actually a breath of fresh air in the fact that she does not take much from the Prince and lets him know when he makes her mad! She has plans for her future too, and being his baby mama was not it.

The sparks are off the charts... I am talking OFF the charts! They cannot help but kiss and touch each other at every opportunity and even though he tells her not to fall for him it is a case of famous last words. She falls - and quickly!

I was proud of where the story went and how we see a humbled man come after his wife. I hope I am not spoiling this for you by telling you this. He has to work hard to win her back and we see a real man underneath the arrogant Prince.

I am not big on royal stories but this one felt real and honest and the emotions were at the surface for all of us to read and see. I thought the author portrayed the characters like real people with real problems and I actually liked the turnout for this book. It would make a great TV movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on May 21, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Who would want to go to a ball with the richest, most handsome man in town? I would, and even more so if I just found my boyfriend in bed with my best friend.

I was swept away by this story and loved every minute of it. I wanted to be Lilley. I wanted to wear a beautiful gown and be taken off to Napa for a weekend for some rocking hot sex. And, I wanted to have her kindness, her courage and her taste.

If you enjoy I-can't-put-it-down books and are looking for a pleasant escape from "OMG did the car registration expire last month?!", this is a book for you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on October 16, 2014
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This book makes no sense at all! The heroine was plain confusing. One minute she's strong and froward saying what she wants, the famous, I can't tell him/I'll tell him later! How silly. The same old story with the same old ignorant hero, and childish pregnant heroine! Everybody's superficial and dumb!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 17, 2012
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Before buying this book, I read the reviews and all I got was that it was improbable world - which it is. But I didn't really have any problem with that. What I did have a problem with was that the characters were one dimensional. I kept waiting for the rest of their personalities to appear and they never did! The ending seemed forced to me - kind of well it had to end so lets just glue things together. I really feel that strong character development can make a mediocre story shine and that weak character development can make a strong story line forgettable. This story didn't have the either character development or strong story line.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on May 8, 2012
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
If you like fairytales and camp this book is for you. This is the 2nd book I've bought by this author and it will be the last. The reason I read HQP is for the escapism HOWEVER we live in a very real world and this book is not set in a real world.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Passionate Scandal (Harlequin Presents Plus, No 1695)
Passionate Scandal (Harlequin Presents Plus, No 1695) by Michelle Reid (Mass Market Paperback - October 1, 1994)

Loving
Loving by Penny Jordan (Paperback - April 1, 1988)
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.