Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMPLAUSIBLE PLOT, BUT UNPUTDOWNABLE
This is the story of Lilley Smith estranged from her family, she is a filing clerk for Caetani industries, a worldwide clongomerate owned and run by Prince Alessandro Caetani, business man, and playboy. Lilley is having a bad day after catching her boyfriend in bed with her best friend. Lilley is a mousey little thing she pushes her metal filing trolley scurrying around...
Published on February 28, 2012 by L. Sims

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Book Gave Me A Headache......
My head is literally pounding as I finish this book. As the other reviews indicate, this book has little basis in reality. However, a vast majority of Harlequins are not based in reality, they are pure escapism, so I was not as bothered by the lack of reality in the book. It is fictional. What bothered me most of all were the many holes within the storyline and the...
Published 24 months ago by Classy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMPLAUSIBLE PLOT, BUT UNPUTDOWNABLE, February 28, 2012
This is the story of Lilley Smith estranged from her family, she is a filing clerk for Caetani industries, a worldwide clongomerate owned and run by Prince Alessandro Caetani, business man, and playboy. Lilley is having a bad day after catching her boyfriend in bed with her best friend. Lilley is a mousey little thing she pushes her metal filing trolley scurrying around the office corridors trying to be invisible wearing her baggy clothes. Hiding her voluptuous body, that she believes is plump. Lilley is working late she is a lot slower than the other filing clerks due to her dyslexia and likes to catch up on her work. When Lilley hears someone coming and not wanting to be caught working late and crying at the same time she hides in an office. But she has hidden in Prince Alessandros office and he finds her, demanding to know what she is doing there. Lilley finds herself telling him about her boyfriend and and her best friend. Alessandros who is on his way to a charity ball, insists that Lilley will attend as his partner, whisking her to a boutique and beauty salon. Just like Cinderella, once out of her baggy clothes and dressed in a sexy clingy dress Alessandro can hardly control his lust, he has had many women so many he cannot put a number of how many. But none have ever driven him mad with desire like this little mousey virgin. He wants to have one night with her, but there are conditions Lilley must be aware that it will only be one night then he will never see her again. Lilley who is so enamoured with Alessandros beauty, he is tall dark muscular with thighs like tree trunks (that's the authors description) finds she cannot resist and agrees. When she sees him naked her first ever sight of a naked man, we got the usual response "oh he's so big will he fit" oh please!
what a hoot this book is I am so glad I read this, it's like a modern fairy tale, Lilley the heroine had always dreamed that a white knight in shining armour would sweep her off her feet. She is so so sweet and good without a bad bone in her body,a few times I felt like slapping her. while Alessandro is a ruthless playboy, who tells Lilley women always say yes to everything with him. He is a real arrogant jerk.
Of course things don't go quite as planned, and Alessando is forced to deal with Lilley on a more permanent basis. The ending of this made me laugh it was brilliant and totally unbelievable. This is so unreal I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Book Gave Me A Headache......, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Night of Living Dangerously (Mass Market Paperback)
My head is literally pounding as I finish this book. As the other reviews indicate, this book has little basis in reality. However, a vast majority of Harlequins are not based in reality, they are pure escapism, so I was not as bothered by the lack of reality in the book. It is fictional. What bothered me most of all were the many holes within the storyline and the one-dimensionality of the characters in the book, especially our hero & heroine, Alessandro and Lilley.

"A Night of Living Dangerously" starts out well enough. Lilley has a boyfriend, and she is hoping their relationship will deepen into a deeper commitment. She also has weight, self-esteem and body image issues (the trifecta of female neuroses), mostly caused by her unsupportive, wealthy, dictatorial father, so she decides to do something about her weight issues and starts an exercise routine, and takes up jogging. Lilley realizes in her very first venture into jogging that she stinks at it, and that jogging is not for her. She decides to go home early, and, unfortunately, catches her erstwhile boyfriend in "the act", in bed with her best friend/roommate. Devastated, she rushes out of the apartment and decides to lick her wounds at work. She goes into the office (where she works as a file clerk) to finish the work she left behind at the end of the day earlier that day. Lilley has dyslexia, which makes her job as a file clerk extremely challenging, and causes her to do her work much slower than the other file clerks at the company. She begins crying while she is filing, which makes a difficult job even more difficult. She hears a man enter the office and she decides to hide in a closet until he leaves. She just wants to get over her pain in peace and quiet, completing the work she has left. She also can't face going back to her apartment again after seeing what she saw.

Our hero, Prince Alessandro Caetani, head of a multi-national conglomerate, is the man who entered into the office. He suspects he is not alone in the office and starts to investigate who is there with him. He finally finds Lilley hiding in the closet and immediately accuses her of espionage. He also realizes that he recognizes her. She's the new employee he has seen in the hallways. She had piqued his interest because she dressed in baggy clothes and no make-up, and every time she saw him she always rushed away in the other direction away from him. He notices she's been crying and finds a soft spot in his heart for her. He loves the bodacious curves of Lilley's body, and immediately falls in lust with her. He asks her why she is there in his office hiding, and she eventually spills her story to him about her boyfriend cheating on her. Said boyfriend and her roommate also work at Caetani Interntional. Alessandro is miffed at his own girlfriend that particular night. He has just shown his girlfriend - the perfect, world-reknowned beauty, Olivia Bianchi - the door when Olivia gives him an ultimatum of propose to her that night, or else. He chooses "or else" and walks away from her. Problem is, he and Olivia were scheduled to attend a very important charity ball that Alessandro's company is supporting and now he doesn't have a date to the ball. He offers to turn our mousey heroine, Lilley, into Cinderella, and offers to take her to the ball. He will provide the dress and makeover, he tells her. All she has to do is say yes. He convinces her that showing up at the ball with Alessandro will kill two birds with one stone: he will sock it to his lover, Olivia, letting her know never to give him an ultimatum ever again, something that he hates with a passion; and it will give Lilley the opportunity to send her boyfriend & her roommate into fits of jealousy at Lilley having hit the jackpot dating a Prince/multi-billionaire and being publically acknowledged as Alessandro's latest conquest to the paparazzi and the world. Lilley reluctantly accepts his offer. Alessandro also comes with baggage, however. He has deep, deep, deep, deep, deep trust issues which has hardened him and made him have a disdainful, cynical, distrustful attitude toward all women and toward love in all forms. Alessandro is honest, though, and warns Lilley not to fall in love with him. This is a one-night proposition only, he tells her. The next day they will go back to being only boss and file clerk again. He will not even acknowledge he knows her. She still agrees to go to the ball with him. So far, the book has been enjoyable, if a little far-fetched.

However, the charity ball is where this story starts to seriously jump the shark. Alessandro's lust for Lilley grows to enormous bounds after he sees her fresh from her makeover. He thinks she is the most beautiful woman he has ever seen and is obsessed with bedding her. Lilley is a hit at the ball. She realises she's in lust with Alessandro as well. She starts revealing more of herself to him. She tells him about her dream of starting her own jewelry design business, that she lacks money, faith, and enough courage in herself and her abilities to make her dreams happen. She acknowledges she wasn't really in love with her boyfriend, she just needed his financial support to get her jewelry business going. Alessandro appreciates her honesty. He tries to bolster her by telling her he believes she can be a success in her business, which was a nice touch, I thought, in the book. Lilley still has deep, deep, deep self-esteem issues though, and remains unconvinced.

Their mutual lust becomes too much for both Alessandro and Lilley, and they go off to his vineyard to have a two day affair. The sex is heated and rampant between them. These two mate like bunnies at the drop of a hat all over the house, in every position. In two days, they make love a total of at least 14 times. Lilley is a virgin, but obviously learns very quickly at the tutelage of the Prince. They have protected sex every time, except one time. Of course, Lilley comes up pregnant, but she has already been ruthlessly dumped by Alessandro for at least a month by the time she finds out she's going to have his baby.

Alessandro started out in the book trying to empower Lilley in a kind of back-handed way, but as the sex begins and continues between them, Alessandro grows more and more distateful to reader as he starts to view Lilley as only a sex object. He begins to boss her around, begins telling her what to do, what to think, belittles her choices. He believes the only way to be kind to her is to be cruel to her, and dump her before she can profess her love for him. He goes back to his perfect, world-reknowned beauty of a lover, Olivia (who is an ugly viper in reality), and plans to marry her. He's still obsessed with all of the sex he had with Lilley, though, and can't get her out of his mind. Lilley shows up one day as he is about to propose to Olivia, and tells him she is pregnant. Lilley allows herself to be treated like a doormat in this scene, then further allows herself to be seduced against a garden wall in a driving rainstorm by said hero. As their relationship continues, Alessandro tells Lilley he is ashamed to show her to his friends (whom he readily acknowledges are fake, phony, false "friends" of his, and not worthy of his time or friendship); that he does not consider Lilley to be the brightest bulb in the world; he tells her she is to sit at home and wait for him to come home at night, then become his love slave each night on command; she is not allowed to do any kind of work, not even work on her jewelry business; the man even chooses each and every one of Lilley's outfits each day! Lilley is not allowed to choose her own clothes because she would embarrass him if she made the choices on what to wear. Lilley has become a wimpy doormat in every aspect of her life, and you wonder to yourself why does she even love this man? Yeah, I know, he is quite astronomically well-endowed, and the endless sex is beyond incredible, but come on!! No sex is so incredible that you give up your entire self-worth just to make sure you continue to get it. Lilley calls what she has with Alessandro "love". I call it heave-worthy. I also don't understand why a man as accomplished as Alessandro supposedly is, would want a woman he obviously has no admiration or regard for other than the fact that she is a virgin (therefore he believes her honesty is above reproach and that he can trust her); and that Lilley has, by Alessandro's own admission, given him the best sex of his entire life.

Lilley & Alessandro also have sex at least three times a day, every single day. They stay in bed all day, every day, except when they go to dinner parties, balls or change locations and make love in the pool. - LOL. All the while, Alessandro is throwing up walls against Lilley, and bossing her around endlessly. Lilley allows Alessandro to dictate the entire terms of their relationship every step of the way. Lilley's cow-towability made my head hurt, literally. I went in search of aspirin around page 160. I had had enough. - LOL.

The ending of the story was really abrupt and VERY cobbled together, introducing us to four new characters at the end of the book, and the re-introduction of the dreaded ex-mistress, Olivia. Its loose ends were tied up in the end, but it still felt like a total mess to the reader, and vaguely unsatisfying, although we do have a "happily-ever-after" ending, as you should in a Harlequin Presents book.

This book had the potential to be a much better book. It wound up being a huge disappointment instead. I prefer my heroines to have self-esteem, smarts and backbone. Lilley had a lot of good qualities about her, her open heart being chief among them, but her lack of self-worth was simply appalling. Alessandro had the potential to be a great hero, but he was almost irredeemable by the time the author decided to redeem him at the end of the book.

This is the second book I have purchased by Jennie Lucas. I'm going to hesitate before buying another one by her because I have had problems rooting for the characters in her books, especially the women in her books. Ms. Lucas, please start making your female characters without HUGE self-esteem issues. Give us more heroines and heroes we can empathize with & cheer for. To those who wish to purchase "A Night of Living Dangerously", proceed with caution. You may like the book, you may not. You be the judge. For me, I could have done without the disappointment or the headache this book created in reading it and wish someone had warned me about both issues in the book before I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CAUTION POTENTIAL SPOILERS AHEAD!!!!!!, May 5, 2013
This review is from: A Night of Living Dangerously (Mass Market Paperback)
Lilley doesn't exactly work hard at seeing her dreams come true. She seems to be slightly....well...mousey. She hides and doesn't draw attention to herself, just existing and never really putting for the effort in realizing her dreams. Prince Alessandro Caetanie, is Lilley's boss and he does notice her. He has just been issued an ultimatum by his latest squeeze who believes that he will play for keeps w/ her. He won't, but he finds that he can show her by moving on w/ Lilley his employee at the ball. He laid it all out for Lilley not really hiding anything: one night, no strings, and then back to everyday life - her being a little mouse and he being the big cat on the premises! He offers her a way to pay back her cheating BF and roommate as well. Lilley grasps it but she shows her true colors to Alessandro at the ball - however like usual the H doesn't understand it until much later.

Lilley has some secrets that she has kept for good cause and when they come home to roost they destroy the relationship that Lilley and Alessandro had been building creating some great old fashion drama and angst in this story! Yes, Alessandro can be a horse's bum in many instances in this story, but she wasn't exactly upfront either. If she had been.....well they might not have met! You can see the ammunition for the set-up right when it happens, you see his feelings for Lilley developing and his act of revenge on her behalf at one point (which makes me wonder if he got his revenge on the real villain of this piece later). He knows that Lilley is forgiving but he is not so why wouldn't he seek revenge later?

Because of his past Alessandro can't trust people but he gave his trust to Lilley until the ex-mistress plays up her secrets and all is revealed at their party. He humiliates Lilley in front of all these people - his friends who didn't seem to approve of her anyway and then Lilley is ceremoniously kicked to the curb. Before getting the heck out of dodge though, she stands up one last time to him. Of course, Alessandro finds out the truth and then he makes a marvelous effort to attain Lilley once again.

It would appear that Alessandro had reverted to what he knew, and that is why he believed the worst of Lilley despite the other evidence that she had shown him over the course of their relationship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book and I bet you will too!, May 21, 2013
By 
This review is from: A Night of Living Dangerously (Mass Market Paperback)
Who would want to go to a ball with the richest, most handsome man in town? I would, and even more so if I just found my boyfriend in bed with my best friend.

I was swept away by this story and loved every minute of it. I wanted to be Lilley. I wanted to wear a beautiful gown and be taken off to Napa for a weekend for some rocking hot sex. And, I wanted to have her kindness, her courage and her taste.

If you enjoy I-can't-put-it-down books and are looking for a pleasant escape from "OMG did the car registration expire last month?!", this is a book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Another forced drama, same old story, with ignorant pea brain characters!!, October 15, 2014
This book makes no sense at all! The heroine was plain confusing. One minute she's strong and froward saying what she wants, the famous, I can't tell him/I'll tell him later! How silly. The same old story with the same old ignorant hero, and childish pregnant heroine! Everybody's superficial and dumb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 1 Dimensional Characters, May 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Before buying this book, I read the reviews and all I got was that it was improbable world - which it is. But I didn't really have any problem with that. What I did have a problem with was that the characters were one dimensional. I kept waiting for the rest of their personalities to appear and they never did! The ending seemed forced to me - kind of well it had to end so lets just glue things together. I really feel that strong character development can make a mediocre story shine and that weak character development can make a strong story line forgettable. This story didn't have the either character development or strong story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable and campy, May 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like fairytales and camp this book is for you. This is the 2nd book I've bought by this author and it will be the last. The reason I read HQP is for the escapism HOWEVER we live in a very real world and this book is not set in a real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Night of Living Dangerously
A Night of Living Dangerously by Jennie Lucas (Mass Market Paperback - April 17, 2012)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.