Customer Reviews


644 Reviews
5 star:
 (321)
4 star:
 (140)
3 star:
 (64)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (87)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same? Yes, but well done
Most sequels either fail miserably at trying to "top" the original ("Miss Congeniality 2" springs to mind), or succeed beyond all expectations ("Star Trek 2: The Wrath of Khan" is a good example).

"Night at the Museum 2, The Battle of the Smithsonian" hits neither of these extremes: it has no pretensions about being a great film. It seems the writers and...
Published on May 28, 2009 by Allen Vander Meulen

versus
162 of 188 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the movie
Stop putting the previews of movies as free downloads. It's silly, I'm not going to waste my time downloading a movie preview. I thought it was the actual movie, for free.
Published on December 30, 2011 by Lokelani Aipa


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same? Yes, but well done, May 28, 2009
Most sequels either fail miserably at trying to "top" the original ("Miss Congeniality 2" springs to mind), or succeed beyond all expectations ("Star Trek 2: The Wrath of Khan" is a good example).

"Night at the Museum 2, The Battle of the Smithsonian" hits neither of these extremes: it has no pretensions about being a great film. It seems the writers and producers just wanted to make a film that their audience would enjoy, and they succeeded. Certainly, the original film was better and more original in many respects, and there is lots of continuity with the first film, as many of the characters have returned. There are also some notable additions to the cast, such as Amy Adams - who is superb as Amelia Earhart (as many of my fellow reviewers here have noted).

Yet, the scene stealer in the film though is not Ms. Adams, but Hank Azaria, who plays the Egyptian Pharaoh Kahmunrah: the evil and inept older brother of Ahkmenrah (the Pharaoh from the original film). Azaria's Karloff-esque character is really well done. One of the best scenes in the film is when Kahmunrah and Ben Stiller's character (Larry Daley) argue over the fate of Jedidiah (played by Owen Wilson). I heard a rising tide of belly laughs all around me as this scene progressed: a salute to the old time vaudeville comedic dialog routines, played to near perfection by two excellent actors. Laurel and Hardy would have been proud!

Kudos to the Smithsonian for the unprecedented access and support they provided to the producers of this film. I've visited the Washington Mall and Smithsonian Museums many times, and it was great to see them on the big screen, and great fun seeing the havoc and mayhem that special effects allowed the film's characters to inflict upon our national treasures.

I like this film because it is honest with itself and its audience, and consistently delivers laughs and smiles. Is it a great film? No. Is it funny? Definitely. Is it a great way to spend a couple of hours with your better half, or the kids? Absolutely. For that reason I'll give it Four Stars: enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


162 of 188 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the movie, December 30, 2011
By 
Lokelani Aipa (Paso Robles, California United States) - See all my reviews
Stop putting the previews of movies as free downloads. It's silly, I'm not going to waste my time downloading a movie preview. I thought it was the actual movie, for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better than the First!, August 16, 2009
My wife and I enjoyed the original "Night at the Museum" we expected to the sequel to be typical of seconds... not quite as good. However, "Battle of the Smithsonian" bucks this trend - and in our opinion it is significantly better than the original. The plot is a bit silly - our favorite night-watchman had made it big as inventor of useless products. His new position as CEO means that he is no longer working at the museum. The museum has also undergone a few changes - namely most of the exhibits are being shipped into storage. The storage is below the Smithsonian... and that is where the action begins!

"Battle of the Museum" blends, action, humor and a numerous celebrity cameos into a fun-filled flick. The story introduces us to some Egyptian pharaoh (can't remember which one), Ivan the Terrible, Napoleon, Amelia Earhart , Abe Licoln, and miniature Einstein bobbleheads! The star of the story is the incredibly imaginative action sequences... the jumping in-and-out pictures, the banter of Abe Lincoln.... all of it light-hearted and very entertaining.

As far as the acting - Ben Stiller was .... Ben Stiller - you either love him or you hate him. We really did enjoy Amy Adams as Amelia Earhart - she seems to have nailed the accent, look and walk - plus she was very funny!

Final Verdict - Recommended for everyone (This is a very kid friendly movie) but it highly recommended for everyone who enjoyed the original.

5 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean for Kids, Enjoyable for Whole Family, June 8, 2009
By 
Michele (Northeast Ohio) - See all my reviews
Finally, a movie all ages can enjoy. And please take note, Hollywood -- yes, it can be done without swearing, sex or violence. Clever dialog, great acting and effects. We're all waiting for it to come out on video. We would even have taken the kids to see it again if the theater experience wasn't so expensive. One of the only criticisms is that we would have liked to have seen more of Robin Williams character. Rest assured, this is one movie that won't leave you jimmy-jacked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The sequel to "Night at the Museum" features more gags, higher production and action...but is it any good?, December 9, 2009
This review is from: Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian (Three-Disc Blu-ray/DVD/Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
With the box office success of "Night at the Museum" in 2006 (the film made over $525 million worldwide), both director Shawn Levy ("Cheaper by the Dozen", "Pink Panther") and actor Ben Stiller ("Madagascar", "Tropic Thunder", "There's Something About Mary") waited for the perfect script before getting involved in a sequel. And if they were going to do a film, it would be in a much bigger scale and trying to make the film better than the original and sure enough, this time around, the film worked with the Smithsonian.

"Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian" went on to make over $412 million worldwide and now the film is available on Blu-ray via a 3-disc set which includes the Blu-ray, DVD and Digital Copy.

VIDEO & AUDIO:

"Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian" is featured in 1080p, Widescreen (2:35:1) and once again, Twentieth Century Fox delivers with vibrant and detailed picture quality. You see the textures within the costumes, the metal lining of the pharaohs headdress, the detail of various settings and overall, a colorful film. Even the prop/characters such as the Abraham Lincoln, the fossilized T-Rex, Teddy Roosevelt look very good. There are scenes where the green screen effect wasn't too convincing (ie. Amelia and Larry on a plane outside of the museum) and almost looked a bit campy. But you can't help but be hooked in by the awesome production of the film and watching this film in HD really brings out the beauty of the film. So overall, picture quality for "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian" is solid.

As for the lossless audio of "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian", the film tends to be front channel heavy. I actually was expecting the film to be quite immersive and there are some scenes (one with Amelia crashing into the museum with the plane or Abe Lincoln taking on the underworld soldiers) that sound quite awesome, but it was not filling up the soundscape that I was quite hoping for. But for the most part, dialogue is clear and understandable, Silvestri's music also comes out quite nicely through the front channels as well.

Subtitles are in English SDH, Spanish, Cantonese, Mandarin and Portuguese.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian" comes with the following special features:

* Audio Commentary by Director Shawn Levy - Very informative, upbeat and detailed audio commentary by Shawn Levy. Complimentary to the cast and crew, Levy's commentary is pretty thorough on discussing many scenes, setting it up and what he wanted to accomplish.
* Audio Commentary by Writers Robert Ben Garant and Thomas Lennon - An upbeat commentary. Informative and fun, both writers tend to joke around but also give information on what is seen at certain museums and explain certain experiences and more.
* Gag Reel - (8:09) "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian" bloopers.
* 12 Deleted Scenes Including Alternate Ending -(11:28) Twelve deleted scenes (which include Out of Town Emergency, Brunden: The Director's Cut, Meet Ivan, Napoleon and Al Capone (Extended), Ivan Interrogates Larry, World Twister, Capone Gets Invited, How Many Bad Guys Can You Fit In an Elevator?, Custer's Plan (Extended), Moon Rover, Takin' Em Down, Gangster Style, Larry's Pep Talk to Custer (Extended), Alternate Ending with Dick Van Dyke, Mickey Rooney and Bill Cobbs) featuring optional audio commentary by director Shawn Levy. From improvisation with Ben Stiller and Jonah Hill, Amelia Earhart's moonrover scene and more.
* Curators of Comedy: Behind The Scenes With Ben Stiller - (19:55) Behind-the-scenes of "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian". Interviews with the talent and how they wanted to make this series much better than the first and making history come to life. And the cast discussing their favorite scenes in the film.
* Museum Scavenger Hunt Game - While watching the film, you can activate a scavenger hunt where you find items during the film.
* The Jonas Brothers in Cherub Bootcamp -(3:53) Director Shawn Levy talks about needing to hire people to play the cherubs and so he found out that the Jonas Brothers would be perfect. A hilarious featurette featuring Shawn Levy putting the Jonas Brothers through cherub bootcamp.
* Phinding Pharaoh With Hank Azaria - (4:48) Director Shawn Levy talks about having Hank Azaria experiment with various vocals.
* Show me the Monkey Featurettes - (17:56) "Monkey Business" - Interviews with director Shawn Levy and cast about the Crystal the monkey who is in the film and how the trainer utilizes the skills of the talented monkeys in the film. Behind-the-scenes footage of the trainers working with the monkey and more. (12:52) "Primate Prima Donnas" - Showcasing the monkeys Crystal and Squirt and using a second monkey for the film. (6:24) "The Secret of Life of a Monkey Movie Star: Life Off Camera". A look at how a typical day is for the monkeys.
* Historical Confessions: Famous Last Words - (6:27) Featuring interviews with the characters of "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian" and what they contributed in their career.
* Secret Doors and Scientists: Behind-the-Scenes of The American Museum of Natural History - (15:57) Ellen Futter, President of the American Museum of Natural History and other staff talk about what is seen in the film can be seen at the American Museum of National History and more. A walkthrough through various parts of the museum and more.
* Cavemen Conversations: Survival of the Wittiest - (4:17) Interviews with the three cavemen of "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian" (and of course, all the cavemen do is grunt and make noises).
* Museum Magic: Entering The World Of The Photograph - (5:39) The filming of the post-World War II (VJ Day in Times Square) scene recreating the scene of the Eisenstaedt photo.
* Director 201: A Day in the Life of Director/Producer Shawn Levy - (19:17) The camera follows Director Shawn Levy on the set of "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian" for a day. Also, meeting the various crew members working closely with Shawn Levy.
* Gangster Levy - (1:55) A B&W noir short featuring director Shawn Levy and his assistant director. Recreating a gangster noir clip which would be used in the film.
* FOX Movie Channel Presents Making a Scene - (9:35) Interview with the cast and crew and discussing the "No Go for Launch" scene.
* FOX Movie Channel Presents: World Premiere - (5:28) Host Tava Smiley in Washington D.C. at the Smithsonian for the world premiere of "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian".
* TRAILERS - Trailers for upcoming Twentieth Century Fox films.

JUDGMENT CALL:

"Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian" was a film that was entertaining but similar to the first film, both films are not strong on plot but a film that features good use of CG, special effects and action.

If anything, the hijinks and craziness of the film is still intact and I really did enjoy the scenes featuring both Larry and Amelia. But the film seems like a clutter of comedians and characters trying to get their time on the screen and director Shawn Levy tried to focus too much on these crazy antics of those characters than focus on the overlying storyline.

If anything, the film is your classic cat and mouse game with the evil pharaoh trying to catch Larry and Amelia for the tablet. It's a simple storyline that tries to include jokes and things that just come out of left field and just sputters downward. Darth Vader and Sesame Street's Oscar the Grouch in a scene together? Or an octopus trying to hug and kiss Larry? The humor of some of the jokes just didn't fly well with me and felt some of the comedy was not funny at all.

Granted, it was nice to see some of "The Office" (USA and UK) cast in the film, Hank Azaria showcasing his voice talent for the character of the Pharaoh and giving the character a comical spin and although short, the improv scene with Stiller and Jonah Hill was fun. I do admit that I felt my attention of the film was more for Amy Adam's Amelia Earhart character. Adam's is a talented actress and seeing her act on screen was definitely one of the highlights of the film.

And as for Ben Stiller, although he was in the film, I felt that his character was downgraded and most of the focus was on the surroundings rather than his character. And I suppose it depends what one expects from this film. Those wanting more props, special effects, gags and action...then this film is for you.

Of course, "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian", like its predecessor, is looked at as a family film. A film where kids can be entranced by the surroundings of the museum and almost be taken to a fantasy world. Seeing how my son enjoyed both films tremendously, I suppose the formula works especially since the film has achieved tremendous box office success worldwide.

But in the end, I felt the film was mediocre at best but as a Blu-ray release was quite solid when it came to picture quality and definitely for the inclusion of so many special features. And for children who loved the film, the fact that the Blu-ray release comes with the Blu-ray disc, a DVD and a digital copy of the film is pretty awesome.

Overall, "Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian" may not be a great film but it does make for a good popcorn flick with awesome production and also has plenty of fun moments. But as long as you are not looking for a serious plot or anything deep, then you'll definitely be entertained. As for the Blu-ray release, it's a pretty solid release with 3-discs, awesome picture quality and a lot of special features. So, I have no doubt in my mind that fans of the film will definitely enjoy this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great movie for the kids, and one parents can enjoy too!, December 3, 2009
By 
Bill Garrison (Oklahoma City, OK USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Night at the Museum 2: Battle at the Smithsonian is the blockbuster sequel to the original Ben Stiller movie where all the exhibits in the musuem come to life. This time, Stiller (Larry Daley) is getting rich selling dumb products like a glow in the dark flashlight on infomercials. But he has a void inside. He really misses the museaum and all its exhibits that come to life. Daley is shocked to learn that many of the exhibits are being shipped to the Smithsonian archives. There's a bigger problem. The artifact that makes the exhibits come to life is going as well.

This movie is really all about the action in the Smithsonian and the fun when the new exhibits come to life. Hank Azaria is great as an ancient pharoh that wants Daley to figure out a secret code that will unleash the power of the dead soldiers...wait, I didn't quite understand the plot. Let's just say sides form between the good (General Custer, Amelia Earhart, Abe Lincoln, Albert Einstien) and the bad (Ivan the Terrible, Napolean, Al Capone) and a battle ensues.

Some of the good include the paintings that come to life and what happens when the tablet is brought to the air and space building. There is pure pandemonium as everything comes to life. For the bad, well, this movie is just mindless fun. The son is wasted and so is Ricky Gervais. Also, the moral at the end isn't needed in a movie like this.

This is a great summer movie for the family. Adults can enjoy it and be thankful they won't have to shield their kids' eyes or ears for any bad parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mindless summer blockbuster for the entire family, May 29, 2009
By 
Bill Garrison (Oklahoma City, OK USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Night at the Museum 2: Battle at the Smithsonian is the blockbuster sequel to the original Ben Stiller movie where all the exhibits in the musuem come to life. This time, Stiller (Larry Daley) is getting rich selling dumb products like a glow in the dark flashlight on infomercials. But he has a void inside. He really misses the museaum and all its exhibits that come to life. Daley is shocked to learn that many of the exhibits are being shipped to the Smithsonian archives. There's a bigger problem. The artifact that makes the exhibits come to life is going as well.

This movie is really all about the action in the Smithsonian and the fun when the new exhibits come to life. Hank Azaria is great as an ancient pharoh that wants Daley to figure out a secret code that will unleash the power of the dead soldiers...wait, I didn't quite understand the plot. Let's just say sides form between the good (General Custer, Amelia Earhart, Abe Lincoln, Albert Einstien) and the bad (Ivan the Terrible, Napolean, Al Capone) and a battle ensues.

Some of the good include the paintings that come to life and what happens when the tablet is brought to the air and space building. There is pure pandemonium as everything comes to life. For the bad, well, this movie is just mindless fun. The son is wasted and so is Ricky Gervais. Also, the moral at the end isn't needed in a movie like this.

This is a great summer movie for the family. Adults can enjoy it and be thankful they won't have to shield their kids' eyes or ears for any bad parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute And Fun - Perfect Family Entertainment, September 7, 2009
This review is from: Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian (Three-Disc Blu-ray/DVD/Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
My 12 year old daughter and I really enjoyed watching NIGHT AT THE MUSEUM 2: BATTLE OF THE SMITHSONIAN together. Like the original, NIGHT AT THE MUSEUM 2 is great family entertainment - no bad language, no blood, no sex, and no real violence. Just lots of fun, laughter, and a pleasant evening together.

In NIGHT AT THE MUSEUM 2, night guard Larry Daley has moved on and is getting rich selling his wacky inventions on television infomercials. But his heart isn't really in it; he isn't as happy as he thought would be. When Larry discovers that many of his beloved friends from the exhibits at the New York City Museum of Natural History are being shipped to permanent storage at the Smithsonian archives, he rushes to try to help them. But when the Egyptian tablet that brings his friends to life is accidentally sent along to the Smithsonian, Larry has a whole new set of problems on his hands. With every exhibit in the Smithsonian museums and the archives below coming to life, Larry must enlist the aid of a spunky Amelia Earhart, a vain and grandiose General George Custer, and a bouncy pack of Einstein bobble-heads to save the day, and make everything right.

In NIGHT AT THE MUSEUM 2 is a laugh out loud funny movie, full of some very creative action sequences. The museum exhibits still come to life, but this time they include famous paintings that you can jump into (reminiscent of Mary Poppins), pop art sculptures that chase you around, all manner of aircraft (from the Wright Brothers' first plane to a launching Apollo space craft), the gifts from the gift shop, and even a gigantic Abraham Lincoln from the Lincoln Memorial. Hank Azaria as the evil pharaoh and Amy Adams as a perky, independent Amelia Earhart are delightful additions to the NIGHT AT THE MUSEUM 2 cast, and Robin Williams is as charming as always Teddy Roosevelt. The special effects are pretty cool, and the jokes and slapstick keep on coming.

Is the story predictable? Yes. Did we care? No! NIGHT AT THE MUSEUM 2: BATTLE OF THE SMITHSONIAN is a great family summer film. It won't change your life, but it will help you forget your troubles for a few hours and have some fun with your loved ones. The entire family will grin, giggle, and out-right guffaw, with several good, old fashioned belly-laughs thrown in. NIGHT AT THE MUSEUM 2: BATTLE OF THE SMITHSONIAN is an excellent way to spend a cozy popcorn evening together. And who knows, your kids might even learn a little history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Night at the Museum/Smithsonian, July 26, 2009
Although a sequel to the hysterical original; "Night at the Museum", "The Battle of the Smithsonian" still has surprises in store for you. The original is Stiller's timeless comedic qualities at his best and to compare the first and second isn't quite fair. We are looking at some great computer animation as well as the funny characters; new and old. Azaria is hilarious and probably had the crew laughing like crazy in between takes. I sat in a packed theater and there was never a silent moment; always laughter on a scale of 1-10, it was consistent at 5 and raised the bar to 10 on many occasions. Stiller and his buddies aren't going to see Oscar's for this movie but it is a light hearted, funny movie with the old characters mix it up with the old. I'm most defintely going to buy it at it's release. Good Family entertainment with some history inside, is hard to come by. Good Job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great premise lost... Humor strictly goofy, August 16, 2010
By 
The premise of the film is fine and the CGI is incredible. Problems 1- Too many characters. We know the characters from the first movie. To include all of them was unnecessary.
2- I think what annoyed me most was that based on the premise it could have been a LOT SMARTER! At least SOME of the humor should have been based on them The context of their historical profile could have been used as a subtext for a second layer of humor with plenty of dialogue left over for all the goofy jokes and the kid humor. For example - have Catherine The Great walking through the museum and come upon a copy of The Enquirer. The cover story would be about Lindsey Lohan and Britney Spears and their latest exploits. All she would have had to do was raise an eyebrow, smile and nod.
If you get the joke, then you're probably as disappointed about this film as I was. Al Capone alone could have been used to great comic extent, for example if one of the cherubs from the fountain would have been identified as St. Valentine, Capone might have done a suspicious double take.
Whatever, it was only a library rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian (Three-Disc Blu-ray/DVD/Digital Copy)
$29.99 $7.99
In stock on September 18, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.