Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Entertainment Collectibles Shop Now HTL

Night Music

November 20, 2007 | Format: MP3

Also available in CD Format
$25,000 Prime Sweepstakes: This Week Only
Listen to Prime Music for a chance to win $25,000 in Gift Cards. Play any song, station, or playlist to be automatically entered. No purchase necessary. See Official Rules for details and alternate method of entry. Ends December 5, 2015.
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: November 20, 2007
  • Release Date: November 20, 2007
  • Label: Rhino/Elektra
  • Copyright: 1982 Elektra Entertainment Group, a Warner Music Group company
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 47:18
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B00122KC6W
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #171,545 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By RBSProds TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on August 28, 2013
Format: MP3 Music
Excellent, exciting live post-bop jazz. "Night Music", recorded live at the Jazz Forum in NYC in 1982, contains the bookend tracks to the previously reviewed Master of the Art by innovative and influential trumpet virtuoso Woody Shaw, a member of the DownBeat Jazz Hall of Fame (one of those rare musicians voted in the year immediately following their death) and his excellent all-star sextet. With the title "Night Music", one might expect something more romantic, balladic, and laid back, perhaps with strings. Not in this case: this was a night of hot, steamy, highly-inventive improvisations based on attractive, challenging themes and arrangements. And the sextet, one of Shaw's well-recorded favorite groups (as evidenced by the high praise given during the interview on "Master of the Art"), was on fire for three of the four songs, with number 4 being a relaxed but intense ballad. Starring Steve Turre on trombone, Shaw, and the legendary Bobby Hutcherson on vibraharp on the front line, bolstered by the excellent rhythm section of piano phenom Mulgrew Miller, bassist Stafford James who produces a big, booming sound, and the exceptionally fiery drums of Tony Reedus, this was grand "night music" indeed, with the recording once again produced by the renowned Michael Cuscuna. The sound is excellent and the production values are high.

The sextet's performances are uniformly excellent and the "best of the best" begins with the exciting convoluted uptempo "Orange Cresent", written by Steve Turre, which provides an excellent framework for soloing as it surges in and out of a modal pedal point in the theme and in solos, with Hutcherson, Miller, and Shaw especially imaginative.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: MP3 Music Verified Purchase
I came across Shaw's "Lotus Flower" album while in college and working at a public radio station. This group knocked me out and 20 years on I still think its one of the best working bands of all time. "Night Music" is the companion piece to Shaw's "Master of the Art" and features the same band. Recorded live and guest starting Bobby Hutcherson, it shows just how potent a force this group was. Woody was a tremendous artist with an amazing range both technically and emotionally. He was a true original who also brought a wealth of tradition into his playing. He is joined on this album by guys that would go on to have great careers of their own: Steve Turre, Stafford James, and the late Mulgrew Miller and Tony Reedus. Whether it's originals like 'Apex' or 'To Kill A Brick' or the standard 'All The Things You Are', Shaw ignites this band and coaxes fire from each member. This was a real working band at the time and you can hear and feel the familial dynamics that can only be achieved from standing side-by-side night after night. Buy this album and buy 'Master of the Art" too. Sit down and listen to them back to back and relive what must have been great "Night Music" indeed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?