Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern legend
This was a lovely modern Christmas legend, the kind of book I look forward to sharing with my grand-children. Seven year old Derek Brundle discovers he is to be the next Father Christmas and that the current Santa is in great danger. We meet some wonderful characters in this book. I especially loved the elf Munkle with her quirky modes of expression, 'Yeppers!' The...
Published on December 22, 2011 by Ignite

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A cute children's Christmas story that may be too cute for kids
Carl Ashmore has written a Christmas adventure tale that makes use of every Christmas and adventure device that can be crammed into one novella. The story's hero is a seven year old boy who is awakened the night before Christmas by an elf who informs him that he is the new Santa Claus. It seems that the current Santa, the 13th in the line, has been kidnapped, and Derek...
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern legend, December 22, 2011
By 
Ignite (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Night They Nicked Saint Nick (A Christmas Story for the whole family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a lovely modern Christmas legend, the kind of book I look forward to sharing with my grand-children. Seven year old Derek Brundle discovers he is to be the next Father Christmas and that the current Santa is in great danger. We meet some wonderful characters in this book. I especially loved the elf Munkle with her quirky modes of expression, 'Yeppers!' The villain of the story receives a very satisfying punishment for his iniquities. Children will love it.

Carl Ashmore has a great imagination and some excellent verbal skills that bring his creations to life. He sums up Christmas by having Santa say to the villain, 'Christmas is about more than toys and presents and turkey dinners. It's about love and decency and respect and kindness. These are the real gifts of Christmas.' How can you sum it up better than that? Thank you Carl, for a bit of fun in the true spirit of Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make this into a movie, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night They Nicked Saint Nick (A Christmas Story for the whole family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I can easily see this book becoming a Christmas movie for children and everyone else to enjoy. Santa is kidnapped and it's up to a 7 year old boy to become the new Santa, but instead he devises a way to save the elderly Santa. He saves Christmas and its message of kindness and goodness for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Family Tradition, October 28, 2011
By 
Tippetarius (Tip) (Bronx, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night They Nicked Saint Nick (A Christmas Story for the whole family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This chapter book is a fun read that could easily become a new family tradition for the holiday season. Kids and parents alike will enjoy reading this book aloud. It is very imaginative, and it also has the message (without being preachy) of the importance of always doing your best. I'd love to see it made into an animated movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A cute children's Christmas story that may be too cute for kids, December 26, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Oklahoma City, OK United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night They Nicked Saint Nick (A Christmas Story for the whole family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Carl Ashmore has written a Christmas adventure tale that makes use of every Christmas and adventure device that can be crammed into one novella. The story's hero is a seven year old boy who is awakened the night before Christmas by an elf who informs him that he is the new Santa Claus. It seems that the current Santa, the 13th in the line, has been kidnapped, and Derek must take his place prematurely. (This was not supposed to happen till Derek reached 21.) Derek decides to try to rescue the current Santa with the help of a group of elf special agents.

The story is enjoyable, but the conflicts are rather too easily resolved. Ashmore wanted, I guess, to write a story that could be read quickly perhaps by a parent to a child on Christmas, but the story seems too dark for younger kids and too young for older ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Night They Nicked Saint Nick..., June 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night They Nicked Saint Nick (A Christmas Story for the whole family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Can't wait to read this to my grandkids! Too bad that these kind of stories seem to have gone out of fashion - and that more children don't read lighthearted, joyous, fun books, instead of watching scary movies or playing violent video games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A new take on Santa, March 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night They Nicked Saint Nick (A Christmas Story for the whole family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Short book, good for $1. Kind of a fun different take on Santa and Christmas. Maybe 4 stars if you are looking for something short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Darling children's book, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night They Nicked Saint Nick (A Christmas Story for the whole family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great book to read to children and grandchildren during Christmas break. Made my grandson Blake laugh out loud. Refreshing tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Santa's In Trouble.....Help! Help! Help!, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night They Nicked Saint Nick (A Christmas Story for the whole family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The Night They Nicked Saint Nick is an amazlng Christmas story. it made me feel cheery and happy to be alive. Seven year old Derek goes on a special mission with some elves to help rescue Santa. They encounter many dangers on their journey but they never give up. Derek recieves a special gift which helps them out along their way. Will they rescue Santa in time? In time for what...you say? Read the book to find out! Available at Amazon.com That's where I bought mine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story for the whole family!, December 24, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night They Nicked Saint Nick (A Christmas Story for the whole family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The story was fun to read, even as an adult. Some spelling oddities - may be do to language translation. For a family with kids who love Santa, this is a great story to read a chapter each day. I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Merry Christmas, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night They Nicked Saint Nick (A Christmas Story for the whole family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great book. My kids loved it. We Wilkins enjoy this book for many more years. I will look for more books by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.