Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good ole' zombie fun!
Now, it's important to have an open mine while watching this. Don't take it too seriously and DO NOT compare it to the original. The original is a classic and this is NOT that! If you can get past that, this just simply is a fun zombie film. I'm glad it wasn't a direct remake (that was already done surprisingly well in the 90's) and this takes a bit of a humorous turn...
Published on October 11, 2007 by D. Petersen

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Remake Ever
Ingredients for a horrible horror movie remake: horrid acting, terrible dialogue, terrible cinematography, a complete lack of gore, and a complete disrespect for the source material. This remake of 'Night Of The Living Dead' has all of those in spades...plus a ton of really crappy 3-D and oh, Ben isn't black in this one. Ugh. Terrible. Let me start by saying that I...
Published on November 5, 2007 by Arthur Kicker


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Remake Ever, November 5, 2007
This review is from: Night Of The Living Dead 3D (DVD)
Ingredients for a horrible horror movie remake: horrid acting, terrible dialogue, terrible cinematography, a complete lack of gore, and a complete disrespect for the source material. This remake of 'Night Of The Living Dead' has all of those in spades...plus a ton of really crappy 3-D and oh, Ben isn't black in this one. Ugh. Terrible. Let me start by saying that I love the original and I also really like Tom Savini's 1990 remake, so my opinion may be a bit skewed. But this remake is absolutely horrid.

First off, the acting is the quality of a high school drama class. Everyone in the film is terrible. Even Sid Haig, who is normally great, phones it in. All the characters are unlikeable, especially the "hero" Ben, who is now played by some white emo kid. He's not rough and tough like Duane Jones in the original or world weary like Tony Todd in the 1990 version. White Ben is just there, stumbling through his lines like a confused drama student.

Secondly, the 3-D in the film is pointless and terrible. The film has some decent 3-D shots in the opening graveyard scene but then fails to really do anything with it for the rest of the film. Instead of trying to create depth in the shots, the filmmakers shot the bulk of the film like a regular movie. They make a couple half-hearted attempts, but there is not a single shot that jumps out at you(the slo-mo bullet effect near the end of the film is pathetic). But whatever, I could've dealt with it if it were not for the fact the the 3-D is just bad. With the glasses on, everything is just blurry. And unfortunately, there's no function on the disc that allows you to turn the 3-D off. You get to either watch a blurry film with the glasses off or a blurry film with the glasses on.

Third, I just don't feel that the team behind the film really had any love the source material. I heard an interview with the director, Jeff Broadstreet, a while back on the now defunct 'Pickled Embryo' podcast. He basically said that he's not a horror movie fan nor has he ever made a horror film. He was picked by the financers of the film because in the past he almost one time made a 3-D film. The brains behind the money picked a director who was passionless for the horror genre and passionless for the original film. But at least he almost made a 3-D film one time.

Fourth, there was a complete lack of gore. I'm not saying that it needed to be all 'Dead Alive' or anything. But a horror movie about zombies with hardly any violence in it? Sad. And then wait till you see the ending... The writers basically added in a "mad scientist" sort of character that completely ruins what was already a horrid turd of a film.

Hands down this is the worst remake ever and that is saying something because there have been some really terrible remakes('The Hitcher' or 'The Grudge 2' anyone?). I really wanted to like this, but it was just awful. Please do yourself a favor and skip this movie. Don't even rent it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Horror 3D Remake That Falls Completely Flat., July 6, 2008
By 
This review is from: Night Of The Living Dead 3D (DVD)
If I haven't said this before I'll say it again, I'm a huge fan of George A. Romero's Night Of The Living Dead and his sequels he's done for the past forty years. Thanks to him, we truly know the horrific world of Zombies and the Undead with great detail and know what a frightning place it can be trapped within, be it an old farmhouse, a suburban mall, underground bunker, or anyplace that leaves you open for an attack by the flesheaters of the living. Of course once you create such a popular character in Horror you get copycat rip-off's trying to cash-in on your original creation. Strangely though, most of these types of films have had some varied degrees of success, most notably the Italian Zombi filmakers of the 1980's. Unfortunately though, the one that started it all, 1968's NOTLD, due to a copyright snafu never got that precious right and soon it came clear to all that anyone could either release it, own it, and/or make any version with that plot and title any way they choose.

But first, a little history: back in 1998 Anchor Bay and John A. Russo (one of the men to help create the '68 original with Romero) decided to release a 30th Anniversary version of the classic, but instead of just re-releasing the same old print like every other DVD company, shot and added new footage in with the old, creating a new subplot that not only hurts the original film, but betrays the social commentary that was laid down in the first place. A true misstep and the fans were not pleased.

However when it came to complete remakes, at least someone got it right even before this. In 1990, with Romero's personal guidance and FX genius Tom Savini at the helm, they made a Night Of The Living Dead that stayed close to the original script giving those 90's audiences an update that not only they could be proud of, but better in some aspects of gore and production values. So after one well-done remake & one learning mistake in what not to do to a classic, could it ever be re-done again?

Apparently not. In 2006, with director Jeff "Corman Wanna-Be" Broadstreet in the chair, they decided to give it a go again, of course without any needed consent by Romero, but this time with a twist: Let's try to make it in 3D! 3D? Really? Sounds like a curious idea, but it truly falls flat here.

To be blunt NOTLD3D is a travesty. Shot on a non-existent budget, this has to be the worse "reimagining" of a movie since 2001's Planet Of The Apes. Sure, most of your favorite characters are here, but this time mixed around and played by actors who are so stiff, it's hard to tell them from the actual zombies. And the story is so slow and boring that it seems like a 3am viewing of something you'd expect to see on Sci-Fi Channel. Also, while the gore factor on the '68 original was minimal at best, 36 years later you still don't see much, if anything at all, but not for MPAA reasons but financial ones, and in fact halfway through it I wondered why was this rated "R' in the first place. It's new plot-twists were lame, the sets boring, and the cameo by newly crowned Horror icon Sid Haig (who in my opinion isn't that big of a deal in the first place) is completely unnecessary that only helps in establishing that this was the ultimate in movie cash-ins.

So it's main appeal has to be it's 3D, right? Wrong. Instead of using 3D's latest technology Stereoscopic (that's with the "shades of gray"), they went with the outdated Anaglyphic type (red/blue) which in turn turns the entire movie into a purplish-hue mess. And don't expect anything to "jump" out at you. When it does work, and it's rare, it only gives backgrounds depth, meaning it makes your image look deeper, not closer. Also it should be noted, outside of the behind-the-scenes features, this whole disc is in 3D, meaning that without the glasses, it's unwatchable. There is NO 2D version on the disc included like it should have been (that version is released separately), so once those glasses go it's the ultimate coaster.

So to sum up, bad movie, bad 3D, bad idea. It was already remade well back in 1990, and eight years later was already given a gimmick that didn't work either. Even as a movie alone, a rip-off flix like Day Of The Dead 2:Contagium is a better film. Hard to suggest even if you're a completist like myself, NOTLD3D is one dead movie that should have stayed buried.
(RedSabbath Rating:3.0/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sid Haig steals the show, September 19, 2007
By 
E. Drenner (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Of The Living Dead 3D (DVD)
What more can I say; this movie is better than most people think. First of all, horror fans are the harshest critics on the planet. Hands down. When this non-George Romero endorsed "remake" hit the theaters, most fans already had their minds made up. I myself, was skeptical, but found the picture to be an entertaining mix of humor and horror. Solid supporting actors and a tight pace are what keep you engaged, but Sid Haig gives one of his best performances and essentially makes the movie worth while. Without him, the picture would be less memorable.

Truth be told, if this were a 3D zombie movie, other than NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD, people would be all over it. Aside from the same opening, this movie ventures into it's own storyline and brings in a wonderful idea as to why all the zombies exist in this small, rural town. Too good a plot point to spoil here, just keep in mind this movie has it's own agenda and is clever enough not to rehash what was already accomplished in Romero's original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why?, September 4, 2007
This review is from: Night Of The Living Dead 3D (DVD)
This movie isn't terrible, but it's just not good. Why then would you even try to tackle a classic such as this unless you plan to up the level? This is now the 2nd remake of the film, the 1st remake done by effects wizard Tom Savini (with Romero's blessing) was perfect & did what needed to be done to refresh the already classic original. This new one tries to add & change things here & there & really was pointless to've been made. Granted, I only watched the 2D version of the film, but I can't imagine it being in 3D making it any better. The other thing missing from this film is the political satire that made all of Romero's films so great to begin with. I wouldn't normally do this, but here's the plot of the film so you don't have to bother with it yourself:

Sid Haig plays a Mortician who's recently taken over his recently deceased father's mortuary. Apparently Sid has issues with cremating bodies & rather than doing so has been stock piling bodies in the mortuary. This is where all the zombies come from, as they're to weak to dig out from their graves as described by the film. Barbera & her brother go to meet their mother for a funeral (not their mother's funeral) & are attacked, the brother drives off & leaves Barbera who's eventually picked up by "motorcycle punching" (& very white, not that I see color LOL) Ben & then taken to an old house for shelter. This is no regular house, as it turns out the house's home owner is a "grower" & "When" (White Ben) is a drug dealer. Anyway, unfotunately there's no conflict in the house other than no one believing her & not wanting to call the police because they're drug dealers. Everyone knows everyone cause they're all hippy pot smokers, not different families trying to find shelter. This is really too bad, as this was one of the things that made the original so scary, cause you weren't safe in or outside the house. Anyway, the end of the movie winds up in the mortuary, with Sid Haig being the real villain of the film with a cheezy mad doctor kinda feel. The acting is decent, but nothing to write home about, and the make-up/special effects are amatuerish at best. If you're a fan of the original, I strongly suggest staying away from this & just pretend it doesn't exist. There maybe something special to get out of the movie with the 3D glasses, but judging from the other reviewer I very much doubt it. If you want a truely great new Zombie film destined to be a classic check out "Fido". Aproach "NOTLD3D" with extreme caution!!! It really & truely bites (get it:P)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GETTING AWAY WITH MURDER, June 21, 2009
This review is from: Night Of The Living Dead 3D (DVD)
Night of the Living Dead 3D is not a sequel;it's not a prequel; it's not a remake or re-imagining-what it is is murder-the murder of a modern horror classic. The moment I saw Sid Haig as a lunatic mortician I knew this movie was heading to take a ride on the crazy train but this crazy train jumps the track and crashes and burns. Seems that Sid feels sorry for the corpses in his mortuary and brings them back to life turning them into zombies who then begin to munch on the locals. He even brings his dear old dad back to life and keeps dads living dead and rotting corpse duck taped in a rocking chair.

The movie plays with, re-arranges both the characters and story-line of the original. Ben the hero is now a motorcycle riding, white, college student drug dealer and the nasty Mr Cooper from the original is the supplier of the drugs Ben sells, or maybe he is just Bens' best customer. Who Knows? Who Cares?

The movie does start with Barb and her brother visiting a cemetary but when the brother has a tussle with a couple of zombies, he hops into his car and speeds off leaving Barb alone in the cemetary-then the crime-spree begins and the movie dies faster than a zombie with a bullet shot to the brain. The end screws up zombie logic and one of the characters turns without having been bitten or infected. Impalement by a tire iron through the gut is the culprit and I must have dozed off for a few seconds because I swear I dont even know how the impalement occurred.

This is a great movie..........TO BURN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Night of the Sell out, March 8, 2008
This review is from: Night Of The Living Dead 3D (DVD)
This movie was bad. The acting was bad, the story was bad, the memories are bad. When this flick came out I raced to the store to pick it up, ran home and popped it in the dvd player only to turn it off 30 minutes in. I decided doing homework would be a better way to pass the time. Poor, Poor Sid Haig, this was an obvious selling out for him. He must've noticed the movie was going to be awful too and put forth zero effort into his character and trust me it shows. Old Dawn vs. New Dawn are both excellent films but when comparing Old Night vs. New Night, its like Mike Tyson fighting an infant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars for Great Sig Haig, November 10, 2007
This review is from: Night Of The Living Dead 3D (DVD)
So, here is a film about zombies in 3-D. It might sound a bit strange combination after watching two Robert Rodriguez family-oriented 3-D films, but horror films are not alien to 3-D gimmick. You may remember "House of Wax" starring Vincent Price made more than 50 years ago, so the idea itself is not bad.

As to the new film's 3-D effects, I agree with other reviewers - they are exactly what you expect from these old-fashioned, blue-and-red glasses. It is not directed by James Cameron and you should know that. I only wish that the filmmakers, as Rodriguez wisely did, had shortened the 3-D effect time (with captions telling viewers when to wear or take off the glasses). 80 minutes of watching a film through my red/blue glasses was really killing my eyes.

The updated version has a basically same plot. It's about a group of people trapped in a farmhouse besieged by flesh-eating undeads. This is basic of this genre and this film also sticks to it, but the results lack tension and suspense because of the amount of talk which is too much, and the dearth of gores. Some zombie effects are impressive (like the one crawling in the yard), but not enough to make up the slow tempo and slack pace.

One great thing you can find here is, as you expect, Sid Haig. He is not as good as his delightfully campy turn as Captain Spaulding, but like Vincent Price he shows here that he can single-handedly change a silly monologue into a wonderful magic moment that only horror maestro can do. Listen to him recounting the incredible story of how zombies came to be "alive" and you will almost believe him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you want to own this horrible film..., October 18, 2009
This review is from: Night Of The Living Dead 3D (DVD)
...PLEASE don't buy it here for $20+ ! I found it at the local super grocery store for $5. (And I'm such an idiot that I thought I was buying the original film...) This version is truly awful. I had to speed through it at 30x to find the good parts-- only stopped 3 or 4 times, and even THEN was disappointed. Sad sad sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another Failed Attempt at Remaking a Classic., October 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Of The Living Dead 3D (DVD)
Every now and then a movie comes along that defies the conventional; it breaks the rules, and remains with several generations of people as a well-loved film. Why people feel a need to 'remake' such films goes well beyond my level of understanding. George Romero cemented himself in the annals of film and horror history with Night of the Living Dead... I almost understood Tom Savini's desire to make a remake back in 1990, but this... this just defies all logic. This movie is from far the worst zombie movie I've ever seen, but when you give the NotLD title to a film, it had better stack up... especially if you tack a '3D' to it.

The cast for this film is totally wrong, Sid Haig (who I remember as the villain from Jayson of Star Command) has made a brilliant comeback in the horror industry, but even he could not save this film from becoming the waste that it is. Giving the same names to this cast as the original does not justify dubbing it a 'remake'. Better that they would have named the film and the characters something altogether different and let us formulate our own opinions instead of trying to ride the coat tails of the greatest horror film of its day!

The acting is stiff, something akin to a High School Drama class, and the makeup is woefully inadequate. What movie makers fail to grasp is that with zombies, no great amount of effects are necessary if the zombies are 'fresh'... and as Hitchcock proved time and again, you can do more with less and make it even scarier.

This was little more than a cheap knock off taking advantage of Romero's classic film to try and lure unsuspecting viewers to their enjoyment doom. Mission accomplished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not all that bad!, February 20, 2008
This review is from: Night Of The Living Dead 3D (DVD)
This was not any justice to the original, don't get me wrong. But as a spoof type twist on the movie, it was pretty enjoyable. I think people were just too harsh on it. It's a MODERN twist on a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Night Of The Living Dead 3D
Night Of The Living Dead 3D by Jeff Broadstreet (DVD - 2007)
$14.98 $8.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.