Customer Reviews

350
4.2 out of 5 stars
Night Pleasures (Dark-Hunter, Book 2)
Format: Mass Market PaperbackChange
Price:$7.99 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

114 of 118 people found the following review helpful
on October 5, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Kyrian of Thrace walks the world in the shadows of darkness, in solitude. What other choice could he have after having sold his soul for revenge? Kyrian lives his life searching out those who would steal souls from the innocent; the Daimons. He is a Dark Hunter that hails from Roman times, where he was a Prince, and a Macedonian Commander. He's used to being in command of every situation, and always calling the shots. Then he meets Amanda Devereaux.
Amanda Devereaux is not having the greatest life lately. She's just been dumped by her fiancé-but after her family really laid on the hokey act for him, could she really blame him? And now her twin, Tabitha-whom she was REALLY steamed at-wants her to help her out by running down to her house to once again let the dog out. Sigh. When will she learn? When Amanda gets knocked upside the head upon entering Tabitha's house, and awakens to find herself handcuffed to a "buff stud in black leather", who claims to be a Dark Hunter--kinda like a vampire--she thinks she's learned. Hunter, as he claims that's his name, is one of the most awesome specimens of manhood she's ever seen-why, oh, why couldn't he be normal?
Once Kyrian get himself and Amanda released from the handcuff, he knows he's got to get away from this intriguing woman. He can't trust himself around her, because he's enticed by every little move she makes, every breath. And he can't allow himself to be drawn in by a woman for anything. His life didn't make allowances for that. But he finds himself drawn back to her, again and again, and when he finds out that her life is in danger-what else is he to do except take care of her himself?
Kyrian and Amanda light sparks off one another, and the contest to see who can one up the other makes for fun and lightning fast dialogue that will crack you up. The sexual tension sizzles off the pages, and the story is so fast paced and packed with action you trip over your own fingers getting to the next page. Filled with information and introductions to the Dark Hunter world, you'll find yourself reaching for the next book immediately-only it's not out yet!
Sherrilyn Kenyon has written a keeper and a half. This book is filled with scene after scene that will amaze and tantalize you, and wonder when Sherri visited this world of her creation. She uses humor, and pain, and takes us the whole spectrum of our emotions. Perfection is the only word I can use to describe it, and I don't know that that conveys all that I feel about this book. I've already reread the Advanced Reading Copy three times, and am slobbering in anticipation of the next Dark Hunter novel. This is a MUST read!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
91 of 95 people found the following review helpful
on October 26, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I have to say it again. I love Sherrilyn's books. Her books are always filled with excitement, danger, humor, tenderness, passion, and love. Her characters come alive and you feel as though you know them personally. I've been lucky enough to chat with Sherrilyn online and she's a wonderful person. I eagerly await everyone of her books whether she is writting under the name Sherrilyn Kenyon or under Kinley MacGregor.
This book is the first book in the Dark-Hunter series but it has its roots in the novel FANTASY LOVER. The hero Kyrian of Thrace was the best friend of the hero in FANTASY LOVER, Julian. Both are from ancient Greece. Julian was cursed and has spent the centuries as a drawing in a book only to be released to pleasure women for a short time, that was until he met Grace who freed him and gave him a life. Kyrian was his best friend who gave up his soul to become a Dark-Hunter. He's a protecter of the innocent against Daimons who are "vampires on Steroids with a God Complex" In other words bad dudes. The dark-hunters are also a bit like vampires. They can't go out in the sun and are immortal. Kyrian is doing his job when he finds himself handcuffed to Amanda.
Amanda is a very quiet person. She is the stable one in her family of vampire hunters, fortune tellers, and witches. She doesn't believe in all that and it takes some convincing to bring her around. Being attacked, handcuffed to a vampire and watching him battle Diamons might just do it though. In the middle of all of this they fall in love.
Amanda finds a tenderness and passion in Kyrian that has been lost for centuries. He has been deeply hurt before and that pain is what helps drive him. She must show him that she can be trusted with his heart before he can be truely free of his demons.
I laughed and cried and laughed some more over this story. Its very exciting and thrilling and is a wonderful lead into other stories. I can't wait to read the future books.
This is definately a keeper!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
on September 28, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Sherrilyn Kenyon gets better and better. This is a shining example of what a paranormal romance should be.
Kyrian of Thrace who I fell in love with while reading Fantasy Lover, is a man who was betrayed so badly by his wife that with his dying breath he sold his soul for vengeance and became a protector of mankind. Now, centuries later, he stalks the evil daimons ("vampires on steroids who have a God complex" [I really love that line]) who prey on humans.
Amanda Deveraux is an accountant who wants a normal life even though her family is beyond strange. When an evil daimon puts them together and aims to kill both Amanda and her sister and any Dark Hunter he can find, Kyrian steps in to protect them.
While they fight the evil baddies, the two of them find love and Amanda helps to heal Kyrian's tortured past and wounded heart.
The story is spectacular, filled with great zingers and comebacks. I loved every character from Nick to Acheron to Talon to even strange Liza. The sex is steamy and hot and the pace fast and furious. I can't wait for the next Dark Hunter book.
If you're looking for a read that you can't put down filled with humor, tenderness and red hot passion, don't miss this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
on October 2, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Kyrian, a 2000 year old immortal, prince of ancient Thrace and General of the army of Thrace, was betrayed by his wife to the Romans during the battle for the freedom of Thrace. Allowed to become a Dark Hunter upon his death, his purpose is to stalk the evil demons who prey on humans and steal their souls. In present day New Orleans, Kyrian awakens one night handcuffed to Amanda Devereaux. Amanda believes she is the only sane person in her family, consisting of her mother and eight sisters, all with paranormal attributes. But Amanda's sanity is about to be shaken when she discovers that a demon has handcuffed her to this beautiful man who claims to be an ancient Greek warrior. Deciding to play with him, the demon gives Kyrian 24 hours to hide before he comes after him. Upon hearing this, Amanda is not too thrilled to learn that they cannot get out of the handcuffs and she will be subject to the demon's wrath unless Kyrian can figure out a way to release her. When they finally escape, Kyrian learns that the demon has burned down Amanda's house so he is forced to take her to his mansion for safe-keeping. Knowing it is against the Dark Hunter rules to become involved with a human, Kyrian cannot help his growing feelings for Amanda which puts her in terrible danger. This leads to complications at a time when Kyrian needs all of his powers against a powerful demon that none of the Dark Hunters have ever faced before.
This is the beginning of a wonderful new series by Sherrilyn Kenyon. It is a compelling fantasy about immortals who are a bit like vampires only in that they cannot go out in the daylight, but they do not drink blood, and are created by the gods to protect humans from the demons who kill humans and steal their souls. The Hunters stand between the demons and the total destruction of the human race. I loved this book and cannot wait for the next one in the series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
98 of 108 people found the following review helpful
on October 14, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I loved this book! I am not a huge fan of vamipre stories but this one book has totally changed my mind.
We briefly met Kyrian of Thrace in Fantasy Lover. In this story he is a Dark-Hunter that goes after the really bad guys. He has traded his soul to seek vengence on his wife, but unable to kill her he now walks the world in the shadows of night.
Amanda has powers that she is unaware of or unwilling to admit too. She does not believe in the supernatural, or dark things. She is an accountant and feels that she is not a part of her wild gypsy family. (Selena from Fantasy Lover is her sister)
These two unlikely people get paired together in a very unlikely situation. As a result there are laughs aplenty, great romance, and a lot of the supernatural! These two characters are perfect for each other. Hunter does not give his trust easily, and Amanda is not even aware of her appeal.
You will not be let down by this fast page turning read. Plenty of the trademark sensuality and humor that is Sherrilyn Kenyon can be found in this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
80 of 88 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon December 28, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Sherrilyn Kenyon gets better and better with this first novel in her Dark-Hunter series.
'Night Pleasures' is a great read, full of the spirited characters that have come to be one of Ms. Kenyon's trademarks. She mixes Greek mythology, vampires, and a magickally eccentric family that makes the gals on 'Charmed' look like The Waltons.
Kyrian of Thrace is every woman's wet dream, but Ms. Kenyon infuses him with so much humanity that he doesn't come off as being a typical cardboard romantic hero. I'd have to say that he is a hybrid alpha-beta male. He's charming, loyal, brave, infuriating and sexy as all hell.
Amanda, like her sister Grace (whom hopefully you've met by now from 'Fantasy Lover') is a spunky heroine who believes herself blessedly 'normal', and likes it that way. Of course, it's always the ones who swear they're normal who turn out to be anything but.
I love the fact that Ms. Kenyon's heroines are unashamedly sexual, and they enjoy oogling over gorgeous men. And from the description of Kyrian in the book, I certainly wouldn't toss him out of my bed for eating crackers!
Though at first glance this novel might come off as another vampire romance, Ms. Kenyon creates an entirely new mythos for our favourite undead creatures.
There are gods and goddesses with typical bad attitudes, a psychotic demigod with a serious need to talk with Sigmund Freud, a Squire with a taste for hacking and grunge fashion, who just so happens to drive a Jaguar, and an old woman who makes some rather lethal dolls.
For those of us who loved Grace and Julian, they're back too, with kids. By the way, Julian still hasn't quite figured out how to drive a car.
Oh, and did I mention that this book has some really funny moments, like when Amanda wakes up handcuffed to the insanely gorgeous Kyrian?
Oh, and I forgot to mention that Kyrian is about two-thousand years old and has mastered modern slang. For those of us a little tired of the typical 'old-world' bloodsucker.
A fun romp, and now I eagerly await Talon's story. He's a hunky Celt who could give The Croc Hunter a few pointers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
on March 25, 2008
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Ok, so this book definitely deserves an extra star in comparison to the Fantasy Lover, but that's really not saying much. My personal experience with the Night Hunter series so far reminds me of going to a trendy new restaurant with rave reviews and absolutely hating the whole thing. The ingredients you usually enjoy are all there (chicken, fish, etc.), but all the visually delectable combinations fall completely flat in taste. The spices you usually love taste like grass and it's almost laughable how absurd the whole experience ends up being. This series is just like that, even though the second book is a little better then the first.

Night Pleasures is almost identical to the Fantasy Lover in its structure. Two for two we've got:
- a heroine of average physical appearance with emotional problems and low self esteem.
- an average Joe ex-boyfriend who mistreats the heroine.
- a tortured, gorgeous, famous and rich hero who only wants to be loved.
- a horrible but drop-dead-gorgeous ex-wife that ruined the hero's life.
- the hero falls in lust with the heroine at first sight, even though tons of beautiful women throw themselves at him.
- the hero can't believe his luck and is tormented by wanting to be with her from day one, even though his terrible past is making it difficult.
- the average heroine can't get enough of the "yummy leather hunk" and his "yummy package".
- they do a lot of hissing and growling in pleasure.
- the hero shows the ex-boyfriend what a gem he threw away.
- the heroine makes the hero believe in life and love again.
- they live happily ever after and start reproducing as soon as possible.

That about sums up the book with addition of repetitive emotional mumbling from both the hero and the heroine. The reason I gave this book 2 stars is because there is a bit more story here and the author is trying to set up the Dark-Hunter brotherhood scenario for future books.

Don't get me wrong, I love a good fairy tale and I enjoy a well written love story, but I do like it to be at least somewhat believable even though it's fantasy. Why does every heroine have to be overweight, not very attractive and have men issues? For that matter, why does the hero have to be so beautiful? Weren't there normal looking men two thousand years ago? And how is it believable that a Macedonian general would fall madly in love for a boring accountant three days after meeting her? They have nothing in common and no real explanation for such immediate passion. And why is the first wife always so beautiful and horrific? It's like the writer is subconsciously trying to show that beauty queens are awful and plain Janes should always get the hunk. Also when a woman writes from the point of view of a male character (and vice versa for that matter), she has to be extremely careful not to come out feminine, especially when the character in question is a mucho-mucho man. Almost at the end of the book when our hero is confronting his nemesis he says "You're a bully..." Can you really see a two thousand years old Greek general saying something like that to another guy? He is not trying to reclaim a stolen toy in the school yard, but wants to exterminate that individual, so this is really the best he could come up with under the circumstances? Things like that occur throughout the book and make it almost impossible to read with a straight face.

I gave this series another try by reading this book, and I can't do it to myself anymore. If you want a well developed story with interesting characters and similar plot try JR Ward's black dagger brotherhood series. The story is well developed and the couples are actually well matched. They are all normal looking people and the writer actually concentrated on character development vs. physical perfection/flaws.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on December 28, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I love these type books! I've read Christine Feehan extensively and this book is very similar in the sensuality and explosive attraction Ms. Kenyon portrays.
Hunter is a tortured soul looking for salvation. He's not a vampire, but hunts those that would destroy humankind. He is "owned" by the goddess Artemis who goes around the world recruiting hunters that have experienced supreme injustice at the hands of their fellowman. The price for his "life" is his soul. And of course it takes a special woman, Amanda, to help him get his soul back. Through trials that would make most mortal women faint or go crazy, Amanda remains a rock he can count on.
All Amanda ever wanted from life was normal. She has 7 crazy sisters and a mom that is way out there on the mystical plane. All she wants is a dull, boring life but when her twin sister is threatened, she attacks with all the latent talent she has been burying inside and actually becomes the stronger of the romantic couple.
I found it refreshing that at the end of the book, plain little Amanda finally comes into her own, secure in her powers and is actually more interesting than Hunter.
An excellent read. Can't wait for the next one to come out!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on October 13, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I consider myself fortunate to have stumbled across this fantastic new series. Sherrilyn Kenyon (who also writes under the name Kinley MacGregor) has created an entirely new mythology around her Dark-Hunters, Were-Hunters and Dream-Hunters. I recommend a visit to her outstanding web site, HunterLegends.com, to get a feel for her larger world. Ms. Kenyon is a web site developer by trade, and that is immediately obvious when you visit her sites. They are among the finest author sites I've seen.
Other reviewers have done a great job of outlining the plot to "Night Pleasures." I picked the book up by chance in an airport, and have read it through twice just this week. The dialogue is snappy and sophistocated, the story well-paced, the characters fascinating and well-developed, and the heroes are all "mad, bad and immortal." Ms. Kenyon has an extensive series of sequels planned, so get in on the beginning, because you won't want to miss out on any of the excitement!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2003
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I very much enjoyed the first book in Kenyon's series, Fantasy Lover, and so decided to give this a go since it's about Kyrian of Thrace, Julian's best friend. And I didn't regret it.
Like Julian from Fantasy Lover, Kyrian is also an ancient Greek. He was a prince and a war-hero, but he was horribly betrayed by the wife he loved dearly, and was tortured and crucified by his Roman enemy. Except that he struck a bargain with Artemis to become a Dark-Hunter and thus achieve immortality.
What's a Dark-Hunter? Immortality sounds like a pretty good deal, yeah? Well, not really. A Dark-Hunter is a little like a vampire, except that they don't have to drink human blood (though they do like the taste of it). They can only exist in the dark, that's true, and they can't easily be killed. Their role is to find and kill Daimons, who are vampires of a sort, but only live 27 years unless they steal a human's life - and soul - to give themselves a longer life. So Kyrian has been tracking and destroying Daimons for centuries. Until he meets one who is cleverer than most.
And this is how he meets Amanda: she has been kidnapped by the Daimon Desiderius, because of her hidden psychic powers, and Desiderius hopes to use her against Kyrian. Unfortunately for the Daimon, Amanda and Kyrian are immediately attracted to each other. However, there are a few problems. First, Amanda's sisters are vampire-hunters and they all assume that Kryrian is a vampire. Amanda refuses to believe that she has any special powers, and anyway she doesn't want her nice, normal life disturbed by a sexy ancient Greek. She's not sure that she can trust any man, after her ex-fiance rejected her - and anyway, after his wife's betrayal, Kyrian has no intention of trusting any woman, ever again.
And, worst of all, as a Dark-Hunter Kyrian has no soul. He can't fall in love (or so he thinks) and he can never build a relationship with a woman.
Kenyon's writing is fast-paced, highly amusing in parts and also poignant. She has a great line in secondary characters, in particular Nick the Squire, Ash (Acheron) the leader of the Dark-Hunters, who I hope will get his own book in due course, and Talon, the hero of Kenyon's next book.
Not five stars because the crucial denouement felt glossed over somewhat, and because I wanted to see more of Julian and Grace than I did.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Fantasy Lover
Fantasy Lover by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 2002)
$7.99

Night Embrace (Dark-Hunter, Book 3)
Night Embrace (Dark-Hunter, Book 3) by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Mass Market Paperback - July 13, 2006)
$7.99

Dance with the Devil (Dark-Hunter, Book 4)
Dance with the Devil (Dark-Hunter, Book 4) by Sherrilyn Kenyon (Mass Market Paperback - March 1, 2003)
$7.99
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.