Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Film!
It is a remake of an 80's movie. I absolutely loved the original (I am a big Linnea Quigley fan). I liked this one as well! After watching this one go check out the original you wont regret it!
Published on January 9, 2011 by Douglas R. Martin

versus
26 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Pale Night of the Demons
There was a couple things I liked here. The tentacle armed demon, who is seen much too infrequently, and obviously inspired by Lovecraft. The skull-faced demon, who is quite creepy and effective. I also like the theme song by deathrock cult band 45 Grave. They've been around for a very long time, and this is their first new track in a long time. It's great to hear some...
Published on January 29, 2011 by Daimonion


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Pale Night of the Demons, January 29, 2011
By 
Daimonion (Oakland, CA.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Night of the Demons (DVD)
There was a couple things I liked here. The tentacle armed demon, who is seen much too infrequently, and obviously inspired by Lovecraft. The skull-faced demon, who is quite creepy and effective. I also like the theme song by deathrock cult band 45 Grave. They've been around for a very long time, and this is their first new track in a long time. It's great to hear some new material, even if it's only one song.

Let me get right to the point and say what I really want to say- buy the original 1987 film. It's got style, humor, it's well-written and the effects are done well on a limited budget. It's a classic with character and just a fun time. I equally recommend Part 2, from 1994, which was directed by Australian cult director Brian Trenchard Smith (Dead End Drive In, Turkey Shoot, etc). Part 2 is half sequel and half remake of part one, only with a bigger budget and more tongue stuck into it's bloody cheek.

This new one, aside from what I mentioned in the first paragraph, has little going for it. Edward Furlong is on hand, trying hard to give a good performance and hold things together, but he seems to be wandering around not sure what he's doing or what is happening. There's a lot of trying-too-hard faux-sexiness and girl-girl touching blended with a lot of screaming and lights flashing and music blaring. It all adds up to nothing. It's boring. I say if you are going to remake a movie, do something really unique and different, or if not different, make it better in some way. But here they have not improved the original nor made it different in any interesting way. It fails and it's not scary. Boring. Skip it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could have been, should have been...and wasn't, May 9, 2011
This review is from: Night of the Demons (DVD)
This movie has alot of problems.

Linnea Quigley only has a cameo, and you can barely see her face. You do get to see her bend over again and flash some little girls her panties.

This is really not a remake. They took a few characters, and a few similar situations from the original, but the rest of the film is not even close to the original. The producers evidently wanted to make money off of the first film, but came up with a dud.

Third, Edward Furlog is badly miscast in this film. He is cast as a drug dealer with a romantic interest with the female lead, but there is no chemistry between them.Edward actually seems high himself during this film, even having dark circles from time to time around his eyes, and no one notices.

Terrible shock value dialogue and supposed sex scenes. Right off the bat we a treated to a discussion on female grooming. What that has to do with anything is beyond me. Then there is the oral sex scene which was totally unnecessary. Alot of the characters say through out the film that they need to go to the bathroom, but hardly anyone ever actually does. One starts, but is interrupted.

None of the characters have any depth. They are dull and interchangeable. The girl who plays Amelia is just flat.

The demons are not scary. In fact, the make up and special effects are pretty standard.

The writers took too many liberties to actually claim this is a remake.

AVOID
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why?, July 6, 2012
This review is from: Night of the Demons (DVD)
<strong>Night of the Demons</strong> (Adam Gierasch, 2009)

One is never quite sure what one is going to get when one comes into a movie penned by the creative team of Jace Anderson and Adam Gierasch. The two were instrumental in the resurrection of Tobe Hooper's career, writing the two best movies he'd made in decades (<em>Toolbox Murders</em> and <em>Mortuary</em>). On the other hand, they were also responsible for the abomination that was Dario Argento's <em>Mother of Tears</em>, the rise of Tibor Takacs as a Sci-Fi Channel Original Movie director, and <em>Spiders</em>. (If you've never seen <em>Spiders</em> and don't have a Lana Parrilla fetish, you're far better off.) And then there are the movies the two have written directed by Gierasch. I've now seen the first two. The first was 2008's <em>Autopsy</em>, an After Dark Horrorfest title that was not completely irredeemable. The second is 2009's <em>Night of the Demons</em>, which is.

Plot: It's Halloween night, and Evangeline Broussard (<em>Autopsy</em>'s Tatyana Kanavka) is throwing her annual bash at the ancestral, and supposedly haunted, mansion that her family abandoned some sixty years ago after a night of horrible carnage. Fast-forward past a few badly-contrived pieces of "move the plot along", and after the party, seven people are left in the house: Angela; her trio of friends Maddie, Lily, and Suzanne (<em>Freddy vs. Jason</em>'s Monica Keena, <em>Wedding Crashers</em>' Diora Baird, and <em>Judy Moody and the not Bummer Summer</em>'s Bobbi Sue Luther, respectively); Maddie's drug-dealing ex Colin and his buddy Dex (<em>American History X</em>'s Edward Furlong and former Mighty Morphin' Power Ranger Michael Copon). And then there's Jason (<em>We All Fall Down</em>'s John F. Beach), who doesn't really fit in, so you know he's either a redshirt or a final girl. More silly plot maneuvering gets them stuck in the house overnight for the final piece of massive plot maneuvering: the seven of them are stuck in the house with seven demons who need to possess human beings in order to break free. Bet you never saw <em>that</em> coming, given the movie's title.

I'm sure there are probably reasons you can find to talk yourself into watching this movie. (Oh, who am I kidding? Those reasons have the last names Keena, Baird, and Luther.) But I'm going to try and be like Jason, the helpful guy who doesn't quite fit in despite being friendly, and tell you: don't do it. Do NOT do it. It's like trying that drink with the fuzz on it to see if it's still good: you may end up drinking it, but you <em>will</em> regret it the next morning when you have the worst hangover ever. Bad acting, painfully stupid plot, characters who can barely manage to feed themselves... you get the idea. There is very little this movie does to redeem itself. Makes me wonder what the writers were thinking (and why they can't turn out more stuff as fun as <em>Mortuary</em>). * ˝
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough remake, October 19, 2010
A remake of Night of the Demons? Sure, why not. Anyway, this new age take on Night of the Demons pretty much follows the same story structure: Angela (Shannon Elizabeth) is throwing a massive Halloween bash at a house with a demonic past and history. After the cops bust the place up and Angela and a small group of her friends are trapped inside, all hell naturally breaks loose. This remake of Night of the Demons doesn't offer up anything you haven't seen before, or any real surprises either, but it does feature a healthy amount of blood, gore, and gross out effects. The babe factor (Shannon Elizabeth, Monica Keena, Diora Baird, and Bobbi Sue Luther) is great, and there are enough nods to the original film (including a cameo from the still sexy Linnea Quigley and a bloody recreation of the famous disappearing lipstick act) to make this worth checking out. All in all, fan of the original or not, this remake of Night of the Demons is a worthwhile horror trek worth taking, as long as you don't expect too much out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Film!, January 9, 2011
This review is from: Night Of The Demons (Amazon Instant Video)
It is a remake of an 80's movie. I absolutely loved the original (I am a big Linnea Quigley fan). I liked this one as well! After watching this one go check out the original you wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not too shabby, December 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was not a disappointment for me, I had low expectations for this but really wanted to see it.It is what it is.A popcorn movie
with some fun things in it..it's far from incredible yes, but it was entertaining from top to bottom.Fans of the original will most likely be accepting of this remake/re-imagining of the campy 80's classic.Grab a soda and a pizza,put the kids to bed and enjoy some campy old school inspired fun...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the ‘80’s film of the same title, December 27, 2013
This review is from: Night of the Demons (DVD)
Story = gaggle of obnoxious young people attend a Halloween party at a haunted house & 99% get killed by demons. This version has been updated for ‘modern’ audiences so, in the early going a lugubrious Edward Furlong (who looks like he was wishing he was somewhere else) as ‘Colin’ a drug dealer goes to see a man about price increases – during the discussion some blonde woman is simulating oral sex on a very unattractive man with facial warts + an irritating voice – what is the point of this? The confused audience now think they’re watching a soft core porn movie but after most of the party guests are ejected by the police we now have a small group who are in big trouble – naturally a young lady needs to go to the bathroom (the loo) & when she looks in the mirror an arm bursts out & tries to grab her: she runs screaming out & gets her mates to return with her &, would you believe it, the mirror is intact. So now we’re back in horror mode: that means we have to have a homage (not a ripoff) of the old lipstick holder thru the nipple gag – the consequences of such an idiotic act are utterly disgusting. Next, a woman called Angela performs a lascivious act on a champagne bottle so the poor audience now think they’re back in soft core porn mode. Fear not – the demons (who look like refugees from a Dario Argento movie) start terminating the remaining dorks & when the sun rises & the lone surviving young lady emerges from the house the audience breathes a grateful sigh of relief that this dreadful mess is now over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Demons come alive on Halloween, August 8, 2013
This review is from: Night of the Demons (DVD)
An out of control and illegal Halloween party awakens Demons. One by one the guests are possessed and transformed. In the end Monica Keena is the only one left. She has to out smart the Demons, or they will possess her, and unleash hell on Earth.

This movie is full of Action, Demons, Death, Survival and a large amount of lust. This is great for horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Demons., April 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really liked this movie. this is a remake from the one in the 80's. Linea Quigley who is in the first on makes a cameo. This movie is more of an updated version of the older one. Really liked Eddie Furlong and Monica Keena their characters had great chemistry. If u get a chance check out both movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Modern Horror, May 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night of the Demons (DVD)
I have grown up with Horror movies from all eras and pride myself on having diversity in my tastes. With all the crap being put out by Hollywood these days, it's hard to find a good Horror movie. Being that I grew up with Night of the Demons, Evil Dead, The Thing, and countless other Horror classics from the 80s I was rather impressed with this remake. It held just the right amount of difference between it and the original. Not too over-the-top and not too serious. It doesn't try to sell itself for being anything more than what it is which is a remake of a great movie. Though it somewhat lacked the feeling of tension throughout, that may just be my own desensitization. All in all it's very entertaining and satisfying visually and the fact that Linnea Quigley makes a cameo appearance in it just adds to it. Definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Night Of The Demons
Night Of The Demons by Adam Gierasch
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.