Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHY NOT ON DVD ?????
This a great film if you are a Tanya Roberts fan, of which I am one. The 4 Stars are for her. What I can't work out is why this hasn't been released on DVD , when the sequels, which are very poor by comparison have been ? PLEASE release on DVD !!!
Published on December 9, 2010 by P. Roberts

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Night Eyes - Who's Watching Who?
Night Eyes explores the concept of voyeurism, whilst maintaining a steady flow of revealing scenes of green-eyed Tanya Roberts, who I am still hung up with since the awful "Beastmaster". In the sequels, Shannon Tweed would go on to join Andrew Stevens in further cashing in on this successful release, although other titles such as "I'm Watching You" and...
Published on June 17, 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Night Eyes - Who's Watching Who?, June 17, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Night Eyes [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Night Eyes explores the concept of voyeurism, whilst maintaining a steady flow of revealing scenes of green-eyed Tanya Roberts, who I am still hung up with since the awful "Beastmaster". In the sequels, Shannon Tweed would go on to join Andrew Stevens in further cashing in on this successful release, although other titles such as "I'm Watching You" and "Scandal - Big Turn On" would deal a little more with the topic than Stevens would.
However, the first Night Eyes is a considerably good movie, with enough suspense and action to keep you through the scenes between softcore sex scenes. If you're looking for some extremely revealing Tanya Roberts scenes, you'll not get them here, and personally, I thought she was much more revealing in Sheena!
The acting here isn't top-notch, the dialogue is pretty poor, and the sex scenes more creatively used to push the plot which isn't too bad. If you love Tanya Roberts as I do, then this one's a welcome addition to your collection.
But, if you want more skin, then try Playboy's "I'm Watching You," which has both Shannon Whirry, and more of a focus on the erotic side of voyeurism which gets forgotten in Night Eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHY NOT ON DVD ?????, December 9, 2010
This review is from: Night Eyes [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This a great film if you are a Tanya Roberts fan, of which I am one. The 4 Stars are for her. What I can't work out is why this hasn't been released on DVD , when the sequels, which are very poor by comparison have been ? PLEASE release on DVD !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor copy, March 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Eyes [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I still have many of my vhs movies and while some are excellent, this one, like some of the ones I have is really a poor reproduction. The seller did include a dvd copy too which was a bit better, but not much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Ms. Roberts..., December 25, 2003
By 
"cmartins" (Rio de Janeiro, Brasil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Night Eyes [VHS] (VHS Tape)
... she kept missing the boat, didn't she? She landed a co-starring role in Charlie's Angels just as the series was on its final slide to oblivion. Then came The Beastmaster, a fine adventure piece of fluff (which earned her a steaming pictorial in Playboy magazine, and that issue was for a while a much sought after collector's item) - but the genre fizzled out, so she never got a chance of achieving "B-queen" cult status. Next she played Velda in the two feature-length Mike Hammer pilots, and was slated to co-star in the series, yet opted out for what she believed would be *the* break into widescreen if not major at least second-tier stardom, the title role in the movie version of Sheena, Queen of the Jungle. Which turned out to be a flop ("a triple waste", I believe I called it in my review): then-retired Irish McCalla, who starred in the short-lived TV series, actually got more mileage out of the film's release than she did.
Which role required her to submit to a peroxide job, and while still stunning as a blonde she was no longer as dazzling as a brunette. Which peroxide seems to have seeped into her brain, as she compounded her mistake by going on to play one of the lamest Bond girls ever in the thoroughly forgettable A View to a Kill - and have what minimal thunder that turkey could muster just as thoroughly stolen from her by Grace Jones.
So, what's a gorgeous gal not yet quite thirty and down on her luck to do? Why, erotic thrillers, of course, at least she has the, er, assets, for it. Never mind the shoestring budgets, the amateurish productions, the next-to-non-existent plots, the not-quite-there casts, the talent-deprived directors: it's a living, right? Not for long, alas; *that* genre was also on its last legs...
Still, of her ventures into it, Night Eyes remains the most, er again, accomplished. At least, it *does* have some semblance of a plot, the production is not quite shabby, she gets a chance or two to flex whatever acting muscles she may have had, and several chances to show her best profile, as well as front, back etc.. And to contribute a bit of undying trivia to movie history, as Night Eyes would have a scene - the "pain and pleasure" dripping hot candle wax bit - later shamelessly copycatted by Madonna in the utterly lousy but big-time nonetheless Body of Evidence.
(Last we saw of Ms. Roberts, she was a regular in a TV series again, the not-quite-prime-time That 70's Show - billed ninth ot tenth in the opening credits, and playing the *mother*, albeit a juicy one, of an adolescent...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gift, December 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Eyes [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This was s christmeas gift. The recipeint of this gift appeared to be happy with this item. I will continue to purchase items here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Largely Forgettable, Even With Extra Dollops Of Flesh., January 11, 2006
By 
rsoonsa (Lake Isabella, California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Night Eyes (Unrated Version) (VHS Tape)
This wallow is an "erotic thriller" and we can be certain of that because it is called so upon the home video box. There are many examples of this seamy genre, particularly prevalent since the late 1980s, the film under discussion here being perhaps the most financially rewarding, earning more than 30 million dollars above its production cost of $750,000, but only a rabid fan of this cinematic category may consider it to be an artistic success, as well. A very small company, Night Eyes Security, composed of two Griffith brothers, is tasked with guarding the Beverly Hills estate of a British pop musician, Brian Walker, and his wife Nikki (Tanya Roberts) but after she discovers her husband making the grade with a young woman during a party in their home, Mrs. Walker files for divorce, following which Mr. Walker hires Night Eyes to supposedly protect his soon-to-be former wife at their Malibu residence, although his true purpose is to obtain damning video tapes from surveillance cameras that he hopes will record Nikki's own sexual misconduct, thereby crystallizing his courtroom defense for their looming civil trial. The younger of the brothers, Will (Andrew Stevens, who also produces here as well as contributing heavily to the screenplay), a rather artless character, does in fact espy Nikki in flagrante delicto, but this apparently fortuitous event for Brian is nullified because Will has succumbed to the physical charms of the wayward wife and has decided to withhold the evidential tape from the musician and his attorney, played by able supporting player Paul Carr, causing a viewer to recognize that the lovestruck security guard can not be considered as an example of rectitude. Becoming involved in his duties well beyond the operation and maintenance of his mini-company's surveillance equipment, Will is delighted as Nikki ostensibly matches his passion, as is evident from a cluster of scenes wherein the two explore each other's private areas, but complications appear when murder, rape and sundry other felonies occur in conjunction with their affair, Will being the primary suspect for the crimes. The substantial profit garnered by this movie prompted production of three sequels, each continuing the amourous adventures of young Will and his trusty spy cameras, and even though their potential merits cannot be determined by this viewer, the first number in the series does provide an unexpected element of suspense in addition to capable costuming from Ha Nguyen, fine stunt performing, and a polished turn from Carr. An unrated version is available that seemingly promises to provide additional footage of the ardent romantic actions shared by the mismatched lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong One, September 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Eyes [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I was sent The wrong tape. I was expecting "Night Eyes ", the first one with Tanya Roberts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Night Eyes (Unrated Version)
Night Eyes (Unrated Version) by Tanya Roberts (VHS Tape)
Used & New from: $24.78
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.