Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I.....I'm at a loss of words....
Oh my God this movie is so bad it's great. I never thought anyone could get so many bad cop cliches in one movie:

a) Two complete opposites get paired up together.

b) Willy Will Williamson gets shot and has to open his vest to show that he had a bulletproof vest.

c) Mr. Williamson has a drinking problem.

d) Fantastic Fred hates...
Published on December 2, 2005 by Dyraks12

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cynthia Was The Only Bright Star Here, But....
This film's only appeal was Cynthia Rothrock, however the director did her a great injustice. Rothrock normally displays her phenomenal martial arts skills with great fight scenes, but here the director made Fred Williamson look more unbeatable, and Rothrock more vulnerable. This is NOT what we come to see in any film Rothrock is in. It was easy to tell that she...
Published 17 months ago by Gary D. Purifory


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I.....I'm at a loss of words...., December 2, 2005
This review is from: Night Vision (DVD)
Oh my God this movie is so bad it's great. I never thought anyone could get so many bad cop cliches in one movie:

a) Two complete opposites get paired up together.

b) Willy Will Williamson gets shot and has to open his vest to show that he had a bulletproof vest.

c) Mr. Williamson has a drinking problem.

d) Fantastic Fred hates his chief.

I'd like to stop here, but the flaws in this movie are high-larious.

a) The WHOLE motorcycle scene. (It's quite obvious that those black things on the ground are exploding.

b) After Fred avoids the bombs, if you look in the background, there are no flames.

c) The song: "Dakota Smith, you're 1, 2, 3, 4, 12 Steps away!"

d) After Dak shoots some dude IN THE HEAD Quick Draw-McGraw turns to him in amazement "He's Dead!!!!" Thanks toots.

e) Oh yeah her last name is not McGraw!

f) The disgustingly huge fat guys that hook up with the playboy bunnyesque chicks. Come on!

g) Newt (the midget.) His role is Oscar worthy.

h) The Video Stalker Barney the Dinosaur is more threatening

i) Video Stalkers death (sorry to ruin the end, but I think you'll see it coming.) His exact words "I'm out of bullets (drops the gun)"

There's more, believe me. Watch it for yourself for a great laugh. Trust me this one is right up there with Satan's Children and Shark Attack 3: Megaladon-The Terror has Risen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cynthia Was The Only Bright Star Here, But...., July 11, 2013
By 
Gary D. Purifory (Chattanooga, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Vision (Amazon Instant Video)
This film's only appeal was Cynthia Rothrock, however the director did her a great injustice. Rothrock normally displays her phenomenal martial arts skills with great fight scenes, but here the director made Fred Williamson look more unbeatable, and Rothrock more vulnerable. This is NOT what we come to see in any film Rothrock is in. It was easy to tell that she herself struggled to look like a character that wasn't much of a fighter. Cybthia is one of the BEST screen fighters in the action film business, and has always played ass-kicking and sexy characters. This was a disgrace to her reputation. This film could have been so much better if Rothrock was used properly. Nonetheless Rothrock has, and will always be one my favorite martial artists in film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night Vision, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Vision (DVD)
Cynthia Rothrock is great in this movie one of the best of her movies along with Rage and Honor 1 & 2 this movie is about a psycho killer he films news woman having affairs on there husband's & films them having sex with there lovers with out ruining it ill leave it at that im sure u know what I mean but I don't think your kids should see it for the nudity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Ugh! I got brains all over me!", October 6, 2011
This review is from: Night Vision (DVD)
When the King of Blaxploitation Fred Williamson, the Hong Kong Action Queen Cynthia Rothrock, and Oscar nominee Robert Forster got together to make a movie, the resulting debacle is almost as entertaining as it is inept, with the added flaw that there's nothing particularly cool or outright funny about the film. Personally, it was a hoot watching these three stumble around this disaster of a cop thriller, but at the same time I was mighty depressed that there was no part of the movie I could get behind and declare "now THAT'S what I came to see." Don't bother getting this one unless your sole purpose is to subject yourself to cinematic weirdness.

The plot: a serial killer dubbed the Video Stalker (Robert Prentiss, The Alamo) kidnaps, tortures, and kills adulterous young women, compiling videos of their lives and death. The only thing standing in the way of his crime wave is the unlikely duo of trouble cops Dakota Smith (Williamson, Black Caesar) and Kristin O'Connor (Rothrock, Yes, Madam!), who will have to untangle a web of police corruption if they hope to succeed in their mission.

Personally, the best part of watching this film was counting all of the embarrassing technical and storytelling mishaps the movie subjects itself to. The entire production is veritable comedy of errors superficially disguised by decent cinematography. There really are too many stylistic bloopers to list in a review of this length, but some of the more obvious ones include... (1) the killer - whom we later find out has a criminal record - handles all of the material he leaves behind with his bare hands, but no one ever thinks to identify him by his fingerprints; (2) when chased by the killer's van, his first victim (Nina Richardson) is literally run down but even then refuses to scream for help, and subsequently sells a taser attack like a sleeping pill; (3) during an early motorcycle scene, Fred Williamson's double is obviously white; (4) when Smith investigates the aforementioned van, its door is being held open by a clearly visible arm not belonging to the killer, and (5) when Smith crashes his motorcycle in an explosive inferno and his body is nowhere to be found, the cops on the scene are quick to assume he went to the liquor store. All of these things happen within the film's first fifteen minutes and accurately herald the tone of things to come.

Despite technically being a thriller, "Night Vision" provides an okay offering of action, mainly in the form of a few shootouts and a car-motorcycle chase. Despite the presence of Cynthia Rothrock, there's only a bit of karate - mostly featuring her at the end, but Fred Williamson also has short brawl halfway through the flick wherein he throws some very sloppy kicks. The acting isn't as bad as much as the writing is, which more or less demands hammy deliveries from all of the performers with the exceptions of Robert Forster (Jackie Brown) as Smith's comrade and Robert Prentiss as the killer, who do respectively good and bad beyond their written roles. Truly, Robert Prentiss makes an awful antagonist: his character is certainly evil but his performance is so weak and weasely that his out-of-nowhere, police brutality-style death feels a lot more satisfying than it has any right to. Oh, and then there's dwarf rapper Bushwick Bill playing Smith's buddy and fellow Alcoholics Anonymous attendant: he's not a great actor and doesn't really contribute to the story, but the director apparently felt he was interesting enough to keep bringing him back for scenes throughout the movie. Alrighty.

As far as Cynthia Rothrock goes, this is definitely the strangest film she had done since Undefeatable and the most all-around inept one since her fare with Leo Fong. I can't really speak for the careers of Fred Williamson or anybody else involved, but I think it's safe to say that they'd too appreciate us leaving this film mostly forgotten, and rightfully so. Only hardcore completionists and aficionados of nonsense need give this a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rothrock and Forster fans stay away!, July 24, 2014
Terrible movie and I'm disappointed Cynthia Rothrock appeared to buy into this project. Casual brutal treatment of women is woven throughout this plot-less mess. Do not waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action Pack 80's movie, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Vision (DVD)
the picture was of high quaility and was exactly what I expected for Cynthia Rothrock, of lot of action and excitement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Night Vision, March 31, 2014
By 
brittany (pittsburgh, pa, US) - See all my reviews
The movie was poor. The acting was poor. The storyline was poor. Don't waste your time watching this for even a minute unless you like B quality movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Think twice if you aren't a movie collector, November 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Vision (Amazon Instant Video)
Rothrock is good as always with the script she is given, Fred Williamson is a little over the top in this one. The director's vision of the plot is really what takes this movie down. I only purchased it because it fits with my Rothrock collection (rather small).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, August 29, 2014
This review is from: Night Vision (Amazon Instant Video)
disappointing. I remember the 'china obrien' movies and some others with Rothrock and Norton which were not oscar material but were fun mindless movies. The acting and fight scenes did not hold my interest, did not make it all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, December 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Night Vision (DVD)
It's good, but not too many action of Cyntia here...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Night Vision
Night Vision by Gil Bettman
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.