Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Iron Maiden $5 Off Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Gear Up for Football Deal of the Day
Night Watch (Alex Cooper Book 14) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.87
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Crisp, clean, attractive copy. May contain owner's name or other light marking. Ships directly to you with tracking from Amazon's warehouse - fast, secure and FREE WITH AMAZON PRIME.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Night Watch Hardcover – July 10, 2012

164 customer reviews

See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, July 10, 2012
$0.01 $0.01

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"The Queen of Intelligent Suspense."
— Lee Child

“[Linda Fairstein] delivers another compelling story with her latest book, Night Watch. Fairstein, a former prosecutor in the Manhattan district attorney's office, knows her stuff. Her insider knowledge brings a realistic feel to the proceedings…Fans of "Law and Order: Special Victims Unit" will enjoy the behind-the-scenes perspective.”
— Associated Press

"Alex Cooper is a fascinating heroine...based on the equally fascinating life of her creator." 
O, The Oprah Magazine

“Fairstein’s extensive prosecutorial experience adds authenticity to this thrilling procedural, a tasty soufflé of escargot, Beaujolais, cocaine, and murder that will entice the author’s many fans.”
Library Journal

“With Night Watch, both devotees and new readers alike will delight at the return of Alex Cooper and her professional partners and close friends Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace”
Vineyard Gazette

"Long before sex crimes became everyday fictional fare on America's favorite cop shows, Linda Fairstein was in court and on the streets working ripped-from-the-headlines cases."
USA Today

“A real winner from a legal-thriller master…Fairstein is on a roll with her Alexander Cooper series—and it’s likely to continue here.”
Booklist (starred review)

"Fairstein is superbly attuned to the sinister vibes of the famous, as well as forgotten, New York City locales."
— Maureen Corrigan, NPR.org

"Fans will be hungry for this; look for the eight- to ten-city tour."
Library Journal

"Linda Fairstein is one of my favorite writers....her stories never fail to thrill."
— Karin Slaughter

“The historical facts sprinkled with the compelling crimes and characters create a worthwhile read that fans of the Law and Order TV series will savor. After finishing Silent Mercy, readers will eagerly seek out her other novels.”
— Associated Press on Silent Mercy

About the Author

Linda Fairstein was chief of the Sex Crimes Unit of the district attorney’s office in Manhattan for more than two decades and is America’s foremost legal expert on sexual assault and domestic violence. Her Alexandra Cooper novels are international bestsellers and have been translated into more than a dozen languages. She lives in Manhattan and on Martha’s Vineyard.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Dutton; First Edition edition (July 10, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0525952632
  • ISBN-13: 978-0525952633
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6.3 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (164 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #903,059 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Linda Fairstein was chief of the Sex Crimes Unit of the district attorney's office in Manhattan for more than two decades and is America's foremost legal expert on sexual assault and domestic violence. Her Alexandra Cooper novels are international bestsellers and have been translated into more than a dozen languages. She lives in Manhattan and on Martha's Vineyard. www.lindafairstein.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

63 of 71 people found the following review helpful By Luanne Ollivier TOP 1000 REVIEWER on July 10, 2012
Format: Hardcover
3.5/5

Linda Fairstein's latest release, Night Watch, marks the fourteenth book in her highly successful Alex Cooper series.

This has been one of my favourite crime series over the years. Alex works in the New York P.D. Sex Crimes Unit. Fairstein herself Linda Fairstein was chief of the Sex Crimes Unit of the district attorney's office in Manhattan for more than two decades and is a legal expert on sexual assault and domestic violence. This gives her novels that unmistakable ring of truth and attention to detail - only one of the things that has kept me coming back to read the newest novel.

In Night Watch, Alex has headed over to France to visit with her latest love - Luc, a Michelin three star restaurant owner. When a young woman is found murdered in the idyllic French village, the local constabulary suspects Luc - there are connections he has neglected to mention that look suspicious. Also suspicious are the old skulls and bones left on his home's doorstep. Alex has plans to stay in France for two weeks, but a desperate plea from her partners Mike and Mercer and a distinct order from her boss have her heading back to New York. A high level diplomatic and world figure is being accused of rape by a hotel maid. (yep, lots of similarities to recent headlines)

Mike and Mercer are another one of the reasons I love this series. Fairstein has created a wonderful group of protagonists - each with their own strengths and weaknesses. Mike is brash, bold and fearless. Mercer is quieter, thoughtful and thinks before he acts or speaks. But the three of them together make for a team that gets results. The camaraderie between these three has grown and solidified over the course of many years.
Read more ›
7 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful By MED on July 22, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Fairstein brings back Alex Cooper, a New York sex crimes prosecutor and her good friends - Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace. The three have an intense, complicated friendship that underscores the long running series.

Alexandra travels to the south of France to visit her French boyfriend, Luc Rouget. He is a restauranteur, following in his father's footsteps. He has a three star Michelan resturant in a small village. But her visit is immediately sidetracked by the discovery of a body in the village pond the night after a party given by Luc.

At the same time an African diplomat and French national is arrested in New York for assaulting a maid in his hotel. (Ripped from current events?) Cooper is called home to handle the high profile crime investigation and represent the prosecutor's office.

The two crimes - the sexual assault and the murder in France come front and center for the three friends. Complications, connections and misdirection are everywhere. Luc's character has never been one of my favorites and this installment does not help his likeability.

Fairstein always adds history and New York style to her work - and she doesn't disappoint here. It just isn't enough to lift the book out of ordinary status.

Long running fans of the series will not want to miss this installment - but it is not Fairstein's best effort. Just okay.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By ausGeoff on March 12, 2013
Format: Hardcover
Ms Fairstein seems to have lost the plot--literally--with her Alexandra Cooper series.

I only managed to get to chapter 10 (around 70 pages) before I lost the will to continue in the vain hope of a return to Cooper's "old" US home-based style. Why were we subjected to so much irrelevant trivia about the French Riviera restaurant scene generally, plus the interminable descriptions of the interior of Luc's fabulous eatery? Did the colour of the curtains or the style of light fittings or the starched napery really have anything to do with the plot at hand, or was it just lazy plot filling. The first few chapters read like a tourist's restaurant guide, complete with exotic ingredients, and method of preparation and serving. Who cares if Luc's restaurant is 3 star or whatever? Does it matter?

Why were all the French cops toned-down caricatures of Inspector Jacques Clouseau? And the likelihood of them asking--even indirectly--for assistance from Cooper truly stretched the bounds of credibility. Not to mention the little indiscriminate French phrases thrown around apparently to add verisimilitude to the French locale (particularly as all the gendarmes spoke perfect English).

I won't even bother to shoot holes in the cardboard cutout of Luc, the master chef who knows all the local police hierarchy, and rides a "powerful" Ducati whilst ignoring the local speed limits. Suave, elegant, impeccably dressed, courted by the rich and famous who queue to enjoy the culinary masterpieces that, strangely, appear seldom touched by the hand of the master (he's never in his kitchen LOL).

Sorry Ms Fairstein; you've lost another reader.

I've given the unread part of the book an extra star for the benefit of the doubt.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By M. Poller VINE VOICE on September 2, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
The book has two plots that are very loosely connected to Luc, Alex's current boyfriend. The setting begins in France and then NYC where Alex has to work hard in her job as prosecutor in the rape of a hotel maid by a wealthy Frenchman with an African background. This is based on t he real story which gripped the world a year ago an d frankly was more exciting. This one ends with a fizzle. Aside from that except for Mercer who is one of the policemen working with Alex, the other characters including Alex are all pretty ugly. The end of t he book is good though and is connected to the other plot involving Luc's venture into a great restaurant in NYC. Like other reviewers here, I really hope that our author will drop Luc an d move on. Mike also is very unpleasant in this book and Alex doesn't shine either. Big disappointment to read this one. If Luc is in the next episode, I probably won't bother with it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: &