Night Watch and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.99
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: While this book has been loved by someone else, they left it in great condition. Hurry and buy it before someone else does and take advantage of our FREE Super Saver Shipping!!!
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Night Watch Hardcover – July 10, 2012


See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, July 10, 2012
$0.29 $0.01

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Good Girl" by Mary Kubica.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Dutton Adult; First Edition edition (July 10, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0525952632
  • ISBN-13: 978-0525952633
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6.3 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (148 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #625,914 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"The Queen of Intelligent Suspense."
— Lee Child

“[Linda Fairstein] delivers another compelling story with her latest book, Night Watch. Fairstein, a former prosecutor in the Manhattan district attorney's office, knows her stuff. Her insider knowledge brings a realistic feel to the proceedings…Fans of "Law and Order: Special Victims Unit" will enjoy the behind-the-scenes perspective.”
— Associated Press

"Alex Cooper is a fascinating heroine...based on the equally fascinating life of her creator." 
O, The Oprah Magazine

“Fairstein’s extensive prosecutorial experience adds authenticity to this thrilling procedural, a tasty soufflé of escargot, Beaujolais, cocaine, and murder that will entice the author’s many fans.”
Library Journal

“With Night Watch, both devotees and new readers alike will delight at the return of Alex Cooper and her professional partners and close friends Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace”
Vineyard Gazette

"Long before sex crimes became everyday fictional fare on America's favorite cop shows, Linda Fairstein was in court and on the streets working ripped-from-the-headlines cases."
USA Today

“A real winner from a legal-thriller master…Fairstein is on a roll with her Alexander Cooper series—and it’s likely to continue here.”
Booklist (starred review)

"Fairstein is superbly attuned to the sinister vibes of the famous, as well as forgotten, New York City locales."
— Maureen Corrigan, NPR.org

"Fans will be hungry for this; look for the eight- to ten-city tour."
Library Journal

"Linda Fairstein is one of my favorite writers....her stories never fail to thrill."
— Karin Slaughter

“The historical facts sprinkled with the compelling crimes and characters create a worthwhile read that fans of the Law and Order TV series will savor. After finishing Silent Mercy, readers will eagerly seek out her other novels.”
— Associated Press on Silent Mercy

About the Author

Linda Fairstein was chief of the Sex Crimes Unit of the district attorney’s office in Manhattan for more than two decades and is America’s foremost legal expert on sexual assault and domestic violence. Her Alexandra Cooper novels are international bestsellers and have been translated into more than a dozen languages. She lives in Manhattan and on Martha’s Vineyard.


More About the Author

Linda Fairstein was chief of the Sex Crimes Unit of the district attorney's office in Manhattan for more than two decades and is America's foremost legal expert on sexual assault and domestic violence. Her Alexandra Cooper novels are international bestsellers and have been translated into more than a dozen languages. She lives in Manhattan and on Martha's Vineyard.

Customer Reviews

I look forward to her next book.
Lilly Richards
I felt no real connection to the plot nor most of the characters, especially Luc, and after reading all 400+ pages, the anti-climactic ending left me wanting.
Crystal Bell
I love every book Linda Fairstein has written.
DanburyRose

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

61 of 69 people found the following review helpful By Luanne Ollivier TOP 500 REVIEWER on July 10, 2012
Format: Hardcover
3.5/5

Linda Fairstein's latest release, Night Watch, marks the fourteenth book in her highly successful Alex Cooper series.

This has been one of my favourite crime series over the years. Alex works in the New York P.D. Sex Crimes Unit. Fairstein herself Linda Fairstein was chief of the Sex Crimes Unit of the district attorney's office in Manhattan for more than two decades and is a legal expert on sexual assault and domestic violence. This gives her novels that unmistakable ring of truth and attention to detail - only one of the things that has kept me coming back to read the newest novel.

In Night Watch, Alex has headed over to France to visit with her latest love - Luc, a Michelin three star restaurant owner. When a young woman is found murdered in the idyllic French village, the local constabulary suspects Luc - there are connections he has neglected to mention that look suspicious. Also suspicious are the old skulls and bones left on his home's doorstep. Alex has plans to stay in France for two weeks, but a desperate plea from her partners Mike and Mercer and a distinct order from her boss have her heading back to New York. A high level diplomatic and world figure is being accused of rape by a hotel maid. (yep, lots of similarities to recent headlines)

Mike and Mercer are another one of the reasons I love this series. Fairstein has created a wonderful group of protagonists - each with their own strengths and weaknesses. Mike is brash, bold and fearless. Mercer is quieter, thoughtful and thinks before he acts or speaks. But the three of them together make for a team that gets results. The camaraderie between these three has grown and solidified over the course of many years.
Read more ›
7 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By MED on July 22, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Fairstein brings back Alex Cooper, a New York sex crimes prosecutor and her good friends - Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace. The three have an intense, complicated friendship that underscores the long running series.

Alexandra travels to the south of France to visit her French boyfriend, Luc Rouget. He is a restauranteur, following in his father's footsteps. He has a three star Michelan resturant in a small village. But her visit is immediately sidetracked by the discovery of a body in the village pond the night after a party given by Luc.

At the same time an African diplomat and French national is arrested in New York for assaulting a maid in his hotel. (Ripped from current events?) Cooper is called home to handle the high profile crime investigation and represent the prosecutor's office.

The two crimes - the sexual assault and the murder in France come front and center for the three friends. Complications, connections and misdirection are everywhere. Luc's character has never been one of my favorites and this installment does not help his likeability.

Fairstein always adds history and New York style to her work - and she doesn't disappoint here. It just isn't enough to lift the book out of ordinary status.

Long running fans of the series will not want to miss this installment - but it is not Fairstein's best effort. Just okay.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Bookreporter on July 16, 2012
Format: Hardcover
New York City ADA Alexandra Cooper is just settling in for some much needed R&R in the south of France with her lover, Frenchman Luc Rouget, owner of a three-star Michelin restaurant near the Côte d'Azur. Alex has barely unpacked her bags when a woman's body is discovered in a nearby pond, shattering the tranquility of the sleepy little village where Luc makes his home.

Her investigative radar goes off like a fire alarm when local officials declare the drowning accidental or a suicide. On-scene evidence, rapidly being trampled by the local gendarme and curiosity seekers, points to possible murder. This is the first hint of the gulf between American and French police work and public attitudes. When a matchbox advertising Luc's soon-to-be opened new restaurant in Manhattan is found in the dead woman's pocket, and further investigation reveals that she once worked for Luc, Alex finds herself entangled in a crime that may involve the man she loves.

Meanwhile, an international scandal is unfolding in New York, where the multi-millionaire head of a world-wide banking consortium has been accused of raping a hotel maid. Alex tries to ignore the frantic calls from her office, but soon learns that the DA's office has tracked her down and she has been called back to New York to take over the botched investigation. Her deposition of the victim falters as the maid's lawyer calls a press conference to announce the filing of a multi-million-dollar lawsuit against her famous assailant.

As Alex tries to put out the fires in the incendiary charges and counter charges in the rape case, another suspicious murder is reported in New York. This time the victim is male, but a matchbox advertising Luc's New York restaurant, identical to the one found on the woman in France, is discovered.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By M. Poller VINE VOICE on September 2, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
The book has two plots that are very loosely connected to Luc, Alex's current boyfriend. The setting begins in France and then NYC where Alex has to work hard in her job as prosecutor in the rape of a hotel maid by a wealthy Frenchman with an African background. This is based on t he real story which gripped the world a year ago an d frankly was more exciting. This one ends with a fizzle. Aside from that except for Mercer who is one of the policemen working with Alex, the other characters including Alex are all pretty ugly. The end of t he book is good though and is connected to the other plot involving Luc's venture into a great restaurant in NYC. Like other reviewers here, I really hope that our author will drop Luc an d move on. Mike also is very unpleasant in this book and Alex doesn't shine either. Big disappointment to read this one. If Luc is in the next episode, I probably won't bother with it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?