Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chloe Mason vs. RBK Security Inc.
Ratings:

Overall: 4.5 stars
Sensuality level: 3 (There are sex scenes, tastefully done...but kind of sweet for Rice)

My Musings:

Mike Keillor is the third leg of the triad that comprises the RBK Security, Inc. company. A retired SWAT officer who served in the military as a Marine Force Recon sniper, Mike has never recovered from the...
Published on February 26, 2012 by Elf2060

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Odd book with an unlikable hero
There were some parts of this book I enjoyed, but overall it just left me feeling kind of "blech." First off, I hated the icky murder/rapey accusations near the beginning of the book. It did NOT start me with a good feeling about the hero. I get that he had some pretty serious emotional/mental issues, but I could never really move past that in my mind. He seemed to have a...
Published on November 6, 2012 by JLL


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chloe Mason vs. RBK Security Inc., February 26, 2012
This review is from: Nightfire: A Protectors Novel: Marine Force Recon (Protectors Novels) (Paperback)
Ratings:

Overall: 4.5 stars
Sensuality level: 3 (There are sex scenes, tastefully done...but kind of sweet for Rice)

My Musings:

Mike Keillor is the third leg of the triad that comprises the RBK Security, Inc. company. A retired SWAT officer who served in the military as a Marine Force Recon sniper, Mike has never recovered from the childhood trauma that orphaned him and ultimately resulted in his finding his brothers of the heart (Sam Reston and Harry Bolt) at the foster home they all shared. The unalloyed happiness of the others does little to eliminate Mike's tendency to drink too much and engage in indiscriminate one night stands until the arrival of Chloe Mason and her bombshell announcement. Recognizing a kindred spirit who still bears scars from her own childhood, Mike feels compelled to offer the fragile woman his unconditional protection and support no matter what his personal cost.

Chloe Mason has survived insurmountable odds despite having had 55 broken bones and a loveless childhood. She is fragile physically but has developed an indomitable spirit thanks to her inner strength and the brief period of nurturing received at a private school. Her desire to help other oppressed women places her in severe danger but also gives her the undeniable opportunity to blossom and grow into a contributing member of society.

A great conclusion to the trilogy about three closely-knit men who forged their relationship in the shared hardships of their youth and honed their skills in various branches of the military before rejoining to form a successful security agency in San Diego that also has a mission to assist abused women. The two distinctive women from the previous books ("Into the Crossfire" and "Hotter Than Wildfire") also make appearances in this tale as they add their unique skills to the resources available to protect Chloe after she becomes a target for foreign assailants through her work with abused women. Mike must conquer his own demons even as he searches for acceptance and forgiveness from the woman that he will do anything to keep safe, from himself as well as those who would seek to harm her.

I love the males in this series because they are so strong and capable yet are transformed into mush by the women (and girls) in their lives. The strong sense of puzzlement depicted when faced with a crying female, the careful tiptoeing of the hulking alpha male who has a stern conversation with his genitalia and the unconditional surrender gifted to the female(s) in his life all make these great reads for me. I found the torture scenes a little bit graphic for comfort but I certainly am even more impressed and dismayed by the idea that the elite military forces willingly undergo such torture as part of their training. I do think that the weaknesses in Mike's home defense were a little uncharacteristic (although understandably necessary to move the plot along) given what the guys do for a living but I feel that altogether this was a great story and a fitting end to the trilogy. I have hopes that the secondary characters briefly mentioned will get their own time to shine (especially the wiz back in Boston). A thrilling romantic read packed with intense emotions, action and suspense.

Thanks for the opportunity to review this for the Seductive Musings blog
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Odd book with an unlikable hero, November 6, 2012
There were some parts of this book I enjoyed, but overall it just left me feeling kind of "blech." First off, I hated the icky murder/rapey accusations near the beginning of the book. It did NOT start me with a good feeling about the hero. I get that he had some pretty serious emotional/mental issues, but I could never really move past that in my mind. He seemed to have a genuine sex addiction (Chloe herself calls him an addict, and I would have to agree), yet he gets no treatment for it. He's "cured" by the love of a good woman. Doesn't work that way! The characters fall in insta-lust that was just so unbelievable to me (every look or touch is "lightning bolts" and "sparks"...ugh). I also didn't feel like the characters had depth. I didn't see that Chloe had a personality. She's described almost like an otherworldly creature floating through life. She doesn't have much agency in the book, mostly just reacting to what others around her are doing. As I said, Mike was kind of a icky hero for me. He has heavy issues but doesn't seem to acknowledge or accept that. I've liked flawed heroes before, but they showed some sort of genuine awareness of their problems AND weren't perfectly at peace even at the end. I didn't sense that Mike had really dealt with his addiction, and it also didn't make much sense to me. He was supposedly this crusader for abused women and prostitutes, yet he has a sex addiction and, while he doesn't sleep with prostitutes, he certainly exploits women to feed his addiction. (He admits he manipulates women and knows exactly what to say to get them into bed.) I don't know enough about addiction to say that wouldn't be possible, but on the surface it seems somewhat implausible. Plus, he sleeps with the supposed love of his life yet uses no condom. Yuck! God knows what diseases he's picked up during his years of addictive behavior, even if he hadn't been sleeping around the last few months. Chloe can't get pregnant, but she doesn't really explain that to him--he just goes ahead with it. Seems like if he truly cared about Chloe and had changed his ways, he would certainly have used a condom or not had sex if he didn't have one. Yuck. He wasn't very tender with Chloe. She was entirely inexperienced with men but the first time they have sex is standing up in a shower the same day she was physically assaulted (and nearly raped)! Sounds romantic, eh?

I did like some of the other characters in the book, and some of the plot was unique. I thought the book spent a little too much time in the villain's head--he wasn't that interesting to me--but there were some moments the suspense worked for me. Still, I ended this book partly squicked out and partly bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much ugly, February 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i know that this author likes to make sure you know how bad her villains are by adding some very uncomfortable imagery from their past(gang rape..torture..etc) and i can usually skip that paragraph and move on. But this one had a little too much for you to skip. And frankly it just skeezzes me to have a nice sex scene between the main characters and a prostitute torture scene in the next scene. It is like being tricked into watching a snuff film. Not what i am looking for in my romance novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I REALLY LOVE A FLAWED HERO !!!!!!!, March 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was my favorite of the Protectors Novels. I find it thought provoking to see how far someone will go with self-abasement for a percieved wrong doing (guilt). Mike had some serious baggage to overcome and did so with the help of a "good woman". I love stories with a hero who is flawed but strong enough to overcome. Chloe had alot of issue of her own but with the help given in her recent past she has become strong. A truely great heroine for our tortured hero. This book does have alot of dark moments but they are part of this story and I didn't feel they were overdone or out of place. This is classic LMR and I await her next novel with anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not terrible, not great, March 20, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book essentially has one note. Boy meets girl. Boy becomes inexplicably obsessed and possessive of said girl. Insert sexual tension and couple sex scenes towards the end of the book and there you have it. Not a whole lot of substance. I know, I know....it's a lot to ask for this genre but still. The characters had very little substance. They all seemed to have interesting back stories although they weren't explored too much. The book really was mostly how Mike can't stop staring at Chloe and how "delicate" she is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this one but a little less heat than I usually expect from LMR, July 26, 2013
By 
MegMeg (Washington) - See all my reviews
I really enjoyed Nightfire. Mike was perfect and sweet. It was a little more of a understated erotica than I am used to with Lisa Marie Rice but still perfectly enjoyable. Definitely a solid 4 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm questioning RBK's professionalism..., July 3, 2013
Third in the Protectors romantic suspense series about a security company and the "brothers" who started it. The couple focus is on Crissy/Chloe and Mike Keillor.

My Take
The start of this story will break your heart and keep it hurting. Chloe is such a generous soul and so furious with her parents for their choices. For their neglect. But fortuitous events have made her a wealthy woman with less of a burden from her past and the opportunity to make things right.

She finds so much more than she had expected. A family. Familial love. The potential for an amazing romantic love until Mike shuts down.

It's around this point that the story starts to fall apart for me. Here's these three guys who are brilliant with a very successful security business. A cop who likes Mike. And none of them think of checking surveillance cameras. WTF? It takes teacher Chloe calling her PI to track down the proof. Hullo?

Do these guys consider how they would break into their own apartments? 'Cause reading of how easily Nikitin gets in is just downright ridiculous.

The story picks up again with Chloe volunteering at a women's shelter where she is seen as a threat to a particular business. And, with the change in that business' protocols and security, Chloe is a threat who needs to be humbled. And, snicker, they don't know what they're getting into...bwa-ha-ha...

We finally learn what happened to Mike's family. Why he feels such a need to drown his pain. The guilt he carries.

God, I know that variety makes the world go round, but do we really need this kind of variety within "humanity"? These men disgust me. I'll never be able to understand this need, this desire to hurt, to abuse. When Consuelo escapes with her "treasure", it breaks my heart at how little she trusts anyone.

The Story
Life was great, fabulous, until Mike realized he was an unwanted burden in his brothers' lives. It's a shock, and Mike takes refuge in his one vice. One he quickly realizes is too disgusting for words, and he runs his disgust off. Lucky for him as it saves his butt.

Chloe Mason is desperate with hope. Her parents died recently and the documents she found have set her on a new course, one she could never have expected.

And Chloe is a revelation of light for Mike. She's his salvation, and one he has promised to never touch again.

Chloe doesn't need to work, but she does need to stay occupied, especially since that stupid confession she made to Mike, and her compassion finds relief in helping women who are abused. Only her sympathy reverberates within women who have been imported to San Diego as sex slaves.

The Characters
Chloe Mason spent almost her entire childhood having surgery or recovering from it. Her very-distant parents, Rebecca and George Mason, rarely visited her in hospital; shortly after her release, she went to boarding school. Sister Mary Michael became the mother of Chloe's heart. Amanda Box is a private investigator Chloe hired after she discovered her parents' secrets. She's good with street surveillance too.

Mike Keillor, an ex-Marine and ex-SWAT with the SDPD, is the third "brother" in RBK Security Inc. And he has issues---Mom, Dad, Eddie, and Jeff---he drowns in alcohol and sex.

Mike's brothers and partners in RBK Security Inc. are Harry Bolt, former Delta, who found his happily ever after with Ellen Palmer an accountant by day and the sultry singer Eve by night with their three-month-old, Grace (Hotter Than Wildfire: (Protectors, #2)), and Sam Reston, an ex-SEAL married to Nicole, who runs a translating agency, Wordsmith, (Into the Crossfire (Protectors, #1)). They've just had a baby, Meredith (Hotter Than Wildfire). Marisa is their very compassionate receptionist. Barney is another of their people.

Lieutenant Bill Kelly is SDPD and a former coworker of Mike's. He's got a hard job ahead of him when a cokehead, Mila Koravich, is found beaten to death. Special Agent Aaron Welles has helped RBK on their pet project.

Marion is the director of the shelter where Chloe volunteers. Rudy is a computer hacker friend of Nicole's.

Franklin Sands operates a very high-class brothel, oops, I mean, "men's club", the Meteor Club, in San Diego. Anatoly Nikitin is his new Russian partner with a very hardnosed approach to how the house will operate. Ivan, Lyov, and Dimitri are on Nikitin's security team; Pirat is a computer consultant. Consuelo is one of his women and getting too cocky. Elena is Consuelo's best friend and was the first to speak with Chloe. Larry Cameron runs a used car dealership and loves to hurt women, and he has lots of company. Big names.

The Lost Ones Fund is where half the profits from RBK go, helping women escape abusive situations. Harry's purpose is to make up for his baby sister, Crissy, being murdered by his addict mother's vicious boyfriend; Sam wants to prevent another child from being thrown out; and, Mike pays for his feelings of guilt over the murder of his family.

The Cover
Well, from the great graphic on the cover, I'm not sure what Harry is fussed about. Looks like Crissy is able to hold her own with the grip she's got on Mike's undershirt.

The closest I can guess on the title is that Chloe is Mike's Nightfire, the light in the cave of his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good one, June 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nightfire: A Protectors Novel: Marine Force Recon (Protectors Novels) (Paperback)
Good well written book. Loads of good dialouge.

Mike Keillor is part of RBK a high end security company. He is in fact a partner in the firm. He's an ex Marine and also worked SWAT for the SDPD. He and his brothers Harry Bolt and Sam Reston are all ex-Spec Op military and have made RBK a highly successful security company.

Mike is the only unmarried member of RBK.

He spends loads of time with his partners wives and children. In fact he spends all his time with his brothers, the wives and kids.

He's beginning to get the idea that he's imposing. Nothing great. Just looks between the husbands and wives. He really, really needs to get a life of his own and let his brothers and the wives have some private time, minus him.

Mike is also into sex. Lots of sex. Lately he doesn't care who his partner is and he's usually drunk.

This last time he picked up a real lowlife of a woman. He was screwing her and she was demanding he hurt her. Whoa. Not Mikes style especially since RBK runs an underground RR for battered women. No way is Mike interested in hurting any woman.

Mike cuts things short and takes a good look at where he ended up. He's appalled to note that he was so drunk he never noticed he's in a dump and his partner is an addict. The woman is screaming at him to hurt her and calling him every name in the book.

Mike gets the heck out and since he'd been drinking he left his SUV there at ran back. Five miles. No problem for Mike.

Enter Chloe Mason. Chloe is the daughter of less than loving parents. She's spent a decade in hospitals just getting enough health to walk. Chloe moves slowly and has loads of problem just walking.

Chloe's parents were killed in a car accident and she is the sole beneficiary of an estate worth Millions of dollars. She also learns that she was adopted and has a brother. The brother is Harry Bolt one of the partners at RBK.

Chloe of course hires a PI to find Harry Bolt. Once she locates him she goes to RBK. She's nervous as hell. She has no idea how Harry is going to take the news. She takes her time and lays out her story for Harry, Sam and Mike. Will Harry even want a sister??

Harry is flabbergasted and ecstatic. His little sister is alive. All these years he assumed his little sister, Chrissy, was dead. He himself killed the brute who he thought killed her. He had two broken legs, courtesy of that brute but still managed to kill the man.

No one ever told him his sister was alive. He assumed she was dead and no one told him anything different. He was one angry kid and for years thought his Sisters death was something he could have prevented. Much to Chloes heartfelt joy Harry is ecstatic that she's alive and has come to him.

Mike is floored by Chloe's beauty and sweetness. He is also overjoyed that Harry's sister is miraculously alive after all these years. Talk about a miracle.

In the middle of this joyous occassion the SDPD shows up.

The detective wants to talk with Mike. Mike can't figure out why till the detective tells him that the woman he was with last night was in the hospital after being beaten very badly. She named him as her attacker. Mike is floored. He tells the officer what happened but evidence he was there is what the SDPD is seeing and of course the victims charges.

Mike, Harry and Sam all head for the PD.

Chloe gets in contact with the PI she used to find Harry.

Chloes PI immediately starts looking at the cameras between the apartment and Mikes home. Mike ran home and he's on every camera heading home. The timeline on the camera footage proves the time Mike left and when he arrived at his house. Its proof that the woman was lying. Her timeline is way the hell off. Mike is cleared. Mike thinks Chloe is the greatest. He's drawn to her like he's never been drawn to a woman before. In fact he and Chloe almost head for the sack.

However brother Harry knows Mike and his lifestyle for the past few years. He tells Mike hands off. Mike obliges but he hates it. He's really attracted to Chloe and she is attracted to him.

Mike cools off around Chloe and she can't understand it. Its as if they are just friends now with no future. She's flumoxed at the change in Mike.

Chloe's health improves with Mike teaching her physical fitness. She also works part time at the RBK shelter for battered women.

Chloe lands in a mess when she tries to help some of the sex slaves at the Meteor Club. The club is run by Russians and the women are slaves to whatever a paying customer wants.

Chloe never gives the women advice. She just listens to the stories. The Russians are not happy and send a couple of thugs to let Chloe know what goes on at the Meteor Club is none of her business. Of course Mike gets there and kicks some serious ass.

Just a great story with great dialogue and some super hot guys and the women they love.

Five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story, March 29, 2013
By 
Gene Payne (Richmond, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Though not my favorite genre, I found this book easy to read and fast moving. Characters were believable and well developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved the book i also read the entire series. I really enjoyed the love story and the the guy was so tough :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nightfire: A Protectors Novel: Marine Force Recon (Protectors Novels)
Nightfire: A Protectors Novel: Marine Force Recon (Protectors Novels) by Lisa Marie Rice (Paperback - February 7, 2012)
$13.99 $11.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.