Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing release for this highly sought after movie
Code Red has done a spectacular job with this sleazy horror film. First off it is a two disc set. This release contains THREE versions of the film
Disc one has a HiDef Master 1:78 16 x 9 cut (this was a good print) and a full frame color corrected cut of the movie (this isnt too good)
while disc 2 has a brand new 2011 telecine 1:78:1 16 x 9 transfer which is...
Published on July 23, 2011 by D. Steigman

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Been A Long Time Coming...
Most people aren't even aware that this movie exists. However, I'm not most people, and sleazy exploitation splatter films are kind of my thing. When I found out that the wait was over, that there was indeed a DVD release date set for "Nightmare", I felt like a kid on Christmas eve. I had first seen this movie twenty-five years ago, and I remembered it well. This was not...
Published on October 18, 2011 by Misfit5150


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing release for this highly sought after movie, July 23, 2011
This review is from: Nightmare (Uncut 30th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
Code Red has done a spectacular job with this sleazy horror film. First off it is a two disc set. This release contains THREE versions of the film
Disc one has a HiDef Master 1:78 16 x 9 cut (this was a good print) and a full frame color corrected cut of the movie (this isnt too good)
while disc 2 has a brand new 2011 telecine 1:78:1 16 x 9 transfer which is the best of the bunch. Disc 2 is labeled DVDr - but rest assured it is not..it's a little Code Red joke..
Bonus features include Audio Commentary with make up artist Cleve Hall and Baird Stafford, an uncensored 95min Italian interview from Romano Scavolini in Italian Language ( no subtitles ) , "Making of a Nightmare" interview with Baird Stafford, Cleve Hall and Tom Ward, "New York Nightmare" interview with Edward French ( special effects artist) 2 different Nightmare trailers, Code Red trailers...
The movie itself is about an adult who keeps having Nightmares about his childhood,his past, leading to his murderous self in the present. It's gory, perverse, sleazy , just the way gore lovers like it..
I will not say too much about scenes and spoil any characters it other than there is a gratuitous amount of splatter gore, nudity, an unforgettable scene with a lady and her *toy*. To answer some questions, their is a head chopping blood spurting scene, a stabbing scene, a woman tied up being eaten by rats, gunfire gore, foaming at the mouth. A ladies' head surrounded by bloody insides, liver, stomach...
At times the film's plot is a little incoherent, hard to follow but if you stick with it like I did,as a first time viewer, you will be rewarded with a sleazy horror gem that is highly compelling.
None of the actors will win academy awards but it was at least credible for a film such as this..
This film isnt for everyone , but if you like movies like Maniac, Rituals, gore, fans of independent genre films this is highly recommended
Good show Code Red !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cult Classic makes it's DVD appearance at long last!, July 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nightmare (Uncut 30th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
Long derided by elitist and stately horror critics, but much loved by the Exploitation/Slasher/Gore crowd, the notorious Video Nasty "NIGHTMARE" has finally been bestowed upon us by the fine folks at Code Red! Grim, dark, and featuring the most shocking decapitation scene you will ever see, "NIGHTMARE" is perfect for fans of films such as "MANIAC", "DON'T GO IN THE HOUSE", and "PIECES". Lead actor Baird Stafford gives a sulking and menacing portrayal of a man overcome with mental illness, and there is a pervasively downbeat vibe to this film that is hard to shake.

This release is packaged beautifully! The original theatrical artwork with a strikingly lurid color scheme sets the tone before you even begin viewing. For extras we have a commentary track with Baird Stafford, and FX man Cleve Hall. This commentary track is very informative. Stafford has a razor sharp recollection of many facets of the shoot. I found this a very enjoyable listen. Then we have the "MAKING OF A NIGHTMARE" interview segment with Stafford, Hall, and Tom Ward. And, as an extra bonus, the "NEW YORK NIGHTMARE" interview segment with veteran makeup man Ed French! I was ecstatic to see him included as he also worked on another favorite of mine- "BLOOD RAGE". Sadly, this interview is rather short, and French seems far more interested in pointing out his extensive resume of Emmy nominations, blah, blah. Still a nice little extra, regardless. There is also a 95 minute interview with director Romano Scavolini, but it is in Italian with no subtitles. I am hoping that if this DVD release sells well enough, perhaps one day we might get a BluRay release with the interview subtitled.

Oh, and so there is no confusion, all copies are 2 DISC sets with three separate transfers. I personally prefer the 2008 HD master on disc one, but I also recommend checking out the brand new 2011 telecine on disc 2 if you are watching the film without the commentary track. The matte line on the disc 2 transfer is lowered, thus giving some more detail at the bottom of the screen. This was a nice touch, especially in the porn palace scene, but overall after comparison, I just really prefer the colors and saturation of the 2008 master.

I am thrilled to finally have this gem on DVD. The wait is finally over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Code Red's own 'personal nightmare' is now our Nightmare..., August 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nightmare (Uncut 30th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
In the years since Program Power and then BCI acquired the rights to this film / did nothing with them / dissolved & passed the buck to Code Red I have managed to get married, live overseas, and have children... Yes, this DVD really has been a long time coming - at least 7-10yrs... hence my anticipation for this - my favourite non-giallo slasher - was high, and understandably that's a tall order for any long awaited DVD to live up to. Especially a Code Red one.

I remember the days of film fairs in sports halls where, with the right nods and winks, you'd get to see a hand written sheet of A4 with scribbled titles of notorious horror films bootlegged onto VHS - that's how I first saw Nightmare 20yrs ago, so I'm well accustomed to viewing grainy, scratchy, washed out / too dark, badly registered renditions of old horror films, but even so I was quite appalled by the quality of the prints in this DVD set.

Code Red did at one point explain at some length how every print they'd sourced had serious damage and degradation, and the dreadful state of the source material really goes show on the Disc 1 prints - scratches, dirt, dust, corrosion, jumps & sound issues aplenty. Also - the informaton relating to the 4:3 has been massaged somewhat. I had written correspondence with Scavolini myself and he confirmed that the 2005 transfer was done without his knowledge or participation,- indeed Code Red hadn't even approached him at that point and he refuted point blank Code Red's original assertion that Nightmare was filmed for fullscreen presentation only. Scavolini was subsequently brought on board when CR became desparate over source print quality and he DID approve the cut [i.e. edit, run time] of the 2005 transfer but in no way approved [or otherwise] the colour restoration [what restoration - pink credits and 'day' markers? they were and should be RED not PINK]. It is probably OUR insistance and Scavolini's eventual involvement that forced CR to review it's '4:3 assertion' and hunt out wide prints. Why though the quality of the Baird Stafford & Cleve Hall interviews is so bad though I don't know as interview with the 'voice of the editor' whatever his name was in the same featurette is 10x better in terms of quality if not so in content. ALL extras, without fail, on other Code Red DVDs have been far better committed than these - for example The Strangeness and Madman, to name just two. The other featurette, with Ed French was filmed in front of an old filing cabinet and a plie of cardboard boxes from a distance that makes it look as if Ed had been cornered in a dead end and forced to do the interview at gun point. Grotty, shoddy, cheap extras that I would be embarassed to call either 'special' or 'features' were I Code Red. It was interesting to see Baird Stafford on camera though, OR 'Gaird Stafford' as the teeny-tiny white credits on the back of the DVD case say - shoddy, cheap type-setting and proofing there Code Red.

On the subject of the cover, having waited the best part of a decade for BCI / Code Red / Somebody / Anybody to release an uncut DVD of this I wanted a cover to cherish as much as the DVD[s] inside. NOOO... Code Red won't let us have that much even. Instead 'Bill' [Code Red] thought that cheap sarcasm and digs / sour grapes directed at the horror DVD buying community would be the way to go - read the paragraph on the back. It is very sad and extremely childish that Code Red decided to throw his rattle out of the pram and at the customers - the very people putting money in his pocket - time and again usually [a lot of people collect his releases whatver they be]. Any frustrations and incredidulous diatribes Code Red received over this title were CRs own fault - misinformation / lies about screen ratios, scene edits, hollow promises, failed deadlines, months of ignored requests for updates. It could all have been so different with a little information, a little understanding of peoples' enthusiasm for this film, a little customer service - Bill gauged the whole situation very badly and has decided to get the last laugh by sneering at we customers [at large] - in print - on the sleeve, as well as with the shoddy material & presentation... C'mon - how could CR promise a 95min interview with Romano Scavolini without knowing the logistics and costs of getting it translated and subtitled? That interview shouldn't even have been announced until it had been tendered / costed / worked on - that is just irresponsible, and most unprofessional. With THAT interview having held up the DVD - or being cited as the reason - for the last year, it is almost as if CR have succumbed to pressure and just pumped out the DVD anyway, without working on it properly... "Here you are, you want it that badly - have it, and see how you like it." Not the way it should've been handled at all. NOTE - Baird Stafford states, as clear as day, ON CAMERA that ROMANO SCAVOLINI's command of the ENGLISH language was EXCELLENT and that his direction was easy to follow, which makes it even more infuriating that Code Red botched the interview by not finding out enough about Scavolini or properly briefing the interviewer/interviewee first... If someone comes at you in your native language - Italian - of course that's what you're going to speak BUT Scavolini's English IS pretty good, as I know from my contact with him too.

BUT, let us not forget this is a 2 DVD set... Yes, ha-ha Code Red "You fooled us, a DVD-R" [let him think so anyway]. Frankly - despite the still artefact riddled quality of the 3rd, 2011, slightly better [sounds like a disappointing school report card], telecine. Once you've watched Disc 2, the entire movie content of Disc 1 becomes utterly redundant and frankly unwatchable by comparison. I am VERY pleased though that the print 98,04 mins/secs is the fullest print there ever was - with the night time scene of the Director in Paul's Office and the full beach 'Would you be my Dad?' scene both of which were missing from the VHS rental versions of this film [trimmed to make way for the obligatory 30mins of revenue earning trailers]. Additionally, there is 'information' at the bottom edge of the Tara Alexander scene that was not shown in any previous retail print of this film. To me, this print looks like it came from the same original source as the 'Video Kunst' celluloid to VCD transfer that came from Germany and did the bootleg / film fair circuit about 10yrs ago - certainly the appalling level of artefacts is comparable. HOWEVER we should probably stop and consider ourselves lucky and conclude that short of an expensive Vidfire clean-up by the BBC [never going to happen] this is the best that Nightmare is ever going to look, and leave it at that. It is perfectly watchable, and uncut, and widescreen AND the sound on Disc 2 has been boosted about 50% over that of Disc 1 so you can actually leave the ear trumpet in the cupboard...

I've spent a lot of time clarifying the Code Red / Print / Aspect / Scavolini ends of this DVD because they are a HUGE factor in what we have now been given. There are plenty of people either swooning in delight or projecting bile at this film for it's content and execution. I wont do either. It is a competent enough film - especially next to effort like Pieces, Don't Go In The House, or Maniac all of which get rave, gushing, reviews. I like Nightmare a lot and an damned glad to see it on DVD in any shape. I just can't help but think that CR dropped the ball badly with the quality, content and presentation... I'm sure Bill absolutely hated this film and everything about it by the time it was finally green lighted for pressing and, sadly, that is all too evident and all too evidently vented at the punter as well.

4 Stars mostly for the excellent film, probably about an eighth of a star for presentation most of which would be for getting there in the end after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Been A Long Time Coming..., October 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nightmare (Uncut 30th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
Most people aren't even aware that this movie exists. However, I'm not most people, and sleazy exploitation splatter films are kind of my thing. When I found out that the wait was over, that there was indeed a DVD release date set for "Nightmare", I felt like a kid on Christmas eve. I had first seen this movie twenty-five years ago, and I remembered it well. This was not your run of the mill splatterfest. Most offerings from this genre are a dime a dozen, but THIS... This one had a way of crawling underneath your skin to fester. Very creepy stuff.

When it arrived in the mail, I looked over the packaging. Yep. Original theatrical poster art just as I remembered it. A small warning bell went off when I read the promotional blurb on the back. It seemed to focus on talking about how many copies this DVD was likely to sell. Whatever. I watched the first five minutes of all transfers, and realized just how spoiled I've become in regards to picture clarity.

These transfers are a mess. The amount of debris, scratches, pops and everything else make darkened scenes resemble a colorful snowstorm. Given that the project was in the works for roughly ten years, this surprised me. I would think that in that amount of time, a team could have digitally cleaned the film up on a frame by frame basis. Or maybe not. I'm not an expert in film restoration. Maybe they did the best with what they had. Still, I kept thinking "Wow. Ten years and this is the best they could come up with?"

But you know what? Ultimately, it doesn't matter. The degraded quality of the film actually contributes to its overall effect. The makers of "Grindhouse" understood this perfectly, took a crystal clear print, and added a lot of scratches and sloppy splices into the mix. What matters is that "Nightmare" is finally here in all its uncensored glory, leaving a trail of slime wherever it goes. Prepare to be disturbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Year After Purchasing..., August 15, 2012
By 
Nick Cato "nickyak" (Staten Island, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nightmare (Uncut 30th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
...I'm one of those nuts who has been a total fanatic for this film since my first viewing as part of a 1983 double feature with MOTHER'S DAY in NYC. Now that I've had the DVD for a year, I can say the wait was well worth it. Looking at other reviews here, I can understand some of the frustration with the film transfers...but come on people...there are THREE transfers here! How many deluxe DVDs even give you two? And aside from the untranslated or subtitled interview, the extras are fine, especially the interview with FX man Cleve Hall.

If you've never seen this, it's worth the extra loot (now that it's out of print) as few slasher films ever reached this level of mayhem, especially the finale that still manages to shock and raise goosebumps. If you're a fan, you probably own it...so buy some more for holiday presents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleaze and gore galore, first time viewers beware, September 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nightmare (Uncut 30th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
I find the footage of 42nd street in all its dangerous and lurid detail really appeals to my sense of long gone seedy N.Y.C aestheticism, a neon labyrinth of temptation and vice. Lead actor Baird Stafford recants his photographic memory for this production on his commentary track "that shooting these scenes after dark was asking for a mugging" Thankfully the camera sticking out of the car following him allowed his safe passage.

Stafford is the star here, in a performance so committed that it transcends the regular suspension of disbelief required for general film viewing and not least in horror cinema. Unlike in the similarly comparable film: Maniac where titular actor Joe Spinell breaks his believability of playing a disturbed psychopath to enact dialogue scenes with Caroline Munro, so the film could gain financial completion, in Nightmare Baird Stafford remains true to his character. When we see George Tatum foaming at the mouth and the effluvia running into his nose and eyes as he writhes and contorts his body in seizure is one of many seemingly convincing portraits of physical and emotional psychosis.

What sets this apart from so many slasher / gore movies of this period is the fusion of graphic sexual suggestion and gore, I can't think of another picture I've seen quite like this one. The special effects makeup may not be the most convincing ever put on screen, although they look suitably horrible enough for this viewer, but the inclusion of child actors involved is genuinely disturbing and some may argue morally dubious, but hey it's only a movie. The child playing the disturbed George as a boy is another credible performance and if you listen to the commentary track you will hear how the boy's mother on seeing her son emerge from the shooting of the recurrent "Nightmare" was that of being horrified.

Here in Blighty this film is widely known by fans as being one of the most notorious video nasties on the banned list, not least in part due to the fact that the UK distributor was jailed here for six months, not surprisingly then that the movie is unlikely to ever get released here in this the full and uncut edition.

As an older viewer returning to this film after many years I can see now that Nightmare does steal from Italy's grandfather of horror cinema Mario Bava. Anyone familiar with the reveal shot in: Shock 1977 used twice in Nightmare and the bouncing white ball signifying madness in: Kill Baby, Kill 1966, but if you're going to steal then stealing from a master is the way to go.

Special mention must go to this film's score which perfectly complements the theme of mental psychosis. This synthesizer based composition sounds something like trapped birds crying, very creepy and one of the more original early 1980's horror scores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Notorious slasher finally gets a worthy DVD release, July 30, 2011
By 
This review is from: Nightmare (Uncut 30th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
I'm one of those who has been waiting for this film to see a proper DVD release ever since the defunct Program Power label announced they were working on it over 10 years ago. Sure, there has been a cut UK DVD release (from a poor quality master) as well as a bootleg VCD release, but after years of waiting, Code Red finally gives us the real deal.

NIGHTMARE, aka NIGHTMARES IN A DAMAGED BRAIN, is perhaps the most artistic and affecting slasher film of the 1980s. It's also seriously sleazy and inappropriate for youngsters, going way beyond the R-rating that 21st Century Distribution tried to claim it earned upon its initial release. Though it has its share of blatant faults (some as a result of interference by the film's producers), it packs a bigger punch than any other slasher film from the era that I can think of. Sure, flicks like THE PROWLER were nasty in terms of gore, but NIGHTMARE goes a step beyond that and actually manages to be a truly emotional experience. I have watched this movie maybe 20 to 30 times since I first saw it on video back in the '80s, and believe it or not, I get a bit teary eyed at key scenes even still.

The film's pluses include above average acting from the leads (specifically Baird Stafford, Sharon Smith and Mik Cribben), exceptionally gory violence (let's face it, why else would you watch a slasher film?), an overall vibe of unpleasantness, an obvious love for the material by the director, and a truly exceptional and emotional score by the elusive Jack Eric Williams (why hasn't his name popped up since?). Minuses include some serious lapses in logic and a few blatantly phony special effects.

As for the DVD, the release had its share of setbacks, and knowing this, it's amazing that we have what we do have here. There is not one but THREE different transfers of the film, and as others have said, the one you'll come back to is the 16x9 one on the second disc. All prints used for the transfers have significant damage at the reel changes, but this is by far the best this film has ever looked on home video. Unfortunately the lengthy interview with Romano Scavolini is not subtitled, but to my surprise, I felt that the other interviews and commentary clarified enough that I didn't feel as if I was missing too much as a result of this. While the comments from Cleve Hall and Baird Stafford are especially insightful (as is the brief interview with Ed French), it is a shame that Tom Ward's piece (21st Century distributor) as he is interviewed by the film's editor, is essentially worthless. It is obvious that Ward remembers little about the film's problems getting played, as he states there were no problems whatsoever when in fact the film was cut by many theater owners or projectionists due to complaints or anticipated complaints due to the excessive gore and/or sex. Having the film's editor's voice on the interview without hearing him comment on the film is a missed opportunity as well. If you know about the film, you probably know that it went out with the credit that Tom Savini was the Special Effects Director. The various interviews clarify exactly what roles each effects technician played and how Savini's name got on the credits.

All said, I can strongly recommend this DVD to any fan of '80s slasher films. I am well aware that for some reason this film polarizes horror film fans -- I have met a few who absolutely hate this movie -- but it really deserves to be revisited, and Code Red's efforts to finally bring it to us should be recognized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Code Red shows some love to "Nightmare" and I LOVE it!, March 2, 2012
By 
Midiander (Cleveland, OH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nightmare (Uncut 30th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
I honestly never thought it would happen... Nightmare (AKA Nightmare in a Damaged Brain) has been shown some much deserved love. This Code Red release should be applauded for the extras (which include audio commentary, interviews, trailers, a Hi-Def master, and telecine. Thank you Code Red for preserving this sleazy horror gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grindhouse all the way!, September 20, 2011
This review is from: Nightmare (Uncut 30th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
Classic 80s story. I graduated High School in 1982. Missed this in it's prime! The "specs" in the print are supposed to be there. The girls are "natural" the script and acting are very on par for time! The print and audio are also perfect for the time period. Proud to have it in my collection!
PS The gore is better than MANY Hollywood productions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am glad I finally have Nightmare on DVD, September 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nightmare (Uncut 30th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
I am glad I finally have Nightmare on DVD. Probably the most "Expensive" Dvd I ever bought. Great for Fans of the movie, and for Horror Fanatics; anyone else may not be as impressed because of the high price. It is a Slasher horror classic that left an impression on me as a child, still holds up good. Nice to have alternate versions of film for completist. If you want it, I would get it now, before it becomes more scarce and goes up in price. I feel eventually it will probably get a blu-ray release, but I would not hold my breath, because it took so long to come out on Dvd. It is one of my favorites in my collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nightmare (Uncut 30th Anniversary Edition)
Nightmare (Uncut 30th Anniversary Edition) by Romano Scavolini (DVD - 2011)
Used & New from: $39.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.