Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the Franco beginner
Jess Franco's "Nightmares Come at Night" aka "Les Cauchemars naissant la nuit" is important for two reasons. First, it's a movie that sounds far more important when referred to by its French title. Two, the gorgeous Soledad Miranda of "Vampyros Lesbos" and "She Killed in Ecstasy" fame turns up in a very small part. Fans of this exquisite Spanish beauty will love to see...
Published on August 9, 2005 by Jeffrey Leach

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lesbians seeing stuff
This is a pretty okay film about a lesbian who sees things and blacks out and hurts people. And the people who loved her and who manipulated her and things like that.

You know, some things were certainly happening in this movie, but I couldn't figure if the director intended for me to care or not. Or whether I was really supposed to know anything at all or not...
Published on May 27, 2007 by ribcage


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the Franco beginner, August 9, 2005
This review is from: Nightmares Come at Night (DVD)
Jess Franco's "Nightmares Come at Night" aka "Les Cauchemars naissant la nuit" is important for two reasons. First, it's a movie that sounds far more important when referred to by its French title. Two, the gorgeous Soledad Miranda of "Vampyros Lesbos" and "She Killed in Ecstasy" fame turns up in a very small part. Fans of this exquisite Spanish beauty will love to see her in another Franco film, even if she's only onscreen for a matter of one or two minutes despite receiving prominence on the DVD case. "Nightmares," it turns out, is a rather obscure effort from director Franco that disappeared for a number of years. Many feared this film lost until it recently resurfaced just in time for the DVD revolution. After sitting through the roughly eighty minute runtime of "Les Cauchemars naissant la nuit," I'm beginning to understand the reasons for its obscurity; it's not the sort of film that would endear itself to a large audience. In terms of plot and linear continuity, "Nightmares" will induce nightmares in viewers trying to make sense of the whole thing. If the viewer approaches the film understanding that atmosphere is the name of the game, Franco's film is far more enjoyable. I wished I'd known that going in.

Here's the synopsis as far as I could discern after a viewing of the film. A stage performer of some repute named Anna (Diana Lorys) falls under the spell of another beautiful gal named Cincia (Colette Jack). Perhaps their budding relationship has something to do with the way Anna manipulates that feather boa onstage. Who knows? Anyway, Cincia brings Anna back to her sumptuous home in order to get to know her better, but ominous things start to happen soon after their first meeting. Anna frequently falls into these odd spells in which violent hallucinations assume frighteningly real dimensions. These spells along with the fact that Anna seems like she's a prisoner in this house point to something sinister going on. A doctor that drops by the house from time to time to treat Anna for her weird fugues, Paul (Paul Muller), doesn't seem to help matters much. As the film progresses, it's obvious Cincia is keeping some grand scheme hidden from Anna, and that the same scheme likely involves two enigmatic figures keeping tabs on the house from a building across the way (one of whom is Soledad Miranda). Who are these people and why are they so interested in Cincia and Anna? Does Paul have something to do with Anna's spells? What's going on?

That's it as far as plot goes, folks. I could reveal the little subplot that feels thrown in just to explain Anna's extended hallucinations, but why spoil what little there is to understand here? I think it becomes fairly obvious early on that Franco's interests lie in creating a certain mood and style rather than worrying much about telling a coherent story. And considering he has beautiful women like Diana Lorys, Soledad Miranda, and Colette Jack on hand to help realize his vision, I say let the man do whatever he wants. The vast majority of the film deals with Anna's wacked out visions, which essentially means we watch her cavorting about the house or onstage in various stages of undress while a real funky jazz-type score thuds away in the background. Cincia isn't shy about prancing around her digs in her birthday suit, either. Whether she's entertaining Anna or meeting up with a mysterious boyfriend, Cincia's hostility to clothing comes through in spades. Come to think of it, even Soledad Miranda displays a shocking disdain for garments when we see her lounging on a mattress in the house next door to Cincia's abode. We owe Jess Franco a round of applause for making such an anti-clothing statement!

"Nightmares Come at Night," despite the title, isn't a horror film by any stretch of the imagination. There is a bit of violence on display from time to time--nothing too tough to sit through--which occurs when Anna starts remembering a few killings she committed during her endless fugues. I think it's important to draw a distinction between this film and Franco's more explicit horror films like "Faceless" because if you're looking for something with a lot of gore, you won't enjoy "Nightmares Come at Night." This is a movie more in line with "Vampyros Lesbos"--scads of symbols and style wrapped around an altered sense of reality. It's an arty flick in every sense of the word, although the abundant nudity, extremely low budget, and various "interactions," for lack of a better term, between Anna and Cincia definitely fall into the realm of classic Eurosleaze. I liked the movie and feel good about giving it a decent rating, but I'd have been mighty disappointed had I gone into this one convinced I was going to see another "Faceless."

Media Blasters gives us a great DVD presentation of the film. The transfer looks good, despite a few scratches, and extras abound. A lengthy interview with Jess Franco gives us some good insight into the man's vision of filmmaking as well as a few of his typical gripes. Trailers for other discs from Media Blasters, some liner notes, and a photo gallery round out the DVD. I recommend "Nightmares Come at Night," but not for the Jess Franco first timer. Start with another film first, possibly "Vampyros Lesbos" or "Faceless" or "Marquis de Sade's Justine" before dipping your toe into this picture. Those films will give you a good idea of Franco's range, or lack thereof in the case of some of these movies, and will provide you with the necessary fortitude to plumb the depths of this enigmatic flick. Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lurid and Moody ..., February 1, 2005
By 
Dirtypearl (Indianapolis, IN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nightmares Come at Night (DVD)
Jess Franco's NIGHTMARES COME AT NIGHT was much better than I was expecting. This doesn't have Soledad Miranda in much of it, despite her billing on the box cover and still photos. However, the story and atmosphere was very close to the Franco film A VIRGIN AMONG THE LIVING DEAD in some of it's pace and moodiness. Franco's cinematragraphy seems a bit tighter here and Bruno Nicolai gives an inspiring score as always.

This film isn't for everyone and I am sure some Franco fans may cry foul at this release. Proceed with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lesbians seeing stuff, May 27, 2007
By 
ribcage (Lantana, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nightmares Come at Night (DVD)
This is a pretty okay film about a lesbian who sees things and blacks out and hurts people. And the people who loved her and who manipulated her and things like that.

You know, some things were certainly happening in this movie, but I couldn't figure if the director intended for me to care or not. Or whether I was really supposed to know anything at all or not. But I didn't mind, I just went with the flow. Pretty fun movie to watch.

It's in a threepack with Werewolf Woman and Flesh for the Beast for actually a couple of bucks less, so you'll definitely want to pick that up instead of this dvd by itself. It's the same DVD as listed here too, so if you hate triplefeatures on single disks there's no problem there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Real Soledad Miranda Film!!!!!!!!, November 23, 2012
This review is from: Nightmares Come at Night (DVD)
Although some people have mentioned it. I too wanted to chime in that this is not a real S Miranda film. Despite the video packaging and so forth. She is really only in two scenes. Albeit looking particularly HOT!!!!!!!!!! - in the scenes that she is in. I want to share something: I thought the female lead looked a little like Soledad, and wondered, at first if she was playing a double part. That said - I gave it decent marks. And it should be kept in mind: this is not a supernatural film, no vampires or other such monsters. Although its particular moodiness evokes some of those films; someone mentioned "Virgin Among the Living Dead", I thought of another Miranda vehicle: "Vampiros Lesbos". IN that film Franco uses a device, where he cuts away when something sort of weird happens, to a scorpion in water, a window with drop of blood running down it, and I think a moth. In this film he cuts away to some sort of pen which houses a variety of birds - even species of parrots and pigeons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamy and Poetic..., April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nightmares Come at Night (DVD)
This film sort of puts me in a sleepy kind of mood and I enjoy what it has to offer... A different and introspective affair that doesn't get boring at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth checking out!, November 13, 2013
By 
J. Had (Petersburg, VA.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A nice surrealistic Franco piece with the lead actress literally nude throughout the entire film. Soledad is underused, but the reasons for that can be found in other reviews. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the "scenery". Of note: this Bluray edition is anamorphic widescreen at 1.77, I believe, which differs from the full frame Shreik Show DVD from some years back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so Franco movie, January 2, 2008
This review is from: Nightmares Come at Night (DVD)
Nightmares Come at Night is one of those Jess Franco movies you may want to see when you've already seen his best work. There's not much of a plot here, but then that's usually not what you watch a Franco movie for. Unfortunately it also doesn't have the stunning visual qualities of Vampyros Lesbos or She Killed in Ecstasy. If you're a Soledad Miranda fan you should be aware that she only has a few minutes of screen time before you decide whether to buy it or not. The stars here are Diana Lorys, Colette Giacobine and Franco regulars Paul Muller and Jack Taylor.

This is not the place to start if you're new to Franco, but if you're already addicted and want to see one more of his lesser efforts, go ahead.

A weak three star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Franco the Tanco, September 27, 2004
This review is from: Nightmares Come at Night (DVD)
I bought this film today (being a Franco and Miranda fan), but found myself a little dissapointed after watching it knowing it cost $20.It starts of good but then it suddenly goes nowhere until the last 12 minutes, when he throws you a suprise plot twist that explains everyhting that just saw for the middle 60 minutes. During the middle 60 min Annas reality is blurred with a lot of dream sequences, which includes lots of nudity. The last scene with Anna was cool in a freaky way, but the music definitely helped a lot. Better yet, the music and score by ? was excellent. I can honestly say the best 3 minutes of this movie was the 3 minutes Soledad Miranda was in front of the camera, she has something that is very hard to put into words.

Buy it only if you are a Franco fanfreak and want to add it to your dvd library. Its a movie I wouldn't watch more than a few times. If your not sure, rent it or borrow it first, which will probably be pretty hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, but they removed it!!!!!!, July 21, 2013
This movie was great!!! Why did you remove if!??!!!?!?! I didn't finish the entire movie before it was removed. Put it back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nightmares Come at Night
Nightmares Come at Night by Jesus Franco (DVD - 2004)
$16.98 $7.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.