Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good bang for the buck?
Bought this one for Zombie Hunter Rika
(aka: Strongest weapon, High school girl Rika)
No point in paying for 1 movie when you can get 3 for the same price.

Zombie Self Defence Force.
Pretty good movie, tongue in cheek but not slapstick, as the characters
take themselves quite seriously. Gory yes but a bit cheap (as the whole trilogy is)...
Published on April 15, 2012 by A. Amat

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun Distraction
Ok, the first movie is pretty bad, the swim team and Rika were pretty fun movies. All had pretty darn good effects other than the first which had some horrible CG. Are any of these "must have" films? NO, but Rika and the Swim Team offered your bang for the buck with plenty of gore, and sex to please. Stories are pretty silly and i just totally had to laugh when you...
Published on December 24, 2011 by M. Bartel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good bang for the buck?, April 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nihombie!: The Complete Japanese Trilogy (Zombie Self-Defense Force / Attack Girls' Swimteam vs. the Undead / Zombie Hunter Rika) (DVD)
Bought this one for Zombie Hunter Rika
(aka: Strongest weapon, High school girl Rika)
No point in paying for 1 movie when you can get 3 for the same price.

Zombie Self Defence Force.
Pretty good movie, tongue in cheek but not slapstick, as the characters
take themselves quite seriously. Gory yes but a bit cheap (as the whole trilogy is)
Entertaining? definitely.

Attack Girls' Swim Team Vs. The Undead.
PINK movie (aka cinemax style soft core)
Sexy surgically enhanced lead actress can't really save this movie.
The acting is flat and the SFX nearly non existing. Gory yes but super cheap.
nonsense plot and lame bad guys.
There is about 2 maybe 3 scenes in the whole movie that are worth ogling over.

Zombie Hunter Rika.
Only movie i really wanted to see, unfortunately only movie I had expectations going in.

I really wish this movie was better, as the idea behind it is very cool.
But there is just too much lacking with it.
I can excuse the cheap SFX if the concept and execution are effective.
But I think the problems lies with Rika...
She is not portrayed in a MOVIE fashion, she is not sexy or sassy or displays cute but corny bravado.

She behaves how a REAL 16 to 17 year old high school girl would in a situation as such...frightened and helpless.
Actually Rika is quite vapid, often her allies are slaughtered in front of her
while she looks on with a look of confoundment and horror.
By the time her fighting scenes come, the audience is incapable of suspending their disbelief
that she is the one doing all this zombie butt kicking (which she clearly is not...lol )

I really wanted to love ZHR but in the end was mildly entertained by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun Distraction, December 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nihombie!: The Complete Japanese Trilogy (Zombie Self-Defense Force / Attack Girls' Swimteam vs. the Undead / Zombie Hunter Rika) (DVD)
Ok, the first movie is pretty bad, the swim team and Rika were pretty fun movies. All had pretty darn good effects other than the first which had some horrible CG. Are any of these "must have" films? NO, but Rika and the Swim Team offered your bang for the buck with plenty of gore, and sex to please. Stories are pretty silly and i just totally had to laugh when you notice they lay cloth on the floors where they are doing the special effects and blood.... LOL. So, if you want 2 decent B asian horror movies grab it. I can't really say anything good about Zombie Self-Defense Force as it was just tedious to watch, but had a few decent effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Japanese, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nihombie!: The Complete Japanese Trilogy (Zombie Self-Defense Force / Attack Girls' Swimteam vs. the Undead / Zombie Hunter Rika) (DVD)
I like most Japanese movies but, these are pretty bad. I'll add them to the collection of awful Japanese horror I seem to be building up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its good to watch, August 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nihombie!: The Complete Japanese Trilogy (Zombie Self-Defense Force / Attack Girls' Swimteam vs. the Undead / Zombie Hunter Rika) (DVD)
Its good 3 disk to watch. I found the scenes to be alright. I found the acting is good but the way the scenes are needed help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nihombie the complete trilogy, December 31, 2012
By 
horror lady "yogi" (jonesboro, illinois United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nihombie!: The Complete Japanese Trilogy (Zombie Self-Defense Force / Attack Girls' Swimteam vs. the Undead / Zombie Hunter Rika) (DVD)
this movie is funny shows zombies in a new light its in japanese so some people may not find it worth watching but i liked the way it was fast pased, cheesey acting and all if you like japanese movies this is a good one to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ZOMBIES, December 20, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nihombie!: The Complete Japanese Trilogy (Zombie Self-Defense Force / Attack Girls' Swimteam vs. the Undead / Zombie Hunter Rika) (DVD)
Nothing like scantly clad girls vs zombies, these 3 films are a lot of fun to watch. Though don't watch them for the story or if easily offended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NICE, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nihombie!: The Complete Japanese Trilogy (Zombie Self-Defense Force / Attack Girls' Swimteam vs. the Undead / Zombie Hunter Rika) (DVD)
If you're into cheesy japanese films this is right up your alley! Some pretty sexy scenes in Attack Girls. But they are all good, cheesy, japanese zombie fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You get what you asked for, October 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nihombie!: The Complete Japanese Trilogy (Zombie Self-Defense Force / Attack Girls' Swimteam vs. the Undead / Zombie Hunter Rika) (DVD)
While some of the japanese culture is above my head - the titles of these movies are exactly what you get - very entertaining for a B movie night flick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like goofy zombie movies with a healthy splash of sex, August 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nihombie!: The Complete Japanese Trilogy (Zombie Self-Defense Force / Attack Girls' Swimteam vs. the Undead / Zombie Hunter Rika) (DVD)
If you like goofy zombie movies with a healthy splash of sex, these DVDs are just what you need to add to your disaster shelter while you wait out the apocalypse. Great viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ???, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nihombie!: The Complete Japanese Trilogy (Zombie Self-Defense Force / Attack Girls' Swimteam vs. the Undead / Zombie Hunter Rika) (DVD)
Well, at least the first film was bearable. It was glorious schlock. As for the other two, entertaining I suppose but I can't imagine a scenario where I'll ever watch them again. I can toss them into the pile I guess. Generally speaking an entertaining movie is enough for me but these are really pushing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.