Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Razor Sharp, Great Contrast and Superior Colour Reproduction
Am a freelance journalist and some of my assignments require pictures along with text. Have been shooting and writing for a living for about 8 years.

Have had this lens since 1996 and have used it extensively for film. Since Nov 2006. I finally bit the bullet and made the transition to Digital (Nikon D80). In 35mmm film format, this lens was my "standard"...
Published on February 11, 2007 by R. Kheng

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fog on glass
I can't attest to this lens giving a sharp photograph because it had a fog over the inner element had a hazy fog layer over it. I I did an internet search and found this is a common problem. I don't have anything else to add here other than, if you buy this lens do so with caution.
Published on September 20, 2011 by Jeff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't get one you will be sorry!, October 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF Zoom Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I bought this used through Amazon about a month ago and am very pleased to have it. The seller only claimed it was in 'good' shape, which caused me a bit of worry. But There was even a small scratch on the rear element of the lens. After shooting with it on my D300s I have to say it is one of the finest pieces of glass I own. Ranks right up there with my 105 VR ED Macro, and the classic but wonderful 70-200 VR I -- all of which are f2.8. If you can find one snap it up -- I got mine for 320 USD, but now that I have used it I would pay half again or twice as much. This is great glass. read the reviews. Nikon discontinued it, but that neans nothing in terms of its great IQ and odd, but easy handling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid & well built--but heavy., December 28, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF Zoom Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
There aren't enough superlatives for the quality and sharpness of this lens or its performance with lower light situation. Almost every photo I've taken with it is very good and some are great. But there are two drawbacks to using this lens more often.

The first is the weight of the lens itself. It's OK for using at home or for short periods elsewhere, but it is uncomfortably heavy to lug around for extended periods, to travel with, or even to hold steady for a long time.

The second (and least important) is the fact the push/pull mechanism (which is more abrupt and feels less precise) in order to frame your image. It is not that difficult to do, but it's a distraction and a chore that I, who am pretty spoiled by more modern lenses, find a little annoying. Once it's on, I do it, but the thought that I'm going to have to do it is often a turn-off.

The result is that, though this lens is notably better than my other options at this length, I often pass it up when choosing the lens I'm going to use on a given day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super sharp!, October 21, 2011
By 
This review is from: Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF Zoom Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
a best kept secret in photography!super sharp,quality built,non-plastic pro style lens.nikons most expensive mid range zoom in the 1990's,excellent walk around lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing lens on the cheap. Cheaper than some kit lenses!, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF Zoom Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
For those of us that don`t want to pay the price for the newer 24-70 f2.8 or the 28-70 f2.8 then this is the right lens for you. It is also significantly lighter and smaller than either of these two lens although you obvious lose some range on the backend. Optical quality is absolutely outstanding and the push pull zoom mechanism works great. Highly Recommended lens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seller and lens, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF Zoom Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
The lens I bought replaced the lens that was stolen. I use it about 80% of the time and it is very good for majority of photos. I have other lenses for specific purpose. I use a Nikon D800 and see no need at present to use the new lenses when this lens that was first sold in 1963 is as good as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp, well built, a real gem, January 17, 2014
This review is from: Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF Zoom Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
when this lens was introduced it set the standard for normal zooms.
Today it is still very sharp across all apertures and has much les barrel and pincushion distortion than any of the newer "better" models.
Still viable today as an alternative to the 28-70mm f2.8 or the 24-70mm f2.8 as well as being 1/3 the price.
Pros; sharp and nice contrast with no coloration (i.e. warm/cold) excellent results from f2.8 to f22 with around f4.5/5.6 being the sweet spot on mine
surprising very little flare even with out a hood until you get the sun almost into the frame.
great every day lens on an FX body and portrait lens on a DX.
price

Cons; some might not like the push pull zoom.
many seem to have fog, hazing and fungus so check them out first.
macro only works at 35 mm and on my D700 only in manual focus which is not really a con because I prefer to manual focus macro when I can.
no internal motor so won't work on the D3xxx and D5xxx series Nikons.

I got mine in beautiful condition from Adorama
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Razor Blade Sharp !!, March 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF Zoom Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Wow ! Is All I can say this lens is very sharp to be such an older lens I'm very happy with this until I save and ((NEED)) the 24-70mm f/2.8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lens, October 27, 2009
This review is from: Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF Zoom Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
This is my first experience with a push-pull lens, and I'm not a big fan. That said, it's a very minor aspect of the whole lens, which I rate 5 stars. Look for this lens 2nd hand, keep a filter on it, and you're good to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's now my favorite lens, July 31, 2014
By 
Mister B. (Los Angeles, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF Zoom Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I paid a little more than they go for on eBay. However, this lens is now my favorite lens. even though it's an old lens, it renders color like no other lens I have, including a Nikkor 50mm, Tamron 70-200mm. The macro feature is very useful. Some might say that it isn't a true macro. However, I can get within a couple of inches from an object and that is close enough for me. It's built like a tank, it's very sharp and I love the push/pull way you zoom with this lens. The only thing I don't love, but also don't mind, is that the outer lens turns when it focuses. It's not an internal focus (IF) lens. Also, this lens definitely flares quicker than any other lens I own. However, that's an easy fix, using your hand as a visor. That said, I haven't had any issues with these characteristics or any other. They sure knew how to make them, back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't be more pleased!!, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF Zoom Nikkor Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
The lens came in an extremely timely manner, packaged wonderfully and in amazing shape. Beautifully clean - like new!! I have already used it exclusively for one wedding (forsaking my 28-200 zoom, 50 mm prime and 35 mm prime), and I was thrilled with the results - crisp, clear and vivid! I can tell already that this will be my all purpose "go to" lens. Thank you so much for the amazing service and awesome product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.