Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Fidlar $5 Off Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Deal of the Day
Nikon 35mm f/1.8G VS. Nikon 50mm f/1.8G... Which One? I recently purchased the Nikon D3100, with the 18-55mm Kit lens. A few days later, I also purchased the 55-300mm lens, as it was recommended by many as a "good, first, second lens." I am relatively new to DSLR photography, but I have the basics down, and I'm shooting great images. I am now looking for a third lens, for more versatility. I am struggling to decide between the new Nikon 50mm f/1.8G and the Nikon 35mm f/1.8G.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
asked by D. Baumwald on June 19, 2011
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 answers
A
Since you have a DX camera both the lenses will have a 1.5x crop factor making the 35mm 1.8G around 52mm which would be considered a "normal" lens. The 50mm 1.8G would actually be 75mm. The 35mm will be a great lens for everyday photography, and allow for more room to move around while shooting inside. The 50mm would be a great portrait lens, but might have you up against the wall in order to get a group shot indoors. Another thing to keep in mind is that the 50mm 1.8G is a FX lens, so if you ever upgrade to a full frame Nikon, you'll be able to use it.

It really is personal preference and what you are going to be shooting. Take your kit lens and set it to 35mm for a few hours and shoot with that. Then do the same at 50mm and see what is more comfortable for you. Both lenses are a great value and you can't go wrong either way. I for one opted for the 35mm.
Corey A. answered on June 23, 2011
Comment | 18 of 19 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A